ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4015 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #40141 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 02:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 390
Rep: 0
is this a normal voltage for 2700X ?

spikes up to 1.55V while idling, hovering between 1.46-1.525V while not doing anything (just have firefox and cpu-z open in the background)

this is with BIOS 6401, PE2, AI OC tuner set at default along with CPU voltage (LLC at level 3)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190320_222623.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	2.44 MB
ID:	260312  

Attached Images
 

X370 Crosshair VI Extreme || Ryzen 2700X + be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 || G.Skill Trident Z 2x8GB 3333CL14 || MSI 1080Ti Gaming X || Samsung EVO 960 500GB + Crucial MX500 500GB m.2 + Crucial MX500 1TB m.2 || 650W Seasonic Prime Platinum || be quiet! Dark Base 700 & 4xSilent Wings 3 140mm 1600RPM PWM || LG 32GK850G 1440p 165Hz Gsync || Xbox One gamepad || CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S || Wireless Logitech G403 || Windows 10 Pro x64

Last edited by Fanu; 03-20-2019 at 02:30 PM.
Fanu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40142 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 04:15 PM
AMD overclocker/developer
 
1usmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ukraine / Germany
Posts: 1,587
Rep: 294 (Unique: 137)
Quote: Originally Posted by kazama View Post
Is working without problems again since the clr cmos, will see when happend again.

flash 6808 or not? ramad sayed good bios but 1usmus sayed not.Im gamming most of the time.

Just to evaluate the bios, you need to test it, I brought the evidence. These parameters affect the average minimum and maximum FPS (especially when the game uses more than 8 threads)

Quote: Originally Posted by Fanu View Post
is this a normal voltage for 2700X ?

spikes up to 1.55V while idling, hovering between 1.46-1.525V while not doing anything (just have firefox and cpu-z open in the background)

this is with BIOS 6401, PE2, AI OC tuner set at default along with CPU voltage (LLC at level 3)

in PE mode, you are obliged to use the offset, for PE3, it is enough for me + 0,0125v. If you get higher voltage again, use the negative offset

Quote: Originally Posted by Fanu View Post
thanks for your efforts and your regular activity in this thread (even tho its about "old" chipset motherboard)

will try and follow your guide to see if I can get my b-die 3200CL14 memory finally running at over 3333MHz - even with DRAM calc I was unable to reach 3400MHz stable
I guess I cant reach 3400MHz stable due to -0.1V CPU voltage offset I run (to keep my 2700X slightly cooler and prevent it from going over 1.45V) ? can you confirm that negative CPU voltage offset affects RAM frequency ?
tell me your current procODT / RTT_PARK and I can tell you about the limit

Quote: Originally Posted by skline00 View Post
iusmus, what is the difference between the 6308 BIOS which has a definite command for PBO and 6401 which does not. It appears that the PBO function was removed in 6401. You recommendation of PE lvl 2 or 3 + offset 0.0125 + LLC 3 comes close but does not actually enable PBO does it?
You do not need an independent PBO, for you Stilt created 4 PE presets. This is the best that exists. PE mode includes: PBO + Scalar control + some temperature offset. And also this mode can be ideally configured using offset voltage. You are not deprived of the functions, you currently have more than the users of other motherboards.

Due to the imperfection of the algorithm, AMD temporarily restricted access to PBO limits and Scalar control. In the new microcode, these functions will definitely return for Ryzen 3000 (I have doubts about the Ryzen 2000).

Last edited by 1usmus; 03-20-2019 at 04:28 PM.
1usmus is offline  
post #40143 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 11:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 390
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by 1usmus View Post
in PE mode, you are obliged to use the offset, for PE3, it is enough for me + 0,0125v. If you get higher voltage again, use the negative offset
so if I am in PE mode 2 I have to use a positive CPU voltage offset in order to lower the CPU voltage ?

I currently have CPU voltage at auto and voltage goes above 1.5V in idle - but still, even with that high of a voltage my CPU temps dont go over 72C in cinebench and over 64~C while gaming
I am just worried that high voltage will shorten my CPUs life span

Quote: Originally Posted by 1usmus View Post
tell me your current procODT / RTT_PARK and I can tell you about the limit
I attached the screenshot of settings I am currently using

3466MHz seems to be stable with this config (no anomalies in windows, and played metro exodus / witcher 3 for an hour without issue - of course I need to test it some more to be sure everything is stable, but this looks promising) - but I had to remove the negative CPU voltage offset I had set (it was at -0.1V and max voltage reported by hwinfo64 was 1.45V with that negative offset) in order to run my memory higher than 3333MHz

I dont know what is faster/safer in the end:

1) -0.1V CPU voltage offset, max CPU voltage of 1.45V, 3333MHz 14-14-14-28 1T RAM

or

2) Auto CPU voltage (no offset), max CPU voltage of 1.55V, 3466MHz 14-15-14-28 1T RAM
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190320_191914.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	4.37 MB
ID:	260418  


X370 Crosshair VI Extreme || Ryzen 2700X + be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 || G.Skill Trident Z 2x8GB 3333CL14 || MSI 1080Ti Gaming X || Samsung EVO 960 500GB + Crucial MX500 500GB m.2 + Crucial MX500 1TB m.2 || 650W Seasonic Prime Platinum || be quiet! Dark Base 700 & 4xSilent Wings 3 140mm 1600RPM PWM || LG 32GK850G 1440p 165Hz Gsync || Xbox One gamepad || CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S || Wireless Logitech G403 || Windows 10 Pro x64
Fanu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40144 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 04:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ramad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 883
Rep: 112 (Unique: 62)
Three days with BIOS 6808/AGESA 0.0.7.0

Did spend 3 days using 6808, so what is good:


  1. The user gets full AMD CBS menu.
  2. Sleep states including ErP (S4+S5) works every time (tested with short periods and overnight). Moving the mouse or hitting any keyboard key wakes the system up to fully functional state, so no stuck CPU frequency or stuck CPU voltage.
  3. Requires lower DRAM voltage than earlier BIOS versions at the same frequency and timings. I mean 1.38V/1.4V vs 1.35V @3200MT/s.
  4. The motherboard acts pretty much like the Gigabyte K7 that I have used in the last 7 months (that was also the case with 6401). I did use the same settings as the K7 on this motherboard on the CH6 and got the same results, which leads me to guess that ASUS have only added AGESA 0.0.7.0 to the BIOS with no further AGESA "tuning". I don't mind the longer boot time on the CH6 vs the K7, because they are now as good and fast as soon as the boot process reaches the Desktop environment.
  5. The CH6 with AGESA 0.0.7.0 beats the K7 with AGESA 1.0.0.6 on Linpack tests by 3-4 GFlops.


What needs fixing:

The motherboard would train the RAM 3 times on a cold boot before booting correctly if ErP is enabled. I have to point out that this does not happen when the PC wakes from Sleep state even if this setting is enabled.


Used settings, BIOS 6808
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • R5 1600 @3.9 GHz, Custom P-state 0, Relaxed EDC throttling: enabled
  • Patriot Viper Elite @3200MT/s (dual rank 2 x 8GB SAMSUNG E-die) with primary latencies of 14-17-17-17-34
  • Memory interleaving: Socket, 1KB
  • CPU voltage: 1.369V + 0.00625V (offset)
  • SOC voltage: 1.05V
  • DRAM voltage: 1.35V
  • CLDO_VDDP: 1000mV
  • CAD drivers setup: Tuned
  • CAD drivers strength: Tuned
  • tRFC at RAM defaults: 416 - 256 - 176
  • PROC_ODT: 48 Ohm
  • Rtt values: RZQ/4 - OFF - Disabled
  • 2T, Geardown: Enabled
  • VDDP: 1.05V

I ran 2 tests using LinpackXtreme 1.1.1 with 20 loops each using 10 GB of RAM. One of the tests is with Relaxed EDC enabled and the other with it disabled, the difference was about 20 GFlops between having this setting enabled or disbaled. The third was a 2 hours test of prime95 29.6 build 6 using 12 GB of RAM. These tests were ran at DRAM voltage of 1.38V with EDC enabled.


I ran another prime95 2 hours test using the same timings and voltages but reducing DRAM voltage to 1.35V with EDC enabled.


My opinion after using and testing this BIOS for several days now is: This is the best BIOS that I have tried and tested on the CH6. Thumbs up for ASUS on a good BIOS and thumbs up for AMD on good AGESA. I'm enjoying the stability and speed of my system, so thank you for a good work.




Note: I don't have a ZEN+ CPU so I don't know if PBO is there/functional or not.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6808_1_EDC_OFF_1.38V.PNG
Views:	82
Size:	608.5 KB
ID:	260566  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6808_2_Prime_1.38V.PNG
Views:	55
Size:	303.4 KB
ID:	260568  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6808_3_EDC_ON_1.38V.PNG
Views:	46
Size:	436.3 KB
ID:	260570  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6808_5_Prime_1.35V.PNG
Views:	60
Size:	301.7 KB
ID:	260572  


Last edited by Ramad; 03-21-2019 at 04:37 PM.
Ramad is online now  
post #40145 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 04:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ramad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 883
Rep: 112 (Unique: 62)
Double post.

Last edited by Ramad; 03-21-2019 at 04:30 PM. Reason: Double post
Ramad is online now  
post #40146 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 04:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sentinela's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 198
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Guys, i've reached a good speed/stability with hynix based tridentz rgb 3200mhz. Its set to 3333mhz. Can i improve anything here?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Anotação 2019-03-21 202913.png
Views:	50
Size:	127.2 KB
ID:	260574  

Click image for larger version

Name:	cachemem22.png
Views:	24
Size:	92.0 KB
ID:	260576  


CPU: AMD Ryzen 1800x @ 3,950 GHZ CPU COOLER: Aerocool P7-L240
MOBO: Asus Crosshair VI Extreme
GPU: Asus Strix GTX 1080ti @ 2050MHZ
RAM: TeamGroup Xtreem 4000mhz @3200 CL14
CASE: Cooler Master H500P
PSU: EVGA G2 750W
KEYBOARD: Drevo Excalibur RGB MOUSE: Asus ROG Strix Impact, Asus ROG Gladius 2
Sentinela is offline  
post #40147 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 09:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 394
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by 1usmus View Post
AMD Ryzen Memory Tweaking & Overclocking Guide by me

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...locking_Guide/
Thanks super guide. You say 4 ram overclocking for c6h is better. is it correct?

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD

Last edited by mito1172; 03-21-2019 at 10:08 PM.
mito1172 is offline  
post #40148 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 11:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LicSqualo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Abruzzo, Italy
Posts: 330
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
@Ramad
Thank you for sharing your test. Really appreciated.
Also for me, seems this bios is really a good one.
I can confirm some of your results. My actual ram speed (3466 profile but @3500MHz for the 101 base clock) require minus volts than usual (1,44V vs 1,42V) to be stable.
My Soc is 1,056 and, without LLC, under load is 1,04V. Perhaps I can try to lower and see if is stable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (2).png
Views:	62
Size:	4.19 MB
ID:	260632  


Ryzen 1700 - 4,0 Ghz @1,31 (IBT-avx load) + ram @3466 14-13-13-13-22-36-1t
Zen
(20 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700 @4.1+ Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
MSI VEGA 64 LC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3600c16 2x8 GB @3500 c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512 GB
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black 500 Gb
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Hard Drive
WD RED 2 TB
Power Supply
Corsair Hx1000i
Cooling
Alphacool 480 UT60 with Eisblock XPX
Case
NOX Hummer
Operating System
WIN 10 x64 RS3
Monitor
ASUS PB278
Monitor
ASUS MG278Q Freesync
Keyboard
Coolermaster MECH
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Logitech
Audio
Integrated Motherboard
▲ hide details ▲
LicSqualo is offline  
post #40149 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 09:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dirty Jerz
Posts: 1,594
Rep: 18 (Unique: 16)
Anyone know of a modded bios for 6401 or 6808 on the ch6?

Been here since 2007. I love OCN
The OCN Loud Rig Club
Ryzen
(15 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
MSI 1080Ti Duke OC 11gb
RAM
Adata DDR4 2800 XPG Flame 16GB x 1
RAM
Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000 16gb
Hard Drive
1 SSD and 6 HDD's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w Supernova
Cooling
XSPC CPU block - Phobya pump - Lightech Water Tower - 2 340mm rads.
Case
Thermaltake v71
Operating System
W 10 Pro 64
Monitor
Samsung 22'' 2253BW - LG 23'' IPS
Keyboard
Microsoft Natural
Mouse
Logi MX518
Mouse
Aluminum Dell XPS
Audio
Behringer 192 USB mixer to Presonus Eris E5 studio monitors
▲ hide details ▲
porschedrifter is offline  
post #40150 of 43358 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 11:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Disassociative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 132
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Well since the new BIOS breaks Performance Enhancer i'm not touching it.

Last edited by Disassociative; 03-23-2019 at 11:21 PM.
Disassociative is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 14 (4 members and 10 guests)
abso , allavatar2 , flwo , Ramad
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off