ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4178 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41771 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 10:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
it's been a huge waste of time and hassle
not sure why they even list zen2 as supported cpus when their mobos don't even post due to bios issues

thankfully mine was recent purchase and will be returning mine if new bios fix doesn't get released by end of this week

for top of the line mobo, I expected better support even though it's old gen

but nopppppe. no asus mobo for me in the future

Last edited by hgelehl; 07-17-2019 at 10:46 AM.
hgelehl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41772 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 10:48 AM
IT EXPERT
 
MCCOPRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NORTH CYPRUS
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
What is the stable bios for ryzen 3600 getting the cpu on saturday - have crosshair VI hero with a r7 [email protected] now.
running 2 kit of G.Skill Trident Z 2x8GB DDR4-3000 CL14 - F4-3000C14D-16GTZ - 32gb total.
MCCOPRA is offline  
post #41773 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 11:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jamesmca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by MCCOPRA View Post
What is the stable bios for ryzen 3600 getting the cpu on saturday - have crosshair VI hero with a r7 [email protected] now.
running 2 kit of G.Skill Trident Z 2x8GB DDR4-3000 CL14 - F4-3000C14D-16GTZ - 32gb total.
Seems none right now for the c6h. Hit or miss if it even post for people. those who got it working seem to be on 7106 mostly, or 7003.

R9 3900x
Asus C6H
Noctua NH-u12a
TridentZ 3200 cl14 Bdie
Evga FTW3 Hybrid 1080ti
jamesmca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41774 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 11:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
larrydavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 307
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
https://valid.x86.fr/xwggzr

Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.4ghz all cores
CPU-Z BENCHMARK
Single-Thread 539
Multi-Thread 4417

max temp was 76°c after ~12mins of cpu-z stress test. the cooler is the Arctic Freezer 34 eSports Duo

PBO does literally nothing, neither in the bios settings nor with ryzen master. I had to use the good old all core fixed ratio and fixed constant voltage (1.4v) as having a negative or positive offset would result in no post. Would be great if in a future bios update I can reach these scores but retain the ability for the cpu to down-clock.

Has anyone trouble setting the memory CAS latency below 16? Even with the d.o.c.p profile loaded it won't go below 16, when in fact my memory is rated for 15-16-16-35 3000mhz

Thankfully no stupid error codes or stuff like fans suddently turning off. But I noticed that many settings in the bios right now do nothing, like for example, I turned off the leds but they stay on anyway.
You can't use odd CAS latency numbers if Geardown mode is enabled.
larrydavid is offline  
post #41775 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 11:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by MCCOPRA View Post
What is the stable bios for ryzen 3600 getting the cpu on saturday - have crosshair VI hero with a r7 [email protected] now.
running 2 kit of G.Skill Trident Z 2x8GB DDR4-3000 CL14 - F4-3000C14D-16GTZ - 32gb total.
my 3900x is running fine on 7106 and 7201. 7201 did fix the mouse issue in bios.
MegamanAT is offline  
post #41776 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 11:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 58
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by sandman1330 View Post
I am still in the exact same boat. No LEDs, nothing - straight to 07. I even tried a different type of RAM, A cheap 1.2v stick, no dice.

I still have a week to return my 3900X, I will give Asus until this weekend to get a new bios before I have to return the chip. I don’t think a board RMA will fly for me as the 3900X is not a supported chip (officially).

If I do have to return it, I may wait a month or so and try again with a 3800X after BIOS matures.

This is painful, since I bought first gen Ryzen years ago to get an AM4 board, specifically waiting for this day. I could have bought intel and been gaming at higher FPS for the last 2 years, but I bought into AM4 for the forward compatibility and to support AMD (competition is good). Frustrated!
Indeed... and the lack of communication is what makes it the worst. If Asus would say that there has been unexpected issues what we haven't noticed, give us until <date> and we'll provide ETA for fix then. Then we would at least know, because you go crazy with troubleshooting, settings etc because with the same rev, exact same components, people have been able to put their system working so there is small doubt always what if, what if, what if ... but I am glad I still had my old CPU and when everything works with that, I know it must be 3rd gen.

I did return board today, let's see how it goes. Extremely frustrated as well, I specifically went for 3rd gen / AM4 to avoid what I did today; unscrewing MB fron chassis, unplugging every single cable, detaching all my carefully and thought cables, they were ziptied, ... sigh.

CPU AMD Ryzen 1700, MB Crosshair Hero VI, MEM FlareX for AMD f4-3200c14d-16gfx
jstar is offline  
post #41777 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 11:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 58
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Today was final attempt before sending C6H back, MB was on test bench and outside case.
In this video connected was:
ATX 24 pin
CPU 8pin
GPU with 2x PCI-e power
1x MEM

CPU (1700 or 3700X) and cpu+some case fans (flapping sound)

Here is first successful POST with Ryzen 1700:

And here is 3700X, the only thing what has changed is that system was turned off, CPU swapped to 3700X:

CPU AMD Ryzen 1700, MB Crosshair Hero VI, MEM FlareX for AMD f4-3200c14d-16gfx
jstar is offline  
post #41778 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 12:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I played around with voltages once again with my 3900x and in my opinion "auto" vcore is too high in 7106 and 7201. I get ~7150 points in CB R20 with auto vcore. temp is about 80°C while running CB but ~90-92 while running prime95. Noctuah NH-D15 with both fans. Adding an -0.2v offset reduces both temps and performance dramatically. Only about 6300 points in CB.

Adding -0.1v seems to be ok. CB performance is down to about 7075 points with temps about 10°C less than with auto. Allcore frequency is about 25 MHz less on each core. I am currently running prime95 for 30min and allcore freq is constantly about 4033 MHz per core. Temperature is about 81.5°C

So with the Noctua NH-D15 beeing pushed to it's limits with auto vcore enabled, how should the stock cooler work/perform? I just can't image that this is the way AMD designed that thing. Must be an issue with the bios. Or maybe AGESA 1.0.0.3 is the key to lower temps?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	c6h_3900x_2.JPG
Views:	27
Size:	324.2 KB
ID:	281184  


Last edited by MegamanAT; 07-17-2019 at 01:06 PM.
MegamanAT is offline  
post #41779 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 01:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
larrydavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 307
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by MegamanAT View Post
I played around with voltages once again with my 3900x and in my opinion "auto" vcore is too high in 7106 and 7201. I get ~7150 points in CB R20 with auto vcore. temp is about 80°C while running CB but ~90-92 while running prime95. Noctuah NH-D15 with both fans. Adding an -0.2v offset reduces both temps and performance dramatically. Only about 6300 points in CB.

Adding -0.1v seems to be ok. CB performance is down to about 7075 points with temps about 10°C less than with auto. Allcore frequency is about 25 MHz less on each core. I am currently running prime95 for 30min and allcore freq is constantly about 4033 MHz per core. Temperature is about 81.5°C

So with the Noctua NH-D15 beeing pushed to it's limits with auto vcore enabled, how should the stock cooler work/perform? I just can't image that this is the way AMD designed that thing. Must be an issue with the bios. Or maybe AGESA 1.0.0.3 is the key to lower temps?
That's all normal. The processor cores are insanely heat dense, much hotter per mm^2 than the 9900K's cores. Heat transfer/dissipation is only going to be more of an issue going forward.
larrydavid is offline  
post #41780 of 43369 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 02:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 139
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Any of you guys whose running a 3700x or one of the other Ryzen 2 processors getting the dreaded C5 error after shutting your computer down and trying to cold boot? If so I may have a solution. I spent many hours playing around with my new 3700X and ran into this issue.
dlbsyst is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 10 (0 members and 10 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off