ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 2147 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21461 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 08:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LuckyImperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 977
Rep: 59 (Unique: 46)
@gupsterg

I had a chance to mess around with voltages and IBT AVX settings last night. Some interesting results...

Settings: First...I upped my volts to 1.40v @3.9GHz with LLC2, from 1.3685v (despite 1.3685v passing IBT AVX preset of Very High). This is where I did my testing - 1.40v, Auto PB, LLC2, 100x39, RAM 3200MHz CL14 1T.

Run 1: The first thing I did was test IBT AVX on Maximum preset. The result took forever so I only did one pass. I got a result value of around 3.5E-2 with a Gflops of 177. Huzzah! Much more consistent with your results.

Run 2: So my thought was, okay, more RAM means higher speeds and bigger result values. So, I did a custom test using 8000Mb of RAM and got an unusually low Gflop of like 142 and a result of like 2.97E-2 or something.

Run 3: My third test was my normal Very High preset which uses 4096Mb of RAM. I was right back to my normal values of ~150 Gflop and 2.99E-2 result.

Speculation of results: I can't say that more RAM means higher values because a custom 8000Mb test yielded pretty crappy results. Maybe because I'm using a non-x64 memory quantity that requires weird behaviors from RAM chips? However, I can conclude that custom tests will yield drastically different results from preset tests, and custom IBT AVX runs are not necessarily comparable.

It's Asus C6H, not CH6; Fighting the wars that matter.
LuckyImperial is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21462 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 09:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EDWCode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Hi, I got my new system few days ago and I'm still tinkering with it, I got few questions to ask.
My system is:
Motherboard: Crosshair VI hero
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700
Cooler: NZXT kraken x62
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 2x16GB 3200 MHz CL16 kit

As I'm tinkering with it, I was able to get processor to 3.8 GHz, during AIDA 64 test max 77 degrees C, average at 73 degrees, but was unable to get RAM to 3200 MHz, only 2933 max, is there any way to get it to run ta 3200MHz? And as I can tell, with stable system it takes up to 10 secs to POST, is there any way to make it POST faster? Sorry if it was answered before, I don't have much time to read through all of it. BIOS is updated to 1403 atm. This is my first AMD build, so some things seems a bit different than what I'm used to.
EDWCode is offline  
post #21463 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 09:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Clukos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,520
Rep: 142 (Unique: 86)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

The default configuration is BankGroupSwap = Enabled, BankGroupSwapAlternative = Disabled.
These two options are mutually exclusive, meaning they can both be disabled but they cannot be enabled simultaneously.

Disabling BankGroupSwap will improve the real world performance (by couple percent), however the reported bandwidth (e.g. AIDA) decreases by < 6%. Enabling BankGroupSwapAlternative has nearly the same positive effect on the real world performance, while the reported bandwidth remains at the same level with BankGroupSwap = Enabled.

Neither of the BankGroupSwap options should be touched, unless 1 DPC SR modules are used.

Don't you mean disabling the Alternative BGS and having BGS enabled like in your screenshot?


Clukos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21464 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 09:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,540
Rep: 46 (Unique: 34)
Used the settings posted by @harrysun earlier in this thread for his Gskill mem kit. Pushed my F4-3200C15D-32GTZ's to 3200 13-13-13-30-42-2T geardown disabled. Did 7h of memtest - so far so good:D

Prime95 tonight. Hopefully it will work.

Kriant is offline  
post #21465 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 09:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Clukos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,520
Rep: 142 (Unique: 86)
Clukos is offline  
post #21466 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 09:48 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
harrysun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 162
Rep: 36 (Unique: 16)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriant View Post

Used the settings posted by @harrysun earlier in this thread for his Gskill mem kit. Pushed my F4-3200C15D-32GTZ's to 3200 13-13-13-30-42-2T geardown disabled. Did 7h of memtest - so far so good:D

Prime95 tonight. Hopefully it will work.
thumb.gif

Is your CPU @4000 while testing? Would be interesting to see your settings?
For the mem, did you modified the posted values only?

AMD R7 1800X UA 1734SUS @3850MHz : ASUS Crosshair VI Hero BIOS 6201 : G.Skill Trident Z 2x16GB dual-rank (F4-3200C14D-32GTZ) @3266MT/s CL14-14-14-28-44 1.5T // Configuration: https://goo.gl/XrsmzR // Test report: https://goo.gl/91WH8M
My Ryzen Star
(19 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X UA 1734SUS
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC
RAM
F4-3200C14D-32GTZ G.Skill TridentZ 2x16GB 2R CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB, M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB, SATA
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD Red Pro 6TB, 3.5", SATA 6Gb/s
Optical Drive
Plextor PX-LB950SA (BluRay)
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W ATX 2.4
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
Cooling
5x Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-2000 PWM, 140mm
Case
Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition w/ Window, silient
Case
4x BitFenix Alchemy 2.0 Magnetic 30cm, 15 LED RGB (BFA-RGB-30MK15N-RP)
Case
CableMod SE-Series XP2/XP3/KM3/FL2 cable kit for Power Supplies, white (CM-SS3-FKIT-KW)
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
NEC MultiSync PA301W, 30"
Keyboard
Cooler Master CM Storm Quick Fire TK, MX-Brown, USB, DE
Mouse
Roccat Kone XTD, USB
Audio
FiiO Olympus 2 E10K
▲ hide details ▲
harrysun is offline  
post #21467 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 09:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,540
Rep: 46 (Unique: 34)
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrysun View Post

thumb.gif

Is your CPU @4000 while testing? Would be interesting to see your settings?
For the mem, did you modified the posted values only?

I had it at 100 BLCK 39.5 multi, so 3950 for the overnight memtest. I am having a bit of trouble keeping the 4000 ghz in check, so I'm settling at 3950mzh 1.39375v + LLC2. I will post some screenshots when I get back home. Need to test with Prime as I had 102.6 BLCK settings ironed out, but BLCK 100 and 3200 is uncharted territory when it comes to Prime 12h+ stability test.

Kriant is offline  
post #21468 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 09:57 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 34
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilly8192 View Post

Hi,
I am having a problem and i'm not sure whether it is the BIOS (tried 1401 and 1403) or the board. When i go and set the voltage on the vcore to 1.375v it comes up as 1.417v, the vsoc has the same problem where i set it to 1.21250v and it comes up as 1.264v, the dramm also seems to have the same problem where a voltage of 1.29500v comes up as 1.351v. Does anyone have any idea whether this is a known bios bug, a problem with the board or something else. This problem is consistent across cmos clears, bios versions etc etc for me. If anyone can point me in the right direction it would be appreciated. I apologise if this is the wrong place to ask but this seems to be somewhere with a lot of people with the board and everyone seems to know what they are talking about.
thanks


For me it's the same thing, but in the other direction. Every voltage is measured too low.

I saw different tests that showed you should rely on the set voltages, not on the measured ones. So don't try to compensate it.

Would be great if Asus integrates an option to manually trim this measurement offset, but we would need someone to request it directly to have a chance smile.gif
DaOptika is offline  
post #21469 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 10:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Masterchief79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 164
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Hey guys, quick question: Just OCed my 1700 to 4GHz on 1403 BIOS and HWInfo says it clocked to 4.1GHz in Cinebench on all cores? Sensor fail or did it really run with 4.1? What do you think of the score?


Masterchief79 is offline  
post #21470 of 43385 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 10:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wolfpack122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 68
Rep: 14 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchief79 View Post

Hey guys, quick question: Just OCed my 1700 to 4GHz on 1403 BIOS and HWInfo says it clocked to 4.1GHz in Cinebench on all cores? Sensor fail or did it really run with 4.1? What do you think of the score?

That's a readout error in HWinfo. It read the BCLK as 103 for a moment, so the CPU frequency was reported as 4120MHz (40x103).
Your score is good. If you are able to increase the memory frequency you will be able to get an even higher score.

Edit: removed my misleading misunderstanding.

System R
(14 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 7 1700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
Hard Drive
WD My Book (New) 4TB
Power Supply
Antec HCP-1200
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X62
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Galaxy Silver
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Monitor
Samsung UN65JS9000F
Keyboard
Logitech K830
Audio
Onkyo TX-NR646
▲ hide details ▲
wolfpack122 is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
cbjaust
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off