ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4145 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41441 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 07:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JeyD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by mito1172 View Post
3000 series has been worse than the first series
Not really. In fact, this has been best release yet.
JeyD02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41442 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 07:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JeyD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by jamesmca View Post
Anyone seen a new beta bios floating around that might fix the 07 code? Ill try it out!
Which one?
JeyD02 is offline  
post #41443 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 07:32 PM
Custom User Title
 
hughjazz44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 326
Rep: 18 (Unique: 13)
Hey guys.

DOWNLOAD RYZEN MASTER!

Use it to enable Precision Boost Overdrive. It will actually work this way. If you enable it in the BIOS, it doesn't seem to do anything.

My all-core boost went from about 4.05GHz to 4.2GHz.

Edit: Just hit 3205 in CB R15! Woo hoo!

Edit again: I think I got a little over excited. My all-core boost frequency seems to depend on the load. I was getting 4.2Ghz on a Prime95 Blend test with high RAM usage, but when I was running Cinebench, it was more like 4.1Ghz. So the PBO effect is more mild than I originally though. But still, it's better than stock.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sdfsdf.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	350.2 KB
ID:	279412  


Last edited by hughjazz44; 07-11-2019 at 07:45 PM.
hughjazz44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41444 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 08:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
No love for the Extreme users having "official" support for the 3000 series chips yet. Maybe tomorrow. Definitely feeds into them starting at the bottom and working towards the top to acknowledge that they do work.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme
GPU
ASUS GTX 1660Ti STRIX Gaming
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 32GB
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510 960GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 QVO 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G1+ 850
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Case
NZXT H700
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
macawmatt is offline  
post #41445 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 08:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 368
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by AiiGee View Post
Hahaha I don't know about that.

Remember when you couldn't find motherboards for months? C6H launched with a brickable BIOS. Memory speeds over 3000MHz just wasn't happening unless if you had Samsung B-Die (and even then that might not save you). Probably other issues I'm forgetting as well as well
Definitely had its fair share of early adopter headaches.

I haven't really looked much into the current motherboards but Zen 2 launch definitely looks like a more stable. Us people sticking to their X370 or other boards from the 1000 series chips are just experiencing some backwards compatibility issues.
yes, but there was no such nonsense problem. stock was smooth at speeds

Quote: Originally Posted by KWSW View Post
https://www.asus.com/sg/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/

Finally see the 3800X on the list, hopefully the new bios for 1.0.0.3 will be coming soon.
No 3900x, but

Quote: Originally Posted by JeyD02 View Post
Not really. In fact, this has been best release yet.
I hope so

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD

Last edited by mito1172; 07-11-2019 at 09:04 PM.
mito1172 is offline  
post #41446 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 10:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
poporange630's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Sandman View Post
Which B-Die Samsung kit are you referring too that's rated at 1.2v?
Flare-X is rated at 1.35v. Mine require 1.43v for 3466MHz 14-14-14-28-42-1T.
I'm not aware of any 3200MHz that runs with 1.2v.
I'm running 3600 on a MSI B450 Mortar now with 4 x 8GB Flare-X 3200CL14 B-die.
I can get stable at 3600Mhz 1.44V with timing 14-15-14-14-28-42-1T Geardown ON
I'm already very impressed, as 4 DIMM is generally harder to OC with.
poporange630 is offline  
post #41447 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 11:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 51
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Sandman View Post
Which B-Die Samsung kit are you referring too that's rated at 1.2v?
Flare-X is rated at 1.35v. Mine require 1.43v for 3466MHz 14-14-14-28-42-1T.
I'm not aware of any 3200MHz that runs with 1.2v.
I have the exact same RAM what you have, https://gskill.com/specification/165...-Specification , and this has SPD Voltage 1.2
When you clear CMOS, it also clears RAM settings so instead of 3200MHz and 1.35V, you have 2400MHz and 1.2V.

Even if you set RAM voltage and DRAM Boot voltage manually to 1.2V, you can see it has applied settings and it works. So there shouldn't be ANY reason MB to fail 07 with FlareX mem after CMOS reset. Safe boot doesn't help either.

Asus BIOS are just crap and this radio silence by them is just demonstrating how much they want to support older platform. They should not make any AM4 platform MB's if they can't keep up with promises what AMD has made to users, instead just stick with Intel and sell new MB/chipset to consumers every year.

CPU AMD Ryzen 1700, MB Crosshair Hero VI, MEM FlareX for AMD f4-3200c14d-16gfx
jstar is offline  
post #41448 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 11:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by jstar View Post
Asus BIOS are just crap and this radio silence by them is just demonstrating how much they want to support older platform. They should not make any AM4 platform MB's if they can't keep up with promises what AMD has made to users, instead just stick with Intel and sell new MB/chipset to consumers every year.
Honestly, if you had a Gigabyte board you'd be saying the same about them. Probably same for MSI, Asrock. The grass is always greener, but the truth is bios support right now is rough across the board. Also, FWIW, having both an X370 Gigabyte board and an X370 Asus board, I'd say Gigabyte has been far worse in terms of bios support/features. They didn't even provide PBO for Ryzen 2000 series (it was present in one bios and then they removed it, supposedly because AMD asked them to).
Nagorak is offline  
post #41449 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 12:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 261
Rep: 15 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by jstar View Post
I have the exact same RAM what you have, https://gskill.com/specification/165...-Specification , and this has SPD Voltage 1.2
When you clear CMOS, it also clears RAM settings so instead of 3200MHz and 1.35V, you have 2400MHz and 1.2V.

Even if you set RAM voltage and DRAM Boot voltage manually to 1.2V, you can see it has applied settings and it works. So there shouldn't be ANY reason MB to fail 07 with FlareX mem after CMOS reset. Safe boot doesn't help either.

Asus BIOS are just crap and this radio silence by them is just demonstrating how much they want to support older platform. They should not make any AM4 platform MB's if they can't keep up with promises what AMD has made to users, instead just stick with Intel and sell new MB/chipset to consumers every year.
To be fair, they're probably working on it. Other boards are struggling with their own problems as well. Asrock can't set RAM much higher than 2933 for a lot of people. Some of the MSI Tomahawk users can't boot up either (perhaps a similar problem) and it seems MSI finally released some BIOs today with 1.0.0.3 update. It's a matter of luck and patience if the former doesn't apply.

cool.gif Creative Titanium HD->FiiO E9->Shure SRH-840/Ultrasone HFi-680 cool.gif


dev1ance is offline  
post #41450 of 41795 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 12:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AiiGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 58
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Today I upgraded from my 1700X to a 3800X and boy am I happy.

I'm on BIOS 7106.

One of the first things I did was set the DRAM Boot voltage to 1.38 in order to avoid that "C5" error many you have been getting. Until now, I've only shut down my PC and booted it once just to test if I would get the C5 Q-code but I didn't. Many thanks to dev1ance for this tip.

I'll probably tinker around more with RAM speeds and stability but I've basically spent hours today just upgrading this PC and fresh installing Windows along with all my programs... now I'm just gonna relax and watch some Netflix
I don't plan on OCing any time soon... the 3800X's default clock speeds are more than enough for me. Compared with my 1700X which I OC'ed as soon as I got it.
AiiGee is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 24 (4 members and 20 guests)
finalheaven , Kildar , redtnt , The Sandman
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off