ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 3175 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31741 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 11:01 AM
*AMD OC newbie*
 
CarnageHimura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Zacatecas, México
Posts: 215
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyImperial View Post

That's funny because my Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 had really poor VRM's and a buggy BIOS that I was never a fan of. Everyone's experience is unique I guess. My C6H has been rock solid from the beginning, albeit with a bit of fan woes.

it's funy you mention the 990FXA-UD3, I'm just sell it to afford the C6H, the only thing that anoys me a lot of that MoBo was the fact that only supports 1866Mhz RAM in 1 channel, when I install 32Gb (4x8) the memory caps to 1333Mhz ¬¬, and Battlefield 1 really miss the ram speed

Kaer Noctis
(26 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 1600x
Motherboard
Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
EVGA gtx1070 FTW
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung NVMe 961
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 2.5"
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Power Supply
Corsair AX760
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Cooling
3 x Cooler Master Jetflo 120 Red
Cooling
1 x Scite GrandFlex
Cooling
2 x Corsair SP120
Case
NZXT 450 Noctis
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Benq 27" Led
Monitor
Samsung Syncmaster 24"
Keyboard
CMstorm MECH
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
Asus Whetstone
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Zx
Audio
Logitech Z906
Audio
HyperX Cloud
Audio
Razer Seiren Microphone
Other
LCDSysinfo for GOverlay
▲ hide details ▲
CarnageHimura is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31742 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 11:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LuckyImperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 981
Rep: 59 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarnageHimura View Post

it's funy you mention the 990FXA-UD3, I'm just sell it to afford the C6H, the only thing that anoys me a lot of that MoBo was the fact that only supports 1866Mhz RAM in 1 channel, when I install 32Gb (4x8) the memory caps to 1333Mhz ¬¬, and Battlefield 1 really miss the ram speed

Yeah, I can't complain about it too much, but it just felt like Gigabyte had no commitment to the community with AM3 considering things like Sabertooth were around.

That was one of the biggest reasons I switched over to Ryzen, DDR4 and updated I/O support. I can't wait to fill my M.2 slot.

It's Asus C6H, not CH6; Fighting the wars that matter.
CPU
Ryzen R7 1700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
XFX 5700 XT
RAM
GSKill TridentZ 3200MHz C14
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 650W Titanium
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxos XT45 Full Copper 280mm
Cooling
XSPC D5 Tank Reservior V3
Cooling
AlphaCool Eisblock Aurora Plexi GPX-A 5700 XT Reference
Cooling
SwiftTech MCP655TM D5 Vario
Cooling
AlphaCool Nexxxos ST30 360mm rad
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T
Operating System
Windows 10 64bit
Monitor
Benq GW2750
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G402
Mouse
Logitech G240 Soft
Audio
Astro A10
▲ hide details ▲
LuckyImperial is offline  
post #31743 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 12:02 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
harrysun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 162
Rep: 36 (Unique: 16)
Stop crying mates. I really happy with this board and my fans and ram are fine. Nothing to complain. Nothing will be perfect and everybody here knows what to do.

AMD R7 1800X UA 1734SUS @4GHz/1.375V : ASUS Crosshair VI Hero BIOS 6401 : G.Skill Trident Z 2x16GB dual-rank (F4-3200C14D-32GTZ) @3266MT/s CL14-14-14-30-44 1.5T = Configuration: http://bit.ly/349w5L4 = Test report: http://bit.ly/2pUjEnS = CPU OC: http://bit.ly/2PIOElt
My Ryzen Star
(19 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X UA 1734SUS
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC
RAM
F4-3200C14D-32GTZ G.Skill TridentZ 2x16GB 2R CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB, M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB, SATA
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD Red Pro 6TB, 3.5", SATA 6Gb/s
Optical Drive
Plextor PX-LB950SA (BluRay)
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W ATX 2.4
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
Cooling
5x Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-2000 PWM, 140mm
Case
Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition w/ Window, silient
Case
4x BitFenix Alchemy 2.0 Magnetic 30cm, 15 LED RGB (BFA-RGB-30MK15N-RP)
Case
CableMod SE-Series XP2/XP3/KM3/FL2 cable kit for Power Supplies, white (CM-SS3-FKIT-KW)
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
NEC MultiSync PA301W, 30"
Keyboard
Cooler Master CM Storm Quick Fire TK, MX-Brown, USB, DE
Mouse
Roccat Kone XTD, USB
Audio
FiiO Olympus 2 E10K
▲ hide details ▲
harrysun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31744 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 12:52 PM
PC Enthousiast
 
DarkLordThe1st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 430
Rep: 25 (Unique: 18)
New driver available for :
* Radeon Software Crimson, The Adrenalin Edition v.17.12.2 here

New Software Updates available for :
* SUMo v.5.4.3.379 (Software Update Monitor) here
* HWiNFO here

Asus Crosshair VI Hero "stable" 1501-BIOS Settings CPU @4Ghz & DRAM @ 3466 MT/s : Click Me!
Dark System
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard
CROSSHAIR VI HERO
GPU
Asus ROG STRIX Radeon RX580 8GB GAMING OC
RAM
G.Skill F4-4266C19-8GTZA
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue WD10EZEX 1TB
Optical Drive
LG BH16NS55
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X62
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro NL 64bit OEM
Monitor
LG 27UD68-P
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming K55 RGB (Qwerty US)
Mouse
Logitech M90
▲ hide details ▲
DarkLordThe1st is offline  
post #31745 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 12:57 PM
Overclocker
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,910
Rep: 155 (Unique: 92)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkLordThe1st View Post

New driver available for :
* Radeon Software Crimson, The Adrenalin Edition v.17.12.2 here

New Software Updates available for :
* SUMo v.5.4.3.379 (Software Update Monitor) here
* HWiNFO here

Thnx dude thumb.gif

hurricane
(13 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 2600x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair hero 7
GPU
MSI GTX 970 gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 pro, 256 GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V850
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbaer 360
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248Q
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
logitech Z-2300
▲ hide details ▲
hurricane28 is offline  
post #31746 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 01:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ph1ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Ok so I just installed the board, installed windows and updated to 3008 bios. Went into BIOS and set memory to 3466. Seems to work but I notice timings are very slow. I found the memory calculator so will try that next(everything is on auto in bios haven't touched anything yet).

[Case: Corsair 650D--dual Noctua 200mm--120mm Noctua--NH-D15s cooler]
[Ryzen 1600--16GB G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ--Asus CH6--Samsung 960 Evo 250GB]
[Overclock: CPU--3.8GHz--RAM--3333Hz LL]
[Vcore: 1.32V--SOC:1.05V--DRAM 1.375V--LLC level 3 for CPU and SOC] - stable
BIOS Settings and Proof
ph1ber is offline  
post #31747 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 01:54 PM
Overclocker
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,910
Rep: 155 (Unique: 92)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph1ber View Post

Ok so I just installed the board, installed windows and updated to 3008 bios. Went into BIOS and set memory to 3466. Seems to work but I notice timings are very slow. I found the memory calculator so will try that next(everything is on auto in bios haven't touched anything yet).


What memory do you have? Is it Samsung B-die?

hurricane
(13 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 2600x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair hero 7
GPU
MSI GTX 970 gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 pro, 256 GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V850
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbaer 360
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248Q
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
logitech Z-2300
▲ hide details ▲
hurricane28 is offline  
post #31748 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 02:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ph1ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurricane28 View Post

What memory do you have? Is it Samsung B-die?
I bought the best I could find. It's B-die single rank
G.Skill Trident Z Silver/Red DDR4 PC28800/3600MHz CL15 2x8GB (F4-3600C15D-16GTZ)

Ok so here is my second try. The Ryzen DRAM calculator said to use 1.46 volts for the ram but that sounded high to I just set it to 1.4 volts. Seems to work.

So second try smile.gif Please comment if I have set crazy setting I have no idea what I'm doing so far. Is 1.4 volts too much? Will I damage my RAM?


[Case: Corsair 650D--dual Noctua 200mm--120mm Noctua--NH-D15s cooler]
[Ryzen 1600--16GB G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ--Asus CH6--Samsung 960 Evo 250GB]
[Overclock: CPU--3.8GHz--RAM--3333Hz LL]
[Vcore: 1.32V--SOC:1.05V--DRAM 1.375V--LLC level 3 for CPU and SOC] - stable
BIOS Settings and Proof
ph1ber is offline  
post #31749 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 02:13 PM
Hardware Abuser
 
Johan45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,451
Rep: 192 (Unique: 97)
Johan45 is offline  
post #31750 of 43602 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 02:14 PM
Overclocker
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,910
Rep: 155 (Unique: 92)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph1ber View Post

I bought the best I could find. It's B-die single rank
G.Skill Trident Z Silver/Red DDR4 PC28800/3600MHz CL15 2x8GB (F4-3600C15D-16GTZ)

Ok so here is my second try. The Ryzen DRAM calculator said to use 1.46 volts for the ram but that sounded high to I just set it to 1.4 volts. Seems to work.

So second try smile.gif Please comment if I have set crazy setting I have no idea what I'm doing so far. Is 1.4 volts too much? Will I damage my RAM?


Alright.

You need to disable geardown mode and perhaps you can try these settings:


hurricane
(13 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 2600x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair hero 7
GPU
MSI GTX 970 gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 pro, 256 GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V850
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbaer 360
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248Q
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
logitech Z-2300
▲ hide details ▲
hurricane28 is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 9 (1 members and 8 guests)
CarnageHimura
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off