ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 649 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6481 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 01:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
S1L3N7D3A7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 481
Rep: 36 (Unique: 25)


10 loops of x265.

Next, 10 loops of ffMpeg.
S1L3N7D3A7H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6482 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 02:02 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,733
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1L3N7D3A7H View Post

Same for ffmpeg and x265? I'll setup one to run before I go to bed.

TBH I wouldn't bother with the other encoders if x264 has passed. But as we have seen each chip differs.

For example both my chips find RB easy, but x264 harder, where as finalheaven's is opposite. Then as you've seen members highlight RB has given them WHEA errors where another test may not have.

My regime now is Y-Cruncher (all tests except FFT) > x264 > [email protected] > RB. I've just passed 42 loops of Y-Cruncher on my 2nd CPU, why I did this is on +150mV it passed 48 loops x264 but on 27th loop of Y-Cruncher it had failed, so like my 1st I'm going for at least 50 loops of Y-Cruncher.

My 1st had done 2x sets of runs of stability test regime in continuous loop of 24hrs+, so 3.8GHz @ +137mV was solid. My 2nd initially +150mV, but seems like +162mV is right now. This doesn't surprise me as 2nd did have higher VCORE than 1st at stock, ~30mV. So I would assume 2nd will need similar delta on offset as well to gain rock solid 3.8GHz ACB.

At the mo I'm not convinced IBT is right test app for Ryzen, again only my opinion.

Why I go for length is I do a lot of [email protected] at times, 24-48hrs solid, even done 175+ in runs. My opinion is that over time as things are heated, etc. The voltage point may just not hit the right point as a short test, thus rig fall over.

I'm using LLC [Auto] for both, 1st on DMM ~1.350V for 3.8GHz, 2nd on DMM ~1.380V.
gupsterg is offline  
post #6483 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 02:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ubardog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 172
Rep: 15 (Unique: 6)
i can't help looking at Vcore VS CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) Seems there are alot of different ratio's going on here

Eg.
jimmy Vcore min 0.61 max 1.373 CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) min 1.394 max 1.394 Diffence on max is +0.021
S1ln Vcore min 0.63 max 1.461 CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) min 1.1 max 1.419 Diffence on max is -0.042
MIne is Vcore min 0.567 max 1.373 CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) min 0.98 max 1.30 Diffence on max is -0.73


i don't really know whats goin on with jummys Cpu core @@
should the VRM's differ on output so much ???

on my board there is .073v difference at peak but 0.1v on load

My vcore vs CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) always seems "lacking" compared to others.

and since this is a reading given by the vrms its the one i feel most inclined to trust as to what is actually going in to chip

Am i missing somthing here ??
Ubardog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6484 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 04:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecChum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: England
Posts: 953
Rep: 59 (Unique: 29)
What the heck is SVI2 TFN? tongue.gif
SpecChum is offline  
post #6485 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 04:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NOVA
Posts: 1,211
Rep: 52 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubardog View Post

i can't help looking at Vcore VS CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) Seems there are alot of different ratio's going on here

Eg.
jimmy Vcore min 0.61 max 1.373 CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) min 1.394 max 1.394 Diffence on max is +0.021
S1ln Vcore min 0.63 max 1.461 CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) min 1.1 max 1.419 Diffence on max is -0.042
MIne is Vcore min 0.567 max 1.373 CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) min 0.98 max 1.30 Diffence on max is -0.73


i don't really know whats goin on with jummys Cpu core @@
should the VRM's differ on output so much ???

on my board there is .073v difference at peak but 0.1v on load

My vcore vs CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) always seems "lacking" compared to others.

and since this is a reading given by the vrms its the one i feel most inclined to trust as to what is actually going in to chip

Am i missing somthing here ??

I noticed the same thing yesterday while I was testing and this is what lead to my statement in regard to LLCs below 5 not being able to maintain a stable voltage. In Jimmy's case, he indicated using 1.330v for his overclock but the CPU reports 1.394v which is far more believable (in my mind at least LOL). CPU-Z shows the same voltage the motherboard reports. I tend to trust the CPU reported values but I have no idea how either is actually derived.

madweazl is offline  
post #6486 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 04:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoBeers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 93
Rep: 13 (Unique: 4)
As majesticNL also pointed out earlier, right now we can't be really sure what voltage we put on the CPU.
The only way to stay safe is, looking for your max Voltage (Vcore or CPU Voltage, SVI TFN2 or whatever) and stay below 1.45V there.

As long as no official statement in the kind of "we mean 1.45V VCore" or "we mean 1.45V SVI TFN2" is released, we can only guess.
Or if at leas Elmor or The Stilt could shed some light into it, that would be great. smile.gif

Edit: This is especially the case with pstate overclocking (like a lot of us do). Because the SMU Power Saving (and Voltage Control) options stay active in pstate OC. If you use fixed multiplier and fixed voltage you probably won't see those different and fluctuating values.
TwoBeers is offline  
post #6487 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 04:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ubardog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 172
Rep: 15 (Unique: 6)
Ubardog is offline  
post #6488 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 04:40 AM
RadeonMOD Author
 
Ne01 OnnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: HolyWater Village
Posts: 606
Rep: 20 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1L3N7D3A7H View Post

​Progress Update.

Passed 10 hours of AIDA64 Stress Tester.

Going to restart to clear this fan bug, and run some of the other IBT-AVX tests.

RYZEN 1700 + C6H - 1002 BIOS

4GHz 100MHz 3200MHz 14-14-14-14-34-1T

P States:
FID: A0 (40x)
DID: 8
VID: 3A (1.1875v)
Voltages:
SOC: 0.95v
PLL: 1.8v
DRAM: 1.35v
Core: +0.1875v (1.375v) LLC3
LLC3 Notes:
-2mv droop
+20mv avg
+42mv spike

I will try this P-state settings, and BTW my on 4020MHz also hits sometime 1.417mV (more often in sitting at 1.395) thumb.gif +1 Rep

Today finished Tweaking my RAM, now at 2800MHz CL14-14-14-15-32 1.417v -> Stable in BF1 biggrin.gif

Fat Ne01 ZEN RiG
(24 items)
CPU
ryZEN 1700 k17
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero X370
GPU
Radeon Vega 64 XTX LiquiD Limited Edition 1800/1200 1.137v
RAM
HyperX Predator 4x8GB DDR4-4133 CL19-21-21-41
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro
Hard Drive
Seagate New Baracuda 128MB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960Pro M.2 PCIe
Optical Drive
LiteOn DVD Burner
Power Supply
Seasonic/XFX 780tW Black Ed. Platinum
Cooling
Cooler Master AiO WC Nepton 280L with Cold-Water MOD + Side Fan (Copper Solid™ Base & Radiator with HRSI™ )
Case
BIG Tower Corsair 750D SilentO MoD, Brushed Aluminium, 5 fans/dust free
Operating System
Win_X PRO x64 Custom Build
Monitor
iiyama ProLite XUB2792QSU-B1 1440p 74Hz 10Bit with FreeSync™
Keyboard
Razer DeathStalker LED, 1000Hz Ultra Pooling 0.01ms Pro Gamer ED
Mouse
ROCCAT Nyth Modular MMO 1000Hz Ultra Pooling 0.01ms 12000 CPI XtreME Gamer ED
Mousepad
ROCCAT Taito – Shiny Black Medium w/Silver Nano Fibre Matrix surface
Audio
Audio-Technica ATH-AD1000X w/ATMOs™
Audio
SB-Zx Gamer ED, PCIe Gold Plated with Nichicon “Fine Gold” Japan-Plati Capacitors Mod (Hardware DTS™ & DolbyDigital™ )
Audio
Custom PyramiD™ 5.1 Woofer & Amplituner >300W + SB-Zx
Audio
Magnat Vector 2 - POW: 80W / 120W
Audio
Magnat Monitor Supreme 102 - POW: 60W / 120W
Audio
Jamo Pj 6000b - POW: 70W / 100W
Audio
Cables: Ultra Hi EFI PlaTinuum (B&R Pure Copper CU w/Silver 3.5mm)
▲ hide details ▲
Ne01 OnnA is offline  
post #6489 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 04:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BoMbY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 270
Rep: 35 (Unique: 13)
So, I guess everyone at Asus is hard at work on a new BIOS? (Probably for another board? wink.gif)

BoMbY is offline  
post #6490 of 40617 (permalink) Old 04-03-2017, 04:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jimmy235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 22
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubardog View Post


Am i missing somthing here ??
No, i`m as confused as you.
When i take DMM, i`m getting 0.1V higher value. Got the info, that`s normal....
On HWinfo side:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumak View Post

Both should be providing measurement of the same Vcore rail, difference might only be in the monitoring accuracy.
VDDCR_CPU (or the new SVI2 TFN) is the straight readout from the Voltage Regulator (VRM), while Vcore is monitored using the on-board monitoring chip (ITE).
I'd probably trust the VRM reading more.
jimmy235 is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (1 members and 5 guests)
Dr. Vodka
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off