ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 3261 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #32601 of 45278 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 07:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 917
Rep: 16 (Unique: 11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post

If it's following typical nomenclature the PCH should be process control hub which is the X370 Chipset

Thank Johan, what I found was placing a fan blowing over it against my gpu the temps went down... Now 58C max with 41C lowest and idling around 55C which I think should be fine. CPU running 4ghz with 1.38vcore.

AMD Ryzen 9 3950X
MSI Meg X570 Ace Bios V170
4 x 8GB G-Skill DDR4 3200 CL14 @ DDR4 3733 CL16
Palit Geforce RTX 2080 Ti
VPII is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32603 of 45278 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 09:38 AM
*AMD OC newbie*
 
CarnageHimura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Zacatecas, México
Posts: 236
Rep: 0
Yesterday noted something weird on my temperature readings, I'm always use Aida64, and it reports like 40-45°C on iddle, but I had a nearly 0rpm Fan Curve below 50°C for the sake of silence, CPUID Hardware Monitor reports the same Temperature, buuuut, yesterday I installed OCCT for run stability test and it's reports like 15-20° less O_o!? is this the same temperature bug that everybody talks?

I never think that because at that rpm's on my fans and with the same lecture on Hardware Monitor it seems normal or adequate to me...

Kaer Noctis
(26 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 1600x
Motherboard
Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
EVGA gtx1070 FTW
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung NVMe 961
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 2.5"
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Power Supply
Corsair AX760
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Cooling
3 x Cooler Master Jetflo 120 Red
Cooling
1 x Scite GrandFlex
Cooling
2 x Corsair SP120
Case
NZXT 450 Noctis
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Benq 27" Led
Monitor
Samsung Syncmaster 24"
Keyboard
CMstorm MECH
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
Asus Whetstone
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Zx
Audio
Logitech Z906
Audio
HyperX Cloud
Audio
Razer Seiren Microphone
Other
LCDSysinfo for GOverlay
▲ hide details ▲
CarnageHimura is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32604 of 45278 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 09:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
JaffaScript's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Hey guys, been here a week or so ago to ask some questions and got some helpful replies so will try my luck again,

I have my new system built today, and have never overclocked before. Here's what I have installed:
  • ROG Crosshair VI Hero (hopefully was obvious)
  • Cryorig R1 Ultimate
  • 1800X
  • 16GB GSkill FlareX 14CL 3200mhz memory

Looking in the bios there are a lot of options, many of which I have no clue for regarding overclocking.
Which of these do I need to tweak to get the most out of my system (4ghz / 3200mhz respectively), and can I go further?

Any help even if it's just a link to a tutorial would be great, as I have no clue where to start.
I have a video bookmarked regarding the FlareX memory which I will be watching (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O73A5jSh3l0)
Cheers.
JaffaScript is offline  
post #32605 of 45278 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 09:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
stewwy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 53
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
As a first step I would suggest zen states from the first post for P-State overclocking your cpu

and

Ryzen DRAM Calculator on here for your RAM OC
https://www.overclock.net/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram
stewwy is offline  
post #32606 of 45278 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 09:55 AM
Hardware Abuser
 
Johan45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,451
Rep: 192 (Unique: 97)
Johan45 is offline  
post #32607 of 45278 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 10:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LuckyImperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,008
Rep: 59 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post

With a newer BIOS just go into DRAM timjings> memory presets> stilts safe 3200 cl14, back out and set the memory speed reboot and it should work

+1, the predefined profiles work very well.

It's Asus C6H, not CH6; Fighting the wars that matter.
CPU
Ryzen R7 1700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
XFX 5700 XT
RAM
GSKill TridentZ 3200MHz C14
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 650W Titanium
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxos XT45 Full Copper 280mm
Cooling
XSPC D5 Tank Reservior V3
Cooling
AlphaCool Eisblock Aurora Plexi GPX-A 5700 XT Reference
Cooling
SwiftTech MCP655TM D5 Vario
Cooling
AlphaCool Nexxxos ST30 360mm rad
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T
Operating System
Windows 10 64bit
Monitor
Benq GW2750
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G402
Mouse
Logitech G240 Soft
Audio
Astro A10
▲ hide details ▲
LuckyImperial is offline  
post #32608 of 45278 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 02:22 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
ressonantia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 142
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotAgain View Post

My understanding was that their claim of "near zero risk" is specious, and they are only currently immune to this attack because their branch predictor has not yet been reverse-engineered the way that Intel's has.
So they'll still need microcode updates for the OS to selectively disable branch prediction like Intel has added to their CPUs - though it may not have to be enabled yet.

I have yet to read a credible source that says otherwise, unless you're referring to the change request in the SUSE codebase which suggests so but has since been debunked?
ressonantia is offline  
post #32609 of 45278 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 03:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,634
Rep: 41 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post

With a newer BIOS just go into DRAM timjings> memory presets> stilts safe 3200 cl14, back out and set the memory speed reboot and it should work

Yup id start from there. Then start messing about tweeking ect. 1.4 llc3 and see hows that stability whise.
lordzed83 is offline  
post #32610 of 45278 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 03:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dual109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 183
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewwy View Post

As a first step I would suggest zen states from the first post for P-State overclocking your cpu

and

Ryzen DRAM Calculator on here for your RAM OC
https://www.overclock.net/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram



Is the DRAM calculator still relevant with the 3101 beta bios? I have some M-Die Hynix ram Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 (2x8GB) which I'm trying to get running at rated speeds 3200Mhz, no mem presets available for these in bios.



Thanks
dual109 is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off