ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4280 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #42791 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 01:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
datspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 200
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by Pitatone View Post
Hello again!

I just did a clean windows 10 1903 install on my new C6H with Ryzen 1200 on Bios 6401 . I did no cpu or ram overclocking because I want to check my DPC latency.
Then i noticed that in Bios and in Windows with HWiNFO64 the voltage readings are off from the voltages i manually inputted. Is this normal? I searched the forum and the net but i found mixed answers.

CPU SOC Voltage Manual: 1.1 Reading: 1.11
DRAM Voltage Manual: 1.2 Reading: 1.22
1.8 PLL Voltage Manual: 1.8 Reading: 1.853
1.05V SB Voltage Manual: 1.05 Reading: 1.035
Perfectly normal, superio chip's ADC accuracy is just not that high. It has around 22-44mv stepping depending on the sensor

R5 3600 UA1922 Auto+200
BLS2K8G4D32AESCK @ 3800C15 @ 1.46 vdram (can be lowered a bit?)
datspike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42792 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 10:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hello everyone.
I have a couple problems with my setup. One is just strange, and another one is super weird.
Was hoping kind folks in this thread could share their wisdom and experience on the matter.

I have a CH6 mobo + 2700(non X) CPU and ever since i got it(about 6 month ago), i couldn't get my system to work stable at 3200Mhz memory settings and above.
First, I`ve been using Corsair 3200 kit (Hynix AFR chips). And system just crushed after a minute or so after boot with 3200 setting. I tried XMP, manual, timing tweaking, memory voltage boost. Nothing works. As soon as I set 3200 MHz - system starts crushing. 3133 and below - and everything is super stable.
At first, I thought I just got unlucky with memory kit.
Few days ago, i decided to switch to HyperX Predator HX436C17PB3/8 (2 sticks). It`s a samsung B-die chips(K4A8G085WB-BCRC), high speed, mediocre timings and good price for a b-die.
The thing is, with these sticks problem remains the same. Anything above 3133 - unstable within minutes. Difference is, on Corsair kit - system hang completely. With these new - only application crushes.
No matter what timings I use, what voltage, CPU overclocked or not - it will not work above 3133.
For now, using memory calculator, I set everything 14, 14, 14, 30, 44 with 3133Mhz (1,36 volt) and everything works fine. but still. It should work above 3200? Right?

What could cause this? Really unlucky memory controller? Maybe faulty motherboard? Have any one experienced something like that?
I do want to switch to 3700x eventualy. But desided to wait a litle for more feedback and stable bios.



And on top of that, got a really weird one too.
These new stick I use, have issue i have never heard before and could not even google something similar.

Whenever I set CAS to 15 or 17(manual or XMP, does not matter), after reboot it always sets to +1. 16 and 18 accordingly.

It only behaves like that with 15 and 17. With 14, for example, or any other number, everything is set correctly.
Is it a bios bug? Right now I`m using 6903. Still waiting for something stable above that.



Thank you in advance for your comments and replys.
Wonderful_Greg is offline  
post #42793 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 12:25 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Sideways2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 335
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wonderful_Greg View Post
Hello everyone.
I have a couple problems with my setup. One is just strange, and another one is super weird.
Was hoping kind folks in this thread could share their wisdom and experience on the matter.

I have a CH6 mobo + 2700(non X) CPU and ever since i got it(about 6 month ago), i couldn't get my system to work stable at 3200Mhz memory settings and above.
First, I`ve been using Corsair 3200 kit (Hynix AFR chips). And system just crushed after a minute or so after boot with 3200 setting. I tried XMP, manual, timing tweaking, memory voltage boost. Nothing works. As soon as I set 3200 MHz - system starts crushing. 3133 and below - and everything is super stable.
At first, I thought I just got unlucky with memory kit.
Few days ago, i decided to switch to HyperX Predator HX436C17PB3/8 (2 sticks). It`s a samsung B-die chips(K4A8G085WB-BCRC), high speed, mediocre timings and good price for a b-die.
The thing is, with these sticks problem remains the same. Anything above 3133 - unstable within minutes. Difference is, on Corsair kit - system hang completely. With these new - only application crushes.
No matter what timings I use, what voltage, CPU overclocked or not - it will not work above 3133.
For now, using memory calculator, I set everything 14, 14, 14, 30, 44 with 3133Mhz (1,36 volt) and everything works fine. but still. It should work above 3200? Right?

What could cause this? Really unlucky memory controller? Maybe faulty motherboard? Have any one experienced something like that?
I do want to switch to 3700x eventualy. But desided to wait a litle for more feedback and stable bios.



And on top of that, got a really weird one too.
These new stick I use, have issue i have never heard before and could not even google something similar.

Whenever I set CAS to 15 or 17(manual or XMP, does not matter), after reboot it always sets to +1. 16 and 18 accordingly.

It only behaves like that with 15 and 17. With 14, for example, or any other number, everything is set correctly.
Is it a bios bug? Right now I`m using 6903. Still waiting for something stable above that.



Thank you in advance for your comments and replys.
The odd numbers issue is because you are using geardown mode which rounds the odd numbers up.

Your ram instability sounds like your CPU has a bad IMC. When I had a 2700X nothing would be stable over 3200Mhz with Samsung b-die. With the same mobo and ram with a Zen 2 processor I am currently running at 3600Mhz.

The only way to really know is to try another CPU in your board and see if it can get to 3200MHz stable. My money would be on the CPU rather than the mobo.

Sideways2k's Rig
(16 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI
GPU
Zotac 1080ti Extreme Edition
RAM
Gskill Trident Z 3200Mhz CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo M2 250Gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo x2
Power Supply
SuperFlower Leadex 850w Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolve
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Asus PG279Q 1440p @ 165hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Mousepad
Razer Firefly
Audio
HyperX Cloud Revolver S
▲ hide details ▲
Sideways2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42794 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 12:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
andyliu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Wonderful_Greg View Post
Hello everyone.
I have a couple problems with my setup. One is just strange, and another one is super weird.
Was hoping kind folks in this thread could share their wisdom and experience on the matter.

I have a CH6 mobo + 2700(non X) CPU and ever since i got it(about 6 month ago), i couldn't get my system to work stable at 3200Mhz memory settings and above.
First, I`ve been using Corsair 3200 kit (Hynix AFR chips). And system just crushed after a minute or so after boot with 3200 setting. I tried XMP, manual, timing tweaking, memory voltage boost. Nothing works. As soon as I set 3200 MHz - system starts crushing. 3133 and below - and everything is super stable.
At first, I thought I just got unlucky with memory kit.
Few days ago, i decided to switch to HyperX Predator HX436C17PB3/8 (2 sticks). It`s a samsung B-die chips(K4A8G085WB-BCRC), high speed, mediocre timings and good price for a b-die.
The thing is, with these sticks problem remains the same. Anything above 3133 - unstable within minutes. Difference is, on Corsair kit - system hang completely. With these new - only application crushes.
No matter what timings I use, what voltage, CPU overclocked or not - it will not work above 3133.
For now, using memory calculator, I set everything 14, 14, 14, 30, 44 with 3133Mhz (1,36 volt) and everything works fine. but still. It should work above 3200? Right?

What could cause this? Really unlucky memory controller? Maybe faulty motherboard? Have any one experienced something like that?
I do want to switch to 3700x eventualy. But desided to wait a litle for more feedback and stable bios.



And on top of that, got a really weird one too.
These new stick I use, have issue i have never heard before and could not even google something similar.

Whenever I set CAS to 15 or 17(manual or XMP, does not matter), after reboot it always sets to +1. 16 and 18 accordingly.

It only behaves like that with 15 and 17. With 14, for example, or any other number, everything is set correctly.
Is it a bios bug? Right now I`m using 6903. Still waiting for something stable above that.



Thank you in advance for your comments and replys.
back when I had c6h and 1700x, the very first 1700x I had was unable to do 3200Mhz w/ Flare-X kit either., stuck @ 2933 regardless how hard I tried.
After I replace it with a different 1700x, I had no trouble overclock the memory at all.
So my 2 cents is that it could be the memory controller on the CPU.
But you will need a CPU to test with.
andyliu is offline  
post #42795 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 01:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Hello


I use 3700x and asus c6h 7403. Now i have an overclocked cpu. it is 4.2ghz 1.2375v 3200mhz cl16. It works stable. I can test in cbr20 and cbr15 repeadely and i dont get any error. It is golden chip ?


4.25 ghz works with 1.28v .



https://i.hizliresim.com/YddL1k.jpg



Last edited by baro55; 08-25-2019 at 02:02 PM.
baro55 is offline  
post #42796 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 06:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 249
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
I'm having a very strange issue ever since I updated to BIOS 7403 today from 7201.

If I set my Memory Clock/Fabric Clock above 3733/1867 my CPU performance suddenly drops a lot lower than I've ever seen for a 3700x.

Previously on 7201 I was running stock CPU settings in terms of Voltage/Core Ratios so it would boost on it's own and just tweaked my Memory/Fabric Clocks to 3800/1900 and tightened up my timings and I was getting good performance and I thought it was stable.

I reset my CMOS and set my BIOS to optimized defaults, saved those settings and booted then slowly changed all my settings and timings appropriately while rebooting in between and everything goes fine up til 3733/1867 then setting 3800/1900 it just goes to crap. Does anyone have a clue as to whats happening here?

I've attached a bunch of screenshots, the first 2 should be of an overnight Karhu Ram Test and my Ryzen Master window for all my timings, then a normal CB15 run and then the really butchered CB15/CPU-Z runs. After those screenshots I'm adding all of my previously stable BIOS Settings which I manually input one by one after updating to 7403.

Apologies in advance I can't seem to find the way to spoiler tag my attached images in the Advanced Post section now, will try to edit it after the fact to clean this post up a bit so it isn't so long.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Aug 23rd 41350% Stable.png
Views:	39
Size:	729.1 KB
ID:	291460  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Normal Performance.png
Views:	41
Size:	1.11 MB
ID:	291462  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Oh god what is this.png
Views:	34
Size:	1.46 MB
ID:	291464  

Attached Images
File Type: bmp 190825184051.BMP (3.00 MB, 25 views)
File Type: bmp 190825184102.BMP (3.00 MB, 19 views)
File Type: bmp 190825184123.BMP (3.00 MB, 19 views)
File Type: bmp 190825184131.BMP (3.00 MB, 17 views)
File Type: bmp 190825184138.BMP (3.00 MB, 18 views)
File Type: bmp 190825184146.BMP (3.00 MB, 18 views)
File Type: bmp 190825184151.BMP (3.00 MB, 18 views)
File Type: bmp 190825184212.BMP (3.00 MB, 19 views)
File Type: bmp 190825184218.BMP (3.00 MB, 19 views)
File Type: bmp 190825184241.BMP (3.00 MB, 18 views)

deehoC's Rig
(16 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x8GB 3600MHz CL16
Hard Drive
Crucial M500
Optical Drive
ASUS
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 750W G2
Cooling
Swiftech H240-X
Case
Enthoo Luxe
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Acer XB240H
Keyboard
Steelseries Apex
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mouse
Zowie GSR
Audio
ASUS Xonar DG
Other
Sennheiser HD555
▲ hide details ▲
deehoC is offline  
post #42797 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 06:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 288
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
Nice! Which motherboard did you get.?
I didn't feel like spending too much but I got this one: https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/TU...70-PLUS-WI-FI/

I got it solely because it comes with 2x M.2 SSD ports & 8 x SATA ports. I love them extra SATA ports because I'm a drive fanatic. I currently have 6x SATA SSD's for Steam/Origin games and 1xM.2's for Win-10 boot. This thing boots like in 5 seconds, I couldn't believe it. This leaves room for additional expansion like Raid 0 using M.2's and more SATA drivers

You really can't go wrong with this board for the price.

ASUS TUF GAMING X570-Plus - BIOS 1201 * AMD Ryzen 7 3700X * NZXT Kraken X42 * Zotac GeForce GTX 1080 0 AMP! Edition * G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 16GB (2x8GB) * Samsung 850 PRO 256GB-Win10 | 2xSamsung 860 EVO 1TB * 2xSamsung 850 EVO 500GB * EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G2 80+ GOLD* Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI HERO
GPU
ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP Edition
RAM
G.Skill FlareX F4-3200C14-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 PRO Win 10 SSD
Hard Drive
2xSamsung 950 Evo Gaming/Data SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 80+ GOLD
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X42 Water Cooling
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case - Black
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2730Z
Mouse
MSI Gaming
Audio
Sound Blaster Recon 3D
▲ hide details ▲
Amir007 is offline  
post #42798 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 07:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 288
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by xAD3r1ty View Post
The only issue with new cpu's (For me and my experience) is the boost and the cold boot issue (the reboots and etc), and even then the boost doesn't work correctly on the x570 for most people due to agesa or **** silicon, and yes it's placebo that your games feel smoother, and no zen 2 is not built on x570 chipset exclusively, and yes my cpu is running 100% stable on my CH6, sure the board has it's issues, but it's one of the best x370 motherboards and was overkill for it's time, you should have gotten a 3900x and keep the x370 tbh, but everyone's choice, I'm glad you now don't have any problems, enjoy your new rig
Don't get me wrong, my 3700x worked just fine using the CH6; no BSOD or anything serious that would prevent me from using my PC. Very possible 100% functioning. I solely jumped ship because I'm 100% certain these 3000 series CPU's work best on an X570 platform. I'm not seeing sporadic CPU voltage spikes or boost issues on this board like i did on CH6. During certain game-play, i see cpu frequency hitting 3466Mhz...and did i mention how many more FPS i'm getting over my retired 1800x? It's almost as if I got a new gen GPU. It was def. worth the wait for me.

ASUS TUF GAMING X570-Plus - BIOS 1201 * AMD Ryzen 7 3700X * NZXT Kraken X42 * Zotac GeForce GTX 1080 0 AMP! Edition * G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 16GB (2x8GB) * Samsung 850 PRO 256GB-Win10 | 2xSamsung 860 EVO 1TB * 2xSamsung 850 EVO 500GB * EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G2 80+ GOLD* Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI HERO
GPU
ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP Edition
RAM
G.Skill FlareX F4-3200C14-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 PRO Win 10 SSD
Hard Drive
2xSamsung 950 Evo Gaming/Data SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 80+ GOLD
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X42 Water Cooling
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case - Black
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2730Z
Mouse
MSI Gaming
Audio
Sound Blaster Recon 3D
▲ hide details ▲
Amir007 is offline  
post #42799 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 11:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 524
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by shamino1978 View Post
every new bios i get asked the boost question all over again, i have not tested a newer version of AGESA that changes the current state of 1003 boost, not even 1004. if i do know of changes, i will specifically state this. They were being too aggressive with the boost previously, the current boost behavior is more in line with their confidence in long term reliability and i have not heard of any changes to this stance, tho i have heard of a 'more customizable' version in the future.
Ok wasnt aware that reliability was an issue, so the Auros Extreme then pushes the chip past the safe limit when watching https://youtube.com/watch?v=o2SzF3IiMaE ?

Ryzen 3600, C6H, 2x16GB 3200 Sport LT, Noctua D15, Fractal Define C no front 2xNF-A14, Sapphire 290 Tri-X
Mech0z is offline  
post #42800 of 43399 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 05:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by SebaDimmu View Post
Hi guys:

I am new with amd and asus c6h. Yesterday, I was trying to do manual overclocking by setting a fixed voltage but it never exceeded 1.1v.

My b-die memory is set to 3800mhz 16-16-16-34 and no errors with memtest 1000%.

Thank you.
I have the same problem. it's always 1.099v. exists in all bios versions. Use a negative offset or use manual plan in ryzen master.
MegamanAT is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (1 members and 6 guests)
Dave001
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off