ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4085 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #40841 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 01:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
arcDaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 95
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
@elmor

thanks for your support, but are you back in some way at Asus or is it only personal interest?
arcDaniel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40842 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 02:02 AM
French nerd
 
Lermite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: France
Posts: 924
Rep: 44 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by Lermite View Post
I gonna try again AI suite to check this.
Some feedback:

Fan Xpert in AI Suite works fine with really applied Smoothing times, even if I had to set them to 63s to calm down my fans.

A weird side effect is that HWiNFO is now unable to read the fans speed variations: it always show still values despite I hear the fans speed to change.

As working fans is more important than their monitoring, I keep AI Suite.
Thanks for this advice.

EDIT / my bad: The HWiNFO sensors reading somehow crashes after any change applied by Fan Xpert but restarting it restores its normal behavior.
In other words: finally, everything is fine

Last edited by Lermite; 06-16-2019 at 04:28 AM.
Lermite is offline  
post #40843 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 815
Rep: 332 (Unique: 145)
Quote: Originally Posted by arcDaniel View Post
@elmor

thanks for your support, but are you back in some way at Asus or is it only personal interest?

I'm not back at Asus.
elmor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40844 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 05:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LicSqualo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Abruzzo, Italy
Posts: 305
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
@elmor
Just one question:
I've two M2 NVME drive, a first 970 Evo in the MB m2 socket and the 2nd one (950 Pro) over a PCI-Ex x4 card on the secondary VGA slot.
Also a Radeon Vega64 VGA card.
Well, all the software I use to check the speed of my prymary PCI-Ex indicate a x16 run (HWInfo. AIDA64, SIV).
Both NVME drives run at x4 speed.
How is possible (for my calculation I've: x16 Vga + x4 NVME + x4 NVME = 24 PCI-Ex lanes)?
Thx in advance.
Lic

Ryzen 1700 - 4,0 Ghz @1,31 (IBT-avx load) + ram @3466 14-13-13-13-22-36-1t
Zen
(20 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700 @4.1+ Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
MSI VEGA 64 LC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3600c16 2x8 GB @3500 c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512 GB
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black 500 Gb
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Hard Drive
WD RED 2 TB
Power Supply
Corsair Hx1000i
Cooling
Alphacool 480 UT60 with Eisblock XPX
Case
NOX Hummer
Operating System
WIN 10 x64 RS3
Monitor
ASUS PB278
Monitor
ASUS MG278Q Freesync
Keyboard
Coolermaster MECH
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Logitech
Audio
Integrated Motherboard
▲ hide details ▲
LicSqualo is offline  
post #40845 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 815
Rep: 332 (Unique: 145)
Quote: Originally Posted by LicSqualo View Post
@elmor
Just one question:
I've two M2 NVME drive, a first 970 Evo in the MB m2 socket and the 2nd one (950 Pro) over a PCI-Ex x4 card on the secondary VGA slot.
Also a Radeon Vega64 VGA card.
Well, all the software I use to check the speed of my prymary PCI-Ex indicate a x16 run (HWInfo. AIDA64, SIV).
Both NVME drives run at x4 speed.
How is possible (for my calculation I've: x16 Vga + x4 NVME + x4 NVME = 24 PCI-Ex lanes)?
Thx in advance.
Lic

By the "secondary VGA slot", do you mean PCIEX8_2 (grey) or PCIEX4_3 (black)?

If you're using PCIEX8_2 for the PCI-E x4 M.2 card, the VGA in the first slot would run at x8. But if you use the PCIEX4_3 slot which is through the chipset PCI-E lanes and not the CPU, the VGA would still run at x16. The on-board M.2 slot is dedicated from the CPU and not shared with anything else. GPU-Z is usually very reliable for checking how many lanes are used by the graphics card.
elmor is offline  
post #40846 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 07:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LicSqualo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Abruzzo, Italy
Posts: 305
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by elmor View Post
By the "secondary VGA slot", do you mean PCIEX8_2 (grey) or PCIEX4_3 (black)?

If you're using PCIEX8_2 for the PCI-E x4 M.2 card, the VGA in the first slot would run at x8. But if you use the PCIEX4_3 slot which is through the chipset PCI-E lanes and not the CPU, the VGA would still run at x16. The on-board M.2 slot is dedicated from the CPU and not shared with anything else. GPU-Z is usually very reliable for checking how many lanes are used by the graphics card.
Yes the PCIEX8_2 for the m2 card.
The "strange" is that all the Info software show X16 for the Vega64.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (7).png
Views:	54
Size:	5.87 MB
ID:	274718  


Ryzen 1700 - 4,0 Ghz @1,31 (IBT-avx load) + ram @3466 14-13-13-13-22-36-1t
Zen
(20 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700 @4.1+ Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
MSI VEGA 64 LC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3600c16 2x8 GB @3500 c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512 GB
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black 500 Gb
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Hard Drive
WD RED 2 TB
Power Supply
Corsair Hx1000i
Cooling
Alphacool 480 UT60 with Eisblock XPX
Case
NOX Hummer
Operating System
WIN 10 x64 RS3
Monitor
ASUS PB278
Monitor
ASUS MG278Q Freesync
Keyboard
Coolermaster MECH
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Logitech
Audio
Integrated Motherboard
▲ hide details ▲
LicSqualo is offline  
post #40847 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 02:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 368
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Dr. Vodka View Post
To make things even weirder, 7002 is gone from the official BIOS releases list. You can still download it, though.



https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...HelpDesk_BIOS/


Why did he do that after 1 month? strange

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD

Last edited by mito1172; 06-16-2019 at 02:29 PM.
mito1172 is offline  
post #40848 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 05:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iNeri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: México
Posts: 579
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by iNeri View Post
Well, at same voltage and timings i can only get 3400 on the CH6E vs 3466 mhz on the taichi :/



It could be worse xD
Forget it, as soon i mod voltage or OC to CPU this ram OC dont work anymore. Cant pass the test no matter what i do. Damn it Asus, if this mobo come to the market 6 months later than C6H why you dont take care of, at least tunned the mobo to be equal on RAM OC :@

Anyway. With UV to -.075 LLC2, default enhacer and custom PBO to 200-110-150 i can get 3333 OC ram at 1.39v:



I dont know, on the taichi i was able to do 102 bclk OC and UV -.0375v. The RAM oc there was 3466 CL14-15-14-14 GD disabled 1t. Totally stable.

Other thing is, if i put 102 bclk here the latency goes as if i manual OC on cache NS: L1 1.0 ns L2 3.0ns L3 9.0+ ns while on the taichi with bclk i get L1 0.9 ns L2 2.8 NS LC 8.6 ns.

If i use bclk OC this mobo do 2 post from a cold boot. The taichi no problem, even boots faster. And while i run TM5 stress test on the taichi i can use the PC no problem, here is unusable while running.

Its a beauty piece of hardware, tons of features. It hurts that the performance is low than a lower end MOBO. I mean, is not Asrock the low cost brand of asustek? well, they doing it better

Ryzen [email protected] 1.33mV+ Kraken X61 push/pull|Asrock X370 Taichi|EVGA SC2 1080ti [email protected] & [email protected] Mhz 0.98 mV + Kraken X61|GSkill FlareX 8GBx2 3466MHz CL 14-15-14-28-42-277-1t&1.40 mV|EVGA SuperNova 850W|Thermaltake View 31 RGB|NVME CorsairMP500 240 GB+Seagate 3TB 7200rpm 200 MBps|HP Omen 27" [email protected]

Last edited by iNeri; 06-16-2019 at 08:35 PM.
iNeri is offline  
post #40849 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 05:37 PM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
Naeem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Always Near My PC
Posts: 294
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Dr. Vodka View Post
To make things even weirder, 7002 is gone from the official BIOS releases list. You can still download it, though.



https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...HelpDesk_BIOS/



looks like PCI-E 4 support is getting locked down

AMD Master Race PC
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
RX Vega 64 Liquid
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3066MHZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860
Cooling
Corsair H100I
Case
Corsair 460X RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus MG278Q 1440p , 144HZ FreeSync
Keyboard
Corsair K30
Mouse
Razer Deathadder 2013
Mouse
Razer SPHEX
▲ hide details ▲


Naeem is offline  
post #40850 of 41660 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 11:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pilotasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 181
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Old news however the community is hell bent on modded BIOS to get that feature re-activated.

PC specs:
CPU: AMD RYZEN 2700X @ 4.2Ghz
RAM: 32 GB 4266Mhz (two 2x8 kits) of trident Z RGB @3533Mhz CL 14 CR=1T
MOBO: ASUS CROSSHAIR HERO VI AM4
GFX: GTX 1080Ti MSI Gaming X
Cooler: NXZT Kraken X62 280mm AIO
Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2+6GB WD 6Gb red
Pilotasso is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 37 (8 members and 29 guests)
ch1mer4 , f4nskap , ggdfdgd3 , ilmazzo , malitze , Ultimvtum , varyak , WinnieBlue
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off