ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4195 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41941 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 06:59 AM
Gaming enthusiast
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 812
Rep: 36 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
You should have read my previous post. All I want is the same boost behaviour I had with my i5 3570K.
I suggest you read this: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...3rd_gen_ryzen/

This chip is designed for voltages up to 1.5 and higher temps. Its a whole new architecture and you really shouldn't expect it to do what a intel chip is doing.

Origin: Ironcobra80
Steam: Ironcobra
Gaming Ryzen
(14 items)
CPU
3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Master x570
GPU
EVGA XC ULTRA 2080 TI
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR (16-15-15-28 3800)
Hard Drive
HP EX950 1TB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG EVO 860 1TB
Power Supply
SEASONIC FOCUS+ GOLD 650W
Cooling
CORSAIR 115I PRO PUSH/PULL FANS-NOCTUA
Case
CORSAIR CARBIDE AIR 540
Operating System
W10 FAST RING
Monitor
LG OLED C6 65"
Keyboard
Varmilo VB87M
Mouse
LOGITECH G900
Mousepad
Zowie Gear P-SR
▲ hide details ▲
Ironcobra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41942 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 07:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 224
Rep: 22 (Unique: 10)
Bios 7201, 3900x, C6H, 4 sticks of B die at D.O.C.P 3200mhz 1.35v - no issues so far - ran Aida64 stress test for 30min which all cores were at around 4.1ghz consistently, 77C CPU, voltage CPU was 1.36 when stress testing. Doing other stuff I notice max cpu speed was 4.5ghz, never saw it above that. Will have to do much more testing and configuring to maximize performance.

PCIe 4 works good with 5700XT 5th AV, PCIe 3 gave around 15gb/s in 3dMark PCI Express feature test and about 25gb/s with PCIe 4. In 3dMark it did not recognize that it was PCIe 4 even though the performance indicated it was. Still had it as PCIe 3.

ASUS C6H BIOS 0002 w/SMU 46.49.0, Ryzen 3900x @ PBO, 32gb TridentZ 3200 at 3733 16-16-16-36 Samsung B (2x F4-3200C14D-16GTZSK + 2x F4-3200C14D-16GTZKW), Radeon 5700 XT Lisa Su, Intel P600 1TB + 660 2TB M.2 drives, 1600w EVGA Power and Cooling PS, Samsung HDR 144hz FreeSync monitor, Win 10 64
noko59 is offline  
post #41943 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 07:39 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 739
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ironcobra View Post
I suggest you read...bla...bla
I suggest you read the results of my manual OC. I don't give a f... about any of the default boosting behaviours. It won't change any of the things I already stated.

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Takla is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41944 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 07:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 453
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by uncleshady View Post
Maybe it's been asked before but why does ASUS make you rename the BIOS file every time? Why not just name the damn thing what the BIOS sees and skip the renaming step?
The rename is for BIOS flashback only. I have a flash drive with a lot of the different BIOS versions on it, and then copy the one I want to use to C6H.CAP in case I need to do the BIOS flashback. Since flashback will work no matter what, it is technically safer to do than updating from within the UEFI BIOS.
Targonis is offline  
post #41945 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 07:59 AM
Gaming enthusiast
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 812
Rep: 36 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
Dosen't work. PBO does nothing for this CPU. I can get 4.3Ghz on all 6 cores with 1.3v and Load Line Calibration Level 5/8 yet any boost setting will not only not go above 4.2ghz, it will also use between 1.40v to 1.475v. It is actually insane how in-efficient the boost is.



You are delusional if you really think this is fine. Read my post above. The boost is just in-efficient AF.
What are you even talking about, the last couple pages your crying about how your manual oc is at 1.3 v yet boost wont go past the stated max of 4.2 which is the advertised boost clock speed. Its known there is something wrong with pbo at this time why are you using it. What program are you using to monitor voltages? You know this chip is changing voltages like a 1000 times a sec and everything outside of cpuz and ryzen master are the only programs getting close to showing correct vcore. I bet you bench with pb better then your undervolted manual oc.


GN shows there is a bug or problem with pbo + auto oc on ln2 they got 4.4 all core with just pb and 4.2 with pbo + auto oc

Origin: Ironcobra80
Steam: Ironcobra
Gaming Ryzen
(14 items)
CPU
3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Master x570
GPU
EVGA XC ULTRA 2080 TI
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR (16-15-15-28 3800)
Hard Drive
HP EX950 1TB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG EVO 860 1TB
Power Supply
SEASONIC FOCUS+ GOLD 650W
Cooling
CORSAIR 115I PRO PUSH/PULL FANS-NOCTUA
Case
CORSAIR CARBIDE AIR 540
Operating System
W10 FAST RING
Monitor
LG OLED C6 65"
Keyboard
Varmilo VB87M
Mouse
LOGITECH G900
Mousepad
Zowie Gear P-SR
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Ironcobra; 07-20-2019 at 08:24 AM.
Ironcobra is offline  
post #41946 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 08:21 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 739
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ironcobra View Post
What are you even talking about, the last couple pages your crying about how your manual oc is at 1.3 v yet boost wont go past the stated max of 4.2 which is the advertised boost clock speed. Its known there is something wrong with pbo at this time why are you using it. What program are you using to monitor voltages? You know this chip is changing voltages like a 1000 times a sec and everything outside of cpuz and ryzen master are the only programs getting close to showing correct vcore. I bet you bench with pb better then your undervolted manual oc.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7NzNi1xX_4

GN shows there is a bug or problem with pbo + auto oc on ln2 they got 4.4 all core with just pb and 4.2 with pbo + auto oc
I know all the sh-t you are spewing about already. Don't need you to educate me about this. Also, I'm not "crying" about pbo not working with my manual OC.

Let me state this one last time, so even you can understand it. All I want, is any sort of boost, to reach my manual core clock and core voltage, being 1.30v and 4.3ghz all cores, while maintaining the power saving states, and still being able to idle at a lower core clock. A feature so simple intel cpus have had for over 8 years now.

Edit: And don't try to sell me PBO, like the second coming of christ, like all these other tech-illiteral idiots. I tried pbo, which you would know, if you actually read my comments. it dosen't change anything. My manual oc is not undervolted. I kept track of my scores in cinebench and cpu-z bench. It is the highest when I use my manual OC. I'm not some amateur youtuber who produces half-assed videos without checking these things first.

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Takla; 07-20-2019 at 08:29 AM.
Takla is offline  
post #41947 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 08:37 AM
Gaming enthusiast
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 812
Rep: 36 (Unique: 30)

De8auer is blown away by the efficiency of the chip using a scope and not software.

Look at how its powering down I really dont think you understand what you think you understand, why are you messing with the power states when one of the best features of this chip is the power efficiency? You are not going to get 4.3 on precision boot 2 as it is only guaranteed to 4.2 on your 3600, only with ln2 did gn achieve 4.4 with precision boost 2. Precision boost overdrive + auto oc which allows you to go up +200 appears to be bugged or not working or just marketing bs. This chip is going all the way down to .2 volts on idle how much more efficient do you want. Just run pb2 and let the chip do what it was designed to which is manage its own oc and voltage control. It seems moving forward ccx overclocking is the future with this chip but until we can do it in the bios you have to set this each time you boot. Your attitude around here by the way is toxic and not really necessary, maybe one day you can even understand that.

edit: do you even know the difference between precision boost 2 and precision boost overdrive? If you did you would know im telling you not to use pbo.

Origin: Ironcobra80
Steam: Ironcobra
Gaming Ryzen
(14 items)
CPU
3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Master x570
GPU
EVGA XC ULTRA 2080 TI
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR (16-15-15-28 3800)
Hard Drive
HP EX950 1TB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG EVO 860 1TB
Power Supply
SEASONIC FOCUS+ GOLD 650W
Cooling
CORSAIR 115I PRO PUSH/PULL FANS-NOCTUA
Case
CORSAIR CARBIDE AIR 540
Operating System
W10 FAST RING
Monitor
LG OLED C6 65"
Keyboard
Varmilo VB87M
Mouse
LOGITECH G900
Mousepad
Zowie Gear P-SR
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Ironcobra; 07-20-2019 at 08:46 AM.
Ironcobra is offline  
post #41948 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 08:47 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 739
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Dude, are you dense? Do you read only half of my sentences at a time, and than your brain just shuts of from overheating or what? I am using a fixed constant cpu core voltage of 1.30v and a fixed constant core clock of 4300mhz because that gives me the best performance ON TOP of also giving me a much lower max temp AND idle temp, compared to BOTH all stock and/or pbo+auto OC. I already watched all the youtube videos about ryzen 3k (seriously, all of them). stop linking these. you are not showing me anything new.

also, overclocking per ccx is only really viable for cpu's that use more than 2 ccxes like the 3900x for example. personally, I wasn't even be able achieve a mere 25mhz more for ccx0 (core 1, 2 and 3) over the 4300 all cores so to me this is yet another worthless feature.

edit: On the toxic part; well, to me, you do not appear to read my comments properly, and just skip over them, which is quite disrespectful to begin with. So this is what you get.

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Takla; 07-20-2019 at 08:53 AM.
Takla is offline  
post #41949 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 08:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
buyology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
Hi there, i just started to using 3700X w/ C6H, at the first boot after 7201 BIOS, the voltage was too high like 1.5, and after that i just set it to 1.35 manually. But Core VID temps are high is that normal or what should i do about it. And i haven't any post code problem, post code shows AA
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	345.7 KB
ID:	282032  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_1.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	435.8 KB
ID:	282034  

buyology is offline  
post #41950 of 43099 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 08:57 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 739
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by buyology View Post
But Core VID temps are high is that normal or what should i do about it. And i haven't any post code problem, post code shows AA
What do you mean by "VID temps" ? your cpu temp shows a max of 60°c which is excellent. And you did good in reducing the core voltage to a manual value, just make sure your scores don't go lower than what the default values would give in benches like for example cpu-z or cinebench.

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Takla is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (1 members and 6 guests)
Melvsta
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off