ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 865 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8641 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ShiftyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

Can you give some more details? Settings and where exactly are you seeing 1.5v?
My settings are

Pstates0 3.9ghz 1700
Voltage Offset 0.17500
D.O.C.P Standard 3200

When I turn on or reboot my PC the CPU light will change from white to red twice before green and posting. Then after I enter the Bios my settings are gone but my Voltage on the right hand side is reported at 1.5v. Havent stayed in the Bios for too long to investigate for obvious reasons. As I said its happened several times now, didnt have this issue on older Bios.
ShiftyJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8642 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 784
Rep: 291 (Unique: 127)
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1L3N7D3A7H View Post

@elmor

Bug report on the board lighting. When powered on from cold start, the LEDs do not illuminate. When system is restarted (either from the OS, or ctrl-alt-del after POST), then the LEDs illuminate and work normally.

BIOS 0079

That's only on your board, and we haven't been able to reproduce it here. I'm trying to find a board that this happens on so we can debug.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post

@elmor
Looking at volts/stability situation of new bioses I came to conclusion its due to fact we gotten lover access time by them 5% or whatever few ns. And CPU/IMC works harder so need more Juice like when u bulk up at gym biggrin.gif
Like on 1002 no way i could pass 3200 with memory and on 081 NO problem maybe not as stable as but gained 272 overclock on DDR's so cant complain smile.gif

Whats Your opinion on that matter ??


Other thing I wanted to ask and not see answered here. Whats the deal with VDDP stock is 0.915 some people claim it helps with stability pass 3200. Any tests recomendations from Asus on this ?? Like what would You suggest as maximum for 24/7. Like SOC You said to keep at 1.15 max for 24/7.


AAA and i Assume official bios based on 081 coes out next week ??
Thanks


btw I know when May bios comes out !!!! WHEN ITS READY :]

It is what it is, your theory seems sound. VDDP is similar to VCCIO on Intel platform. From our testing it didn't help much with DRAM, but it's possible it can affect things slightly. I'd recommend the same limits as SOC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brko View Post

[[email protected][/B]
In this May update, will it be possible to have further straps eg. 3400, 3600, w/o touching BCLK?
I ordered G.Skill TiredntZ 3200C14 Samsung B-Die so it would be nice to have them 3600C16 in May smile.gif

See my post above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post

And few things i wanted to ask but forgot.

When i ENABLE custon P02 state to lover Idle clock board wont post. It stays on with Code 56 and WHITE LED on. I need to Clear CMOS. And yes i do have C-states enabled like You said to do smile.gif


What does I/O Skew Sense Mi thing do ?? Says to try to disable when crashing while overclocking ???

Sense MI in tweeker paradise 1700 disable afaik 1700x/1800x enable right ??

Yes that's a known bug with AMD CBS, just like P0 VID etc. No solution for it right now.

SIO Clock Skew is related to the fixed board bricking issue. Theoretically if it's set to Disabled, you can safely go above the 1.20V limit on SOC Voltage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShiftyJ View Post

My settings are

Pstates0 3.9ghz 1700
Voltage Offset 0.17500
D.O.C.P Standard 3200

When I turn on or reboot my PC the CPU light will change from white to red twice before green and posting. Then after I enter the Bios my settings are gone but my Voltage on the right hand side is reported at 1.5v. Havent stayed in the Bios for too long to investigate for obvious reasons. As I said its happened several times now, didnt have this issue on older Bios.

You're setting VID to something lower than default in P0? My theory is you're failing DRAM training and AMD CBS settings are reverted, but the BIOS is not aware and is still applying your offset.
elmor is offline  
post #8643 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 177
Rep: 12 (Unique: 7)
Had a strange "bug" now where the CPU temp sensor of the board would somehow get stuck (at 52°C) during testing. The CPU itself went up, the first time I've seen it surpass the board temps (which should not happen I suppose). As a result the fans did not ramp up. After a restart with defaults it's normal again.

malitze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8644 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timur Born's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,300
Rep: 111 (Unique: 51)
@Elmor

1. Why do I (1800X) get a dynamically changing Tctl offset (0/+10/+20 depending on CPU instructions used) instead of a fixed +20 C? Is this something the BIOS messes with even when Sense Skew is disabled?

2. For my 1800X with Sense Skew disabled SIO CPU is a straight Socket + 30 C for Tctl higher than 51 C. Below that it's Tctl + 5 C. This does not seem to be the case for gupsterg's 1700 non X.
Timur Born is offline  
post #8645 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timur Born's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,300
Rep: 111 (Unique: 51)
Quote:
Originally Posted by malitze View Post

Had a strange "bug" now where the CPU temp sensor of the board would somehow get stuck (at 52°C) during testing. The CPU itself went up, the first time I've seen it surpass the board temps (which should not happen I suppose). As a result the fans did not ramp up. After a restart with defaults it's normal again.
I assume you disabled Sense Skew on a X processor?

SIO CPU is Tctl + 5 C up until 51 C. Once Tctl crosses the 51 C threshold SIO CPU switches to Socket + 30 C.
Timur Born is offline  
post #8646 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,257
Rep: 31 (Unique: 25)
@elmor
Thanks for Reply ill play around with VDDP and see if that gets my system More stable at lets say 1.0.. While doing my daily Body weight training smile.gif System does not Crash just when running IBT gives an error does not matter what standard volts i up or drop ram/memory OC down.
Played WoW last night for few hours Full stable.


If it goes for SIO Clock Skew there is no point of disabling it if sticking to 1.15 as maximum daily then ??
lordzed83 is offline  
post #8647 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 177
Rep: 12 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur Born View Post

I assume you disabled Sense Skew on a X processor?

SIO CPU is Tctl + 5 C up until 51 C. Once Tctl crosses the 51 C threshold SIO CPU switches to Socket + 30 C.

I haven't modified the SenseMI Skew and the behaviour is not reproducible atm.

malitze is offline  
post #8648 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timur Born's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,300
Rep: 111 (Unique: 51)
Quote:
Originally Posted by malitze View Post

I haven't modified the SenseMI Skew and the behaviour is not reproducible atm.
I once saw Sense Skew being disabled (or maybe value changed) when the option was set to its default "Auto" settings. Only after a cold-boot did it get enabled again. Try to disable it manually and look at the SIO CPU behavior around the Tctl 51 C threshold again.
Timur Born is offline  
post #8649 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NOVA
Posts: 1,211
Rep: 52 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timur Born View Post

@Elmor

1. Why do I (1800X) get a dynamically changing Tctl offset (0/+10/+20 depending on CPU instructions used) instead of a fixed +20 C? Is this something the BIOS messes with even when Sense Skew is disabled?

2. For my 1800X with Sense Skew disabled SIO CPU is a straight Socket + 30 C for Tctl higher than 51 C. Below that it's Tctl + 5 C. This does not seem to be the case for gupsterg's 1700 non X.

Actually, I got something similar to this yesterday on my 1700. I'll try to recreate it when I get home from work today but I did have a substantial delta between SIO CPU and tctl and was throttling for the first time. This may have been on 0083 as I played with it a bit yesterday (I've been using 0082 almost exclusively); again, I'll have to mess with it later to confirm.

madweazl is offline  
post #8650 of 40644 (permalink) Old 04-12-2017, 04:53 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Quote:
Originally Posted by goncalossilva View Post

As requested before, please do this for all LLC levels thumbsupsmiley.png

There's no need to go through all of them. Not from my perspective, anyway.

If you're wondering what happens at level 5, here's a very crude (non-ideal) capture:



With an LLC of 5, if VID is set to 1.40V in UEFI (manual), you'll see load voltages in the ballpark of 1.45V. When releasing the load, the voltage will momentarily peak around 1.47V, before it returns to idle state. The overshoot duration is sub 50uS, but the CPU frequently sees 50~70mv more than what you've set. With "Voffset removed" the VRM has to substantially ramp the voltage when the load hits (will vary somewhat depending upon current), which puts more strain on the FETs. It's just more strenuous on the system to have to ramp voltage by ~50mv while dealing with a transient. How that may impact things down the road is always up in the air. You're playing with percentages/potential for failure, and what that means to you. Whether or not it will happen is difficult to quantify.

If you have sympathy for electronics, you'd likely opt for LLC 1 or 2. At those levels, peak overshoot is constrained 10-20mV over the user-applied VID at durations that likely fall within the tolerance guidelines. Those levels are complimentary to the associated devices. From levels 3 and above, the actual voltage is ramped above the user-defined value, and we start seeing excursions of 30mV+ past the user-set value.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (3 members and 2 guests)
allavatar2 , Dave001 , Sideways2k
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off