MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon experience - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon experience

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 08:02 PM
OG AMD
Redwoodz will become famous soon enough Redwoodz will become famous soon enough Redwoodz will become famous soon enough Redwoodz will become famous soon enough Redwoodz will become famous soon enough Redwoodz will become famous soon enough
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 7,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by msel View Post

Here's a screenshot from hwinfo64 under prime95's max heat generation test. This thing sure does heat up, although part of the issue is that it's only under a CM Hyper 212X (which is performing admirably, all things considered). Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

There's also this bit from AMD about temps which I found interesting: https://community.amd.com/community/gaming/blog/2017/03/13/amd-ryzen-community-update Take your CPU temp and subtract 20C? I can live with that.

Amazing. Up to 1.48 vcore with 8 cores and only 110w at max on a Hyper212. thumb.gif


Redwoodz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 08:37 PM
⤷ αC
AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by msel View Post

Here's a screenshot from hwinfo64 under prime95's max heat generation test. This thing sure does heat up, although part of the issue is that it's only under a CM Hyper 212X (which is performing admirably, all things considered). Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

There's also this bit from AMD about temps which I found interesting: https://community.amd.com/community/gaming/blog/2017/03/13/amd-ryzen-community-update Take your CPU temp and subtract 20C? I can live with that.

Seems decent but you're missing the part of the hwinfo64 screen that tells you what the power (wattage) and current (amperage ) being put into the VRM is and what is coming out of it. Also what is the VID?

It should read under the section after the SuperIO chip:
VR T1 ---> VRM temperature 1
VR T2 ---> VRM temperature 2
VR VOut (CPU Vcore) ---> Voltage applied to CPU
VR Vin (ATX +12V) ---> should be +12V or close to it, if not your PSU or motherboard is no good
Current (Iout) ---> Current supplied to CPU
Current (IIn) ----> Current supplied to VRM
Power (Pout) ----> Power for CPU
Power (Input) ----> Power used by VRM

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #13 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
msel Level 1
 
msel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 24
I've been looking through the interface for the values you're after and I don't see a way to enable them.

Here's a screen of all the values that exist:
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

I'm using build 5.46-3100.
msel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 09:01 PM
Linux Lobbyist
SliceTbone Level 1
 
SliceTbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 51
Ey guys, which one should I get, this one or Taichi.
Any opinions ? thumb.gif
SliceTbone is offline  
post #15 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 09:05 PM
GPU Enthusiast
rv8000 is an unknown quantity at this point rv8000 is an unknown quantity at this point
 
rv8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by SliceTbone View Post

Ey guys, which one should I get, this one or Taichi.
Any opinions ? thumb.gif

Taichi, no argument to be made otherwise.

rv8000 is offline  
post #16 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 09:16 PM
⤷ αC
AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about AlphaC has a spectacular aura about
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by msel View Post

I've been looking through the interface for the values you're after and I don't see a way to enable them.

Here's a screen of all the values that exist:
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

I'm using build 5.46-3100.
I guess it doesn't have a VRM section that has temperature monitoring , thanks for trying thumb.gif

It seems your CPU package power is off though

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #17 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 09:17 PM
Linux Lobbyist
SliceTbone Level 1
 
SliceTbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by rv8000 View Post

Taichi, no argument to be made otherwise.

Sweet, now just need to find it in stock biggrin.gif
SliceTbone is offline  
post #18 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
msel Level 1
 
msel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post

I guess it doesn't have a VRM section that has temperature monitoring , thanks for trying thumb.gif

It seems your CPU package power is off though

Ah, my apologies. That last screenshot was of the system at idle (more or less). Under full load, it was around 117 or so.

Unrelated, if I bump the NB voltage to 1.0875, I'm able to boot my 2x16GB @3200 26-26-26-26-48 1.35v and it passes memtest86 with flying colors...but, as soon as I reboot, it gives me the "Go into BIOS and fix your brokenness" splash screen.
msel is offline  
post #19 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-14-2017, 01:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
Shawn Shutt jr Level 1
 
Shawn Shutt jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 314
So ram on this mobo is running slow? I planned on putting 3000mhz ram in it. And hows the m2 heat? And oc
Shawn Shutt jr is offline  
post #20 of 633 (permalink) Old 03-14-2017, 01:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
Redbugz007 Level 1
 
Redbugz007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 46
I got a set of F4-3200C16D-16GTZB , Microcenter didn't have them listed online but they had it in stores, odd...

I was able to get it to 2933 16-18-18-18-38 @ 1.35. I stayed up quite late messing around with it. I'll test more settings when I put it in its case.

I switched to this board after my CH6 kept getting delayed. I prefer no LEDs and I wish this board saved its settings without the "Gaming App".My 970A Pro Gaming Carbon does so.
Redbugz007 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off