ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4376 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #43751 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 04:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
warpuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North of CaNanda
Posts: 747
Rep: 21 (Unique: 17)
Ryzen 4000 on a CH6 sounds good. 3800-3900 also sounds good. Might take the CM 620 off the 8350 890FX build for that. It did OK cooling at 4.5 ghz. I don't know how many watts that was. I am really sure it was not 125.
That the is good of getting a CH6 instead of a CH7.
Takla's post about timings and LTT talks sounds good.
Maybe I can squeeze out a few more years of use from the Flare 2400's.
I still have the parts from the custom loop for the 9590 build. I just don't think I want to be bothered with it. Besides I don't have the income any more to play around with OC'd stuff any more.
Retired.
I am just another silver haired usta.

Primary: Crossover 27" 2560 x 1440, Crosshair VI, Ryzen 1600, Flair 2400, GTX 690. Secondary: MSI 890FX GD-70 R 2.0, FX-8350, HD 7790, Kingston 8 GB x 2, Western 1Tb hybrid, VisionTek 1000
[


warpuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #43752 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 12:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 454
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by Xzow View Post
Hey. I'm currently running 1700x on this board and planning to switch to 3950x sometime. I understand it's supported and should be fine, but should I use the extra 4pin connector on top of the motherboard or is that still only needed for serious LN2 overclocking?

Also is Samsung B-Die ram still pretty much mandatory for any decent ram OC or are others fine? I'm running a 3200 corsair kit that barely reaches 2900 atm and thinking of switching to Tridentz to expand to 32gb and oc more.

Using the extra 4 pin power connector helps distribute the voltage a bit better. It isn't REQUIRED, but may help in some situations. With the power draw of the 3900X and 3950X, I'd use every tool at our disposal. Now, if only Asus would give us 1.0.0.4.
Targonis is offline  
post #43753 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 06:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 409
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Targonis View Post
Using the extra 4 pin power connector helps distribute the voltage a bit better. It isn't REQUIRED, but may help in some situations. With the power draw of the 3900X and 3950X, I'd use every tool at our disposal. Now, if only Asus would give us 1.0.0.4.
you sure of that? got any sources to back that up?

everything I've read and seen (buildzoid), claims that the extra 4 pin is useless - even when OCing with LN2

X370 Crosshair VI Extreme || Ryzen 2700X + be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 || G.Skill Trident Z 2x8GB 3333CL14 || MSI 1080Ti Gaming X || Samsung EVO 960 500GB + Crucial MX500 500GB m.2 + Crucial MX500 1TB m.2 || 650W Seasonic Prime Platinum || be quiet! Dark Base 700 & 4xSilent Wings 3 140mm 1600RPM PWM || LG 32GK850G 1440p 165Hz Gsync || Xbox One gamepad || CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S || Wireless Logitech G403 + Glorious Gaming Mouse || Windows 10 Pro x64 ||
Fanu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #43754 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 06:35 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 784
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by Targonis View Post
Using the extra 4 pin power connector helps distribute the voltage a bit better. It isn't REQUIRED, but may help in some situations. With the power draw of the 3900X and 3950X, I'd use every tool at our disposal. Now, if only Asus would give us 1.0.0.4.

Wrong. the 8pin cpu header is good for 380ish watts, which even a maxed out LN2 3950x won't pull. So yeah, it is completely useless to use the 4pin.

Micron E-die Memory Timings Cheat Sheet
Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(8 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz @1.250v
Motherboard
Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB @1400/2000 @1.100v
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die @1.400v
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Takla is offline  
post #43755 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 08:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Plissken's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 79
Rep: 0
I have the 4pin connected, should I disconnect it or it doesn't harm anyway? ([email protected])
Plissken is offline  
post #43756 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 08:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dr. Vodka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 116
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by Plissken View Post
I have the 4pin connected, should I disconnect it or it doesn't harm anyway? ([email protected])

It doesn't.


If you have the 4 pin lying around then plug it in (non modular power supplies or not). If you don't have it then don't use it.


You do need to have at least one plugged
Dr. Vodka is offline  
post #43757 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 09:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Plissken's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 79
Rep: 0
I have both the 8pin and 4pin connected, that's why I was asking
Plissken is offline  
post #43758 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 411
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Plissken View Post
I have both the 8pin and 4pin connected, that's why I was asking
Keep 4 pins connected

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.6 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 970 PRO 512 M.2 SSD/ Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD
mito1172 is offline  
post #43759 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 01:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 536
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Any word on 1.0.0.4 bios?

Ryzen 3600 1900FCL, C6H, 2x16GB 3200 Sport LT 3800CL16, Noctua D15, Fractal Define C 2xNF-A14, Sapphire 290 Tri-X
Mech0z is offline  
post #43760 of 43859 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 02:12 PM
Riding on the edge
 
The Sandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 3,186
Rep: 353 (Unique: 248)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mech0z View Post
Any word on 1.0.0.4 bios?
I came across this a few days ago. I really don't think we're missing much in 1.0.0.4 as of yet.

source: https://www.overclock.net/forum/28216136-post10280.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	38
Size:	7.6 KB
ID:	309928  


Ryzen Build
(20 items)
Bruce
(14 items)
CPU
R7 2700x
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
GSkill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 SSD
Hard Drive
Corsair GT SSD
Hard Drive
WD 2TB Black
Hard Drive
WD 4TB Red
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2
Cooling
XSPC GPU Razor WB
Cooling
XSPC RX 360
Cooling
XSPC RS 360
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon AP-15 1850 rpm
Cooling
EK-FB Asus C6H Monoblock
Cooling
XSPC EX140
Case
Xigmatek Elysium
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VE248H x2
CPU
FX 6350
Motherboard
Asus CHV-Z
GPU
PNY GT 710
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16GTX 1866MHz 8-9-9-24-33-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
WD20EFRX 64M Red x4 raid 10
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS Blk
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Power Supply
Corsair HX500
Cooling
Hyper 212 Evo R2
Case
Corsair 330R Titainium
Operating System
Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
Monitor
Asus
Keyboard
Logitech MK300
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by The Sandman; 12-03-2019 at 05:41 PM.
The Sandman is online now  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 15 (1 members and 14 guests)
The Sandman
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off