MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon experience - Page 62 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon experience

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #611 of 635 (permalink) Old 11-22-2018, 02:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Could anyone help me with my current RAM situation? I'm trying to get my memory to run at anything above 2133 but it seems to not be possible. I've tried the XMP 1 and 2 profiles. Neither would post. I've tried using the Ryzen Ram Configurator and none of those settings seemed to work either. I've also tried multiple "Memory try-it" presets and I can't seem to get any of those to post either. Here's my info ...

Ryzen 1700 @ 3.8Ghz
G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16-8GTZ, 2x8gb, Samsung B-Die(20nm)

I figured maybe this memory just isn't compatible with the mobo but I remember shortly after I built this PC I had it running at 2933 but I can't remember which Bios I was on in order to get those speeds. I'm currently on 7A32v1I which i believe is 1.0.0.4C AGESA.

Any help would be appreciated. I've read about every forum I could find.
YatoBSlayin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #612 of 635 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 01:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MGTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by YatoBSlayin View Post
Could anyone help me with my current RAM situation? I'm trying to get my memory to run at anything above 2133 but it seems to not be possible. I've tried the XMP 1 and 2 profiles. Neither would post. I've tried using the Ryzen Ram Configurator and none of those settings seemed to work either. I've also tried multiple "Memory try-it" presets and I can't seem to get any of those to post either. Here's my info ...

Ryzen 1700 @ 3.8Ghz
G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16-8GTZ, 2x8gb, Samsung B-Die(20nm)

I figured maybe this memory just isn't compatible with the mobo but I remember shortly after I built this PC I had it running at 2933 but I can't remember which Bios I was on in order to get those speeds. I'm currently on 7A32v1I which i believe is 1.0.0.4C AGESA.

Any help would be appreciated. I've read about every forum I could find.
Use the latest BIOS. And start from 2800Mhz using Memory Try It listings. Also set SOC to 1.1v and ram voltage to 1.4v for now.
MGTG is offline  
post #613 of 635 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 01:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MGTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Rep: 0
Anyone noticed the tCL bug in the latest J BIOS? Setting a tCL timing of 13 for example will actually make the RAM run at 14. Always +1 :/. You will see it in both BIOS and windows after the boot.
MGTG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #614 of 635 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 01:58 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 403
I don't know..that one Probably has something a little more there in Post/debug...this not really...back to more either just boot or don't. It's whatever it works. watching core temp and stuff...I guess that's accurate seems like it. None issue. I think that vcore is high still..but it was still freezing...I don't know try maxing out LLC and go a notch lower maybe....
Jspinks020 is offline  
post #615 of 635 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 07:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Is this bad? https://imgur.com/a/8MVj6Bs

Using a M.2 Samsung 970 Evo along with a 1700 @ 3.9ghz, a RTX 2080ti in a x370 gaming pro carbon mobo.

I've been reading here and there and apparently it was recommended to not use the m.2 heatshield that comes with this mobo, so I removed it. Turns out it barely does anything to the max temperatures.

I have tuned the graphics card fans to always blow a bit of air so the ssd takes some cooling on it but my gf has exactly the same m.2 ssd with slightly different specs but on a ASUS mobo, while running the SSD at around 50C.

Clearly something is really bad with this mobo regarding the placement of the M.2 drive, or am I missing something?

Last edited by feios; 01-05-2019 at 07:59 AM. Reason: Wrong SSD name
feios is offline  
post #616 of 635 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 09:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,287
Rep: 458 (Unique: 259)
The only way I could see those values being correct is if you have almost no airflow into your case. The monster video card you have would make an easy bake oven out of your case.

Post a screenshot of all the pages of hwinfo temps.

FX8370E 5839mhz MSI 990FXA GD80 - custom water http://valid.x86.fr/3jk1vz
FX - 9370 @ 5740mhz MSI 990FXA GD-80 with an H-100 proof.gifhttp://valid.canardpc.com/s04jcj
I like MSI motherboards and this is why smile.gif
8350 @ 5.2 ghz on a stock cooler proof.gif PM me! smile.gif
cssorkinman is offline  
post #617 of 635 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 09:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Darkomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 48
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I read that MSI added offset voltage on the latest BIOS, is it true? MSI would be my next choice if true.
Darkomax is offline  
post #618 of 635 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 10:10 AM
.
 
Mansquatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 17
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Darkomax View Post
I read that MSI added offset voltage on the latest BIOS, is it true? MSI would be my next choice if true.

From what I've read, there's 3 options: Auto, Override & Offset Mode.



Haven't tried the latest update yet (7A32AMS.1K0). Still on H.

J gave me too many issues. After my last experience with J, I'm hesitant about updating the BIOS at all.

Last edited by Mansquatch; 01-05-2019 at 10:13 AM.
Mansquatch is offline  
post #619 of 635 (permalink) Old 01-10-2019, 12:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
I updated to K and i got much better memory frequency from the previous J BIOS. I couldn't get my 3333mhz at cl16 rated memory to go any higher than 3066mhz on the J bios without having memory errors. Now i'm at 3266mhz at cl16 (rated timings) for almost a week without a single crash.
On the other hand, overclocking the r7 1700 has been a hassle, i can get it to 3.8ghz at 1.32V stable, and 3.9 at 1.45V to get it stable. I have a good cooling solution but i feel i'm already stressing the VRMs at 60 degrees (wouldn't let the cpu go higher than 70 degree at load). i feel i probably wasn't lucky at the silicon lottery or is it the same with everyone else?
Also now that AMD confirmed that Zen 3 processors are supported on our boards, should i wait for the new cpus or go for the 2700x? (my question is mostly related to the benefits of upgrading also the motherboard if it would have any performance repercussions).
Cheers
mosso is offline  
post #620 of 635 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 05:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vrbaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 103
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Darkomax View Post
I read that MSI added offset voltage on the latest BIOS, is it true? MSI would be my next choice if true.
Yes, they added offset voltage!

Vrbaa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off