Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion - Page 361 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion

post #3601 of 3605 (permalink) Old 09-28-2019, 06:09 PM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
Cold Boot Issue & RAM Questions

Greetings. So, I am relatively new to overclocking, and I have a few questions regarding RAM, and specifically pertaining to this motherboard. I bought two 8GBx2 DDR4 RAM kits from G.Skill (RAM is quite expensive these days, so I waited for sale discounts which is how I ended up with the two slightly different ones); one of the kits has Part Number F4-3200C14-8GTZR, and the other F4-3200C14-8GTZRX , with the "X" version only serving to designate that it is meant specifically for Ryzen CPUs as far as I can tell; however, other than that, the kits appear to be identical (see attached images below):
Click image for larger version

Name:	snap923201960342PM.png
Views:	7
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	298180Click image for larger version

Name:	snap923201960316PM.png
Views:	6
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	298182

Neither kit is on the Qualified Vendor List for this board (however, I realize these are not exhaustive lists), so my questions are as follows:

1) Does the "X" make any difference aside from a marketing perspective of indicating explicitly its compatibility with the Ryzen CPU; i.e., it should not pose an issue to pair the two kits with one another because they are essentially the same exact RAM, correct?

2) Is anyone using this RAM (Ryzen- specific "X" version or otherwise) with their Gigabyte K7 and able to run them at their specified speed rating (or higher; although my goal is simply to have them operate at their specified frequency) without issue? If so, please be so kind as to share your bios configuration and/or tips for getting it to work.