ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 2455 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24541 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 05:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Frikencio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Spain
Posts: 599
Rep: 23 (Unique: 18)
His RAM choice made mi cringe, someone tell him...


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ppTy7sKmIqM&t=2m15s

Ryzen
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe 500Gb
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 750W 80 Plus Gold Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H115i
Case
NZXT H440
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 29UM58-P
Keyboard
Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Mouse
Logitech G903
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
▲ hide details ▲
Frikencio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24542 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 05:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
matthew87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 192
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

@matthew87

Will look at file ASAP. I have in the past noticed just as something load CPU it hitting other frequencies than idle/highest. But usual is just idle/highest.

An OC regardless of PState / Multipler just seems to knock out behaviour as observed at stock for PB/XFR.

Thanks gupsterg.

The impression I'm getting is that there's some flaws with AMD's AGESA and or Asus's BIOS.

What I've noticed:

P State 1 is never initiated. The PC will only ever use P State 0 or P State 2. Not once in hours upon hours of logging with CPU Z or HWInfo has my CPU ever run in P State 1.

There seems to be some phantom/ghost P State, as the CPU will downclock itself to 1,950mhz despite there being no valid P State for this frequency or anything close to it. Where, how and why is this occurring?

On some cold boots, where the PC seems to go through a slightly longer POST for DRAM training, it seems P States behave a little differently than they do after a restart. Some times P States are very slow to change, CPU sticks 95% of the time to 1.4v when idling at desktop despite 1-2% utilisation. After 15 minutes of logging data average vcore is 1.395v with the computer idling. I can then reboot the PC, let it sit at the desktop, and now over the same length of time average vcore is 1.15 and the CPU switches to P State 2 far more frequently and for longer durations.
matthew87 is offline  
post #24543 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 05:18 PM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,518
Rep: 1282 (Unique: 565)
Quote:
Originally Posted by virpz View Post

Got to 3600MHz [email protected] BGS ON.
Problem is from time to time I get Qcode 8, raising SOC does not help, i relax timings and I can't boot, weirdo.
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

if someone already suggest this then ignore.. but at that BCLK, you may need to adjust bus amplitude and lower PCIE to gen2. Also, PLL can help with high BCLK. I was initially runing bclk 130 early on and PLL helped.. as did dropping to gen 2 to keep the PCIE bus on the reservation.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
GPUs For Sale
X299
(27 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370
(19 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24544 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 05:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ShiftyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quick question, do I need to plug in the extra cpu power 4 pin eps connector?
ShiftyJ is offline  
post #24545 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 05:40 PM
Custom User Title
 
hughjazz44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 335
Rep: 18 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShiftyJ View Post

Quick question, do I need to plug in the extra cpu power 4 pin eps connector?
Quick answer: No.

Office Computer
(14 items)
HTPC / Steam Box
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Super Advanced
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 3466
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO SATA SSD
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12A
Case
Corsair Crystal 460X RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus MG279Q
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Mk.2
Mouse
Corsair Harpoon RGB
Audio
Bose Companion 2
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 I Aorus Pro WiFi
GPU
Zotac Gaming GeForce RTX 2060 Super Mini
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Hard Drive
Inland Professional NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
PNY CS1311 SATA SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master MasterWatt 650
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite 120
Case
Cooler Master Elite 110
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
LG NanoCell 49SM8600PUA
Keyboard
Corsair K63 Wireless
Mouse
Corsair Harpoon RGB Wireless
Audio
LG SL5Y
▲ hide details ▲
hughjazz44 is offline  
post #24546 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 05:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ShiftyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hughjazz44 View Post

Quick answer: No.
So it wont help with stability or anything? What is it there for, LN2 overclocks?
ShiftyJ is offline  
post #24547 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 05:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
usoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 424
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpenN1 View Post

Haha this kraken x62 is a beast AIO with double fan cooling biggrin.gif, Two noctuas from nh-d15 and kraken's aer-p's in pull configuration, and with as high voltages as 1.44v core LLC5. My MAX temps in prime95 small ffts are reaching at worst 72c, most of the time temps are hovering around 69c and 72c as average being 70c biggrin.gif

And power consumption being 180Watts (soc 13watts and CPU core 163watts )
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagget3450 View Post

I ordered https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232489 for my Ryzen, i don't expect to get that frequency but i should hopefully be able to get 3200 cl 14?

I see a few folks using the tridentz on their ryzen builds i hope its a decent choice.

Just make shure you only use Aura for the RGB - i got the 3200Cl14 model worked out of the box at rated speed

ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO
AMD R7 3800X
GSKILL DDR 3200CL14 RGB
Corsair RM650i
Asus Strix 2080 Super OC Edition
usoldier is offline  
post #24548 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 05:44 PM
Custom User Title
 
hughjazz44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 335
Rep: 18 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShiftyJ View Post

So it wont help with stability or anything? What is it there for, LN2 overclocks?

It's there for e-penis measuring, I guess. An 8-pin connector can provide enough CPU power for even an LN2 overclocked Ryzen. Ryzen isn't that power hungry.

Edit: The only thing I can think of, is it could help with stability if you had an old PSU with dual 12V rails, and one rail wasn't providing enough amps to the CPU. Then if you added the extra 4-pin from the other rail, you'd get enough juice. But any PSU that's worth a damn won't have more than one 12V rail.

Office Computer
(14 items)
HTPC / Steam Box
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Super Advanced
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 3466
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO SATA SSD
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12A
Case
Corsair Crystal 460X RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus MG279Q
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Mk.2
Mouse
Corsair Harpoon RGB
Audio
Bose Companion 2
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 I Aorus Pro WiFi
GPU
Zotac Gaming GeForce RTX 2060 Super Mini
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Hard Drive
Inland Professional NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
PNY CS1311 SATA SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master MasterWatt 650
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite 120
Case
Cooler Master Elite 110
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
LG NanoCell 49SM8600PUA
Keyboard
Corsair K63 Wireless
Mouse
Corsair Harpoon RGB Wireless
Audio
LG SL5Y
▲ hide details ▲
hughjazz44 is offline  
post #24549 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 05:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,525
Rep: 852 (Unique: 324)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShiftyJ View Post

What is it there for, LN2 overclocks?

For scenarios where the single EPS12V connector cannot take the load alone. The EPS12V connector is rated for ~432W (4x9A), however you want to consider plugging in the ATX12V connector when the power draw gets closer to 300W, to keep the connector temperature and voltage drop at reasonable levels. On conventional cooling the power draw from the EPS12V rarely exceeds 200W on R7 Ryzens.
The Stilt is online now  
post #24550 of 43385 (permalink) Old 07-26-2017, 07:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,525
Rep: 852 (Unique: 324)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsMB View Post

At the moment, which is the best RAM kit for ryzen, i mean the best not on speed/latency benchs, the best on stability/flexibility/perfomance.
Did you make internal latency tests to al cores with diferent RAM speeds? Which is the best sweet point for the fabric? Did you find limits on it?
Im not that interested on having best perfomance on RAM, im more interested on fabric and make multithreading work properly with a decent RAM.
When i made some test on SMT on and OFF, on gaming and measuring latencys is more or less the half (edit no double) with SMT OFF the smoothness is real. Just want my CPU as smooth as posible.
Which parameters can help on it. When i made on 1403 the ryzen OC in same score than 6950x i asked myself how good can be ryzen with the sweetest fabric OC.
Maybe im just wrong, have bad concepts or is just not posible with these drivers or windows management.

A high quality (3200MHz CL14 rated, or better) B-die based single rank kit is by far the best way (in terms of the performance and the ease of use) to go with Ryzen. B-die is the only IC currently available, which can simultaneously reach sufficiently high MEMCLKs and tight timings. In cases where 16GB RAM is simply not sufficient, I would recommend purchasing four single rank modules rather than two dual rank (16GB) modules. Due to the differences how the memory controller handles single and dual rank modules and the signaling differences between the two types of modules themselves, it is easier to get four single rank modules to work at high MEMCLKs and with tight timings. Compared to two single rank modules the performance on dual rank modules is somewhat better at the same MEMCLK, the performance advantage being roughly equal to increasing the MEMCLK ratio by one (133MHz). The same performance benefit can be acquired by using four single rank modules as well.

Between 1066 - 1333MHz (2133-2666MHz MEMCLK) the performance improvements from the increased data fabric speed are vast and totally unquestionable. At 1466MHz (2933MHz MEMCLK) the performance improvements are still there, but they are already starting to tail off. At 1600MHz (3200MHz MEMCLK) and above there are literally no data fabric related gains anymore and the only performance improvements come from the higher memory bandwidth and lower memory latency. If the CPU could hit significantly higher speeds than they currently can (> 4.5GHz), the scaling from the higher fabric speed alone might or might not continue further. At >= 3066MHz MEMCLK the fabric speed itself is not the bottle neck. Personally I would trade 3733MHz with CL16 timings to 3066MHz CL10 any day.

Samsung B-die > Hynix AFR > Hynix MFR / Micron

Of the most common DDR4 ICs Hynix MFR is the worst for Ryzen.
It can achieve lower tRCDR/W and tRP than Hynix AFR, however it cannot handle the extremely performance critical tRDRDSCL or tWRWRSCL timings < 4 CLK at 3200MHz. Both Samsung B-die and Hynix AFR can handle tRDRDSCL and tWRWRSCL 2 CLK at 3200MHz.

Also unlike Samsung B-die, neither of the Hynix ICs can handle GearDownMode = Disabled with 1T CR either.

All dual rank modules, regardless of the ICs are a major PITA to get working at high speeds. There are many reasons for that, one of them being the MEMCLK holes which occur much more often than on single rank modules.
The Stilt is online now  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 8 (0 members and 8 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off