ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 817
Rep: 333 (Unique: 146)
ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Major issues and solutions


Random BIOS updating message killing boards (fixed in BIOS 0902/1001/0038 and newer)

Please update ASAP to 0902 or newer. Using this BIOS do not go above 1.20V on the CPU SOC Voltage. Before updating, restore CMOS default settings and make sure CPU SOC Voltage is below 1.0V (recommended value 0.95V), or use USB BIOS Flashback. By now this issue should be considered solved as all boards leaving the factory since March are delivered with a safe BIOS.


EK Predator & Supremacy backplate issue

Using the EK Predator or Supremacy rubber gasket causes the board not to turn on or become unstable. Contact EK directly for a replacement. Shouldn't be an issue any more as it only affected the first batch of AM4 updated kits being sent out.


Voltage readings

The readings from the Super I/O chip have an error of +/- 22mV. This means you might see for example DRAM Voltage reading 1.375V instead of the 1.400V set. It's a readout error, not an actual error. If you measure the voltage with a DMM it's will be very close to 1.400V. SIO readings are what you're seeing in BIOS and AiSuite, or under "CROSSHAIR VI HERO (ITE8665E)" in HWInfo. The most accurate CPU Voltage reading will be from SVI2 TFN which is reporting the voltage the VRM controller is seeing.

Additionally some will freak out because of seeing CPU Voltage up to 1.55V in BIOS and OS at default settings. This is the default AMD behavior when CPB is Enabled. If up to two cores are loaded, the CPU will boost to a higher frequency with higher voltage (on 1800X up to 4.1 GHz 1.55V). If more cores are loaded, the frequency and voltage will drop. It's not dangerous and as stated, AMD spec.


Temperature readings (fixed in 1001 and later)

Tctl readings can be off on 0902, to fix set Sense Mi Skew = Enabled and Sense MI offset = 272. Most reliable sensor is the CPU sensor reading from SIO (listed under Crosshair VI Hero in HWInfo64). New BIOSes should be OK with defaults SenseMi Skew setting of 272.

If you have problems with fan speeds and/or very off temperature readings (-79*C and the like), make sure it's not caused by any third-party monitoring software on your system. HWInfo is safe since a few months, latest beta of AIDA should also be OK.


DRAM Ratios above 2666

Higher than 2666 DRAM Ratios only work using 2x8GB Samsung B-based DRAM. Using other configurations you have to rely on REFCLK to increase your DRAM frequency from that point. * With later updates being able to adjust ProcODT it's possible to tune a broader range of IC's and densities using 2933 and 3200 MHz DRAM Ratios. Check the memory list below for tips on how to get there. Furthermore we'll have a major update from AMD coming sometime in May which should further improve the chance to hit high DRAM frequency.


Fan Control (fixed in 1001/0038 and newer)

0902 breaks fan control for AiSuite/DIP5. Update to 1001 to fix. Still a few issues, please help report in the form below to speed up our debugging process.


Aura software and RGB sticks corrupting SPD

If you're using out Aura software and have compatible RGB sticks installed, please make sure you're not running any other software which is reading SPD (CPU-Z, HWMonitor, HWInfo32/64, SIV, AIDA64, Speedfan etc) or you might end up with a corrupted SPD. Most of the time they will still work fine, but there's a slight chance your sticks might become unusable. It's currently being investigated on our side, until then I have to recommend to uninstall Aura until we've fully assessed the situation. From what I've learned it's a bug present with several different vendors and combinations of both motherboards and DRAM modules.

This has been fixed from Aura version 1.04.42. Also make sure CPU-Z is version 1.79.1 or newer. HWMonitor should follow CPU-Z but not sure from which version, I recommend updating to the latest. HWINFO/SIV and AIDA64 are safe.


Cold boot issues and AMD CBS reset after DRAM training fails (F9 POST code)

Due to the way DRAM settings are implemented by AMD, we currently have no way to apply anything but default voltages at boot after removing standby power from the board. On top of that, if DRAM training fails (showing F9 on the Q-code display), all AMD CBS settings are currently reset to defaults and we're currently not detecting when this happens. This can result in the user suddenly running at default memory speed and timings, without being aware of what happened. Additionally any settings in AMD CBS like Global C-states or custom P-state settings will have to be entered again. We have a workaround microcontroller firmware which always starts the system with 90 MHz REFCLK and 1.35V DRAM voltage which should help most systems to successfully boot from a full power off without issues. To test it, first make sure your system boots up without problems after setting 90 MHz REFCLK on you current BIOS. If that works, clear CMOS and flash BIOS 0003 (SHA256 85a89c66813a0369dd2718a4f5e11d957ffae8041044515575 8b4f1a3a39899f) using either EZFlash or USB BIOS Flashback. It will show the "Bios is updating" message which became synonymous with boards bricking, but don't worry, it will flash successfully this time. After the process is complete and you're booted into BIOS, you can revert to whatever previous BIOS was working well for you. This fix will still be applied. Just make sure you're manually setting REFCLK (BCLK Frequency) 100 MHz or your preferred setting. If left at Auto you might end up still running at 90 MHz.


P-state settings under AMD CBS

There are currently several bugs in AMD CBS related to P-state overclocking. An additional problem is that the settings are reset whenever DRAM training has failed (see above). Beware of this issue and expect your CPU Core Voltage to be default P0 VID + CPU Core Voltage offset + SMU increase from XFR when this happens. To be safe we recommend using Manual mode for CPU Core Voltage when overclocking. If you still want overclock with P-stated enabled, our current recommendation is to leave CPU Core Voltage offset at Auto or +0.00625, set P0/P1/P2 to Custom but keep the default values under AMD CBSS, and relay on our OS software ASUS ZenStates listed below for P-state control.

Q-codes

Common Q-codes you might run into are listed at the end of the Extreme overclocking guide along with other useful information even if you don't intend to push your system to its limits. It's a recommended read for all users new to the AM4 platform. Please be aware that the C6H Manual currently isn't accurate when it comes to describing Q-codes. Also note that they're usually not error codes but status codes outputted for debug reasons at certain stages during the boot process.

ROG Crosshair VI Hero



Disclamer: All information/software/firmware available here is provided as is, with no warranties and often in beta stage. Use at your own risk. Don't flash a non-official BIOS from here if you're not prepared to take additional steps to recover to your previous state.


BIOS Flashing instructions and info

Recommended procedure for BIOS flashing is to first reset to default settings by clearing CMOS, after which you enter the BIOS and update the BIOS using the integrated EZFlash3 tool.If your board fails to start after flashing, first try a CMOS clear again. If it still doesn't work, you can attempt to recover using our USB BIOS Flashback feature, instructions are provided below.

After BIOS 1107, flashing back to an older version is blocked from EZFlash to prevent users to go back to buggy versions. If you still feel you're better served with an older BIOS version, you can use the USB BIOS Flashback feature. Put the BIOS you wish to flash to the board on a FAT32 formatted USB flash drive named as "C6H.CAP". Note the order of the letters and make sure you don't add double file extensions. Then plug the drive in the bottom USB2.0 port (back-I/O, black color) and hold the USB BIOS Flashback button for a few seconds. The button should start flashing and continue to do so for about 3-4 minutes. If it doesn't double check that your CPU is installed properly in the socket, that your board has standby power (power and reset buttons light up) and that you prepared the flash drive properly.

You can check this video by lordzed83 for instructions on how to use USB BIOS Flashback


BIOS

Releases available here http://www.mediafire.com/folder/xcheoyf3gq1e4/Release . Read the thread for details.

Beta BIOS 6101

- PinnaclePi-1.0.0.2a (supports Ryzen 2)
- DOCP Profile 1-5 removed
- BCLK Divider is back
- S3 resume stuck at E3 when overclocking fixed
- Q-Fan Tuning fix for DC mode

http://www.mediafire.com/file/mcaddy...-ASUS-6101.zip sha256 1cdd6c8913b63a32226824df8c8c328ff75248ebe3ecf24d0c 2d394ce0198b72
http://www.mediafire.com/file/4o199n...-ASUS-6101.zip sha256 8990f33b333afa69520883cb6793628e972378b13ba3307ecc 58b55c28d40646
http://www.mediafire.com/file/z9dss6...-ASUS-6101.zip sha256 b213d1c20d14f92046f51a2b61499832459a6ac0a9670866c2 230511c846834f


Other collaterals
  • ASUS ZenStates 0.2.2 Allows for P-state adjustments in the OS, including applying settings at start. If you're on AGESA older than 1004 (BIOS 1002 and older), you need to enable HPET in order to change P0 ratio without glitches. (SHA 256 40e1780194a177523abf6025060c27ff8f2ae9e9e30490ba1f b43d0d32cfd2cc)
  • C6H XOC guide v05 Targeted to extreme overclockers but also has useful information for ambient and daily use
  • C6H OC Pack 0302 Has some tools mainly for benchmarking and extreme overclocking (also W7 USB drivers) (SHA256 bcdeacdae5e4f7abaa380b4bf5bce89239d778b93faed1c59d e4a12614fde4e3)
First thing you should know is that this platform (AM4 overall) is very rushed and will keep improving through the coming months through firmware updates, this goes for all MB vendors. AFAIK the C6H is the only motherboard available at launch which is able to get the most out of the platform due to adjustable reference clock. *edit: Was true at launch, we still believe you have the highest chance of reaching the spec of your DRAM kit on our board, check the memory list for more info. You might be interested to know that the average frequency our users have reported their system running at is 3011 MHz, if only counting AGESA 1004a BIOSes the number is over 3200 MHz (some really successful users pushing above 3600 MHZ is pushing up the average ).

DRAM overclocking data collection

Please answer this form with your results https://goo.gl/forms/zSycLSBqPhSgoWO72



DRAM selection

Recommended DRAM configuration at the moment is 2x8GB Samsung B-die based DIMMs which will yield the best performance (3300-3466 CL14 24/7) and least issues. Worst configuration is dual-rank 2x16GB, especially Hynix-based DRAM (4xSR is best at the moment if you need 32GB and high speed). See the XOC guide for further details.




Geekbench 3 memory/timing scaling

So what's the main case for the C6H except for getting records on LN2? DRAM performance. Below data is at fixed 3.7GHz CPU frequency.





Note that these results are for reference only and should be taken as an indicator but the trend-line is clear. 2666 and above ratios can only use even CAS Latency numbers which is why it's running 2933 @ 14-13-13-13-36. The last 3466 CL14 data point is using the 2400 DRAM ratio but at 144.4 MHz reference clock which yields tighter sub-timings. These are all attainable 24/7 memory frequencies (3466 might be a stretch on some systems). Screenshots available here for verification and comparison.

Bug reports

Please help us squash bugs by filling out our form https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1F...b684w/viewform



Feel free to ask questions and share your experiences below. And for full disclosure I work for ROG MB R&D.

Last edited by elmor; 04-20-2018 at 02:16 AM.
elmor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 07:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 6,817
Rep: 354 (Unique: 199)
Thanks for this Elmor, will be using it when I get mine up and running.

I had an issue with my board, started off displaying an "8" or "B" Q-Code, I tried for several hours to get it to even post, manual never had any data of what those Q-Codes are or the 30 and 46 codes I would occasionally get.

Any ideas?

AMD Community Manager for ANZ


Sgt Bilko is offline  
post #3 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 817
Rep: 333 (Unique: 146)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Bilko View Post

Thanks for this Elmor, will be using it when I get mine up and running.

I had an issue with my board, started off displaying an "8" or "B" Q-Code, I tried for several hours to get it to even post, manual never had any data of what those Q-Codes are or the 30 and 46 codes I would occasionally get.

Any ideas?

Post codes are in the XOC guide. 8 is equivalent to 00 on other platforms, means your CPU is not operational. Check if it's seated properly and a DMM to check if Core & SOC voltages are coming up.
elmor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 07:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 6,817
Rep: 354 (Unique: 199)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Bilko View Post

Thanks for this Elmor, will be using it when I get mine up and running.

I had an issue with my board, started off displaying an "8" or "B" Q-Code, I tried for several hours to get it to even post, manual never had any data of what those Q-Codes are or the 30 and 46 codes I would occasionally get.

Any ideas?

Post codes are in the XOC guide. 8 is equivalent to 00 on other platforms, means your CPU is not operational. Check if it's seated properly and a DMM to check if Core & SOC voltages are coming up.

I just noticed them when you posted, seating was good but I've heard a little extra downward pressure on the CPU itself might help, that true?

No DMM here I'm afraid.

AMD Community Manager for ANZ


Sgt Bilko is offline  
post #5 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 817
Rep: 333 (Unique: 146)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Bilko View Post

I just noticed them when you posted, seating was good but I've heard a little extra downward pressure on the CPU itself might help, that true?

No DMM here I'm afraid.

You shouldn't need extra pressure. Try reseating the CPU, just press lightly on the IHS while lowering the lever after seating the CPU. What about these leds, on or off?

elmor is offline  
post #6 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 08:36 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 3,914
Hmm
FLCLimax is offline  
post #7 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 09:08 AM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,693
Rep: 872 (Unique: 575)
Any idea on EVGA SuperSC performance (http://www.microcenter.com/product/459741/16GB_2_x_8GB_DDR4-3000_(PC4-24000)_CL15_Desktop_Memory_Kit and http://www.microcenter.com/product/459742/16GB_2_x_8GB_DDR4-3200_PC4-25600_CL16_Desktop_Memory_Kit) vs Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 (Vengeance LPX CL15 DDR4-3000) performance? (https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Vengeance-3000MHz-Desktop-Memory/dp/B0134EW7G8/)


From Gigabyte manual for Gaming 5:
CORSAIR 8GB 1Rx8 CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 ver 5.30 SKhynix 15-17-17-35 1.35V

I can't find the specs for the EVGA memory anywhere.

edit: from Asrock the Gskill modules supported
DDR4 3200 8GB G.Skill F4-3200CL14D-16GBTZ SS 2pcs .... Trident Z
DDR4 3200 8GB G.Skill F4-3200CL14D-16GFXR SS 2pcs
DDR4 3200 8GB G.Skill F4-3200CL14D-16GFX SS 2pcs
DDR4 3200 8GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR SS 2pcs ... Trident Z
DDR4 3000 8GB G.Skill F4-3000C16D-16GISB SS 2pcs ... Aegis
DDR4 3000 4GB G.Skill F4-3000C15Q-16GRR SS 2pcs ...4GB sticks :/

* F4-3200C14D-16GFX also listed on MSI for 3200MHz but supposedly hynix modules :S
F4-3200C14Q2-64GTZ, F4-3200C14D-16GFX on Xpower page

*listed on ASUS CH VI Hero QVL for 3200MHz (single side, 14-14-14-34, 1.35V):
F4-3200C14D-16GVR ... Ripjaws V
F4-3200C14D-16GVK ... Ripjaws V
F4-3200C14D-16GTZ ... Trident Z
F4-3200C14D-16GTZKW ... Trident Z
F4-3200C14D-16GTZKY ... Trident Z
F4-3200C14D-6GTZKO
F4-3200C14D-16GTZSW ... Trident Z
F4-3200C14D-16GTZSK ... Trident Z

edit: I believe we need to wait for Flare X from G-Skill ,
http://www.gskill.com/en/press/view/g-skill-announces-flare-x-series-and-fortis-series-ddr4-memory-for-amd-ryzen
" G.SKILL’s R&D team achieved an impressive overclock on a 64GB (4x16GB) kit to frequencies of DDR4-3200MHz at ultra-low timings of CL14-14-14-34"
"Further pushing the boundaries of 16GB (2x8GB) memory kits on the AM4 platform, G.SKILL tuned it to a blistering fast DDR4-3466MHz CL 16-16-16-36."

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected]me , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #8 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 09:12 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,550
Rep: 319 (Unique: 231)
I would not buy any of those RAM. Look for some other better ones. 3000-3200 CL14-16 should be a good sweet spot for DDR4. Avoid Hynix.
EVGA RAM, seeing that first time, wouldn't touch. Corsair has Hynix so no either.
JackCY is offline  
post #9 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 09:56 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,948
Rep: 741 (Unique: 345)
gupsterg is offline  
post #10 of 41904 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 12:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dominican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 118
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
anyone running DDR4 3000 To 3600 ?????

Looking to get F4-3000C16D-16GTZR
Dominican is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 28 (8 members and 20 guests)
Caparroz , dlbsyst , jamesmca , krusty50 , Medusa666 , Pilotasso , roco_smith , Shikatsu
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off