ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 847 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8461 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 11:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nycgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,880
Rep: 94 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targonis View Post

This is why the May update from AMD is supposed to focus on RAM performance.

I am holding off on buying different ram pretty much for this reason.
nycgtr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8462 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 11:28 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,735
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoxile View Post

I can't hit 3200 on my F4-3200C14D sticks! The highest it'll go is 2933 with over 1.0V for the SOC voltage. Using 0083 BIOS, can the Ryzen 7 1700 really not hit 3200?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecChum View Post

It would appear that some cannot, no. But it's all the chips, not just 1700.

Yeah was reading this today, there was some discussion earlier in this thread that some thought as "X" CPU is better bin perhaps IMC better, which from that post seems is not the case.
gupsterg is offline  
post #8463 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 11:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Landm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 10
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoxile View Post

I can't hit 3200 on my F4-3200C14D sticks! The highest it'll go is 2933 with over 1.0V for the SOC voltage. Using 0083 BIOS, can the Ryzen 7 1700 really not hit 3200?

I hit 3200 MHz at 18-16-16-36, but I can't remember if it was 1T or 2T BIOS. Also using a 1700 CPU.
But I got some memory errors while running MemTest so I cleared CMOS back to defaults to let it run there until the May AGESA update is out which will apparently bring lots of improvements for RAM. I'm banking on being able to run 2x16 GB Samsung B-Die sticks at 3200 MHz sometime this summer.

Landm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8464 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 11:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
WR-HW95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 60
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
I can report that 4x16Gb @3230MHz still works with 1081 bios. Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
WR-HW95 is offline  
post #8465 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 11:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 438
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur Born View Post

The "it's the same BIOS just different name" is true for us beta BIOS testers only. If you change policy to not publish betas anymore then we all have to wait longer in between official releases. I think that's why he wrote that you need to push these faster. wink.gif

But yes, given the complexities of these things you are not slow. I do hope, though, that you keep publishing beta BIOS versions way before official release.

That isn't really a good way to look at it. For those of us with 2T RAM, the last official BIOS for us was 0902. 1001 is 1T and isn't as good for us. 0083 isn't going to go official I don't think, so again, 2T owners locked into the "official" BIOS versions would get left out.

As far as pushing faster, at this point we have one more month until the AMD RAM release, and I am sure there are people at Asus who want to hold off on a lot of work until that next version comes out, just because it may eliminate the need for a lot of these tweaks and adjustments and testing and such.
Targonis is offline  
post #8466 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 11:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nycgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,880
Rep: 94 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WR-HW95 View Post

I can report that 4x16Gb @3230MHz still works with 1081 bios. Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Model of ram?
nycgtr is offline  
post #8467 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 11:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 872
Rep: 46 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by icyeye View Post

what is your LLC lvl?

LLC 3 on cpu. none of the other power controls are touched

Don't forget to ground yourself smile.gif

Reikoji is offline  
post #8468 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 11:52 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Just something a bit more objective to help scotch some of the eternal LLC debates. LLC 1 works quite well for everyday use. Just a stock capture here. That said, the CPUs don't pull much current at all, so I don't expect big changes. Small FFT Prime load hitting the VRM.






Blue trace = Vcore
Yellow trace = current (peak is around 130W)

1.40 VID set in UEFI gives around 1.38V "idle", dipping no more than 20mv when hit with load.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
post #8469 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 11:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecChum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: England
Posts: 953
Rep: 59 (Unique: 29)
Well, guess who's just swapped his 1700 out for another and can now boot (and reboot) first time at 3200 14-14-14-34 now smile.gif
SpecChum is offline  
post #8470 of 40634 (permalink) Old 04-11-2017, 12:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NOVA
Posts: 1,211
Rep: 52 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

Just something a bit more objective to help scotch some of the eternal LLC debates. LLC 1 works quite well for everyday use. Just a stock capture here. That said, the CPUs don't pull much current at all, so I don't expect big changes. Small FFT Prime load hitting the VRM.



Blue trace = Vcore
Yellow trace = current (peak is around 130W)

1.40 VID set in UEFI gives around 1.38V "idle", dipping no more than 20mv when hit with load.

Do you have measurements for all LLC levels by chance? Good stuff (though a higher res image for those of us with aging eyes would be welcome biggrin.gif )!

madweazl is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off