ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 411 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4101 of 40637 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 08:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,536
Rep: 46 (Unique: 34)
So, I've stumbled upon something truly curious. Ok, so in my earlier posts I complained about default vcore being ridiculously high, and I am 125% adamant that it's not because of XFR - this was observed @ 0902 bios and 0038 bios. Well, last night, after clearing CMOS for the 20th time because of 0d Qcodes, I am seeing 1.199v in bios with everything stock, and the prior behavior went away. Now, idk what might have caused it, what changed, why this CMOS clear was any different from prior CMOS clears, why the issue originally appeared in the first place, but now my Auto (default) vcore setting at everything stock is back to normal, akin to what I first observed with the old bios with which the board came with, the first time I booted the system.


Side note: My rig is running P95 while I hear Initial D - Gas, Gas, Gas theme playing in the background. Glorious.

Kriant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4102 of 40637 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 08:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,257
Rep: 31 (Unique: 25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zamoldac View Post

Any noticeable differences between 1N and 2N?
My kit will do both at 3200 but needs a lil bit more volts for 1N.

For me its always 1st thing that i change when playing around with memory. Shame still no option of changing in bios :/
lordzed83 is offline  
post #4103 of 40637 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 08:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Lipps ForHer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Eastern Idaho
Posts: 108
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)

nice thx, haven't tried this before. will now tho. smile.gif

Lipps ForHer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4104 of 40637 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 08:58 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: France/Armenia/US/Lebanon
Posts: 4,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriant View Post

So, I've stumbled upon something truly curious. Ok, so in my earlier posts I complained about default vcore being ridiculously high, and I am 125% adamant that it's not because of XFR - this was observed @ 0902 bios and 0038 bios. Well, last night, after clearing CMOS for the 20th time because of 0d Qcodes, I am seeing 1.199v in bios with everything stock, and the prior behavior went away. Now, idk what might have caused it, what changed, why this CMOS clear was any different from prior CMOS clears, why the issue originally appeared in the first place, but now my Auto (default) vcore setting at everything stock is back to normal, akin to what I first observed with the old bios with which the board came with, the first time I booted the system.


Side note: My rig is running P95 while I hear Initial D - Gas, Gas, Gas theme playing in the background. Glorious.

Measure with a DMM, even my voltage set to 1.238 on bios was showing as 1.199 in hwinfo. Don't trust the BIOS or software to measure voltage its not accurate, DMM is pretty accurate at the pinouts and raja pointed out measuring behind the socket or something at the vrm is even more accurate. Not sure if the new hwinfo64 beta took it into account with offsets but the 5.47-3118 seems to be dead on for me at vcore.
bluej511 is offline  
post #4105 of 40637 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 09:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Crowfood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Deleted
Crowfood is offline  
post #4106 of 40637 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 09:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Crowfood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Deleted
Crowfood is offline  
post #4108 of 40637 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 09:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
macxell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Ok, so i must return my ram, now i want a sugestion for 3200 mhz, low profile (i can not put gskill tident i will not fit)

Ok so i order the red ones, must wait until 5 april now..
macxell is offline  
post #4109 of 40637 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 09:18 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,736
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
gupsterg is offline  
post #4110 of 40637 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 09:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
You are getting paranoid with the voltages. Just keep the voltages at sane levels (< 1.45V for VDDCR_CPU, < 1.10V for VDDCR_SoC) and don't tamper with the load-line settings, unless you actually MEASURE significant amounts of droop, under load (which is not likely on C6H). Voltage overshoot hurts just as bad as undershoot, when it comes to stability. If you need to increase the load-line setting (i.e. introduce overshoot) to maintain stability, then your voltages are not set correctly to begin with.

The load-line options in bios translate to:

Auto = ±0% (1.425mOhm)
Level 1 = -40% (0.855mOhm)
Level 2 = -50% (0.7125mOhm)
Level 3 = -75% (0.35625mOhm)
Level 4 = -85% (0.21375mOhm)
Level 5 = -100% (0.0000mOhm)

I personally recommend to keep the load-line settings at "Auto" at all times, unless you are doing LN2 runs.

The main difference between the different Ryzen 7-series SKUs (aside of the clocks) is the leakage. The 1700 SKUs have low leakage characteristics, while both 1700X & 1800X are high(er) leaking silicon. Because of that 1700 requires even less load-line biasing than the other two (due the currents being lower).
The Stilt is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (2 members and 5 guests)
Lermite , usoldier
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off