ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 601 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6001 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 01:47 PM
Always Learning
 
finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,104
Rep: 74 (Unique: 38)
Darn. I was hoping today would a new bios day.

As an off-topic point though, this case looks awesome: (No sound, no air, no liquid, no pump, no dust) But it's 75lbs.



https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1489140137/nsg-s0-worlds-first-fanless-chassis-for-high-perfo
finalheaven is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6002 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 01:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
No surprises here GEIL Evo X 3200 CL16 (GEX416GB3200C16DC) works at advertized speeds and settings as well (despite being the most disgusting looking modules I've ever seen who-let-rip-smiley.png)
Hynix MFR.

What is rather surprising is that despite we are supposedly not even at the limits of the IMC, there are rather obvious differences between the different CPU specimens. The 1800X PR CPU I used for this run requires > 100mV higher VDDCR_SoC voltage than the 1700 CPU I've used in previous runs, even on the same memory modules.

At the same 925mV voltage, which the 1700 is completely stable the 1800X PR is unable even to post. 975mV is required to make it to post costantly and full stability requires 1025mV (setpoint). What makes it even more interesting is the fact that the 1800X PR has significantly higher leakage (29%), than the 1700 which I specifically binned for low leakage.

The Stilt is offline  
post #6003 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 01:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timur Born's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,300
Rep: 111 (Unique: 51)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Praz View Post

Hello

The VRM Spread Spectrum setting modulates the VRM switching frequency around the set point. This has no bearing on the bus speed.
Makes sense. But since this option was mentioned as having an impact on bus speed I wanted to clarify that it did not when I tried.
Timur Born is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6004 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 01:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pantsoftime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 142
Rep: 35 (Unique: 21)
I'm having a strange experience overclocking. I can do 3.9GHz no sweat, but adding even a quarter multiplier (39.25) is unstable even if I add another 50mV to the Vcore (i.e. 1.40 -> 1.45). It's not making much sense to me. The VF curve can't be that steep can it? I'm using P-state overclocking - could that be part of it? I'll try generic multiplier overclocking next, but I was curious if anyone has ever seen this.

pantsoftime is offline  
post #6005 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 02:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timur Born's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,300
Rep: 111 (Unique: 51)
@The Stilt: Since you are a strong advocate of leaving LLC at Auto/0, could you answer my question about what kind of overshot to expect?

Does 1.35v LL02 overshoot to (much) higher voltage than 1.375v LLC0?

(I wish I knew where to put the probes on the back of the CPU then I would just measure all this stuff myself.)
Timur Born is offline  
post #6006 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 02:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timur Born's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,300
Rep: 111 (Unique: 51)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pantsoftime View Post

I'm having a strange experience overclocking. I can do 3.9GHz no sweat, but adding even a quarter multiplier (39.25) is unstable even if I add another 50mV to the Vcore (i.e. 1.40 -> 1.45). It's not making much sense to me. The VF curve can't be that steep can it? I'm using P-state overclocking - could that be part of it? I'll try generic multiplier overclocking next, but I was curious if anyone has ever seen this.
In one of my tests I needed to add a whole 0.1 v to go from 4.00 to 4.05 GHz. Seems quite steep to me.
Timur Born is offline  
post #6007 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 02:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kaseki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 721
Rep: 75 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

...

At the same 925mV voltage, which the 1700 is completely stable the 1800X PR is unable even to post. 975mV is required to make it to post constantly and full stability requires 1025mV (setpoint). What makes it even more interesting is the fact that the 1800X PR has significantly higher leakage (29%), than the 1700 which I specifically binned for low leakage.

This reminds me of a question that has been hanging in my attention background: Why does progressively higher leakage (1700 --> 1800X) correlate with progressively higher maximum clock frequency?

Rig running Ryzen [email protected] GHz, [email protected] MT/s, Linux Mint 18.1 on Asus C6H
kaseki is offline  
post #6008 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 02:05 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Fearnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluej511 View Post

You need to enable wpump header in qfan controls or wherever it is if you plugged your pump in there. Mine still won't give me rpms though

Thanks so much, my waterpump owes you it's life. thumb.gif
Fearnot is offline  
post #6009 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 02:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pantsoftime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 142
Rep: 35 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur Born View Post

In one of my tests I needed to add a whole 0.1 v to go from 4.00 to 4.05 GHz. Seems quite steep to me.

Oh wow ok. Thank you for the reply.

pantsoftime is offline  
post #6010 of 40650 (permalink) Old 03-31-2017, 02:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur Born View Post

@The Stilt: Since you are a strong advocate of leaving LLC at Auto/0, could you answer my question about what kind of overshot to expect?

Does 1.35v LL02 overshoot to (much) higher voltage than 1.375v LLC0?

(I wish I knew where to put the probes on the back of the CPU then I would just measure all this stuff myself.)

That depends on the current drawn by the domain on which the load-line adjustment is applied to.
If the voltage overshoots by 10-20mV (which it based on my experience does) when the load-line is set to "Auto" (±0%), then the voltage overshoot will be:

((1.425 / 2) / 1000) * Idd

If the current drawn by the domain (Idd) is 100A, then the overshoot will be 71.25mV (81.25 - 91.25mV including the existing 10-20mV overshoot). "Level 2" translates to -50% (i.e. / 2).
The Stilt is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
finalheaven
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off