Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion - Page 350 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3491 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 06:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ramad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 892
Rep: 113 (Unique: 62)
Quote: Originally Posted by Seelbreaker View Post
Yesterday i updated my secondary BIOS to F31 because i was bored and i wanted to look if something beneficial for me has changed since i stayed on F23 for a really long time (my secondary BIOS was on F4d).

Spoiler!




Did they killed PCI ACS support or do i have to enable it somewhere?

With BIOS F23 it works without reconfiguring anything on the VM/ESXi/BIOS

(SVM Mode is set to enabled and IOMMU is set to Enabled aswell on both BIOS-Versions).
PCI ACS is a setting that is under AMD CBS/NBIO which GIGABYTE may have disabled for no logical reason. GIGABYTE's habit of hiding AMD CBS settings on their highend motherboards is pathetic. I hope they read this and understand that this is bad on their part and is forcing users to choose other motherboards brands to get the best of a hardware that is paid for.

Full AMD CBS is present on the TaiChi and the ASUS Crosshair, but GIGABYTE's BIOS needs to be softmoded in order to unlock the full CBS menu. Hey GIGABYTE, this is stupid.
Ramad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3492 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 01:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Seelbreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Seelbreaker

Quote: Originally Posted by Ramad View Post
PCI ACS is a setting that is under AMD CBS/NBIO which GIGABYTE may have disabled for no logical reason. GIGABYTE's habit of hiding AMD CBS settings on their highend motherboards is pathetic. I hope they read this and understand that this is bad on their part and is forcing users to choose other motherboards brands to get the best of a hardware that is paid for.

Full AMD CBS is present on the TaiChi and the ASUS Crosshair, but GIGABYTE's BIOS needs to be softmoded in order to unlock the full CBS menu. Hey GIGABYTE, this is stupid.
Thank you for this answer! Then i gonna take a look in that Options after i get home to see if it is disabled on F31 or not and gonna give you an update on that (aswell as on the Gigabyte Forums).
As for the AMD CPU fTPM Function i also gonna take a look at that, never touched it.

Yeah - not gonna get another Gigabyte Mainboard again. Just wanted to give them a try but the next plattform is gonna be on AsRock again. Don't wanna be a 2 year beta-tester again.


Soooo - No PCI ACS Option in CBS/NBIO.

The F23 BIOS only has "Mode 0" which the F31 BIOS doesn't have but thats it...

Maybe i should take a look if someone could make a modded F31 BIOS where everything is enabled... if i throw in enough for some coffee or beer It's not like i need it... but something is itching

Last edited by Seelbreaker; 05-17-2019 at 07:06 AM.
Seelbreaker is offline  
post #3493 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 10:05 PM
PC Enthusiast
 
VeritronX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
Posts: 1,037
Rep: 30 (Unique: 30)
Just tried the F31 Bios, Pstate overclocking is working on this with my 1700, I get 4Ghz 1.38v at load and 1.55Ghz 0.89v at idle.

For anyone trying this (just in case it doesn't just work for you), what I did today was:

Spoiler!


Since then I've gone back in and manually set the soc voltage to 0.925v and the ram to 1.34v, and I've also set pstate1 to 3.7Ghz 1.18v which means if I set the max cpu frequency in windows to 99% I get 3.7Ghz max instead of 4ghz and can change overclocks by just changing the windows power profile.

Edit: Changing the CPU Downcore control to 4+0 mode stopped the voltage from dropping at idle, but changing it back to Auto restored the idling voltage to normal again.


Last edited by VeritronX; 05-21-2019 at 11:31 PM.
VeritronX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3494 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 07:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 421
Rep: 14 (Unique: 11)
I'll be dropping a 3800x in as soon as i can. It really depends on how much more expensive X570 boards are. GN said the Gigabyte X570 master is $350. That's a pretty penny.

THUMPer1 is offline  
post #3495 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 08:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Melcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Merida
Posts: 8,311
Rep: 636 (Unique: 438)
Will GB support the new CPUs with this board? I hope so, but one never knows. The X570 boards do look like they have much beefier power delivery, so if anything overclocking will be limited.

Magicbox
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
GA-AX370-Gaming K7
GPU
RX 480 Nitro+
RAM
Corsair Vengeance
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Hard Drive
HyperX 3K
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
EVGA G2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Cooling
Morpheus II
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Kubuntu 18.04
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2515H
Keyboard
CM Storm QuickFire TK
Mouse
G502
Mousepad
G440
Audio
Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
Melcar is offline  
post #3496 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 08:47 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,209
Rep: 911 (Unique: 592)
If they enable Ryzen 3rd gen on the K7 I'd be surprised if they had the power limit over 200W or so.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #3497 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 09:41 PM
PC Enthusiast
 
VeritronX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
Posts: 1,037
Rep: 30 (Unique: 30)
I have a monoblock for mine so hopefully they don't artificially limit it. The vrm components aren't bad on this board it just needed actual heatsinks =/

VeritronX is offline  
post #3498 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-30-2019, 10:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 315
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
So, in a well ventilated case, it handles 150-160w like a breeze or.....not that easy!?

How is it for RAM OC? I know the CPU gen has the last word on that, but how does it compare to the rest of the market regarding RAM.
Shenhua is offline  
post #3499 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-30-2019, 10:39 AM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,209
Rep: 911 (Unique: 592)
Quote: Originally Posted by VeritronX View Post
I have a monoblock for mine so hopefully they don't artificially limit it. The vrm components aren't bad on this board it just needed actual heatsinks =/

Even on paper you're capped at 40A x 6 powerstages at 1.2V = 288W, realistically to remain in 90% powerstage efficiency you want 25A each or less which is ~180W. If you buy a 16 core or 12 core you're going to be limited , as if it's like Ryzen+ the cores can use up to 22W each when overclocked not including IO die. It's decent for any 8 core though runs hot due to heatsink size/area and lack of a heatpipe. I don't think they anticipated a 12 core when the X370 boards were made, even the top end X370 boards from Asus/Asrock/MSI have this same issue.


See datasheet https://www.infineon.com/dgdl/ir3553...5355cd94ee1767


Quote: Originally Posted by Shenhua View Post
So, in a well ventilated case, it handles 150-160w like a breeze or.....not that easy!?

How is it for RAM OC? I know the CPU gen has the last word on that, but how does it compare to the rest of the market regarding RAM.
150W-160W it'll start to get hot but nothing worrying, at 180W (per hwinfo64 package power) or so it's easily 85°C as been tested by myself and hwcooling
https://www.hwcooling.net/en/which-x...e-gaming-5-en/

^ in their review 85°C with 209W at wall (Seasonic Titanium PSU) suggests around 180W CPU power , their stock CPU consumed 163W

https://www.hwcooling.net/en/test-of...ly-minus-pads/
^ board is X370 Gaming 5 which is same PCB as K7 , they tested the change of thermal pad which suggests it's mainly a heatsink issue.

It's mediocre for RAM OC, you'll be able to do 3400C16 /3533C16/ 3200C14 though. It's due to the t-topology that was present on X370, which is better for 4 sticks (but Ryzen doesn't like 4 sticks). On X570 AMD is pushing for daisy chain on all boards which is better for 2 sticks.


edit: found my old screenshots

170W CPU power, 185W CPU+SOC running Prime95 with 1300RPM TY-147 fan speed
https://www.overclock.net/forum/26187058-post496.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5a43e6f1_8hrprime95.PNG
Views:	25
Size:	93.1 KB
ID:	272220  


► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list



Last edited by AlphaC; 05-30-2019 at 10:59 AM.
AlphaC is offline  
post #3500 of 3617 (permalink) Old 05-30-2019, 11:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Melcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Merida
Posts: 8,311
Rep: 636 (Unique: 438)
Yeah. Most likely X370 boards will be limited to 8 core. Even then only the top end ones.

Magicbox
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
GA-AX370-Gaming K7
GPU
RX 480 Nitro+
RAM
Corsair Vengeance
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Hard Drive
HyperX 3K
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
EVGA G2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Cooling
Morpheus II
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Kubuntu 18.04
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2515H
Keyboard
CM Storm QuickFire TK
Mouse
G502
Mousepad
G440
Audio
Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
Melcar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off