ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4188 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41871 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 10:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 58
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Naeem View Post
downloaded and flashed this bios via usb flash back and it shows it is version : 6903 and not 7201 i had 7106 before this can anyone else check ?
Verify .CAP file name, many people rename it CH6.CAP (CrossHair6.cap) which is incorrect, instead of C6H.CAP (Crosshair6Hero.cap)

CPU AMD Ryzen 1700, MB Crosshair Hero VI, MEM FlareX for AMD f4-3200c14d-16gfx
jstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41872 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 11:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 58
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by rob87 View Post
It's really odd, I used a different motherboard and it worked C6H?
Glad to hear rob87 it works for you now I'm waiting my RMA. Shame that users here have spent combined at least 50h+ testing.

For anyone thinking about defending Asus, I will say it here once again and will requote myself for the future.

1) Asus and other vendors knew very well in advance Ryzen 3rd gen is coming, it was not a surprise.
2) This was very easy launch for MB vendors, e.g. Q1/2017 when 1st gen Ryzen was released, at the same time Intel released Kaby Lake. Then I would have accepted delays or bugs as BIOS team must be the same regardless of platform.
3) X570 was designed in-house 100% by AMD, not ASMedia. This should have increased collaboration as there were no 3rd party.
4) If Asus can't keep up with their BIOS releases and support, they have to:
a. add more staff
b. reduce number of available models
b2. sell MB's shorter period of time so they would go EoL quicker.
5) Asus keeps making same mistakes and they don't take learning, now with 570X launch, ROG Crosshair VIII Hero and ASUS ROG Strix X570-E don't have much difference, yet it adds complexity to their lineup and will cause issues with future upgrade.

Do NOT TRY try to put this to consumers or getting away with BS excuses with "early adopters", wake up people, we wouldn't accept unsafe cars just because they are new. That is very, very lame excuse and shouldn't be accepted. Otherwise you can start sending me PayPal money, I am working with something great but yeah as you know as early adopter it might take time, it is such a new and shiny product that I don't even know myself what I am working but please keep money coming, you'll get working product... someday. Maybe.

CPU AMD Ryzen 1700, MB Crosshair Hero VI, MEM FlareX for AMD f4-3200c14d-16gfx
jstar is offline  
post #41873 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 12:45 AM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
Naeem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Always Near My PC
Posts: 302
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by jstar View Post
Verify .CAP file name, many people rename it CH6.CAP (CrossHair6.cap) which is incorrect, instead of C6H.CAP (Crosshair6Hero.cap)

formated the usb and copied again and it worked fine strange issue

AMD Master Race PC
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
RX Vega 64 Liquid
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3066MHZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860
Cooling
Corsair H100I
Case
Corsair 460X RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus MG278Q 1440p , 144HZ FreeSync
Keyboard
Corsair K30
Mouse
Razer Deathadder 2013
Mouse
Razer SPHEX
▲ hide details ▲


Naeem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41874 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 12:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rob87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Hi All,

Just an update from ASUS regarding error 07 on the motherboards


Hi,

Update: The problem has been successfully replicated in lab. The design team is on it now.

regards,

ASUS ROG Marketing
rob87 is offline  
post #41875 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 01:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by jstar View Post
Glad to hear rob87 it works for you now I'm waiting my RMA. Shame that users here have spent combined at least 50h+ testing.

For anyone thinking about defending Asus, I will say it here once again and will requote myself for the future.

1) Asus and other vendors knew very well in advance Ryzen 3rd gen is coming, it was not a surprise.
2) This was very easy launch for MB vendors, e.g. Q1/2017 when 1st gen Ryzen was released, at the same time Intel released Kaby Lake. Then I would have accepted delays or bugs as BIOS team must be the same regardless of platform.
3) X570 was designed in-house 100% by AMD, not ASMedia. This should have increased collaboration as there were no 3rd party.
4) If Asus can't keep up with their BIOS releases and support, they have to:
a. add more staff
b. reduce number of available models
b2. sell MB's shorter period of time so they would go EoL quicker.
5) Asus keeps making same mistakes and they don't take learning, now with 570X launch, ROG Crosshair VIII Hero and ASUS ROG Strix X570-E don't have much difference, yet it adds complexity to their lineup and will cause issues with future upgrade.

Do NOT TRY try to put this to consumers or getting away with BS excuses with "early adopters", wake up people, we wouldn't accept unsafe cars just because they are new. That is very, very lame excuse and shouldn't be accepted. Otherwise you can start sending me PayPal money, I am working with something great but yeah as you know as early adopter it might take time, it is such a new and shiny product that I don't even know myself what I am working but please keep money coming, you'll get working product... someday. Maybe.

1. When did ASUS receive final 3900X samples to design bios? Did AMD provide a bug-free new AGESA version for all Mobo providers a month in advance?

2. How come updating the Bios for 40 old motherboards and around 10 new ones is a very easy launch? Is it "very easy" for other vendors like MSI?

3. How do you know that AMD provides superior chipset support to ASMedia?

4. Were you specifically promised to have new Ryzen support on Day-1, bug-free?

5. There is a $50 difference between the boards.



Safety of the cars is a different subject. At the worst case, you have to wait a week or two without being able to POST with a new processor... Nothing to do with safety, we aren't even talking about bricking or pumping dangerous voltages.


The way I see things: Asus provide a Day-1 support for 3900X which works for half of the people. The problems/bugs haven't been discovered, and the BIOS updates are in the works.









Fantomasas is offline  
post #41876 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 01:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by mvmiller12 View Post
7201 for CH6 Extreme at least fixes the CPU voltage offset problems I was experiencing. They are working properly now. It also took care of the issues with my Corsair K70 RGB and M65 Mouse - I no longer have to set the keyboard slider to BIOS mode to get into the BIOS and the mouse works as well.

I just replaced my C6 Hero with this C6 Extreme yesterday, still using my Ryzen R7 2700x. I can't get my Corsair CMW16GX4M2D3600C18 kit running at XMP settings (3600-18-22-22-22) - computer is unstable. This same CPU and RAM kit were perfectly fine at XMP on the C6 Hero it replaced.

My Hero is a rev 103, though, and I've read that the C6 Extreme is working pretty well with the Ryzen 3000 series chips whereas the rev 103 C6 Hero's are very hit and miss. I plan on grabbing a 3900x in the next month or so. I got the Extreme for $180 and I was needing another motherboard anyway for a different system I am building.
Where can I find the rev? I could not find it.
MegamanAT is offline  
post #41877 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 02:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Have the C6H with BIOS 7106 and have 3700X and 4x 8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 E-Die (BLS8G4D32AESBK)
With D.O.C.P everything boots fine. Settings DRAM Boot Voltage to 1.35!
I have checked with DRAM Calculator some better timings. And everything was good with 3200 CL14-16-14-32.
But when i want to 3400 or 3600 settings, with the timings from DRAM Calculator, i ended up with C5 in boot.
Is C5 a problem with voltage?




flobert is offline  
post #41878 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 02:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Brko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Croatia
Posts: 127
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by MegamanAT View Post
Where can I find the rev? I could not find it.
+1
I looked all over the board (thru glass panel on my case) and did not see Revision info.
It is not on box either.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk


DeathStar
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3400MHz @ 4200 MHz
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW Gaming ACX 3.0
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 2x8GB DDR4-3200 F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 960EVO SSD 250GB M.2
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 860EVO SSD 500GB SATA3
Hard Drive
WD Black 500GB SATA2 WD5001AALS
Hard Drive
WD Red 2TB SATA3 WD20EFRX
Hard Drive
WD Red 3TB SATA3 WD30EFRX
Optical Drive
LG DVD-RAM RW SATA GH24NS90
Power Supply
SEASONIC X-750 (SS-750KM3) 750W 80+Gold Modular
Cooling
THERMALRIGHT Venomous X Black w/ NOCTUA NF-F12 PWM chromax.black.swap 120mm Fan
Case
FRACTAL DESIGN Define R5 Blackout Edition Midi Tower w/ window panel
Operating System
MICROSOFT Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
DELL UltraSharp U2715H 27" LCD @ 2560x1440
Keyboard
LOGITECH Multimedia ST-3365
Mouse
LOGITECH M500
▲ hide details ▲
Brko is offline  
post #41879 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 03:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bill D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
have had my C6H & 1800x from day one

got a 3800x incoming still looking for a x570 MB

is everyone getting bios errors with all 3rd gen chips ?
is it worth trying or wait for a newer bios ?

or just leave it in the box and wait for the x570 MB's to get in stock ?
Bill D is offline  
post #41880 of 43380 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 03:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
amin12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 118
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Brko View Post
+1
I looked all over the board (thru glass panel on my case) and did not see Revision info.
It is not on box either.
its under the first pci slot where you put the graphics card where is says crosshair vi hero in big writing and just under that it says the rev number.
amin12345 is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 9 (0 members and 9 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off