ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4482 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #44811 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 03:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BUFUMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 637
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Plissken View Post
So I have updated the ASMedia 3.1 USB driver from Device Manager with this one



ASMedia Technology Inc - USB - 1.16.58.1

http://download.windowsupdate.com/c/...fb7d2fd999.cab



(had the Microsoft's default driver before for all the USBs, I'm on the latest Windows 10 2004 with the latest AMD Chipset drivers)



and then connected the mouse from the USB 2.0 black port (big latency issues on there by just moving the mouse) to the ASMedia USB 3.1 red port and now I get 0 ISR with the infamous wdf01000.sys!



Many thanks to BUFUMAN for pointing the issue and Dollar for the solution!
You Welcome mate

I will try the Asmedia, thanks for the driver link

Gesendet von meinem LYA-L29 mit Tapatalk

RYZENBUFU: R7 3800X @ 4300Mhz| Noctua NH-U14S (Push-Pull) - BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero UEFI 7704 | 32 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT BLS2K16G4D32AESB @ 3600Mhz CL14 T1 | Zotac AMP Extreme GTX 1080 | NVME & SSD's & HDD's | Be quite Dark Power P11 850W | Phanteks Evolv ATX with BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | Creative Sound TITANIUM HD | Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro | Logitech Z 2300 2.1 THX | Asus ROG Strix XG32VQ
BUFUMAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44812 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 03:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecChum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,144
Rep: 62 (Unique: 32)
Um, guys, I think you're getting a little confused with ISR Count and what it means.

It's meant to go up, that's how it works. Whenever you move the mouse it generates an interrupt to say "hey, I've moved, do something!" - ISR Count is how many times this interrupt has fired.

On mutli-core systems you'll normally find stuff like Wdf01000 happens on the least favoured core so it causes the least impact.

It's only an issue if there's something causing the Highest Execution time to go up too high, which is what causes stutters etc.

USB2 uses this interrupt system via Wdf01000.sys, USB3 doesn't, so by using a different controller, presumably now USB3, you're shifting the ISR somewhere else, but it's still happening, otherwise your mouse pointer wouldn't move.

EDIT: For those interested, USB3 uses an MSI interrupt system by default vs the USB2 favoured legacy mode

Last edited by SpecChum; 06-02-2020 at 04:09 AM.
SpecChum is offline  
post #44813 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 06:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 72
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by candasulas View Post
Hello to everyone.
Within 10-15 days, I will receive the Asus X370 Crosshair Extreme motherboard.
(I don't give money, it comes as a gift)

My current system includes Ryzen 7 3800x,
Asus B450-E Gaming and
64gb (4x16) 3200Mhz Gskill Tridentz Ram
and Asus Strix Vega 64.

I thought of including the X370 Crosshair motherboard system, which will come as a gift.
Can I use it without any problems with the processors and rams I have?
I also think of doing overclocking. So would it make sense to switch to ASUS CH Extreme X370?

Can you give me an idea?
Just for let you know you got the best dawn board of X370 and X470 AM4 lineup ,period!!!
I own this board since the 1800X and now with the Ryzen 3000 cpu, bios update this board is even better than ever
You will not have any problems what so ever using your actual hardware, just make sure to update to the latest Bios and learn hot to do it via USB Bios flashback future.
For overclocking actually I using 4x8GB Samsung die memory at 3800 mhz pair with 3900x . cpu oc there are some ways to do it me for me the best way is trough Ryzen Master , on Bios everything else auto except your memory.
roco_smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44814 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecChum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,144
Rep: 62 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by roco_smith View Post
Just for let you know you got the best dawn board of X370 and X470 AM4 lineup ,period!!!
I own this board since the 1800X and now with the Ryzen 3000 cpu, bios update this board is even better than ever
You will not have any problems what so ever using your actual hardware, just make sure to update to the latest Bios and learn hot to do it via USB Bios flashback future.
For overclocking actually I using 4x8GB Samsung die memory at 3800 mhz pair with 3900x . cpu oc there are some ways to do it me for me the best way is trough Ryzen Master , on Bios everything else auto except your memory.
Only thing missing, for me anyway, is ARGB.

Saying that, if you've got anything Corsair that uses RGB you can just get one of these: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Corsair-RGB...item56bc07fc30
SpecChum is offline  
post #44815 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 10:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
candasulas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Smyrna - Turkey
Posts: 53
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by roco_smith View Post
Just for let you know you got the best dawn board of X370 and X470 AM4 lineup ,period!!!
I own this board since the 1800X and now with the Ryzen 3000 cpu, bios update this board is even better than ever
You will not have any problems what so ever using your actual hardware, just make sure to update to the latest Bios and learn hot to do it via USB Bios flashback future.
For overclocking actually I using 4x8GB Samsung die memory at 3800 mhz pair with 3900x . cpu oc there are some ways to do it me for me the best way is trough Ryzen Master , on Bios everything else auto except your memory.

When my motherboard arrives, I will use the BIOS update as you said.
I am thinking of getting the 3950X processor in the future. I can also use that processor with this motherboard, right?
ASUS Crosshair Extreme As far as I know as VRM and Faz, the X570 is equivalent to motherboards?

AMD Ryzen 7 3800X CPU | Asus ROG Crosshair VIII HERO | Asus ROG Strix LC360 RGB CPU Cooler | ASUS ROG Strix Radeon VEGA64 GPU | G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4X16GB DDR4 3200Mhz Ram | A-DATA XPG SX8200PRO 512GB nVME SSD | Western Digital Blue 10TB HDD | Corsair RM850X 80+ Gold PSU | Cooler Master Mastercase H500P Mesh
candasulas is offline  
post #44816 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 10:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Performer81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 318
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
3950X is no problem with this board. If you are lucky even Ryzen 4000 lineup will run on that board, officially not but time will tell.
Performer81 is offline  
post #44817 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 01:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
abso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 416
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by SpecChum View Post
Um, guys, I think you're getting a little confused with ISR Count and what it means.

It's meant to go up, that's how it works. Whenever you move the mouse it generates an interrupt to say "hey, I've moved, do something!" - ISR Count is how many times this interrupt has fired.

On mutli-core systems you'll normally find stuff like Wdf01000 happens on the least favoured core so it causes the least impact.

It's only an issue if there's something causing the Highest Execution time to go up too high, which is what causes stutters etc.

USB2 uses this interrupt system via Wdf01000.sys, USB3 doesn't, so by using a different controller, presumably now USB3, you're shifting the ISR somewhere else, but it's still happening, otherwise your mouse pointer wouldn't move.

EDIT: For those interested, USB3 uses an MSI interrupt system by default vs the USB2 favoured legacy mode
Before updating the default USB drivers to the ASMedia ones Wdf01000.sys went up on all my usb ports at the back and front. The only difference I could see was it went up slower when using the top row USB3 ports at the back. With the ASMedia driver now Wdf01000.sys doesnt go up at any usb ports (USB2 & USB3) except the top row at the back that still goes up same as before. I dont think it has anything to do with USB3 or USB2 but if you connect the Mouse to a port connected via chipset or directly via CPU.

Common sense tells me that usb ports connected with lanes directly to the CPU should have lower delay than the chipset ones.
abso is online now  
post #44818 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 02:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheRic89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dub V
Posts: 164
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by SpecChum View Post
Um, guys, I think you're getting a little confused with ISR Count and what it means.

It's meant to go up, that's how it works. Whenever you move the mouse it generates an interrupt to say "hey, I've moved, do something!" - ISR Count is how many times this interrupt has fired.

On mutli-core systems you'll normally find stuff like Wdf01000 happens on the least favoured core so it causes the least impact.

It's only an issue if there's something causing the Highest Execution time to go up too high, which is what causes stutters etc.

USB2 uses this interrupt system via Wdf01000.sys, USB3 doesn't, so by using a different controller, presumably now USB3, you're shifting the ISR somewhere else, but it's still happening, otherwise your mouse pointer wouldn't move.

EDIT: For those interested, USB3 uses an MSI interrupt system by default vs the USB2 favoured legacy mode
Is this actually an issue if you don't notice any stuttering during music/movies/games and latencymon says your system is suitable for real-time audio?

Thanks

Voodoo3 3000 -> GeForce FX 5200 -> Radeon x850 Pro -> GeForce GTX 260 -> Radeon HD 6870 -> Radeon HD 7950 -> GeForce GTX 970
Fun on a bun
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
Power Supply
Corsair RM750
Cooling
Fractal S24 AIO
Case
Fractal Meshify C
Operating System
Win 10
Monitor
ASUS PG278Q
Keyboard
Logitech G810
Mouse
Logitech G703
Mouse
Steel Series
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5 - Audioengine A2/Sennheiser HD598
▲ hide details ▲
TheRic89 is offline  
post #44819 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 02:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecChum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,144
Rep: 62 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by abso View Post
Before updating the default USB drivers to the ASMedia ones Wdf01000.sys went up on all my usb ports at the back and front. The only difference I could see was it went up slower when using the top row USB3 ports at the back. With the ASMedia driver now Wdf01000.sys doesnt go up at any usb ports (USB2 & USB3) except the top row at the back that still goes up same as before. I dont think it has anything to do with USB3 or USB2 but if you connect the Mouse to a port connected via chipset or directly via CPU.

Common sense tells me that usb ports connected with lanes directly to the CPU should have lower delay than the chipset ones.
Interesting, maybe the ASMedia drivers are forcing MSI mode? All controllers on this board are USB3, so USB2 and it's legacy interrupts are emulated, which is driver dependant.

If you run this (as admin) you should see all your USB controllers are running in MSI mode. Only the HD Audio Controller should be legacy.

But I do see where you're coming from with the latency.
SpecChum is offline  
post #44820 of 45095 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 02:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecChum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,144
Rep: 62 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheRic89 View Post
Is this actually an issue if you don't notice any stuttering during music/movies/games and latencymon says your system is suitable for real-time audio?

Thanks
No, it's normal. You should only have high latency if something is wrong.
SpecChum is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (1 members and 4 guests)
usoldier
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off