ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4246 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #42451 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 03:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BUFUMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 519
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by infraredbg View Post
I leave for now ODT, RTT and CAD on auto for any RAM frequency with the new bioses, R5 3600 and 2x8 B-die. Seems to work up to the maximum 1:1:1 1900 so far with tight timings, GDM off and 1T.

Even tried 2000 RAM 12-12-12 all tight in decoupled mode without an issue.

Haven't played with ODT, RTT and CAD yet, but it doesn't seem to be required at least for my setup.



As for the IF clock, I haven't managed to overcome the 1900-ish limit no matter the voltages. Highest I could do is around 1910, then hard-locks in windows or 07 post code when trying to boot.

Tried higher bclk + lower dividers, but still the same limit.
Good. It should also boot a little bit faster with Auto settings.

Ram Speed is nice mate what B-dies do you own?
I have Trident Z 3200 CL14 but on first gen ryzen with 3333mhz tight timings.

Also do a backup of your working profile in case of black screen at boot.

CMOS Reset is required then.....

I hope to pass 3800mhz with my memory in a few months on a 3rd gen ryzen.

Gesendet von meinem LYA-L29 mit Tapatalk

RYZENBUFU: R7 1700X @ 3800Mhz| Noctua NH-U14S (Push-Pull) - BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero UEFI 7003 | 16GB G.Skill TridentZ [G.SKILL F4-3200C14-GTZ (2x8GB)] @ 3333Mhz CL14 T1 | Zotac AMP Extreme GTX 1080 | NVME & SSD's & HDD's | Be quite Dark Power P11 850W | Phanteks Evolv ATX with BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 | Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro | Logitech Z 2300 2.1 THX | Asus ROG Strix XG32VQ
BUFUMAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42452 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 04:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
infraredbg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
Rep: 14 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by BUFUMAN View Post
Good. It should also boot a little bit faster with Auto settings.

Ram Speed is nice mate what B-dies do you own?
I have Trident Z 3200 CL14 but on first gen ryzen with 3333mhz tight timings.

Also do a backup of your working profile in case of black screen at boot.

CMOS Reset is required then.....

I hope to pass 3800mhz with my memory in a few months on a 3rd gen ryzen.

Gesendet von meinem LYA-L29 mit Tapatalk
TridentZ 3600C15. Also have 3733C17, FlareX 3200C14 and 2x16GB TridentZ 3200C14.

I can replicate the results with all the 2x8GB kits. Both TridentZ kits a pre-binned from websmile, FlareX is random kit from the shop.
Keep in mind you can't really use B-Die with very high voltage (required for e.g. 3800-4133 CAS12) without setting maxmem in Windows.
This is a well known thing and only suitable for benchmarking.

3600-3733 CAS14 is the sweet spot, I guess. Depends on quality of the RAM, but even CAS15 or CAS16 3600-3800 should be good.
On Ryzen 5 3600 I hit write speed limit very early.
infraredbg is offline  
post #42453 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 04:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Until now these are my timings (4x 8GB SR) in testing:
(tm5 tested and Division2 tested, karhu 10k run is missing for now)


all timings and Forza Benchmark can be found here:
https://www.computerbase.de/forum/th.../post-22971648


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3733CL14_subs2.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	86.1 KB
ID:	286886  


System: Ryzen 7 [email protected]@SpectrePro, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3600 DIMM [email protected] CL14,
Aorus 1080ti, ASUS Prime X470-Pro, 256GB Intel Pro 6000p @ Fractal Design Define R3 titanium

Last edited by enthilzar; 08-07-2019 at 04:47 AM.
enthilzar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42454 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 04:44 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 741
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by datspike View Post
A tip for you as you seem to be running new Micron Rev.E too - set ClkDrvStren to 120Ohms, that allowed me to disable GDM and run 1T/2T.
Yo, thanks for that tip. It worked and saved ~1ns in the aida64 latency test. Could you maybe give me a screenshot of ryzen master with all your ram timings so I get a better understanding of what range of timings are valid?

Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Takla; 08-07-2019 at 04:50 AM.
Takla is offline  
post #42455 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 05:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Yoizhik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 26
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
any idea about why my read speed is 53k but write speed is 28k? How can i improve write speed?
Gskill 3600CL15 (b-die)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cachemem1.png
Views:	15
Size:	91.5 KB
ID:	286894  


Goblin Slayer
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3800x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Asus Strix 1080ti
RAM
Gskill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
Evga 850P2
Cooling
Currently Stock cooler (Noctua NH-D15 ordered)
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Monitor
Asus PG278Q
▲ hide details ▲
Yoizhik is offline  
post #42456 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 05:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Because Ryzen3000 CPUs with only 1 CCX have writespeed/2.. It's pretty normal.
Only 3900x (2 CCX) has full writespeed.

System: Ryzen 7 [email protected]@SpectrePro, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3600 DIMM [email protected] CL14,
Aorus 1080ti, ASUS Prime X470-Pro, 256GB Intel Pro 6000p @ Fractal Design Define R3 titanium
enthilzar is offline  
post #42457 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 05:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
alexp999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 35
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Yoizhik View Post
any idea about why my read speed is 53k but write speed is 28k? How can i improve write speed?
Gskill 3600CL15 (b-die)
That's normal as you have a single chiplet CPU, so memory write is halved compared to Ryzen 1000 and 2000 CPUs. Only Ryzen 3000 CPUs with two chiplets (3900X and 3950X) have full write speed as each chiplet can write simultaneously.

It was a compromise made with the new Zen2 uarch, but it doesn't really affect anything real world, only shows in benchmarks as read is most important.

Main Rig
(16 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
ASUS Strix RX Vega 64
RAM
32GB G.Skill FlareX 3600 MHz CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 QVO
Power Supply
BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 10 850W
Cooling
Custom EK Water Loop
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Logitech G513
Mouse
Logitech G403 Hero
Audio
ASUS SupremeFX
▲ hide details ▲
alexp999 is offline  
post #42458 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 05:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
datspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 199
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
Yo, thanks for that tip. It worked and saved ~1ns in the aida64 latency test. Could you maybe give me a screenshot of ryzen master with all your ram timings so I get a better understanding of what range of timings are valid?
Sure.
Spoiler!

I'm not running DOCP enabled tho as it was limiting me on oc potential

R5 3600 UA1922 Auto+200
BLS2K8G4D32AESCK @ 3800C15 @ 1.46 vdram (can be lowered a bit?)
datspike is offline  
post #42459 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 05:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
HalongPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 163
Rep: 4 (Unique: 2)
Are you guys hitting correct default boosts with Ryzen 3000/Zen 2?
RAM is going well judging by the last posts.

The CH6 is vastly superior to the Tomahawk (MAX), but will it be still supported with BIOS updates in the next months?

AM4
(9 items)
CPU
3800X
Motherboard
Aorus Pro
GPU
Nitro R9 390
RAM
Ballistix Sport LT
Cooling
ARO-M14
Case
Define S
Monitor
VG270UP
Monitor
C24FG73
Audio
Titanium HD
▲ hide details ▲
HalongPort is offline  
post #42460 of 43369 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 05:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
datspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 199
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by HalongPort View Post
Are you guys hitting correct default boosts with Ryzen 3000/Zen 2?
RAM is going well judging by the last posts.

The CH6 is vastly superior to the Tomahawk (MAX), but will it be still supported with BIOS updates in the next months?
The boost was fine on 1002 agesa bios, every 1003 bios has worse boost behaviour, just as on any other am4 board right now.

When zen+ launched there were thought about C7H being released and C6H loosing all the bios support, but there we are, getting frequent bios updates for zen2 and even beta ones from rog forums. That whole bios "asus support is ****ty" is hugely overblown imo.

R5 3600 UA1922 Auto+200
BLS2K8G4D32AESCK @ 3800C15 @ 1.46 vdram (can be lowered a bit?)
datspike is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (1 members and 5 guests)
bloot
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off