ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 3176 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31751 of 43376 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 01:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ph1ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post

Easiest way would be to set F5 defaults reboot and go to memory timings the the memory presets. I've tried them they do work pretty consistently

I tried DOSC what ever it was called at 3600 it did really like that. Also when I first rebooted with only setting it to 3466 it didn't boot. The timings above seem to work though. But I'm expecting to spend at least a week or two on this so just playing around for now. I just don't want to damage anything tongue.gif

Maybe offtopic but I'm running Samsung 960 Evo 250GB m2 drive and crystalmark is fast but unzipping stuff I download is at a speed of like 1MB/s?? Any setting I need to do in bios? I've installed the Samsung drivers for the drive.

[Case: Corsair 650D--dual Noctua 200mm--120mm Noctua--NH-D15s cooler]
[Ryzen 1600--16GB G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ--Asus CH6--Samsung 960 Evo 250GB]
[Overclock: CPU--3.8GHz--RAM--3333Hz LL]
[Vcore: 1.32V--SOC:1.05V--DRAM 1.375V--LLC level 3 for CPU and SOC] - stable
BIOS Settings and Proof
ph1ber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31752 of 43376 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 01:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LuckyImperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 977
Rep: 59 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph1ber View Post

I tried DOSC what ever it was called at 3600 it did really like that. Also when I first rebooted with only setting it to 3466 it didn't boot. The timings above seem to work though. But I'm expecting to spend at least a week or two on this so just playing around for now. I just don't want to damage anything tongue.gif

Maybe offtopic but I'm running Samsung 960 Evo 250GB m2 drive and crystalmark is fast but unzipping stuff I download is at a speed of like 1MB/s?? Any setting I need to do in bios? I've installed the Samsung drivers for the drive.

Maybe try using 7Zip instead of the default windows unzipper? Do you normally unzip faster?

It's Asus C6H, not CH6; Fighting the wars that matter.
LuckyImperial is offline  
post #31753 of 43376 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 01:27 PM
Overclocker
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,910
Rep: 155 (Unique: 92)
Those profiles work really well indeed but with the timings i provided in previous post are even better.

You can do comparison in Aida64 cashe mem test.

about the SSD, there is no Nvme or M.2 setting you need to change in order for it to perform maximal.

I think its in the files you download to be honest as the benchmarks are showing good results.

hurricane
(13 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 2600x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair hero 7
GPU
MSI GTX 970 gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 pro, 256 GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V850
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbaer 360
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248Q
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
logitech Z-2300
▲ hide details ▲
hurricane28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31754 of 43376 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 01:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Anty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 441
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph1ber View Post

I bought the best I could find. It's B-die single rank
G.Skill Trident Z Silver/Red DDR4 PC28800/3600MHz CL15 2x8GB (F4-3600C15D-16GTZ)

Ok so here is my second try. The Ryzen DRAM calculator said to use 1.46 volts for the ram but that sounded high to I just set it to 1.4 volts. Seems to work.

So second try smile.gif Please comment if I have set crazy setting I have no idea what I'm doing so far. Is 1.4 volts too much? Will I damage my RAM?

Did you get those timings from calculator or just randomly enter values? I guess second option rolleyes.gif

1.4 may be too low. 1.46 may be too high but should not harm (1.5 is still OK).

Ryzen 1700 ~ C6H ~ 4x8GB trident Z [email protected] ~ EVGA 1080Ti
Anty is offline  
post #31755 of 43376 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 01:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ph1ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anty View Post

Did you get those timings from calculator or just randomly enter values? I guess second option rolleyes.gif

1.4 may be too low. 1.46 may be too high but should not harm (1.5 is still OK).

Like I said I'm using the Ryzen DRAM Calculator by 1usmus. I downloaded Typhoon burner and got all the values and put them in and generated the "Safe Preset". I've now also started memtest. Never used this before. The ram stability thread said to start one instance per thread at 850MB each so I started 12 (using 1600 CPU). CPU is at max lol. No errors yet. I'm I doing it correctly?

[Case: Corsair 650D--dual Noctua 200mm--120mm Noctua--NH-D15s cooler]
[Ryzen 1600--16GB G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ--Asus CH6--Samsung 960 Evo 250GB]
[Overclock: CPU--3.8GHz--RAM--3333Hz LL]
[Vcore: 1.32V--SOC:1.05V--DRAM 1.375V--LLC level 3 for CPU and SOC] - stable
BIOS Settings and Proof
ph1ber is offline  
post #31756 of 43376 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 01:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ph1ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyImperial View Post

Maybe try using 7Zip instead of the default windows unzipper? Do you normally unzip faster?

Been using a laptop last two years so I dunno but laptop is faster.On the other hand I use 7z there so maybe that is it.

[Case: Corsair 650D--dual Noctua 200mm--120mm Noctua--NH-D15s cooler]
[Ryzen 1600--16GB G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ--Asus CH6--Samsung 960 Evo 250GB]
[Overclock: CPU--3.8GHz--RAM--3333Hz LL]
[Vcore: 1.32V--SOC:1.05V--DRAM 1.375V--LLC level 3 for CPU and SOC] - stable
BIOS Settings and Proof
ph1ber is offline  
post #31757 of 43376 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 01:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ph1ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
OK so I've reached over 130% in all my 12 memtest instances and 6 of them got 1 error. I'll try your setting @hurricane28 and also bump voltage a little. Btw running SOC voltage 1.1. All I've read is that never go above 1.2.

[Case: Corsair 650D--dual Noctua 200mm--120mm Noctua--NH-D15s cooler]
[Ryzen 1600--16GB G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ--Asus CH6--Samsung 960 Evo 250GB]
[Overclock: CPU--3.8GHz--RAM--3333Hz LL]
[Vcore: 1.32V--SOC:1.05V--DRAM 1.375V--LLC level 3 for CPU and SOC] - stable
BIOS Settings and Proof
ph1ber is offline  
post #31758 of 43376 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 02:04 PM
Overclocker
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,910
Rep: 155 (Unique: 92)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph1ber View Post

OK so I've reached over 130% in all my 12 memtest instances and 6 of them got 1 error. I'll try your setting @hurricane28 and also bump voltage a little. Btw running SOC voltage 1.1. All I've read is that never go above 1.2.

You can use this one too:

https://www.techpowerup.com/232536/techpowerup-announces-memtest64-test-memory-from-within-windows

Its easier as you don't have to fire up 12 instances. If it is stable for 1 hour you can consider yourself stable but to be sure i would let it run overnight like i always do.

Good luck thumb.gif

hurricane
(13 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 2600x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair hero 7
GPU
MSI GTX 970 gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 pro, 256 GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V850
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbaer 360
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248Q
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
logitech Z-2300
▲ hide details ▲
hurricane28 is offline  
post #31759 of 43376 (permalink) Old 12-20-2017, 02:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ph1ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurricane28 View Post

You can use this one too:

https://www.techpowerup.com/232536/techpowerup-announces-memtest64-test-memory-from-within-windows

Its easier as you don't have to fire up 12 instances. If it is stable for 1 hour you can consider yourself stable but to be sure i would let it run overnight like i always do.

Good luck thumb.gif

Nice! That program was a lot easier smile.gif I loaded your timings and bumped to 1.45v to be safe. So everything below 1.5v and I'm good? I ran the program and got I error pretty fast unfortunately but I'm pretty sure I can get 3466 stable.

[Case: Corsair 650D--dual Noctua 200mm--120mm Noctua--NH-D15s cooler]
[Ryzen 1600--16GB G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ--Asus CH6--Samsung 960 Evo 250GB]
[Overclock: CPU--3.8GHz--RAM--3333Hz LL]
[Vcore: 1.32V--SOC:1.05V--DRAM 1.375V--LLC level 3 for CPU and SOC] - stable
BIOS Settings and Proof
ph1ber is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)
Sideways2k , The_Gamer294
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off