Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion - Page 347 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3461 of 3605 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 06:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
inserf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 49
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by VeritronX View Post
I've been good on F23, F24 wouldn't restart properly for me (had the same problem with F22). I'd run F7b with my 1700 if I could find a copy of it, the file link on the gigabyte forums doesn't work anymore.
Ive got the 7a saved away if interested?

F25 has been released.... so far (all 30 mins) just the high vcore (UPDATE - only on auto/stock, normal with offset seems to be working again)... and one successful wake from sleep.

Gigabyte AX370 Gaming K7 | AMD Ryzen 7 2700 (4.1GHz) | Noctua NH-D14 | G. Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3266/CL14 | EVGA GTX 1080Ti Hybrid | Dell 3008WFP | Samsung Evo 960 M.2 250GB, Samsung PM971b 1TB, 2 x Toshiba 2TB | Asus Xonor DX | SilverStone FT-02 | Corsair RM 650x

Last edited by inserf1; 01-20-2019 at 04:31 AM.
inserf1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3462 of 3605 (permalink) Old 01-19-2019, 10:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by VeritronX View Post
I've been good on F23, F24 wouldn't restart properly for me (had the same problem with F22). I'd run F7b with my 1700 if I could find a copy of it, the file link on the gigabyte forums doesn't work anymore.
All the files ever posted to Gigabyte BIOS support pages (so, including F7a, but not F7b) are still directly accessible here, just scroll down to find the "mb_bios_ga-ax370-gaming-k7_" section:

http://download.gigabyte.cn/FileList/BIOS/

I'm using Ket's modified F7a with my 1800X and it works wonderfully!

I've also been compulsively saving copies of everything that's been released, along with dates and whatever meager "change log" info was posted along with each.

Zenlightenment
(19 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX Vega 56
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4-3200 (4x 8GB)
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 500GB m.2 NVMe
Hard Drive
SanDisk Extreme II 240GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Re 4TB HDD
Optical Drive
LiteOn DVD-R (iHAS524-B)
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling 750W
Cooling
Fluid Gaming A240 open loop liquid cooling kit
Cooling
Fluid Gaming EK-FG 120 expansion kit
Cooling
Fluid Gaming EK-AC Radeon Vega full-cover waterblock
Case
Corsair Crystal 460X RGB Mid-ATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Nixeus NX-EDG27 27" 2560x1440 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech Y-UY95
Mouse
Razer Abyssus V2
Audio
Onkyo HT-R410 receiver
Audio
Polk Audio Monitor 40 Series II speakers
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by spurdy; 01-19-2019 at 10:18 PM.
spurdy is offline  
post #3463 of 3605 (permalink) Old 01-19-2019, 10:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
I tried all F23 -> F24 -> F25 on my Gaming 3 and I gotta say I like Agesa 1.0.0.6

Does wonders for memory settings and stability. You can basically now test all settings and boot to see what they do now. Before many settings refused to boot outright now they do and even if the are unstable you can see what they affect and I've improved stability with the new working combinations that didn't work on older Agesa at all!

I can use a another RTT value setup from the only one really working earlier [RZQ/7, RZQ/3, RZQ/1] ---> a better one [RZQ/7, disabled, RZQ/5]
I can even boot with 3866Mhz memory! (though not enough SoC voltage or CPU sample to not freeze if I test anything in windows)

I've also slightly improved my 3733Mhz mem config on the sub timings as stability improved. Now trying to stabilize 3800Mhz.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3464 of 3605 (permalink) Old 01-20-2019, 04:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
inserf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 49
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Seems a keeper, sleep works again (short and over-night) and the high voltage on the vcore is only at stock with vcore on AUTO, normal and offset seems to works.

So far loaded previous OC and ran memtest for a few hours, was ok, next a fiddle, been on F20 or F21 since Feb (although both were pretty good to me) maybe some improvement possible.

Gigabyte AX370 Gaming K7 | AMD Ryzen 7 2700 (4.1GHz) | Noctua NH-D14 | G. Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3266/CL14 | EVGA GTX 1080Ti Hybrid | Dell 3008WFP | Samsung Evo 960 M.2 250GB, Samsung PM971b 1TB, 2 x Toshiba 2TB | Asus Xonor DX | SilverStone FT-02 | Corsair RM 650x
inserf1 is offline  
post #3465 of 3605 (permalink) Old 01-29-2019, 04:06 PM
either freeze or burn
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,538
Rep: 459 (Unique: 230)
Hello guys. Been out for a while and I'd like to know where things are in terms of the memory overclocking on the K7.

BIOS?
MEM OC?
CPU OC?

Still on 1800X btw.

I am not keen on staying on hiatus!

D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
post #3466 of 3605 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 03:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
inserf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 49
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hello

For me on a 1700, not much has changed, i switched to the K7 from a Prime kinda early on (around when the F6 was released) and 3200 worked straight out of the box, general impression then was Gigabyte were ahead on the RAM side compared to the others, but lacked options.

Now the other boards have improved/matched or surpassed now on the RAM, and we still lack the extra options (whether they are needed is up for debate) but generally it feel its been left behind.

F20 gave some extra dividers, was able to creep up 3308 (ie 101 x 32.66) but the main bit, its at least stable! (depending on BIOS, and touch wood)

F6, F7a, F10 was fine, F20, F21 and F25 have been good.
F22, F23 and F24 have been terrible (again for me)

Gigabyte AX370 Gaming K7 | AMD Ryzen 7 2700 (4.1GHz) | Noctua NH-D14 | G. Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3266/CL14 | EVGA GTX 1080Ti Hybrid | Dell 3008WFP | Samsung Evo 960 M.2 250GB, Samsung PM971b 1TB, 2 x Toshiba 2TB | Asus Xonor DX | SilverStone FT-02 | Corsair RM 650x
inserf1 is offline  
post #3467 of 3605 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 04:03 PM
either freeze or burn
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,538
Rep: 459 (Unique: 230)
Ohh..

The last time I was on the K7, there were already options available on the RAM Multis as well as the Timings. Not that they were complete, but those minor stuff that you can get off Asus are not really something that makes a lot of difference anyways..

And btw, I was already able to reach 3466 the last time.

D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
post #3468 of 3605 (permalink) Old 02-01-2019, 12:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
herericc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 130
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I recently got my 1700 running on my (temporarily) retired GA-AX370-K7.

It's running whatever BIOS it had on it when I retired it on fully stock settings.

Which BIOS is recommended for use with 2x16GB sticks of Hynix Memory + the 1700?

I know the 1700 is capable of running at 3.9GHz from my testing before I changed motherboards/CPUs, so I'm specifically interested in setting up P-States so I can still downclock my CPU and enjoy the massive power savings available on the 1700.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

My Main PC
(12 items)
HTPC
(9 items)
CPU
3900x
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING
RAM
Team Dark Pro 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3200 C14
Power Supply
Corsair TX 850M
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Corsair Air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Pro
Monitor
Asus MG279Q
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mousepad
Gamdias MASSIVE mat
Audio
Corsair Void Wireless Pro
CPU
R7 1700
Motherboard
GA-AX370-K7
GPU
ASUS RX R570X 4GB
RAM
F4-2400C15D-32GVR
Hard Drive
256GB M2 SSD
Hard Drive
960GB SATA SSD
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
Fractal Arc XL
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
herericc is offline  
post #3469 of 3605 (permalink) Old 02-01-2019, 11:02 PM
PC Enthusiast
 
VeritronX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
Posts: 993
Rep: 30 (Unique: 30)
pstates was the reason I was looking for F7b, that was the last one that worked on before it was removed because it was buggy in newer agesa iirc.

Interestingly if I go back to the launch F2 bios my 1700 downclocks and downvolts at idle when overclocked and setting the timings gets me 3200 14 14 14 34 stable with no hassles.

VeritronX is offline  
post #3470 of 3605 (permalink) Old 02-02-2019, 07:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
There never was any issues on any BIOS regarding P-state on the cheaper Gaming 3 board for myself. (just remember to check that lower states/power are enabled in windows power saving features, though you do lose some performance not running full speed at all times.)

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off