ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4194 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41931 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 03:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoBeers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 103
Rep: 13 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by CentroX View Post
has anyone gotten a normal CH6 board working with 3700X yet?
Yes, here. Everything on "auto", except DRAM Voltage @1.375V.
Don't try to OC or UV, you will not gain anything.
The CPU optimizes itself best and works like a beast.

Sometimes you will see 1.5V Core Voltage or 85°C, that's all ok.

Ryzen 3700X
(6 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Powercolor RX Vega 64 Red Devil
RAM
G-Skill Ripjaws V 3200CL14 @3600CL16
Cooling
Thermalright Macho Rev. B
Case
be quiet! Dark Base 900
▲ hide details ▲
TwoBeers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41932 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 03:58 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 739
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by datspike View Post
Go to advanced - amd overclocking - set cpu boost override to enabled and CPU boost override clock to +200
Dosen't work. PBO does nothing for this CPU. I can get 4.3Ghz on all 6 cores with 1.3v and Load Line Calibration Level 5/8 yet any boost setting will not only not go above 4.2ghz, it will also use between 1.40v to 1.475v. It is actually insane how in-efficient the boost is.

Quote: Originally Posted by TwoBeers View Post
Sometimes you will see 1.5V Core Voltage or 85°C, that's all ok.
You are delusional if you really think this is fine. Read my post above. The boost is just in-efficient AF.

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Takla; 07-20-2019 at 04:03 AM.
Takla is offline  
post #41933 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 04:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,366
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
Dosen't work. PBO does nothing for this CPU. I can get 4.3Ghz on all 6 cores with 1.3v and Load Line Calibration Level 5/8 yet any boost setting will not only not go above 4.2ghz, it will also use between 1.40v to 1.475v. It is actually insane how in-efficient the boost is.



You are delusional if you really think this is fine. Read my post above. The boost is just in-efficient AF.
You can't compare OC mode vs NON OC mode ( stock or PB/O)
When you OC manual it just doesn't listen to certain boost conditions etc.

If you have set everything right the only thing has left is, your circumstances are just not right to boost. E.g your temps are looking high..

majestynl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41934 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 04:26 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 739
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
You can't compare OC mode vs NON OC mode ( stock or PB/O)
When you OC manual it just doesn't listen to certain boost conditions etc.

If you have set everything right the only thing has left is, your circumstances are just not right to boost. E.g your temps are looking high..
You should have read my previous post. All I want is the same boost behaviour I had with my i5 3570K.

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Takla is offline  
post #41935 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 04:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cmac68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 490
Rep: 48 (Unique: 42)
Okay so I’ve had some time to work on my setup since Ryzen 3 launch and I’m seeing a trend on the forums as well with my own setup that is starting to paint a clearer picture.

I have GSkill Trident Z RGB Samsung B die 3200 cl14 since Ryzen 1 which have run without issue at DOCP since day 1. I was not affected by all the other RAM issues that others had during this time period.

Now they won’t run rated speeds DOCP or manual and regardless of boot voltage without C5 restart. I can however run them at 3000 cl14 without issue. It seems like there has been a complete roll reversal with the Samsung b dies having the issues now instead of the other RAM kits.

Other then RAM issues the 3700x is working good in the board and should get better with time. I have another RAM kit that I will try later to test this theory that are not Samsung b die later and report back my findings.

"...it's only after you've lost everything that you're free to do anything..." -Tyler Durden
cmac68 is offline  
post #41936 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 05:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kanuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 32
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I've just received my 3800X today. It's working perfectly fine with CH6 (7201).

I also noticed that there are many options to select PCIE4.

Have anyone here tested any PCIe 4.0 card with this board?

CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
NVIDIA GTX 1080 8GB
RAM
G.Skill FlareX 8GBx2 @ 3200MHz 14-13-13-13-28 1T
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
WD AV-GP 3TB
Hard Drive
HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB
Optical Drive
LiteOn DVD+RW
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra Titanium 850W
Cooling
Cryorig A80 AIO Water Cooler
Case
NZXT Phantom 630 Windowed Edition
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG OLED55C9PTA 4K OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair K70 MK.2 RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech Wireless Gaming Mouse G700s
Mousepad
Razer Goliathus Control Edition
Audio
ASUS Xonar Essence STX II 7.1
Audio
Edifier S550 Speaker
Audio
Sennheiser H660s
Other
ASUS RT-AX88U+RT-AC3200
▲ hide details ▲
Kanuki is offline  
post #41937 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 05:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,366
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
You should have read my previous post. All I want is the same boost behaviour I had with my i5 3570K.
Missed that one! On the 1x/2x series you could archived that with Pstates. I personally used Pstats on the 1x series. On my 2x series it never worked on the CH6/CH7. I need to check on the 3x if it's working or even is enabled. Will test later. But if I remember they said it was not... Will report back later.

majestynl is offline  
post #41938 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 05:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,366
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kanuki View Post
I've just received my 3800X today. It's working perfectly fine with CH6 (7201).

I also noticed that there are many options to select PCIE4.

Have anyone here tested any PCIe 4.0 card with this board?
Can you test manual OC and see what you can get. I'm curious , saw many people saying it clocks higher compared to 3700x in manual OC.

majestynl is offline  
post #41939 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 05:46 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 739
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
Missed that one! On the 1x/2x series you could archived that with Pstates. I personally used Pstats on the 1x series. On my 2x series it never worked on the CH6/CH7. I need to check on the 3x if it's working or even is enabled. Will test later. But if I remember they said it was not... Will report back later.
Actually I did try setting a custom core pstate. I used 4000mhz and it booted fine with the default VID of 48. In windows, with hwinfo64 it showed ~1.15v core voltage. But I couldn't make sense of the VID values (why isn't this just max core voltage...) and leaving the VID at 48 while setting the frequency to 4300 resulted in a black screen boot so I had to clear CMOS. And since this procedure always takes 2-3minutes I didn't really feel like trying to find the correct VID value that equals to 1.30v

edit: so yeah I tried this again. And to increase the cpu core voltage you will have to reduce the VID value. 25 was ~1.35v at 4ghz all core. the cores were still stuck at 4ghz but the power saving features were left enabled which resulted in 0.2v to 0.4v idle voltage. But cpu-z reported voltage spikes up to !!1.9v!!. So I went back to manual all core fixed voltage for now. Temps never breached 45°c though so that might have just been a display bug with cpu-z as like I said, hwinfo still showed 1.35v ish as max voltage

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Takla; 07-20-2019 at 06:22 AM.
Takla is offline  
post #41940 of 43067 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 06:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kanuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 32
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
Can you test manual OC and see what you can get. I'm curious , saw many people saying it clocks higher compared to 3700x in manual OC.
I don't know how to overclock. I'm simply just using PBO.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	198.8 KB
ID:	282016  

Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	222.2 KB
ID:	282018  


CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
NVIDIA GTX 1080 8GB
RAM
G.Skill FlareX 8GBx2 @ 3200MHz 14-13-13-13-28 1T
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
WD AV-GP 3TB
Hard Drive
HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB
Optical Drive
LiteOn DVD+RW
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra Titanium 850W
Cooling
Cryorig A80 AIO Water Cooler
Case
NZXT Phantom 630 Windowed Edition
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG OLED55C9PTA 4K OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair K70 MK.2 RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech Wireless Gaming Mouse G700s
Mousepad
Razer Goliathus Control Edition
Audio
ASUS Xonar Essence STX II 7.1
Audio
Edifier S550 Speaker
Audio
Sennheiser H660s
Other
ASUS RT-AX88U+RT-AC3200
▲ hide details ▲
Kanuki is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (2 members and 4 guests)
CeltPC , newari
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off