ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4484 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #44831 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-05-2020, 03:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Guys let me be honest with you.

I bought MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX board to be able to use 4700 on it and I am really impressed with this board.


I just inserted everything from C6H and within a 2 second I got same results in CINEBENCH20 and AIDA.


I still keep my C6H for my second working rig. But i barrely notice any difference at all.




MSI was good throw all this Ryzen DRAMA recently and they got my support for that.
akira2080 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44832 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-05-2020, 05:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheRic89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dub V
Posts: 165
Rep: 0
Think better performance would be had by upgrading to B550 over C6H for 3900X? B550 high end boards appear to have top tier VRMs.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Voodoo3 3000 -> GeForce FX 5200 -> Radeon x850 Pro -> GeForce GTX 260 -> Radeon HD 6870 -> Radeon HD 7950 -> GeForce GTX 970
Fun on a bun
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
Power Supply
Corsair RM750
Cooling
Fractal S24 AIO
Case
Fractal Meshify C
Operating System
Win 10
Monitor
ASUS PG278Q
Keyboard
Logitech G810
Mouse
Logitech G703
Mouse
Steel Series
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5 - Audioengine A2/Sennheiser HD598
▲ hide details ▲
TheRic89 is offline  
post #44833 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-05-2020, 06:23 PM
Lord of Cinder
 
Aretak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 58
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheRic89 View Post
Think better performance would be had by upgrading to B550 over C6H for 3900X? B550 high end boards appear to have top tier VRMs.
You're not going to gain any performance, bar perhaps better RAM overclocking thanks to moving to a daisy chain memory layout instead of the C6H's T-topology. The C6H is already more than capable of running a 3900X to its full potential otherwise.
Aretak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44834 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-05-2020, 06:41 PM
Always Learning
 
finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,140
Rep: 76 (Unique: 39)
Quote: Originally Posted by Aretak View Post
You're not going to gain any performance, bar perhaps better RAM overclocking thanks to moving to a daisy chain memory layout instead of the C6H's T-topology. The C6H is already more than capable of running a 3900X to its full potential otherwise.
Don't assume that he's using 2 dimms rather than 4. T-topology is better for 4 dimms.
finalheaven is offline  
post #44835 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-05-2020, 07:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheRic89 View Post
Think better performance would be had by upgrading to B550 over C6H for 3900X? B550 high end boards appear to have top tier VRMs.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't need PCI-E 4 and B550 is way too expensive.


There is b450 x470 boards which will support Ryzen 4000.

And only MSI CONFIRMED that all MAX-series boards (including unfamous b450 Tomahawk MAX) will support Ryzen 4000.


As mentioned earlier on this tread by very repituable source C6H will not have support even in theory, because of limitation of BIOS size and because AMD will not drop bios binaries for any of X370/B350 motherboards, but without them there is nothing community can do.

Sadly here is my love story with C6H boards ends.

P.S: On this resource you can check which b450-X470 Motherboard have 32 MB Flash ROM.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...gid=2112472504

There is some X470 boards from ASUS which have 32 MB ROM , but STILL nothing
officialy from them and they are also cost much more than any of b450 with 32 MB ROM FLASH which will support Ryzen 4000.




I dont feel sad becasue of AMD decision, because there is still plenty of opitons out there.


From cheap and affordable b450 boards till just upgrading your x370 boards with refreshed XT CPUs.



And also TBH if you was reader of this SUB earlier you allready was aware that x370 will most probably not have support for Ryzen 4000 cpus.

Last edited by akira2080; 06-05-2020 at 07:53 PM.
akira2080 is offline  
post #44836 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-06-2020, 05:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 73
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by akira2080 View Post
I don't need PCI-E 4 and B550 is way too expensive.


There is b450 x470 boards which will support Ryzen 4000.

And only MSI CONFIRMED that all MAX-series boards (including unfamous b450 Tomahawk MAX) will support Ryzen 4000.


As mentioned earlier on this tread by very repituable source C6H will not have support even in theory, because of limitation of BIOS size and because AMD will not drop bios binaries for any of X370/B350 motherboards, but without them there is nothing community can do.

Sadly here is my love story with C6H boards ends.

P.S: On this resource you can check which b450-X470 Motherboard have 32 MB Flash ROM.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...gid=2112472504

There is some X470 boards from ASUS which have 32 MB ROM , but STILL nothing
officialy from them and they are also cost much more than any of b450 with 32 MB ROM FLASH which will support Ryzen 4000.




I dont feel sad becasue of AMD decision, because there is still plenty of opitons out there.


From cheap and affordable b450 boards till just upgrading your x370 boards with refreshed XT CPUs.



And also TBH if you was reader of this SUB earlier you allready was aware that x370 will most probably not have support for Ryzen 4000 cpus.
I will stick with my 3900X and CH6E and see how this Zen 3 support drama for X370 and X470 develop .If a Bios mod or Asus official Bios appears to the scene glad for all of us . At the end maybe I will keep my actual settings for a long time because is insane how expensive this new motherboards are , Intel for example The Hero 7 Z490 is 399.00 on Amazon Prime and dont even think to buy the Maximus version almost 600.00 . Looking ahead of time is look like the Crosshair 9 X670 will be around 400.00
roco_smith is offline  
post #44837 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-08-2020, 02:43 PM
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 64,162
Thread cleaned. Please do not add fuel to the fire by replying further in non English.


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form



ENTERPRISE is offline  
post #44838 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-08-2020, 06:39 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10,193
Rep: 836 (Unique: 465)
Click image for larger version

Name:	unnamed.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	183.7 KB
ID:	352962

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
If you need help:
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
*this post has been sponsored by Pabst Blue Ribbon.*
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
post #44839 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-08-2020, 10:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,134
Rep: 51 (Unique: 36)
Quote: Originally Posted by ENTERPRISE View Post
Thread cleaned. Please do not add fuel to the fire by replying further in non English.
Thank you.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5406 1004b
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #44840 of 45153 (permalink) Old 06-09-2020, 04:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 64
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Aretak View Post
You're not going to gain any performance, bar perhaps better RAM overclocking thanks to moving to a daisy chain memory layout instead of the C6H's T-topology. The C6H is already more than capable of running a 3900X to its full potential otherwise.
Quote: Originally Posted by finalheaven View Post
Don't assume that he's using 2 dimms rather than 4. T-topology is better for 4 dimms.
C6H able to run 2x8 on 3800cl14 and 4x8 on 3800cl14. How to find that difference?

1. Ryzen 5 3600X / Alphacool lt360 / Asus C6H / 3733cl14 Kingston HX441C19PB3K2/16 + T-Force TXKD416G4500HC18EDC01 / Sapphire rx 5700xt pulse / EVGA SuperNova 850 G3
2. Ryzen 5 2600X / ASUS B450-I / Ballistix Rev E 3800cl16 / 590 nitro+
lDevilDriverl is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (0 members and 7 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off