ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 821 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8201 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
buttmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: GTA Canada
Posts: 26
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnSync View Post

Anyone knows which 32GB (2x16) RAMs are B-die? (If that exists)

Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 Dual Channel Kit (2x 16GB)

CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 Ver4.31

Only VER 4.31 is Samsung B-Die
buttmen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8202 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timur Born's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,300
Rep: 111 (Unique: 51)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

That's the formual from the SIO datasheet, I can check it closer when I'm less busy (might take a while tongue.gif)
Thanks, it's mostly important for fan profiles. You can see clearly in my screenshots that SIO CPU does not mirror CPU (Socket) when it switches from Tctl+5 to whatever algorithm is used.
Quote:
The CPU relies on the Tctl value for thermal shutdown, so obviously skewing the Tctl value will also skew the shutdown point.
I doubt that this is obvious to most users here or elsewhere. And don't you think a default setting that allows the CPU to reach 115C without throttling or shutdown is a bit dangerous, even more so when Tctl reads as low as 65C at that point!?

devil.gif

I also seem to have experienced at least one time where the skew settings changed from one boot to another, with only a cold boot returning them to defaults. This doesn't exactly inspire confidence in the default Auto settings.
Timur Born is offline  
post #8203 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ElmerF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 22
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Corsair Vengeance 3200 (16-18-18-18-36, 1.35v) in a 4x8 32 Gb config. These ram chips were listed as accepted in the original motherboard documentation. In bios 1002 I gave up and ran at 2133, in 0083 I can run them at 2400 stable. Great! Progress! If I attempt to run this ram at 2600 the machine ignores my manually set dram voltage at 1.35, and my manually set timings at 16-18-18-18-36 and attempts to override and drop the timing values (to 14) and the set voltage to 1.2 v. Of course, 1.2 volts is unstable - amazed I can even get it to boot and see what happened. Why, when I cross the threshold from 2400 to 2600, does the machine decide to ignore dram manually set timings and voltages? I also tried leaving the timings in auto and setting the voltage to 1.35 volts. Still ignores the voltage value and heads toward 1.2 volts (using DCOP standard (reads the ram correctly) and using the underclock setting for ram speed). Another side effect is a higher core cpu voltage. Don't know what that is all about either - not trying a cpu OC - DCOP standard - multipler stays at 100 but voltage increases just based on a higher attempted ram speed.

Also, my bios clock is still getting manipulated by something (maybe Linux) - keeps resetting 4 hours in advance and all drive info is lost except for primary boot until I dip back into the bios reset the clock and hit F10. Happy trails after that.

Interesting ride - I'll give you that! Probably what older model V12 Jaguar owners thought while their beast was in garage getting fixed for 6 months out of a year.
ElmerF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8204 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ensate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Tested all bios versions since release. Im currently on 0082. They all seem to fail miserably at fan control. No matter if I use AIsuite fanXpert or just he bios alone. Every so often the fans ramp to full speed on two out of the three channels (never the same 2), and wont slow down again until a reboot.

Im using water cooling with the fans set to use a temperature probe on the temperature in port. This setup ironically worked perfectly with the same cooling hardware on my previous Asus z97-a motherboard with AIsuite,

Is sorting the cooling controller on the roadmap that anyone knows of?
Ensate is offline  
post #8205 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 177
Rep: 12 (Unique: 7)
Do you have a take on the BCLK fluctuations @elmor? When I get 107.3 instead of 104.8 that means ~4 GHz instead of ~3.9 and that's like a guaranteed code 8 wink.gif

malitze is offline  
post #8206 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 438
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
As an update, while I was able to get my RAM to run at 2933, it wasn't stable, random "pauses", and the occasional BSoD in Windows, so I had to back down to 2667. Memory is g.skill F4-3200C16D-32GVR. Fully stable at 2667 at least, and as others have reported, 0081-0083 starts up faster. In my case, because I have 2T memory, I went for 0083. I am not unhappy with the latest BIOS, I got CLOSE to it running, I went to 18-18-18-38(16-18-18-18-38 is the proper speeds). Or maybe I need to experiment with 18-20-20-20-40?

Worst case, I wait another year for RAM prices to come down, upgrade this stuff, and when I upgrade my CPU in 2-3 years, I will just buy a new motherboard and have the RAM for the secondary computer.
Targonis is offline  
post #8207 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 876
Rep: 46 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by majestynl View Post

Same problem as before. Changing the VID from the default value will break the Pstates!
This will be fixed soon!

i tested this with pstate 2 by raising its vid a bit and it got stuck there redface.gif. windows wouldnt exceed 2400mhz 1v.

BUT. i didnt get catastrophically locked to that in bios like some. what i did to get myself out of it is manually setting the hex code back to its default then saved and exited (just putting it back on auto doesnt work). went back, put pstate 1 and 2 back on auto, save and exit, golden.

Don't forget to ground yourself smile.gif

Reikoji is offline  
post #8208 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 438
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElmerF View Post

Corsair Vengeance 3200 (16-18-18-18-36, 1.35v) in a 4x8 32 Gb config. These ram chips were listed as accepted in the original motherboard documentation. In bios 1002 I gave up and ran at 2133, in 0083 I can run them at 2400 stable. Great! Progress! If I attempt to run this ram at 2600 the machine ignores my manually set dram voltage at 1.35, and my manually set timings at 16-18-18-18-36 and attempts to override and drop the timing values (to 14) and the set voltage to 1.2 v. Of course, 1.2 volts is unstable - amazed I can even get it to boot and see what happened. Why, when I cross the threshold from 2400 to 2600, does the machine decide to ignore dram manually set timings and voltages? I also tried leaving the timings in auto and setting the voltage to 1.35 volts. Still ignores the voltage value and heads toward 1.2 volts (using DCOP standard (reads the ram correctly) and using the underclock setting for ram speed). Another side effect is a higher core cpu voltage. Don't know what that is all about either - not trying a cpu OC - DCOP standard - multipler stays at 100 but voltage increases just based on a higher attempted ram speed.

Also, my bios clock is still getting manipulated by something (maybe Linux) - keeps resetting 4 hours in advance and all drive info is lost except for primary boot until I dip back into the bios reset the clock and hit F10. Happy trails after that.

Interesting ride - I'll give you that! Probably what older model V12 Jaguar owners thought while their beast was in garage getting fixed for 6 months out of a year.

Check the differences between the BIOS versions. 0083 is the 2T BIOS, while 0081 is the 1T BIOS. If your memory is 1T(which your 4x8 config implies), then you SHOULD be using 0081 or 0082 for best performance.
Targonis is offline  
post #8209 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
huyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 65
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targonis View Post

As an update, while I was able to get my RAM to run at 2933, it wasn't stable, random "pauses", and the occasional BSoD in Windows, so I had to back down to 2667. Memory is g.skill F4-3200C16D-32GVR. Fully stable at 2667 at least, and as others have reported, 0081-0083 starts up faster. In my case, because I have 2T memory, I went for 0083. I am not unhappy with the latest BIOS, I got CLOSE to it running, I went to 18-18-18-38(16-18-18-18-38 is the proper speeds). Or maybe I need to experiment with 18-20-20-20-40?

Worst case, I wait another year for RAM prices to come down, upgrade this stuff, and when I upgrade my CPU in 2-3 years, I will just buy a new motherboard and have the RAM for the secondary computer.
I could get 2933 stable with 0083, ProcODT 80ohm, 18-16-16-16-38 timing on those sticks (2x16 right?)
They perform a bit worst than 2666 ProcODT 80ohm 14-14-14-14-24 however, thus I'm still using 2666.
huyee is offline  
post #8210 of 40968 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NOVA
Posts: 1,211
Rep: 52 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoneToPlaid View Post

Hey everyone, first time post, although I've read every one lol

I wanted to share some results I've gotten with overclocking memory, and see if any of you have seen similar results. I've gotten pretty deep into tweaking parameters, just trying to see which knobs we have available to us.

First thing was that going to the new BIOS (0081 in my case) was extremely frustrating. It seemed like I had gone backwards from where I was on 1002. However, I figured out a couple of things:

#1 The default fail count has changed from 5 to 1. This means that after 1 failed attempt, the BIOS clears all the settings and starts over. On my system, for some reason, it only trains after the 2nd or 3rd attempt, so I was never able to pass until I increased the fail count back to 5. If you get stuck in a F9 reboot loop, the red safe_boot button is your friend smile.gif

#2 For some reason, I had to LOWER the DRAM voltage to 1.32 volts from 1.35 to get my system to work at 3200. I hadn't thought of lowering the voltage before, but for some reason that worked. I wonder if this is related to the memory hole.

So, once I had gotten past these hurdles, I tried to figure out what my memory was sensitive to. I'll skip the details, but basically I put my memory on the edge of passing/failing, and looked for settings which helped. Here's the ones I have found so far:

SOC voltage - definitely impacts things, once I got above like 3400. To push from 3500 to 3600 I had to go from 1.2 to 1.25

VDDP - I also had to increase this to get higher than 3500, to 1.15 Volts. Surprisingly, it failed at 1.2 Volts, so again you can't go too high on this one

DRAM voltage - To get higher frequencies, I did have to increase this. 3600 required 1.45 Volts

Termination values - for my system it seems to like the auto value (53.3 Ohms), looks like every system might be different

Currently I'm running with Trident Z RGB F4-3200CL14D-16GTZR, 2x8MB

So, I was able to boot with the following:

BCLK=134
DRAM voltage = 1.45
SOC voltage = 1.25
VDDP = 1.15
Timings = 18:18:18:18:45
2667 strap (so 3573 DDR)
Core clock = 3.9 GHz
1700 CPU

However, this isn't entire stable running stress, so I back BCLK off to 131 (keeping core clock at 3.9 GHz)
This puts me at 3493 DDR, which I'm pretty happy with smile.gif AIDA64 is showing latency around 72 ns or so. EDIT also backed off VDDP to 1.05

If anyone has similar DIMMs, can you see if you get similar results? I'm about to try some other DIMMs next, I'll let you know what I find out. If anyone has a recipe to push even higher, I'd love to hear about it!!!

I have the same memory and got similar results with your settings.

I've subsequently been messing with the following:

BCLK - 122.8
DRAM - 1.470 (vboot to match)
SOC v - 1.25
VDDP - 1.15
Timings - 16-16-16-36
2933 strap (3609 I believe)
Core - 31.75

madweazl is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off