ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4175 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41741 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 11:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
elguero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 88
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Has anyone with a ryzen 3xxx cpu tried the settings raja published a few days ago?
elguero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41742 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 12:04 AM
iPuppet
 
MacClipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 609
Rep: 74 (Unique: 57)
Quote: Originally Posted by hgelehl View Post
anyone with working crosshair 6 + r5 3600?

or is it just unsupported at the moment and it's waste of time trying troubleshoot?

+ any1 know how long it usually takes for asus to release working bios?
Working all good on my test C6H setup.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/1...0-post249.html


No problem at all after manually tweaking boot vRAM and fclk - keyboard/mouse works OK, no C5/07 errors on POST. Does a triple POST on cold boots though, warm boots are fine.


otoh, same exact parts on C6E gave me a much tougher time with random C5 POST errors, hoping for a new BIOS before trying again.

MacClipper is offline  
post #41743 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 12:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rob87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by MacClipper View Post
Working all good on my test C6H setup.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/1...0-post249.html


No problem at all after manually tweaking boot vRAM and fclk - keyboard/mouse works OK, no C5/07 errors on POST. Does a triple POST on cold boots though, warm boots are fine.


otoh, same exact parts on C6E gave me a much tougher time with random C5 POST errors, hoping for a new BIOS before trying again.

What BIOS version are you on?
rob87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41744 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 01:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by matthew87 View Post
If i was to upgrade to a 3xxx series processor and use the C6H, other than PCIe 4 (which i don't care about at this point) would i be missing any other major features of the new processors?

PBO for example?
PBO is a joke that does not do anything on any board. At least at the moment. Maybe there is some boost issue in AGESA... https://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/3...hmarks-auto-oc "Precision Boost OVERDRIVE and AutoOC are poorly named and poorly explained features that barely do anything and just serve to confuse the discussion"

My 3900x never ever has seen anything above 4350MHz on one core, With or without PBO. Allcore under is load is about 4100MHz.

Last edited by MegamanAT; 07-17-2019 at 02:49 AM.
MegamanAT is offline  
post #41745 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 01:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ryoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 92
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by elguero View Post
Has anyone with a ryzen 3xxx cpu tried the settings raja published a few days ago?
what settings do you mean, can you post the link here? thanks.
Ryoz is offline  
post #41746 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 01:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SirMacke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 51
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Any word on a bios-version that does not bring 15 new bugs?
Routine to start this right now:
Power on --> C5 --> CMOS
Power on, enter UEFI.
Reset due to computer hangs in UEFI
Power on, enter UEFI.
Reset due to computer hangs in UEFI
Power on, enter UEFI.
Reset due to computer hangs in UEFI
Power on, enter UEFI.
Reset due to computer hangs in UEFI
Power on, enter UEFI.
Change some stuff, bootV set to 1.4 --> F10
0d --> Reset
0d --> Reset
0d --> Reset
PSU power off.
Now the computer might boot, but sometimes C5 again.

Fun

SirMacke is offline  
post #41747 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 01:23 AM
The Masher Of Keys
 
AliasOfMyself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 441
Rep: 23 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by looncraz View Post
You talked to one tech who didn't know anything. They're easy to find.

AMD knows the issues and has directly solved them... now we're waiting for ASUS to figure it out.
I was sure i made it clear that i know the person i spoke to didn't know anything when i said i'd escalated my case with Asus support lol..

anyway, i got a new message this morning, either this guy doesn't know anything either, or there's something up with the 7201 bios you guys are trying out right now, here's what was said:

"Dear ****** ****,

Thank you for contacting ASUS and raising your complaint with our complaint team.
We are terribly sorry to be advised that you are experiencing issues with your ASUS product.

Kindly be advised that as soon there is a new BIOS update available, our team in HQ Taiwan will make an announcement at the Asus website.
Till that time, we have no new BIOS update for the motherboard available.

Our apologies for the inconveniences caused to you."

This lack of any kind of proper product support is very serious, i know the x370 based boards are old now, but that doesn't mean they should be as bad as they have been in communicating, i mean AFAIK the x570 boards customers are in pretty much so the same boat. If i end up having to upgrade to an x570 board, it won't be an Asus one.

The Alias 2.0
(15 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard
Asus ROG Crosshair VI hero
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus 1080ti Xtreme Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
850 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x
Cooling
Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Case
Coolermaster C700p
Operating System
Windows 10 PRO x64
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HUA
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Mousepad
Razer Firefly Cloth Edition
▲ hide details ▲
AliasOfMyself is offline  
post #41748 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 01:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
chroniclard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 142
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by MegamanAT View Post
PBO is a lie/joke that does not do anything on any board. At least at the moment. Maybe there is some boost issue in AGESA... https://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/3...hmarks-auto-oc "Precision Boost OVERDRIVE and AutoOC are poorly named and poorly explained features that barely do anything and just serve to confuse the discussion"

My 3900x never ever has seen anything above 4350MHz on one core, With or without PBO. Allcore under is load is about 4100MHz.
There are people on other forums seeing proper boost speeds. Albeit on different motherboards. One suspects its all down to poorly implemented and old bioses.
chroniclard is offline  
post #41749 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 01:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Brko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Croatia
Posts: 127
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
I have C6H + R5 3600 with BIOS 7106 for 5 days now.
Not a single issue and never saw C5 error, even when l power off PC and pull out the power cord.

Set Boot RAM Voltage on 1.40V, digi power settings as they were with R5 2600.

Everything is working OK except mouse in BIOS.

In Windows not a single BSOD or CTD during gaming (1903 latest updates + latest AMD driver 1.07.07).

Currently l set my CPU @ 4.1 GHz w 1.265V and is all OK. It has been on 4.2GHz w 1.33V but temperatures were not quite OK so l lower 100MHz and CPU voltage.

Did not try PBO/AutoOC with this BIOS. RAM is @ 3466MHz 14-14-14-30 and it will be tinkered more when we will have updated Calc and more polished BIOS.

So far so good. Satisfied with it so far (l had R5 1600 and R5 2600 on the same board from April 2017).



Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk


DeathStar
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3400MHz @ 4200 MHz
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW Gaming ACX 3.0
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 2x8GB DDR4-3200 F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 960EVO SSD 250GB M.2
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 860EVO SSD 500GB SATA3
Hard Drive
WD Black 500GB SATA2 WD5001AALS
Hard Drive
WD Red 2TB SATA3 WD20EFRX
Hard Drive
WD Red 3TB SATA3 WD30EFRX
Optical Drive
LG DVD-RAM RW SATA GH24NS90
Power Supply
SEASONIC X-750 (SS-750KM3) 750W 80+Gold Modular
Cooling
THERMALRIGHT Venomous X Black w/ NOCTUA NF-F12 PWM chromax.black.swap 120mm Fan
Case
FRACTAL DESIGN Define R5 Blackout Edition Midi Tower w/ window panel
Operating System
MICROSOFT Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
DELL UltraSharp U2715H 27" LCD @ 2560x1440
Keyboard
LOGITECH Multimedia ST-3365
Mouse
LOGITECH M500
▲ hide details ▲
Brko is offline  
post #41750 of 43389 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 02:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
datspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 200
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by heavyarms1912 View Post
is that the 3600 Elite kit?
Nope, 3200C16 Ballistix Sport LT

R5 3600 UA1922 Auto+200
BLS2K8G4D32AESCK @ 3800C15 @ 1.46 vdram (can be lowered a bit?)
datspike is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (0 members and 6 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off