ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4177 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41761 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 07:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jamesmca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Yviena View Post
I think the c6h or AGESA has a bug where it's setting the wrong RZQ/cadbus, and maybe other settings even if it's displayed as correct in the bios, as it seems that I need to change multiple values back, and forth for my memory to be stable, these settings/values I run has been proven to be completely stable, and for some reason a cold boot sometimes completely wrecks memory stability with errors within a minute.
Mobile app hates S's!

R9 3900x
Asus C6H
Noctua NH-u12a
TridentZ 3200 cl14 Bdie
Evga FTW3 Hybrid 1080ti
jamesmca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41762 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 08:08 AM
Tinkerer
 
RossiOCUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 156
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
How're we looking for 4 DIMM (4x8GB) overclocking with 3000 series on this board?
RossiOCUK is offline  
post #41763 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 08:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
yswai1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 23
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by heavyarms1912 View Post
Okay did you try a memtest run? Is it stable?
It boots up fine for me and AIDA64 bench runs fine but when running membench on Ryzen DRAM calculator 1.5.1 or memtest program itself, it would give out errors. (3000 CL15 kit E-die)
I always rely on GSAT test, I find it very reliable in catching memory oc instability.
You can run it from Cinnamon Linux live USB, just go into terminal mode, stop lightdm service, apt get install stressaptest and run it.
yswai1986 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41764 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 08:49 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 735
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
https://valid.x86.fr/xwggzr

Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.4ghz all cores
CPU-Z BENCHMARK
Single-Thread 539
Multi-Thread 4417

max temp was 76°c after ~12mins of cpu-z stress test. the cooler is the Arctic Freezer 34 eSports Duo

PBO does literally nothing, neither in the bios settings nor with ryzen master. I had to use the good old all core fixed ratio and fixed constant voltage (1.4v) as having a negative or positive offset would result in no post. Would be great if in a future bios update I can reach these scores but retain the ability for the cpu to down-clock.

Has anyone trouble setting the memory CAS latency below 16? Even with the d.o.c.p profile loaded it won't go below 16, when in fact my memory is rated for 15-16-16-35 3000mhz

Thankfully no stupid error codes or stuff like fans suddently turning off. But I noticed that many settings in the bios right now do nothing, like for example, I turned off the leds but they stay on anyway.

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Takla is offline  
post #41765 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 08:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
heavyarms1912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by magnafides View Post
E-die needs a higher value for one of the timings, I can't find which.

Edit: nvm, assuming the DRAM calculator would take care of that.
I think you're referring to TRCD.

Rig1:: AMD 1920X + H110i GTX | X399-Taichi | G.Skill 8GBx2 DDR4 | EVGA RTX 2080 | BenQ BL3200PT| Corsair RM850X | Corsair K70 + G502 | Corsair A740
Rig2:: AMD 3700X | C6H | Ballistix 8GBx2 3600 CL14 | Radeon VII | EVGA 650GQ | Lian-Li O11D
heavyarms1912 is offline  
post #41766 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 09:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 16
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by RossiOCUK View Post
How're we looking for 4 DIMM (4x8GB) overclocking with 3000 series on this board?
My initial attempts at getting my Crucial Sport LT 3200 4x8gb above 3200 have met no success, only tried a couple of times with numbers from DRAM Calc, but I need to go back and change a few boxes and get some new numbers to try.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme
GPU
ASUS GTX 1660Ti STRIX Gaming
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 32GB
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510 960GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 QVO 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G1+ 850
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Case
NZXT H700
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
macawmatt is offline  
post #41767 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 09:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
larrydavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 307
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by RossiOCUK View Post
How're we looking for 4 DIMM (4x8GB) overclocking with 3000 series on this board?
I've been able to achive 3400 CL14 with optimized subtimings with 4x8GB b-die on my Crosshair VI Extreme.

I can go higher, but not with the same tightness of timings. I'm hoping future BIOS updates help with this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	oc_3400.PNG
Views:	32
Size:	310.3 KB
ID:	281138  

larrydavid is offline  
post #41768 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 09:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 84
Rep: 11 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
I had to use the good old all core fixed ratio and fixed constant voltage (1.4v) as having a negative or positive offset would result in no post.
Just a tip, the maximum recommended safe all core voltage for Zen 2 is 1.325 volts.

Ypsi Desktop
(17 items)
Ypsi HTPC
(10 items)
Ypsi NAS
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GVR
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA 850 P2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Cooling
3 x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM
Cooling
2 x Noctua NF-A20 PWM
Case
Cooler Master SL600M
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Acer Predator Z35
Keyboard
Func KB-460
Mouse
Logitech G MX518
Mousepad
Turtle Beach Drift 3525
Audio
Sennheiser HD 800S
Audio
RME ADI-2 DAC
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SSZ-TLN4F
GPU
MSI GTX 1050 Ti Gaming X
RAM
2 x 8 GB Samsung 2133 ECC
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
Noctua NH-U9S
Cooling
3 x Noctua NF-S12A FLX
Case
Fractal Design Node 804
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2
Motherboard
Supermicro X9SRL-F
RAM
4 x 16 GB Samsung 1600 ECC REG
Hard Drive
5 x 10 TB Seagate Ironwolf
Hard Drive
3 x 4 TB Western Digital Red
Hard Drive
2 x 4 TB Seagate NAS
Hard Drive
2 x 3 TB Western Digital Red
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
Noctua NH-U9DX i4
Cooling
5 x Noctua NF-A8 PWM
Case
Supermicro CSE-846TQ
Operating System
FreeNAS
Other
Intel X540-T1 10G NIC
Other
2 x LSI 9220-8i HBA
▲ hide details ▲
YpsiNine is offline  
post #41769 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 10:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 45
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
https://valid.x86.fr/xwggzr
Has anyone trouble setting the memory CAS latency below 16? Even with the d.o.c.p profile loaded it won't go below 16, when in fact my memory is rated for 15-16-16-35 3000mhz
Yes, same problem here. Tested with 7106 and 7201.
MegamanAT is offline  
post #41770 of 42730 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 10:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BoMbY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 276
Rep: 35 (Unique: 13)
Working fine with Ryzen 2700X, so I guess it must be either the settings, or some bug for the 3000 series.

BoMbY is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (4 members and 3 guests)
CeltPC , ECPowers , Sturmer , xxela
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off