ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4062 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #40611 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 11:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Ramad View Post
My RTT and PROCODT used to be RZQ/3-RZQ/3-RZQ/1 at 53/60 Ohm on earlier BIOS, before AGESA 1.0.0.6. Switched to Gigabyte K7 and those values does not work so I managed to find the correct values which were RZQ/4-Off-Disabled at 48 Ohm which worked fine on the K7 and now on the C6H. You can try swiping RAM by moving RAM stick Y to slot 2 and RAM stick X to slot 4, C6H is a little picky on which RAM sits in slot 2 which is the primary slot.
Hmm. i was under impression from manual that slots 1 and 3 were best for dual bank...

(slot 1 being closest to cpu)

so i might get better results with 2/4 instead?
mercyground is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40612 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 12:00 PM
Cautious Overclocker
 
Sideways2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 219
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by mercyground View Post
Hmm. i was under impression from manual that slots 1 and 3 were best for dual bank...

(slot 1 being closest to cpu)

so i might get better results with 2/4 instead?
The manual states A2/B2 or 2/4 are the best slots for dual channel

Sideways2k's Rig
(16 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI
GPU
Zotac 1080ti Extreme Edition
RAM
Gskill Trident Z 3200Mhz CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo M2 250Gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo x2
Power Supply
SuperFlower Leadex 850w Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolve
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Asus PG279Q 1440p @ 165hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Mousepad
Razer Firefly
Audio
HyperX Cloud Revolver S
▲ hide details ▲
Sideways2k is offline  
post #40613 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 04:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 329
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
do I have any problems?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sshot-16.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	532.7 KB
ID:	270440  

Click image for larger version

Name:	capu.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	529.3 KB
ID:	270450  

Click image for larger version

Name:	görev.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	270452  


AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD

Last edited by mito1172; 05-19-2019 at 04:34 PM.
mito1172 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40614 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 09:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dave001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 31
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Dave001 View Post
I'm still attempting to get Asus, to fix the VDDP settings in the BIOS for the Extreme, my case has been handed on to the ASUS Global Technical Support Department, and they sent me another email asking for more info today, so it looks like I might actually be getting somewhere. Perhaps being able to change VDDP voltage on the extreme, might help with some of the RAM stability problems.
So I took the time to supply Asus with all the info they asked for, and today I received this reply from them.

Quote: Originally Posted by Asus
Please be informed that we have received the escalation feedback from the ASUS Global Technical Support Department regarding your case. According to them, the device will need to be book for RMA hardware and BIOS check.
So it looks like I need to decide what to do next?
Do nothing and hope that they fix the VDDP voltage and fan ramping issues, in a future BIOS update.
RMA the board, which at best, I will receive my board back, with the RMA department stating no faults, so I've just wasted some time, or possibly get a replacement board, which will still have the same BIOS faults, but I'll then have to purchase a new Windows 10 Pro license, so I'll be wasting my time and money.

CPU/Motherboard/Ram: Ryzen 7 2700 @ 4Ghz 1.35v - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Extreme (Bios 7003) - G.Skill Flare X F4-3200C14D-16GFX @3333MHZ 14-14-14-14-28 1T 1.35v.
GPU/SSD's: MSI RX580 Gaming X 8GB - 500GB Samsung 970 Evo M.2 NVME, 2x 1TB Samsung 860 Evo's.
Case/Cooling: Fractal Design R6 - Custom Loop: EK PE360 & XSPC EX240 CF Radiators, Noctua NF-F12 industrial 3K Fans, EK D5 PWM Pump and EK Velocity CPU Block
PSU/OS: Corsair HX750W - Windows 10 x64 Pro
Dave001 is offline  
post #40615 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 10:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 380
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by 3200MHz View Post
Yes, you are right - it was 90% in my case too.

And that's what's weird, because I've never touched it - it was always with default settings.
And on previous BIOS'es it was on defaults too, while the CPU has been downclocked properly on idle.

Now I changed it to 5%, and the CPU goes below 2GHz on idle, while still sticks around 1.35V per core.
maybe AMD chipset drivers change that power plan or some windows update
I wasnt even using the ryzen power plan cause even AMD staff advises to use windows balanced power plan since windows ryzen support is much better now than it was during ryzen launch
either microsoft or AMD made changes to that windows blanced power plan and reverted minimum processor state back to 90%

X370 Crosshair VI Extreme || Ryzen 2700X + be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 || G.Skill Trident Z 2x8GB 3333CL14 || MSI 1080Ti Gaming X || Samsung EVO 960 500GB + Crucial MX500 500GB m.2 + Crucial MX500 1TB m.2 || 650W Seasonic Prime Platinum || be quiet! Dark Base 700 & 4xSilent Wings 3 140mm 1600RPM PWM || LG 32GK850G 1440p 165Hz Gsync || Xbox One gamepad || CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S || Wireless Logitech G403 || Windows 10 Pro x64
Fanu is offline  
post #40616 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 02:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
macxell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
All the time Ryzen Power Plan was set to 90 % for minimum cpu usage. I always change after installing windows to 5 or 10 % to have low clock speeds in idle.
macxell is offline  
post #40617 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 05:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,256
Rep: 59 (Unique: 44)
Quote: Originally Posted by Dave001 View Post
So I took the time to supply Asus with all the info they asked for, and today I received this reply from them.



So it looks like I need to decide what to do next?
Do nothing and hope that they fix the VDDP voltage and fan ramping issues, in a future BIOS update.
RMA the board, which at best, I will receive my board back, with the RMA department stating no faults, so I've just wasted some time, or possibly get a replacement board, which will still have the same BIOS faults, but I'll then have to purchase a new Windows 10 Pro license, so I'll be wasting my time and money.
Are you using retail or OEM windows 10 pro? If your using windows 10 pro OEM all you have to do is give a call to Microsoft and they will activate windows 10 pro with the same motherboard change, so long as it's not a upgrade.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is offline  
post #40618 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 11:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
3200MHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 79
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by macxell View Post
All the time Ryzen Power Plan was set to 90 % for minimum cpu usage. I always change after installing windows to 5 or 10 % to have low clock speeds in idle.
Yes, thank you.
I found this post:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...evant/eclsig7/

The original AMD Ryzen Balanced power plan was primarily intended to disable core parking. Waking a parked core has a latency penalty that costs performance, especially in gaming.

At the time this plan was conceived, the out-of-box "Balanced" plan that comes with Win10 (AKA "OEM Balanced") disabled core parking for Intel processors, but not AMD processors. Ergo, an artificial performance disadvantage was being applied to AMD processors.

Beginning with Win10 RS4 (IIRC), the OEM Balanced plan also disabled core parking for AMD processors.

3a) At the time Win10 RS4 was released, you may have seen chatter about RS4 improving game performance on Ryzen. These people almost certainly had not installed the AMD chipset drivers with the plan, because the disabling of Core Parking in the OEM Balanced plan was giving them the performance uplift the Ryzen Balanced plan would have given them.

4) Now that Ryzen Balanced and OEM Balanced both disable Core Parking, the need for Ryzen Balanced is diminished. 99% of the time, these plans will offer equal performance.

4a) However, the Ryzen Balanced plan still sets a minimum clockspeed of 90% on a core that is actively under load. This eliminates some small latency penalties that occur when ramping a CPU from low clock to high clock. This will give the Ryzen Balanced plan a small edge in select cases. It's a few percent, and I've only seen it measured in synthetic workloads.

5) In all cases, Ryzen depends on core C-states (e.g. cc6 sleep) for power management rather than winding down the clockspeed. This is why Ryzen has a "high" p2 of approx. 2.2GHz. It's much more efficient just to sleep the core at an extremely low clockspeed and voltage, rather than running it awake at a low clock.

5a) The good news is that Balanced/Ryzen Balanced/High Performance all have approximately the same power consumption as a result of this decision.

5b) The bad news is that Windows cannot probe the clock (only a VID) when a core is in cc6, as a probe would wake the core and kill the power savings. So Task Manager and 3rd party utilities just report the last active clockspeed that was observed before the core went to sleep. So your core might jump right from 4GHz to sleep, and Windows will still report 4GHz on the core.

That's the complete story.

tl;dr: use balanced or ryzen balanced for Ryzen, 2nd Gen Ryzen, Threadripper, etc. It's fine.

Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.0 GHz (C-States); 4x8 G.Skill F4-3200C14-8GTZKW @ 3200 MHz; ASUS Crosshair VI Extreme
Sapphire RX Vega 64 Nitro+
Corsair HX850
Arctic Liquid Freezer 360 (6x120mm push-pull)
Thermaltake Core X9 (2x200mm in, 1x120mm out)

https://valid.x86.fr/dk79i7
3200MHz is offline  
post #40619 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 05:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 329
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by 3200MHz View Post
Yes, thank you.
I found this post:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...evant/eclsig7/

The original AMD Ryzen Balanced power plan was primarily intended to disable core parking. Waking a parked core has a latency penalty that costs performance, especially in gaming.

At the time this plan was conceived, the out-of-box "Balanced" plan that comes with Win10 (AKA "OEM Balanced") disabled core parking for Intel processors, but not AMD processors. Ergo, an artificial performance disadvantage was being applied to AMD processors.

Beginning with Win10 RS4 (IIRC), the OEM Balanced plan also disabled core parking for AMD processors.

3a) At the time Win10 RS4 was released, you may have seen chatter about RS4 improving game performance on Ryzen. These people almost certainly had not installed the AMD chipset drivers with the plan, because the disabling of Core Parking in the OEM Balanced plan was giving them the performance uplift the Ryzen Balanced plan would have given them.

4) Now that Ryzen Balanced and OEM Balanced both disable Core Parking, the need for Ryzen Balanced is diminished. 99% of the time, these plans will offer equal performance.

4a) However, the Ryzen Balanced plan still sets a minimum clockspeed of 90% on a core that is actively under load. This eliminates some small latency penalties that occur when ramping a CPU from low clock to high clock. This will give the Ryzen Balanced plan a small edge in select cases. It's a few percent, and I've only seen it measured in synthetic workloads.

5) In all cases, Ryzen depends on core C-states (e.g. cc6 sleep) for power management rather than winding down the clockspeed. This is why Ryzen has a "high" p2 of approx. 2.2GHz. It's much more efficient just to sleep the core at an extremely low clockspeed and voltage, rather than running it awake at a low clock.

5a) The good news is that Balanced/Ryzen Balanced/High Performance all have approximately the same power consumption as a result of this decision.

5b) The bad news is that Windows cannot probe the clock (only a VID) when a core is in cc6, as a probe would wake the core and kill the power savings. So Task Manager and 3rd party utilities just report the last active clockspeed that was observed before the core went to sleep. So your core might jump right from 4GHz to sleep, and Windows will still report 4GHz on the core.

That's the complete story.

tl;dr: use balanced or ryzen balanced for Ryzen, 2nd Gen Ryzen, Threadripper, etc. It's fine.
Which one should be used according to the article?

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD
mito1172 is offline  
post #40620 of 40970 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 12:27 AM
Cautious Overclocker
 
Sideways2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 219
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by mito1172 View Post
Which one should be used according to the article?
Balanced plan or Ryzen balanced with 5% min processor state. Alternatively, if you don't care for downclocking use high-performance plan. When I had a 1700X I found that high performance or Ryzen balanced with 90% min processor state gave slightly higher single core score on Cinebench, but nothing worth loosing downclock/volt in my opinion.

Sideways2k's Rig
(16 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI
GPU
Zotac 1080ti Extreme Edition
RAM
Gskill Trident Z 3200Mhz CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo M2 250Gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo x2
Power Supply
SuperFlower Leadex 850w Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolve
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Asus PG279Q 1440p @ 165hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Mousepad
Razer Firefly
Audio
HyperX Cloud Revolver S
▲ hide details ▲
Sideways2k is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 8 (2 members and 6 guests)
1usmus , Emmily
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off