ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4040 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #40391 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 09:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Well after trying earlier this year with the 6808 bios. I tried again with 6903. still no joy. Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 point blank refuse to boot at 3200 safe in any way shape or fashion. i had to reset all way back to 2133 as 3000 settings wont work either now. Should mail Corsair and tell them these wont even do 3200 like rated and ask for a new set.

:edit: sadly they are crap Samsung E die and terrible.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snap20042019175607.png
Views:	17
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	266026  


Last edited by mercyground; 04-20-2019 at 09:56 AM.
mercyground is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40392 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 10:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ramad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 842
Rep: 109 (Unique: 59)
Quote: Originally Posted by mercyground View Post
Well after trying earlier this year with the 6808 bios. I tried again with 6903. still no joy. Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 point blank refuse to boot at 3200 safe in any way shape or fashion. i had to reset all way back to 2133 as 3000 settings wont work either now. Should mail Corsair and tell them these wont even do 3200 like rated and ask for a new set.

:edit: sadly they are crap Samsung E die and terrible.
I have an E-die set of RAM running 3200MT/s at CAS 14. Send me a PM if you are interested in a profile that may work on your system.
Ramad is offline  
post #40393 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 11:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Ramad View Post
A few thing to try when trying to stabilize memory on the new AGESA (0.0.7.0 and 0.0.7.2) on 1xxx Ryzen series:

- Set CLDOVDDP to 1000mV.

- Set SOC voltage to 1.1V.

- Set 1.8V PLL to 1.9V - 2V if your CPU is overclocked.

- Set DRAM voltage to 1.4V as a start, work your way on lowering that later, if possible.

- Use 400HKz-500KHz switching frequency on CPU, SOC and DRAM MOSFETS.

- Calculate your memory timings based on memory die data sheet. Use 3200MT/s timings then work your way to tighter timings (2800MT/s, 2666MT/s...etc)

- Find the lowest PROCODT that your CPU can boot at with the used DRAM frequency (60 Ohm, 53 Ohm, 48 Ohm...etc). Higher DRAM frequency will require higher PROCODT for the CPU to boot.

- Your RAM CAD settings may need tuning, depending on used dies and their quality. The same goes to RTT settings, some RAM can boot at (RTTNOM, -WR, -Park): RZQ/3-RZQ/3-RZQ1, some may reqire: RZQ/4-OFF-Disabled (Samsung E-die) and others may work with: Disabled-OFF-RZQ/5 (Samsung B-die). There are other settings, and the RAM being single or dual rank does play a role.

- Try enabling 2T and enabling Geardown.

- Set memory page size to 512B for 8Gbit dies (B-die) and 1KB for 4Gbit dies. If you have older DDR4 RAM that uses 2Gbit dies then use 2KB.

- Use Prime95, Linpack Xtreme,Y-cruncher or Stressappstest using 80% of system RAM for 1-2 hours to confirm stability.

@Ramad Thank you for the tips! Worked on AGESA 1.0.0.6 v6401 BIOS also. Changed the frequency to 400 in all settings (default 300) and system is much more stable at slightly lower secondary timings also. Will try to reduce primary timings over the weekend if time permits. Thanks once again!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RTC 1.05 @ 3200 MHz (2).png
Views:	27
Size:	72.0 KB
ID:	266034  


AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @3.6 GHz / Cooler Master 212 Turbo / ASUS Crosshair VI Hero / 2X 16GB G-Skill F4-4000C19-16GTZ @3200 MHz / 2X Gigabyte Vega 64 OC 8GB CFX / Samsung 840Pro 256GB SSD / WD Black 3TB Sata HDD / Antec 1300W PSU / Etc.
hvora70 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40394 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 11:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ramad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 842
Rep: 109 (Unique: 59)
Quote: Originally Posted by hvora70 View Post
@Ramad Thank you for the tips! Worked on AGESA 1.0.0.6 v6401 BIOS also. Changed the frequency to 400 in all settings (default 300) and system is much more stable at slightly lower secondary timings also. Will try to reduce primary timings over the weekend if time permits. Thanks once again!

Happy to help.

If your RAM is dual rank then I suggest that you enable BankGroupSwap, enable Hash Bank and disable BankGroupSwapAlt, Hash CS and SPD Read Optimization. As shown in the screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	190420203842.png
Views:	40
Size:	171.7 KB
ID:	266046  

Ramad is offline  
post #40395 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 07:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
I understand that the C6H is using T Topology thus 4x8 is better than 2x16 for 32GB total. Anyone with Hynix C die managed to get good timing with a first gen Ryzen?

I am using the 1800x and can get my 4x8GB Klevv Bolt X (KD48GU880-32A160T) to boot at DCOP setting but any overclocking on my CPU or changing the timings on the ram would lead to instability.



Thanks!

Edit: I have tried to increase the vcore, vsoc, cldo vdd, and ram voltage to try and oc the cpu first while leaving the rams on DCOP but while it has no issues with cinebench, it fails linpaack xtreme.

Last edited by KWSW; 04-20-2019 at 11:55 PM.
KWSW is offline  
post #40396 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 08:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Ramad View Post
I have an E-die set of RAM running 3200MT/s at CAS 14. Send me a PM if you are interested in a profile that may work on your system.
I'd be happy if they booted at 16...

i may have another go today.
mercyground is offline  
post #40397 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 09:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by mercyground View Post
I'd be happy if they booted at 16...

i may have another go today.
well i tried 3200 and it again failed to boot even with 1.4v.

However when i gave it 3000 after it reset memory settings... I'm back running.
Not the best timings but i'll have another go tweaking down another day. I'll see how stable these are first.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3ktiming.PNG
Views:	17
Size:	40.3 KB
ID:	266158  


Last edited by mercyground; 04-21-2019 at 09:34 AM.
mercyground is offline  
post #40398 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 11:11 AM
Riding on the edge
 
The Sandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 3,129
Rep: 350 (Unique: 246)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ramad View Post
A few thing to try when trying to stabilize memory on the new AGESA (0.0.7.0 and 0.0.7.2) on 1xxx Ryzen series:

- Set CLDOVDDP to 1000mV.

- Set SOC voltage to 1.1V.

- Set 1.8V PLL to 1.9V - 2V if your CPU is overclocked.

- Set DRAM voltage to 1.4V as a start, work your way on lowering that later, if possible.

- Use 400HKz-500KHz switching frequency on CPU, SOC and DRAM MOSFETS.

- Calculate your memory timings based on memory die data sheet. Use 3200MT/s timings then work your way to tighter timings (2800MT/s, 2666MT/s...etc)

- Find the lowest PROCODT that your CPU can boot at with the used DRAM frequency (60 Ohm, 53 Ohm, 48 Ohm...etc). Higher DRAM frequency will require higher PROCODT for the CPU to boot.

- Your RAM CAD settings may need tuning, depending on used dies and their quality. The same goes to RTT settings, some RAM can boot at (RTTNOM, -WR, -Park): RZQ/3-RZQ/3-RZQ1, some may reqire: RZQ/4-OFF-Disabled (Samsung E-die) and others may work with: Disabled-OFF-RZQ/5 (Samsung B-die). There are other settings, and the RAM being single or dual rank does play a role.

- Try enabling 2T and enabling Geardown.

- Set memory page size to 512B for 8Gbit dies (B-die) and 1KB for 4Gbit dies. If you have older DDR4 RAM that uses 2Gbit dies then use 2KB.

- Use Prime95, Linpack Xtreme,Y-cruncher or Stressappstest using 80% of system RAM for 1-2 hours to confirm stability.

Solid advise here + Rep!
I had forgotten about my switching freqs while playing with PBO/EDC on 0.0.7.2 (yes PBO works fine) and current PE3 OC.
Called it a night after semi stabilizing PE3 with EDC 152 (default = 145). 4250MHz all core 1.296v full load IBT AVX w/custom 90% mem and 3 hrs Kahru RamTest.
Bios text file below if anyone is interested.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	48 soc cur cap to 140 freqs to 400 pass.PNG
Views:	31
Size:	1.60 MB
ID:	266170  

Click image for larger version

Name:	52 up soc cur cap to 140 +1 soc  3 hrs Karhu.PNG
Views:	20
Size:	2.08 MB
ID:	266172  

Click image for larger version

Name:	50 repeat.PNG
Views:	15
Size:	142.8 KB
ID:	266174  

Click image for larger version

Name:	51 Cinebench repeat settings.PNG
Views:	36
Size:	1.38 MB
ID:	266176  

Attached Files
File Type: txt pe3edc15242119_setting.txt (19.3 KB, 13 views)

Ryzen Build
(20 items)
Bruce
(14 items)
CPU
R7 2700x
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
GSkill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 SSD
Hard Drive
Corsair GT SSD
Hard Drive
WD 2TB Black
Hard Drive
WD 4TB Red
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2
Cooling
XSPC GPU Razor WB
Cooling
XSPC RX 360
Cooling
XSPC RS 360
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon AP-15 1850 rpm
Cooling
EK-FB Asus C6H Monoblock
Cooling
XSPC EX140
Case
Xigmatek Elysium
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VE248H x2
CPU
FX 6350
Motherboard
Asus CHV-Z
GPU
PNY GT 710
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16GTX 1866MHz 8-9-9-24-33-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
WD20EFRX 64M Red x4 raid 10
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS Blk
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Power Supply
Corsair HX500
Cooling
Hyper 212 Evo R2
Case
Corsair 330R Titainium
Operating System
Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
Monitor
Asus
Keyboard
Logitech MK300
▲ hide details ▲


The Sandman is offline  
post #40399 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 11:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
shilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Hi All,

Has anyone been experiencing instability until a reboot? I've noticed this since BIOS 6401 (I'm now on 6903). I don't want to go back to an older BIOS as 6401 and higher seems to have fixed the PWM fan control issue.

What happens is Intel Burn Test shows instability after 5-10 minutes, Witcher 3 and Resident Evil 2 crashes to desktop without any errors. But then after a reboot, it'll be 100% stable all day.

For example, when Witcher 3 crashes to desktop I can start up Witcher 3 again and it'll crash after 5-10 minutes. I can keep doing this and it'll keep crashing unless I reboot. After rebooting, it'll never crash. Sometimes it takes two reboots. Same with IBT.

This is all on stock, nothing overclocked.

Anyone seen this?


Another annoying issue I've having since I've owned the board (1.5 years) is the M.2 PCIe speed. It'll sometimes be in x1 mode. I notice this when I transfer large files as my speed is limited to around 700 MB/s. I open up Crystal Disk Info and it'll show x1. If I reboot, it'll go to x4 and my speeds go up to 1800 MB/s (my SSD rated speed).

I don't think the M.2 speed is related to the instability. What I mean by this, the crashing happens whether my M.2 is x1 or x4.
shilent is offline  
post #40400 of 40627 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 11:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ramad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 842
Rep: 109 (Unique: 59)
Quote: Originally Posted by mercyground View Post
well i tried 3200 and it again failed to boot even with 1.4v.

However when i gave it 3000 after it reset memory settings... I'm back running.
Not the best timings but i'll have another go tweaking down another day. I'll see how stable these are first.

Can you boot at 3200MT/s using following RTT settings:


RTTNOM: RZQ/4 or RZQ/5
RTTWR: OFF
RTTPARK: Disabled

Keep PROCODT at 60 Ohm and SOC at 1.1V and set CLDO_VDDP to 980mV for now. You may need to lower PROCODT later, but try the settings above before tinkering with other settings.
Ramad is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (1 members and 4 guests)
MosterMenu
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off