ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 3184 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31831 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 12:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
HiGhEnDcZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LicSqualo View Post

Following Johan suggestion, I've re-enabled rolleyes.gif also HPET (just to be sure) but my base clock is strange, not changed.

Both, SIV and Windows show different clocks from AIDA and HWInfo and CPU-Z.

As two different type of readings for the base clock.

thinking.gif

This is safe, or not? my real question here. redface.gif



I'm testing playability (I've to play now) and this night also stability for both, ram and CPU.

And I will post the results biggrin.gif

Of course.

I test bios 3101 and set RAM 3600 and all seting Volage and subtimings not working Qcode is show 36 system doesnt load. Whats wrong ?

C6H
R7 1700
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB DDR4 3600MHz (F4-3600C16D-16GTZR)
HiGhEnDcZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31832 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 12:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AlphaZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 38
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LicSqualo View Post

@ELMOR: THE BEST BIOS UNTIL NOW (for my system) THE BEST UPDATE wink.gifthumb.gif thank you for your work. redface.gif

Just now tested the new bios 3101 on my system.
WOW thumb.gif
Or better: DOUBLE WOW biggrin.gif
3600 Mhz ram and 1800 Inifinity at first shot, without touching nothing (not so good the timings).
So, I immediately decided to start a meddle overclock of MY CPU with my standard settings, +0200Vcore offset and 1.40 ram voltage, The Stilt preset of 3466 Mhz and 3600 Mhz ram profile. Added my Pstate base overclock to A0 and this is the first shot.
THREE TIME CHECKED AIDA, same results.
Only one thing, SIV is reporting my base clock of 75 mhz instead of 100, like windows.
AIDA and HWINfo report my speed correctly, or how I've set in bios.





TOO HAPPY!!!!!
TO LUCKY also.

As a side note for Anty (if interested) I'm not so sure if I will change my CPU, perhaps later in February... I love it too much now biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

I don't mean to be a nay-sayer, but I feel you (and lots of others here) are doing people a disservice by not posting extended memtest or cpu burn-in results. I really do hope your settings are stable and want you to be happy about your setup! Please don't misunderstand me!

I have been able to clock my 1800x to 4150-4175 at times, and everything seems fine until stress testing (I was able to complete a Cinebench run occasionally too). It appears that MOST chips hit a wall between 3900-4000MHz and are not truly stable past that point without pumping lots of extra voltage into the chip, and then heat is the issue because above 80c either the CPU or IMC at load becomes unstable.

Lots of people are coming here, including myself before the realization, thinking that they should be able to hit 4GHz or even 4.1GHz easy with proper cooling. I've tried it with two different 1800X chips (early Samsung fab, later Global Foundries fab) and got the same 3900-4000MHz true stability results. I think there are golden chips out there, but I also think this forum is full of people who dial in an overlock, get in to Windows, and then post here about their results without doing a thorough test.

I'm sorry to rant about this to you, but this new BIOS has been out for less than a day so you couldn't possibly have thoroughly determined if your settings are stable and others are going to come here and think they are and then expect the same.

Workstation: Intel 8700k (Conductonaut Delid) @ 5.0GHz w/ Kraken x62 (Kryonaut), ASUS Maximus X Code, 32GB G.Skill RGB DDR4 3200MHz RAM @ 3200MHz (14-14-14-14-28-2T), 2x500GB Samsung 950 EVO RAID-L0 Boot/Main Drive, 2x2TB Hitachi Ultrastar RAID-L0 Storage Drive, 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2 Cache Drive, EVGA Geforce 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid (Shunt Mod), NZXT H700i Case.

Home Server 1: 2x Xeon E5 2697 v2, ASRock EP2C602-4L/D16 Mobo, 128GB DDR3 1866MHz ECC RAM, 2x256GB Samsung 850 PRO RAID-L1 on Intel C602 Boot/Main Drive, 15x3TB Hitachi Ultrastar RAID-L6 on LSI MegaRAID 9271-8i w/ BBU Storage Drive, 480GB Apacer Z280 M.2 Cache Drive, 2x1000M LAN, 1x40000M Infiniband.

Home Server 2: Dell PowerEdge C2100 FS12-TY 2U Rack Server, 2x Xeon X5650 @ 2.6GHz, 48GB DDR3 1600MHz ECC RAM, 2x500GB SSD RAID-L0 Intel RAID, 12x3TB Hitachi UltraStar RAID-L6 on Dell H700 w/ BBU, 2x1000M LAN, 1x40000 Infiniband.
AlphaZero is offline  
post #31833 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 12:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jimmyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 28
Rep: 0
People generally say when it is stable, what they tested with etc. Nobody here is really saying 100% stable. These are just preliminary results. ie quick tests. By Saturday we will know a lot more.
jimmyz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31834 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 12:56 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
harrysun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 162
Rep: 36 (Unique: 16)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaZero View Post

Lots of people are coming here, including myself before the realization, thinking that they should be able to hit 4GHz or even 4.1GHz easy with proper cooling. ... I think there are golden chips out there, but I also think this forum is full of people who dial in an overlock, get in to Windows, and then post here about their results without doing a thorough test.

I'm sorry to rant about this to you, but this new BIOS has been out for less than a day so you couldn't possibly have thoroughly determined if your settings are stable and others are going to come here and think they are and then expect the same.

thumb.gif Agree. This also the case for the online/print PC magazines. They never invest the required time to confirm stability. For me, it's very time consuming. I need hours of hours. Eatch test needs 8 and more hours so it take 2-3 days of 24h processing test suits until I'm happy and can believe in stability.

My current testing for @3333MT/s dual-rank B-die modules failed after 31h in Prime95 (7:33min). Before Prime95, HciMemTestPro, AIDA64, OCCT, IBT AVX Max succeeded. Everything else is dreaming and wishfull thinking.

AMD R7 1800X UA 1734SUS @3850MHz : ASUS Crosshair VI Hero BIOS 6201 : G.Skill Trident Z 2x16GB dual-rank (F4-3200C14D-32GTZ) @3266MT/s CL14-14-14-28-44 1.5T // Configuration: https://goo.gl/XrsmzR // Test report: https://goo.gl/91WH8M
My Ryzen Star
(19 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X UA 1734SUS
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC
RAM
F4-3200C14D-32GTZ G.Skill TridentZ 2x16GB 2R CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB, M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB, SATA
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD Red Pro 6TB, 3.5", SATA 6Gb/s
Optical Drive
Plextor PX-LB950SA (BluRay)
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W ATX 2.4
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
Cooling
5x Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-2000 PWM, 140mm
Case
Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition w/ Window, silient
Case
4x BitFenix Alchemy 2.0 Magnetic 30cm, 15 LED RGB (BFA-RGB-30MK15N-RP)
Case
CableMod SE-Series XP2/XP3/KM3/FL2 cable kit for Power Supplies, white (CM-SS3-FKIT-KW)
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
NEC MultiSync PA301W, 30"
Keyboard
Cooler Master CM Storm Quick Fire TK, MX-Brown, USB, DE
Mouse
Roccat Kone XTD, USB
Audio
FiiO Olympus 2 E10K
▲ hide details ▲
harrysun is offline  
post #31835 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 12:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tamalero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 322
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hughjazz44 View Post

I must live in the future, because I have a Ryzen 7.

Ryzen 7 = Ryzen 1700.

In other terms, I hope the next update for my X399 brings my Hynix ram up to speed lol.
Tamalero is offline  
post #31836 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 01:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 394
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
try this motherboard at normal settings and give information. then overclock. what you say is not understood rolleyes.gif BIOS good or bad?

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD
mito1172 is offline  
post #31837 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 01:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ph1ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
So anther little update. I'm still on the latest official bios 3008. When overclocking my CPU I noticed that my attempts at 3333MHz/3466MHz with tight timings was messing with my overclock and seemed to need quite a bit of voltage. I'm totally new at Ryzen still so haven't learnt all the settings yet.

Currently I'm at:
RAM: 3200MHz

DRAM [email protected]
SOC: 1.1V

46 loops Memtest64: 0 errors

CPU: [email protected] with 1.36Vcore and LLC level 3. (only increased multiplier to 40 and BCLK is at 100.0)

Been running prime95 for a while and cinebench scores 1346. Staying at 3200MHz seems like a good idea right now because I could drop all my voltages way down. Having too high voltage actually made it unstable. 1.36v seems like the sweetspot right now(need more hours stability testing though) and when I put it at 1.35 I can sometimes see the voltage drop from 1.33 to 1.308 in CPU-Z.

Cool that we have early access to new AGESA code. Looking forward to seeing results from the brave!


[Case: Corsair 650D--dual Noctua 200mm--120mm Noctua--NH-D15s cooler]
[Ryzen 1600--16GB G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ--Asus CH6--Samsung 960 Evo 250GB]
[Overclock: CPU--3.8GHz--RAM--3333Hz LL]
[Vcore: 1.32V--SOC:1.05V--DRAM 1.375V--LLC level 3 for CPU and SOC] - stable
BIOS Settings and Proof
ph1ber is offline  
post #31838 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 01:44 PM
Overclocker
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,910
Rep: 155 (Unique: 92)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph1ber View Post

So anther little update. I'm still on the latest official bios 3008. When overclocking my CPU I noticed that my attempts at 3333MHz/3466MHz with tight timings was messing with my overclock and seemed to need quite a bit of voltage. I'm totally new at Ryzen still so haven't learnt all the settings yet.

Currently I'm at 3200MHz RAM @ 1.36V, SOC: 1.1V 46 loops Memtest64 0 errors
[email protected] with 1.36Vcore and LLC level 3. (only increased multiplier to 40 and BCLK is at 100.0)

Been running prime95 for a while and cinebench scores 1346. Staying at 3200MHz seems like a good idea right now because I could drop all my voltages way down. Having too high voltage actually made it unstable. 1.36v seems like the sweetspot right now(need more hours stability testing though) and when I put it at 1.35 I can sometimes see the voltage drop from 1.33 to 1.308 in CPU-Z.

Cool that we have early access to new AGESA code. Looking forward to seeing results from the brave!


If i were you i would lower your Soc voltage to below 1.2v if you want your board and your chip to last. Max recommended Soc is 1.2 or below for 24/7.

If you want the best performance i would aim for the highest possible RAM overclock as Ryzen benefits from faster RAM with tight timings, you don't gain a lot from 3.8 to 4 GHz on these chips.

You are better off with lower clock CPU with higher clocked RAM due to how the infinity fabric works.

First make sure your RAM is 100% stable, at least 1000% or overnight testing and if that is stable overclock CPU. That way its more easy to determine what is holding you back, now you are just doing and trying things without knowing the limits of your hardware.

For stresstesting i use IBT AVX for quick testing, than Realbench and sometimes i use OCCT with AVX enabled which really hammers the CPU hard and if there is any instability it will find it for sure.

hurricane
(13 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 2600x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair hero 7
GPU
MSI GTX 970 gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 pro, 256 GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V850
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbaer 360
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248Q
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
logitech Z-2300
▲ hide details ▲
hurricane28 is offline  
post #31839 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 01:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ph1ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Maybe my post was unclear(I've edited my post to make it more clear). The 1.36v is the the DRAM voltage. The SOC voltage is at 1.1 smile.gif

[Case: Corsair 650D--dual Noctua 200mm--120mm Noctua--NH-D15s cooler]
[Ryzen 1600--16GB G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ--Asus CH6--Samsung 960 Evo 250GB]
[Overclock: CPU--3.8GHz--RAM--3333Hz LL]
[Vcore: 1.32V--SOC:1.05V--DRAM 1.375V--LLC level 3 for CPU and SOC] - stable
BIOS Settings and Proof
ph1ber is offline  
post #31840 of 43398 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 02:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 453
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaZero View Post

I don't mean to be a nay-sayer, but I feel you (and lots of others here) are doing people a disservice by not posting extended memtest or cpu burn-in results. I really do hope your settings are stable and want you to be happy about your setup! Please don't misunderstand me!

I have been able to clock my 1800x to 4150-4175 at times, and everything seems fine until stress testing (I was able to complete a Cinebench run occasionally too). It appears that MOST chips hit a wall between 3900-4000MHz and are not truly stable past that point without pumping lots of extra voltage into the chip, and then heat is the issue because above 80c either the CPU or IMC at load becomes unstable.

Lots of people are coming here, including myself before the realization, thinking that they should be able to hit 4GHz or even 4.1GHz easy with proper cooling. I've tried it with two different 1800X chips (early Samsung fab, later Global Foundries fab) and got the same 3900-4000MHz true stability results. I think there are golden chips out there, but I also think this forum is full of people who dial in an overlock, get in to Windows, and then post here about their results without doing a thorough test.

I'm sorry to rant about this to you, but this new BIOS has been out for less than a day so you couldn't possibly have thoroughly determined if your settings are stable and others are going to come here and think they are and then expect the same.

That is fair, but at the same time, there are some of us who are able to run their RAM at the rated 3200(Hynix) for the first time with the past few BIOS releases. Even if not fully stable, if 3600 can be gotten to even get into Windows and be semi-stable when it wasn't at all possible previously, that is a reason for people to be happy. There is also the difference between CPU speeds, and getting higher RAM speeds to be generally stable. I'll be pretty happy if/when we see DDR4-4000 CL14 memory on a first generation Ryzen 7 chip.
Targonis is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (4 members and 1 guests)
Algy , deehoC , Mattevans64 , Simi37
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off