ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4088 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #40871 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 01:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BUFUMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 476
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
He is right!

I did some test and Windows Balanced was faster than AMD Balanced.... Just 2fps or so....



Gesendet von meinem LYA-L29 mit Tapatalk

RYZENBUFU: R7 1700X @ 3800Mhz| Noctua NH-U14S (Push-Pull) - BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero UEFI 7003 | 16GB G.Skill TridentZ [G.SKILL F4-3200C14-GTZ (2x8GB)] @ 3333Mhz CL14 T1 | Zotac AMP Extreme GTX 1080 | NVME & SSD's & HDD's | Be quite Dark Power P11 850W | Phanteks Evolv ATX with BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 | Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro | Logitech Z 2300 2.1 THX | Asus ROG Strix XG32VQ
BUFUMAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40872 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 01:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,811
Rep: 43 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by LicSqualo View Post
Oh well, a "singularity"! Sorry, I don't have an answer for your case, but isn't "regular" as you write (your windows operating system).

If you don't believe me, please google "windows 10 zen improvements"...
I believe you, no problem, I also read abut that improvement, even seen it on youtube but I didn't see any of it.
By regular W10 build I mean a normal one as opposed to Insider builds, Just last week I updated from 1809
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Powerplan.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	138.3 KB
ID:	275014  


Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 4602
R7 2700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #40873 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 02:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,811
Rep: 43 (Unique: 32)
Also Time spy before with OC and after (just now) without OC and with Ryzen power saving plan. Lack of better results probably caused by Rx 570.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Time spy3.JPG
Views:	24
Size:	196.4 KB
ID:	275016  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Time spy4.JPG
Views:	26
Size:	199.0 KB
ID:	275018  


Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 4602
R7 2700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #40874 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 03:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 368
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by herericc View Post
Just use windows balanced you haven't needed to use Ryzen balanced for over a year now.
thanks. but Windovs seemed to have the previous ryzen power plan at 1903

Quote: Originally Posted by Lermite View Post
Weird. I installed this new chipset driver and the Ryzen Balanced power plan is still there.
Mine was always the active one.
Perhaps yours was another one, allowing the Ryzen Balanced to be removed.
I do not know does not seem to me

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD
mito1172 is offline  
post #40875 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 03:50 PM
French nerd
 
Lermite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: France
Posts: 924
Rep: 44 (Unique: 32)
Actually, I have Win 10 LTSB 1607.
As I want to keep a LTSB/C, I can only upgrade to the LTSC 1809.
Would this be enough to get a significant performance gain?
Lermite is offline  
post #40876 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 04:05 PM
Riding on the edge
 
The Sandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 3,150
Rep: 351 (Unique: 247)
Quote: Originally Posted by herericc View Post
Hey everyone - I got my 4 sticks of 3200MT CL14 ram installed now - seems to be pretty awesome to have 4 sticks on a CH6.

I was trying to use the 3533 (safe) settings from the calculator, but I noticed my DRAM voltage is being reported as between ~1.45 and ~1.505. I have it set to 1.41 - why am I seeing such a discrepancy? I realize the CH6 has crappy sensor granularity, but this seems like there's a direct offset of about +0.05V regardless of my actual bios DRAM Voltage setting.

Does everyone else see this discrepancy? I use HWInfo64.
Has anyone actually used a DMM to check what the real DRAM voltage is? I'd be willing to do so to figure out if there's a constant offset or something - just need to know where I can actually probe the traces.

Thanks,

Herericc

Yes mine has been reading high on most values since day one.
Yes it is due to crappy sensor/s and some mobo are better than others. This was covered in the early days here.
https://www.overclock.net/forum/26506128-post31582.html
https://www.overclock.net/forum/26506270-post31597.html

Easy fix is to just measure at the Probelt Points with MM and Offset values in HWinfo accordingly (link above)
I measured mine and use the following negative offsets in HWinfo.

CPU Core Volt = - 0.016
CPU SOC = - 0.03799
Dram = - 0.06580
VDDP = - 0.05000
1.8v = - 0.04399

Better if measured at the socket but Probelt is less risky and for me way closer than with no offset.
This drove me nuts for the longest time as my Dram voltage would always read close to if not over 1.5v.
Now under load I'm pretty much spot on to Probelt Points and a lot more comfortable.

Ryzen Build
(20 items)
Bruce
(14 items)
CPU
R7 2700x
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
GSkill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 SSD
Hard Drive
Corsair GT SSD
Hard Drive
WD 2TB Black
Hard Drive
WD 4TB Red
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2
Cooling
XSPC GPU Razor WB
Cooling
XSPC RX 360
Cooling
XSPC RS 360
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon AP-15 1850 rpm
Cooling
EK-FB Asus C6H Monoblock
Cooling
XSPC EX140
Case
Xigmatek Elysium
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VE248H x2
CPU
FX 6350
Motherboard
Asus CHV-Z
GPU
PNY GT 710
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16GTX 1866MHz 8-9-9-24-33-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
WD20EFRX 64M Red x4 raid 10
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS Blk
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Power Supply
Corsair HX500
Cooling
Hyper 212 Evo R2
Case
Corsair 330R Titainium
Operating System
Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
Monitor
Asus
Keyboard
Logitech MK300
▲ hide details ▲


The Sandman is offline  
post #40877 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 04:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheRic89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dub V
Posts: 143
Rep: 0
I also still have the Ryzen Balanced plan as well as Windows 1903 and the new chipset drivers(1.6.13.0400). I also still show AMD Software 18.50.16.01 and the AMD_Chipset_Drivers installed in Programs and Features.

Voodoo3 3000 -> GeForce FX 5200 -> Radeon x850 Pro -> GeForce GTX 260 -> Radeon HD 6870 -> Radeon HD 7950 -> GeForce GTX 970
TheRic89 is offline  
post #40878 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 05:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Neilthran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Somewhere far beyond
Posts: 189
Rep: 14 (Unique: 13)
Here is an explanation from Robert Hallock about the Ryzen power plan for those interested:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...evant/eclsig7/

I'm Using 1903 and a different motherboard than you guys, and the new chipset driver installer didn't install the Ryzen power plan, so i'm using the balanced plan, that should be the same.

Tanith
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix B350-F
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus Radeon RX 580 8gb
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Lpx 16gb ddr4 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
XFX XTR 650
Cooling
Ryzen Spire
Case
Corsair Carbide 400c
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 24MP59G
Keyboard
Hyperx Alloy Fps Pro
Mouse
Logitech G203
Mousepad
Steelseries Qck
▲ hide details ▲
Neilthran is offline  
post #40879 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 08:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
herericc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 113
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
herericc

Quote: Originally Posted by The Sandman View Post
Yes mine has been reading high on most values since day one.
Yes it is due to crappy sensor/s and some mobo are better than others. This was covered in the early days here.
https://www.overclock.net/forum/26506128-post31582.html
https://www.overclock.net/forum/26506270-post31597.html

Easy fix is to just measure at the Probelt Points with MM and Offset values in HWinfo accordingly (link above)
I measured mine and use the following negative offsets in HWinfo.

CPU Core Volt = - 0.016
CPU SOC = - 0.03799
Dram = - 0.06580
VDDP = - 0.05000
1.8v = - 0.04399

Better if measured at the socket but Probelt is less risky and for me way closer than with no offset.
This drove me nuts for the longest time as my Dram voltage would always read close to if not over 1.5v.
Now under load I'm pretty much spot on to Probelt Points and a lot more comfortable.
Thanks so much for the reply, this reassures me that I'm probably not cooking my RAM to death.

I haven't taken the time to look on the motherboard - I assume you meant "Probe Points" not Probelt Where are they located? Is it in the motherboard documentation anywhere? I have a DMM I'd like to probe with to set up offsets like you've done.

EDIT: Just read the CHVI manual - you DID mean PROBEIT, i read it as PROBELT lol. I will definitely see what my real voltages are at some point this week when I have some time so I can adjust my HWInfo readings. Thanks again for the reply!

My Main PC
(12 items)
HTPC
(9 items)
CPU
2700X
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING
RAM
Team Dark Pro 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3200 C14
Power Supply
Corsair TX 850M
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Corsair Air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Pro
Monitor
Asus MG279Q
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mousepad
Gamdias MASSIVE mat
Audio
Corsair Void Wireless Pro
CPU
R7 1700
Motherboard
GA-AX370-K7
GPU
ASUS RX R570X 4GB
RAM
F4-2400C15D-32GVR
Hard Drive
256GB M2 SSD
Hard Drive
960GB SATA SSD
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
Fractal Arc XL
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Pro
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by herericc; 06-19-2019 at 11:05 AM.
herericc is offline  
post #40880 of 41840 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 09:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
chroniclard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 141
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheRic89 View Post
I also still have the Ryzen Balanced plan as well as Windows 1903 and the new chipset drivers(1.6.13.0400). I also still show AMD Software 18.50.16.01 and the AMD_Chipset_Drivers installed in Programs and Features.
I still have Ryzen Balanced on 1903 and latest chipset drivers. However, isn't windows Balanced recommended now anyway, Ryzen balanced is defunct.
chroniclard is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 25 (8 members and 17 guests)
Evoluxion , jamesmca , Medusa666 , MrXL , solon , Stinger88 , Sturmer , varyak
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off