ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4481 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #44801 of 45095 (permalink) Old 05-31-2020, 12:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MadSkiLLz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 12
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Can anyone help me please having issues with my board, tried every config of hardware from 1500x, 2600 1 stick 2 sticks in every slot config, tried to bios flashback with multiple sticks in fat 32/16 nothing works.

Basically every time I try and boot it just gives me a q code 8, not 08 just 8, tried searching everywhere but none of the solutions seem to help, my mobo bios flashback is not working nor is the rgb cycle it it just stuck on red when off and goes to white when I try and boot or even with just the 24pin and no hardware in the board, tried resetting and clearing cmos also tired leaving the battery out for 24 hours with no hardware in. Still the same thing code 8 and can't get flashback to work.

With just the 24pin connected the chip in the pics I have attached gets scorching hot, so was wondering if this is normal or does it seem shorted out? And does anyone know what replacement part I can use or what circuit that specific chip is for? Really like this mobo but it seems bricked and cannot find info on the chip part number.

The no on the chip is 038-A1 1708CA l. It's the rog chip in the pics.

Sent from my PRA-LX2 using Tapatalk
MadSkiLLz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44802 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 04:11 AM
AMD Red Team FTW!
 
xzamples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,859
Rep: 324 (Unique: 232)
Does the ROG Crosshair VI have 16 MB bios?

xzamples is offline  
post #44803 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 04:24 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 27
maybe

Quote: Originally Posted by xzamples View Post
Does the ROG Crosshair VI have 16 MB bios?

32 mb duble bios
allavatar2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44804 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 05:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Pilotasso View Post
BIOS 7401 still has PCIE 4

Why if I am rolling back to 7401 using my flashbios option I still have PCIE 3? Any ideas?
akira2080 is offline  
post #44805 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 05:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Plissken's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
So I have updated the ASMedia 3.1 USB driver from Device Manager with this one

ASMedia Technology Inc - USB - 1.16.58.1
http://download.windowsupdate.com/c/...fb7d2fd999.cab

(had the Microsoft's default driver before for all the USBs, I'm on the latest Windows 10 2004 with the latest AMD Chipset drivers)

and then connected the mouse from the USB 2.0 black port (big latency issues on there by just moving the mouse) to the ASMedia USB 3.1 red port and now I get 0 ISR with the infamous wdf01000.sys!

Many thanks to BUFUMAN for pointing the issue and Dollar for the solution!
Plissken is offline  
post #44806 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 05:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by allavatar2 View Post
32 mb duble bios

Extreme version probably?


Crosshair VI Hero and Hero Wi-Fi have only 16mb.


Also you can check all motherboards for ROM BIOS SIZE from this list


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...gid=2112472504

Last edited by akira2080; 06-01-2020 at 05:38 AM.
akira2080 is offline  
post #44807 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 07:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
abso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 416
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Plissken View Post
So I have updated the ASMedia 3.1 USB driver from Device Manager with this one

ASMedia Technology Inc - USB - 1.16.58.1
http://download.windowsupdate.com/c/...fb7d2fd999.cab

(had the Microsoft's default driver before for all the USBs, I'm on the latest Windows 10 2004 with the latest AMD Chipset drivers)

and then connected the mouse from the USB 2.0 black port (big latency issues on there by just moving the mouse) to the ASMedia USB 3.1 red port and now I get 0 ISR with the infamous wdf01000.sys!

Many thanks to BUFUMAN for pointing the issue and Dollar for the solution!
Shouldnt it be 0 on the black ones as well after installing the drivers?
abso is offline  
post #44808 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 08:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dave001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 59
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by xzamples View Post
Does the ROG Crosshair VI have 16 MB bios?
Yes, Both the Hero and the Extreme have a 16MB bios.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bios Size.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	95.1 KB
ID:	351038  


Ryzen 7 2700x @ 4.15Ghz AC/4.4Ghz SC, 1.325v 102 BCLK - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Extreme (7704) - G.Skill Flare X F4-3200C14D-16GFX @3399MHZ 14-14-14-14-28 1T 1.40v.
MSI RX580 Gaming X 8GB - 500GB Samsung 970 Evo M.2 NVME, 2x 1TB Samsung 860 Evo's.
Fractal Design R6 - Custom Loop: EK PE360 & AC NexXxos ST30 360 Radiators, Noctua NF-F12 3K Fans, EK D5 PWM Pump and EK Velocity CPU Block, Bykski GPU Block.
Corsair HX750W - Windows 10 x64 Pro
Dave001 is offline  
post #44809 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 09:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Plissken View Post
So I have updated the ASMedia 3.1 USB driver from Device Manager with this one

ASMedia Technology Inc - USB - 1.16.58.1
http://download.windowsupdate.com/c/...fb7d2fd999.cab

(had the Microsoft's default driver before for all the USBs, I'm on the latest Windows 10 2004 with the latest AMD Chipset drivers)

and then connected the mouse from the USB 2.0 black port (big latency issues on there by just moving the mouse) to the ASMedia USB 3.1 red port and now I get 0 ISR with the infamous wdf01000.sys!

Many thanks to BUFUMAN for pointing the issue and Dollar for the solution!
I've actually updated mine quite a while ago and it's actually 1.16.59.1. You might be able to update it even further. I've never had any issues with it and It's been on here since release. Crosshair VI Hero - Windows 10 2004 with latest AMD Chipset Drivers as well.

https://www.station-drivers.com/inde...d=4162&lang=en
Cellar Dweller is offline  
post #44810 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 12:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
candasulas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Smyrna - Turkey
Posts: 53
Rep: 0
Hello to everyone.
Within 10-15 days, I will receive the Asus X370 Crosshair Extreme motherboard.
(I don't give money, it comes as a gift)

My current system includes Ryzen 7 3800x,
Asus B450-E Gaming and
64gb (4x16) 3200Mhz Gskill Tridentz Ram
and Asus Strix Vega 64.

I thought of including the X370 Crosshair motherboard system, which will come as a gift.
Can I use it without any problems with the processors and rams I have?
I also think of doing overclocking. So would it make sense to switch to ASUS CH Extreme X370?

Can you give me an idea?

AMD Ryzen 7 3800X CPU | Asus ROG Crosshair VIII HERO | Asus ROG Strix LC360 RGB CPU Cooler | ASUS ROG Strix Radeon VEGA64 GPU | G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4X16GB DDR4 3200Mhz Ram | A-DATA XPG SX8200PRO 512GB nVME SSD | Western Digital Blue 10TB HDD | Corsair RM850X 80+ Gold PSU | Cooler Master Mastercase H500P Mesh
candasulas is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (0 members and 7 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off