ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 4498 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #44971 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 07:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 77
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by dsounds View Post
Hi, thx. What RAM are running there ? With product code please.
running flawless with this kit Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz C16 LED Desktop Memory
Amazon ASIN B07D1XJH2W
roco_smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44972 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 07:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 77
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by candasulas View Post
Hello everyone. I have a serious problem. I have an Asus Crosshair VI Extreme motherboard, AMD Ryzen 7 3800X processor and Asus Strix vega 64 graphics card.

I installed Windows and shut down the computer. When I turn on the computer in the morning, I get 02 error code and 1 long 3 short beeps. Vga and boot light are on.

I dismantled the whole system. I reloaded the bios. I inserted the processor. I tried it with different graphics card still it did not improve.

I keep getting the same error. What do you suggest?

Meanwhile, when the video card is inserted into the second pcie x16 slot, the system opens smoothly.

I would be very grateful if you could help. 🙏
by my experience in my CH6E this code appears if the memory module is no properly install , try insert just one memory on each slot until you get the right code , and install the rest of your modules
roco_smith is offline  
post #44973 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 08:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheRic89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dub V
Posts: 166
Rep: 0
Is the final version of 7803 expected to be the last BIOS for C6H?

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Voodoo3 3000 -> GeForce FX 5200 -> Radeon x850 Pro -> GeForce GTX 260 -> Radeon HD 6870 -> Radeon HD 7950 -> GeForce GTX 970
Fun on a bun
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
Power Supply
Corsair RM750
Cooling
Fractal S24 AIO
Case
Fractal Meshify C
Operating System
Win 10
Monitor
ASUS PG278Q
Keyboard
Logitech G810
Mouse
Logitech G703
Mouse
Steel Series
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5 - Audioengine A2/Sennheiser HD598
▲ hide details ▲
TheRic89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44974 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 02:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Alpi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 52
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Thx ! Tryed it, everything seemed fine with my 3800x, seen a few mem setups too, 3600-3800 up to c14, worked fine.
Only problem, the unofficial pbo setup seems less likely boost for high so I came back to earlier one.
Thank for Your work once !


Edit : No, it was user error ! Gave another chance to it and for second attempt it's a big WOW !!!!!! :O
Man, that was what some of the Ryzen chip owners dreamed about ! This boost behaviour but probably the whole algorythm seems very different !

Last edited by Alpi; 06-20-2020 at 12:39 AM.
Alpi is offline  
post #44975 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 03:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Noodlefu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
7803 fixed all my 3700X boost clock problems, with all 8 cores now comfortably hitting 4.4 Ghz. This is with stock settings & XMP loaded. I haven't played about with increasing the performance level to get it to sustain higher during all-core loads, and doubt I will as it tends to make the CPU hit 75c+ (even if just for a few seconds), and due to the boards Q-Fan temperature limit of 75c it ramps up the fans to 100% constantly for a few seconds. Would be nice if Asus allowed us to increase this limit, as the only reason the CPU ever hits above 75c is during occassional spikes (at least in my case, with a NH-D15 strapped to it).
Noodlefu is offline  
post #44976 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 04:06 PM
Riding on the edge
 
The Sandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 3,235
Rep: 356 (Unique: 249)
Quote: Originally Posted by Noodlefu View Post
due to the boards Q-Fan temperature limit of 75c it ramps up the fans to 100% constantly for a few seconds. Would be nice if Asus allowed us to increase this limit, as the only reason the CPU ever hits above 75c is during occassional spikes (at least in my case, with a NH-D15 strapped to it).

Doesn't 7803 have "Fan Smoothing"?
I'm on a WC'd 2700x w/6401 so I honestly have no idea what's on 7803 but I'd recommend you play with it if available.
On my setup I run CPU Q-Fan with smoothing of 31.9 sec as it's under a Monoblock and spikes are spikes. Works like a charm for me, nice and quiet with no unnecessary ramping up.

Ryzen Build
(20 items)
Bruce
(14 items)
CPU
R7 2700x
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
GSkill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 SSD
Hard Drive
Corsair GT SSD
Hard Drive
WD 2TB Black
Hard Drive
WD 4TB Red
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2
Cooling
XSPC GPU Razor WB
Cooling
XSPC RX 360
Cooling
XSPC RS 360
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon AP-15 1850 rpm
Cooling
EK-FB Asus C6H Monoblock
Cooling
XSPC EX140
Case
Xigmatek Elysium
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VE248H x2
CPU
FX 6350
Motherboard
Asus CHV-Z
GPU
PNY GT 710
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16GTX 1866MHz 8-9-9-24-33-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
WD20EFRX 64M Red x4 raid 10
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS Blk
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Power Supply
Corsair HX500
Cooling
Hyper 212 Evo R2
Case
Corsair 330R Titainium
Operating System
Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
Monitor
Asus
Keyboard
Logitech MK300
▲ hide details ▲


The Sandman is offline  
post #44977 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 04:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
GraveNoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 105
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I updated from 7601 to 7803 on 1700x. It works fine.
Noticed CLDO VDDP voltage is now from 0.700 to 1.800. I used to input value "700" before so now I input "0.700", I hope it's ok. I input 700 and it showed 1.800 and I used it like this for 10-15 minutes, hope nothing was damaged.

A new setting under CPU Configuration: NX Mode

Also a new setting "Force OC Mode Disable" which defaults to "Disabled". Other setting is "Enabled".
"If enabled, OC Mode will be disabled rendering customized ratios useless. Used mainly for pure slight boost of core clock"

Last edited by GraveNoX; 06-23-2020 at 04:06 AM.
GraveNoX is offline  
post #44978 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CubanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
There was some junk discussions mixed in with the talk of these BIOS updates, so I've tried to complile the constructive stuff into one place. Personally, I'm not in a position to test this BIOS currently (no OS installed and the system is in pieces), but I did read around and try to gather feedback on it. I like to save these things to txt files for future reference.

- BIOS works quite well in terms of per CCX overclock
- SOC voltage requires a slight increase compared to earlier BIOS to maintain same clocks/profile settings
- CSM is bugged and must be enabled, otherwise it won't boot.
- Sleep bug - 1:2 mode IF bug exists if the computer wakes up from sleep, if the IF is over 1800mhz.
- Another sleep bug - CLDO_VDDG and CLDO_VDDP completely resetting to stock voltages if IF is over 1800mhz.
- One user mentioned sound distortion with onboard audio after this update.
- 100% fan at boot with NVIDIA GPU (is this standard AMD behaviour though? Is there anything ASUS can ever do about it?)

When I bought this board twelve months ago and people said it wouldn't get another update. And here we are.. June 2020, talking about a BIOS update. The per CCX setting is a great feature that wasn't expected for this board. Thanks for the work you are doing for this and other boards Shamino, much appreciated.
CubanB is offline  
post #44979 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 09:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
GraveNoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 105
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
This is what I use for exhaust fan:
PWM Mode
Source: VRM
2.6 seconds
500 rpm min
Manual
100% fan speed for 56 C
75% fan speed for 50 C
42% fan speed for 40 C

For front intake
PWM Mode
Source: VRM
2.6 seconds
500 rpm min
Manual
100% fan speed for 58 C
75% fan speed for 50 C
37% fan speed for 40 C

VRM is sensitive to temperature just like CPU, so it ramps up at the same time with the CPU FAN, but the VRM temp rise much slower than CPU so in the summer 56 C is the highest temp I can choose, otherwise it will get way too warm in the case.

For CPU:
PWM Mode
2.6 seconds
500 rpm
Manual
100% fan speed for 75 C
80% fan speed for 70 C
45% fan speed for 56 C

Of course it's only for my case (Define R5) and my own fans (TY-143), maybe someone will find it helpful.

Last edited by GraveNoX; 06-19-2020 at 09:35 PM.
GraveNoX is offline  
post #44980 of 45252 (permalink) Old 06-20-2020, 11:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 77
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by CubanB View Post
There was some junk discussions mixed in with the talk of these BIOS updates, so I've tried to complile the constructive stuff into one place. Personally, I'm not in a position to test this BIOS currently (no OS installed and the system is in pieces), but I did read around and try to gather feedback on it. I like to save these things to txt files for future reference.

- BIOS works quite well in terms of per CCX overclock
- SOC voltage requires a slight increase compared to earlier BIOS to maintain same clocks/profile settings
- CSM is bugged and must be enabled, otherwise it won't boot.
- Sleep bug - 1:2 mode IF bug exists if the computer wakes up from sleep, if the IF is over 1800mhz.
- Another sleep bug - CLDO_VDDG and CLDO_VDDP completely resetting to stock voltages if IF is over 1800mhz.
- One user mentioned sound distortion with onboard audio after this update.
- 100% fan at boot with NVIDIA GPU (is this standard AMD behaviour though? Is there anything ASUS can ever do about it?)

When I bought this board twelve months ago and people said it wouldn't get another update. And here we are.. June 2020, talking about a BIOS update. The per CCX setting is a great feature that wasn't expected for this board. Thanks for the work you are doing for this and other boards Shamino, much appreciated.
I made the jump to the latest beta Bios on my CH6E , and I just apply my previous Bios setting and not have any of the above issue describe above . CCX overclock work fantastic
roco_smith is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (2 members and 5 guests)
her9019 , StevieP24
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off