Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion - Page 346 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3451 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-04-2019, 01:35 AM
Disheartened Ryzen User
 
Neokolzia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,755
Rep: 52 (Unique: 42)
Any thoughts/concerns for current leaked specs for Ryzen 3000 being well supported for overclocking, memory speeds/compatibilities on this board when it drops?

I don't know alot about the VRM besides remembering that the K7 was a bit lacking compared to a few of the other early offerings phase wise, My current plan is to hopefully upgrade to whatever 12 core is released, I'll upgrade motherboard if needed but Ideally if I don't have to it would be nice.

For few reasons since am hardlined and unless gigabyte X570's have identical CPU socket positions (x470 did from what I could tell) switching to a different manufacturer would be a big hassle of rebending tubing or making new tubing, all the same would love to stress out my cooling solution a bit more since overclocking headroom on the 1800x was poor settling in at a measily 3.975GHz for stability (4.0 would crash on Video encoding loads even at 1.5vcore)

Neokolzia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3452 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-04-2019, 10:43 PM
PC Enthusiast
 
VeritronX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
Posts: 899
Rep: 28 (Unique: 28)
This board has good quality VRMs, just not a very good heatsink. You can get a monoblock for it, EK sells them and they are currently half price. I'm not worried about bios support for the new chips, gigabyte has been pretty good with updating so far.



EK-FB GA AX370 Gaming RGB Monoblock - Nickel

VeritronX is offline  
post #3453 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-04-2019, 11:51 PM
Disheartened Ryzen User
 
Neokolzia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,755
Rep: 52 (Unique: 42)
Quote: Originally Posted by VeritronX View Post
This board has good quality VRMs, just not a very good heatsink. You can get a monoblock for it, EK sells them and they are currently half price. I'm not worried about bios support for the new chips, gigabyte has been pretty good with updating so far.



EK-FB GA AX370 Gaming RGB Monoblock - Nickel

Ya I know they have monoblocks for the X370 price wise I'd certainly be interested but unless there is a good reason to switch to a monoblock (which Would require rebending 100%) I probably wouldn't do it.

As well that I don't know the compatibility going forward for monoblock on X470 or X570 boards if I stick to gigabyte if I have to change motherboards.
Where as sticking to a normal block really is fine and has full AM4 compatibility usually watercooling the VRM's is just overkill

Neokolzia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3454 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 01:22 AM
PC Enthusiast
 
VeritronX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
Posts: 899
Rep: 28 (Unique: 28)
Quote: Originally Posted by Neokolzia View Post
Ya I know they have monoblocks for the X370 price wise I'd certainly be interested but unless there is a good reason to switch to a monoblock (which Would require rebending 100%) I probably wouldn't do it.. Where as sticking to a normal block really is fine and has full AM4 compatibility usually watercooling the VRM's is just overkill
I can get my VRM's to 100C+ with my R7 1700 at 4Ghz 1.38v because I'm using the EK supremacy evo AM4 block and there's not much airflow near them.. If I got a 2700X and overclocked it this much the board would likely run into thermal shutdown. I'm holding off on fitting the monoblock until I get one of the new 7nm cpus, but I have one sitting here ready. The monoblock is half price because it's basically on clearance, eventually they won't be available anymore.

VeritronX is offline  
post #3455 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 01:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,161
Rep: 54 (Unique: 43)
Quote: Originally Posted by VeritronX View Post
I can get my VRM's to 100C+ with my R7 1700 at 4Ghz 1.38v because I'm using the EK supremacy evo AM4 block and there's not much airflow near them.. If I got a 2700X and overclocked it this much the board would likely run into thermal shutdown. I'm holding off on fitting the monoblock until I get one of the new 7nm cpus, but I have one sitting here ready. The monoblock is half price because it's basically on clearance, eventually they won't be available anymore.
When will the new 7nm CPUs be released?

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is offline  
post #3456 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 04:19 AM
PC Enthusiast
 
VeritronX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
Posts: 899
Rep: 28 (Unique: 28)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
When will the new 7nm CPUs be released?
We don't know when they will be available, AMD has a keynote at CES in ~4 days time and they might be announced then.

VeritronX is offline  
post #3457 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-15-2019, 02:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Melcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Merida
Posts: 8,242
Rep: 635 (Unique: 437)
So I noticed the F24 BIOS has been removed from their site.

Magicbox
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
GA-AX370-Gaming K7
GPU
RX 480 Nitro+
RAM
Corsair Vengeance
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Hard Drive
HyperX 3K
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
EVGA G2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Cooling
Morpheus II
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Kubuntu 18.04
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2515H
Keyboard
CM Storm QuickFire TK
Mouse
G502
Mousepad
G440
Audio
Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
Melcar is online now  
post #3458 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-16-2019, 12:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
inserf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 43
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Would be nice if Gigabyte said why they pulled the newest BIOS, (also from the x470 boards) and for that matter less vague change-logs would be nice going forward (although i guess they have no responsibility to do so)

Seen some users post about: boot issue, sleep issues, high vcore, dram voltage at 1.2v, fan settings, and something to do with VR (Hive?)

Ive experience high vcore, or as i see it, board sets the vcore to 1.425 on auto or normal, so if you use DVID you end up with a ton of voltage, and if the RAM is set to XMP or above optimized defaults speed, unable to wake from sleep and then fails to boot.

F23 not that different, dont think i got the boot issue though, and the high vcore has been present since F21.

Right now i dont have much faith in Gigabyte on delivering a issue free BIOS for Ryzen 2....

Gigabyte AX370 Gaming K7 | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 (3.87GHz) | Noctua NH-D14 | G. Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3308/CL14 | EVGA GTX 1080Ti Hybrid | Dell 3008WFP | Samsung Evo 960 M.2 250GB, Samsung PM971b 1TB, 2 x Toshiba 2TB | Asus Xonor DX | SilverStone FT-02 | Corsair RM 650x
inserf1 is offline  
post #3459 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-16-2019, 01:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Melcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Merida
Posts: 8,242
Rep: 635 (Unique: 437)
Board behaves fine for me on F22. Been plagued with issues with F23 and had problems on earlier revisions, so I'm not that thrilled to update.

Magicbox
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
GA-AX370-Gaming K7
GPU
RX 480 Nitro+
RAM
Corsair Vengeance
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Hard Drive
HyperX 3K
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
EVGA G2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Cooling
Morpheus II
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Kubuntu 18.04
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2515H
Keyboard
CM Storm QuickFire TK
Mouse
G502
Mousepad
G440
Audio
Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
Melcar is online now  
post #3460 of 3480 (permalink) Old 01-16-2019, 04:49 PM
PC Enthusiast
 
VeritronX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
Posts: 899
Rep: 28 (Unique: 28)
I've been good on F23, F24 wouldn't restart properly for me (had the same problem with F22). I'd run F7b with my 1700 if I could find a copy of it, the file link on the gigabyte forums doesn't work anymore.

VeritronX is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off