ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 690 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6891 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 02:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ProTekkFZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 108
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluej511 View Post

So at the socket seems the most accurate. How does that compared to the latest hwinfo64 which voltage gets the closest?

"CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN)" could possibly be the "real" voltage because that's using telemetry from the actual CPU which could possibly account for further losses inside the socket and CPU itself. I can't confirm this nor suggest you or anyone use that value as gospel. I'm merely an enthusiast with a cheapo multimeter, not an engineer smile.gif
ProTekkFZS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6892 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 03:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timur Born's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,300
Rep: 111 (Unique: 51)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur Born View Post

And here a quick ITB AVX Standard (1024) pass of 10 loops. I just noticed that while I reset my RAM clocks to default I still kept my faster manual timings active. Not a bad thing. Time for bed now. Have fun everyone! wink.gif
Unsurprisingly this isn't stable as I noticed 1 WHEA error creeping in just now before I wanted to shut-down.
Timur Born is offline  
post #6893 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 03:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,182
Rep: 87 (Unique: 41)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur Born View Post

Unsurprisingly this isn't stable as I noticed 1 WHEA error creeping in just now before I wanted to shut-down.

I did the same but couldn't bench it. Voltages where the same as you.

Have a good night

majestynl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6894 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 03:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,182
Rep: 87 (Unique: 41)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluej511 View Post

So at the socket seems the most accurate. How does that compared to the latest hwinfo64 which voltage gets the closest?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProTekkFZS View Post

"CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN)" could possibly be the "real" voltage because that's using telemetry from the actual CPU which could possibly account for further losses inside the socket and CPU itself. I can't confirm this nor suggest you or anyone use that value as gospel. I'm merely an enthusiast with a cheapo multimeter, not an engineer smile.gif

First of all thanks for sharing your info..


I suggest his LLC4 makes the vcore at socket same as set on bios.

I'm curious what these measurements are with LLC on auto or 1/2..

majestynl is offline  
post #6895 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 03:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ProTekkFZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 108
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by majestynl View Post


First of all thanks for sharing your info..


I suggest his LLC4 makes the vcore at socket same as set on bios.

I'm curious what these measurements are with LLC on auto or 1/2..

I can absolutely test that but it'll have to wait until tomorrow.

In other news, I have all the MLCC's at the socket mapped out for anyone interested. I'll get a picture up soon of how it's laid out.
ProTekkFZS is offline  
post #6896 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 03:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
d0mini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: England
Posts: 1,088
Rep: 65 (Unique: 60)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProTekkFZS View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluej511 View Post

So at the socket seems the most accurate. How does that compared to the latest hwinfo64 which voltage gets the closest?

"CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN)" could possibly be the "real" voltage because that's using telemetry from the actual CPU which could possibly account for further losses inside the socket and CPU itself. I can't confirm this nor suggest you or anyone use that value as gospel. I'm merely an enthusiast with a cheapo multimeter, not an engineer smile.gif

I.. have been lurking. Heavy lurking. tongue.gif Thank you for your detailed post!

Have a look at HWInfo while measuring with your cheapo multimeter, see if the voltages in the software match up to the hardware readings. If you could do that it would be... incredible. Fantastic. Exciting in a big way.

I'll go right back on to lurking, you guys have a good time overclocking. ph34r-smiley.gif

Saphira Mk-III
(27 items)
CPU
[email protected], 1.36v (4.5GHz uncore)
Motherboard
Maximus VII Impact
GPU
MSI 980 Ti Gaming 6G
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 16gb 2133 CL9
Hard Drive
2x 840 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba XG3 1TB (M.2 NVMe SSD)
Hard Drive
MX 500 2TB
Power Supply
EVGA G2 850 PSU
Cooling
EK Supremacy Evo & VGA
Cooling
11x ML 120 PRO fans
Cooling
5x Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm intake, 1x GT 1450rpm exhaust
Cooling
PE-240; XT45 120; SR-2 360; XSPC RX 360; 2 x XSPC RX 480 rads
Cooling
Corsair Commander Pro
Cooling
Aquaero 6 LT; Splitty 9; Hubby7
Cooling
2 x Ek Xres 140 pump/res
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Elite
Operating System
windows 10
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mouse
MX Master AMZ
Mousepad
XXL neoprene mousemat goodness
Audio
Sennheiser HD 650
Audio
Senheisser Game Zero SE
Audio
Bose companion 20
Audio
GSX 1000
Audio
SMSL M6
CPU
[email protected], 1.23v (4.5GHz uncore)
Motherboard
Maximus VII Impact
GPU
MSI 980 Ti Gaming 6G
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 16gb 2133 CL9
Hard Drive
2x 840 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba XG3 1TB (M.2 NVMe SSD)
Power Supply
Corsair SF 450
Cooling
EK Supremacy Evo & VGA
Cooling
2x Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm exhaust
Cooling
PE-240 radiator
Cooling
EK-DDC 3.2 PWM
Cooling
M1 NCASE reservoir
Case
NCASE M1
Operating System
windows 10
Monitor
Acer Predator XB270HU
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mouse
XXL neoprene mousemat goodness
Audio
Sennheiser HD 650
Audio
Bose companion 20
▲ hide details ▲


d0mini is offline  
post #6897 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 03:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
S1L3N7D3A7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 481
Rep: 36 (Unique: 25)
Results for non AVX IBT 10 Loops Max:

S1L3N7D3A7H is offline  
post #6898 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 04:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ProTekkFZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 108
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
Moar info, I individually probed all MLCC's:

Red: VCORE
Green: VSOC
Blue: IMC/DRAM? Read 1.35V
Yellow: PLL? Read 1.8xxV
Purple: VDDP? Read 0.892V
Light Blue: Couldn't definitively figure out

Any that I didn't cover in this picture, I didn't have the balls to try to get my probes in there to get a measurement.

ProTekkFZS is offline  
post #6899 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 04:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 199
Rep: 22 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

Any info on how this happens? ie settings, etc you guys used that created situation? would like to avoid it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecChum View Post

Ouch.

What's it doing now to make it limited?

I set the offset to .5 vice what I was intending .05. Failed to check or notice that during the save (bios tells you what has been changed). Then I did not verify proper voltage once system was up, went off and did other stuff. I now go back into the bios after a change to verify the change vice just going straight into Windows.

The limitation now is 3.6ghz max for stability, Windows will not boot with any voltage over 1.4v. So Optimize defaults Windows blue screens within seconds after posting since voltage is at 1.43v. I will most likely get more use out of this processor then the one coming smile.gif, that is if it lasts. In the near future I will make a render box using it, low power, on 24/7 at lower frequencies, probably around 3.2ghz. Will need a motherboard MicroATX (64gb of ram) or MiniITX (32gb) that can do PState overclocking/underclocking so as to set the voltage less than 1.4v (more like 1.2v would be my goal). Should get my next 1700x tomorrow - I will definitely be more careful this time.

ASUS C6H bios 6401, Ryzen 2700 @ 4.11ghz, 32gb TridentZ 3333 (Dram Calc 3333safe) Samsung B (2x F4-3200C14D-16GTZSK + 2x F4-3200C14D-16GTZKW),2x Radeon Vega FE, Intel P600 1TB M.2 drive, 950w PC Power and Cooling PS, Samsung HDR 144hz FreeSync monitor, Win 10 64
noko59 is offline  
post #6900 of 40622 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 04:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pantsoftime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 142
Rep: 35 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProTekkFZS View Post

Moar info, I individually probed all MLCC's:

Red: VCORE
Green: VSOC
Blue: IMC/DRAM? Read 1.35V
Yellow: PLL? Read 1.8xxV
Purple: VDDP? Read 0.892V
Light Blue: Couldn't definitively figure out

Any that I didn't cover in this picture, I didn't have the balls to try to get my probes in there to get a measurement.

Thanks for doing this, my DMM probes are a bit too blunt to do this properly so I stuck to the perimeter.

pantsoftime is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (1 members and 3 guests)
Amir007
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off