** Official Gigabyte A320, B350, X370 Owners club ** - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

** Official Gigabyte A320, B350, X370 Owners club **

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-26-2017, 01:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wolfeshaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 415
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotbrass View Post

Where did you get the F5 bios update. I only see F2 on the Gigabyte web site? Thanks!

I've since returned the board to the store it was bought from. I wasn't a fan of some of the VRM chips not having a cooler on the.

When I looked I managed to snag it directly from the Gigabyte website. There wasn't much added from the F4 bios either.

Containment Failure (Click to show)
“Everything burns if the flame is hot enough. The world is nothing but a crucible.”
Wolfeshaman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-28-2017, 01:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
quicknick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by molang2 View Post

Hi everyone, first post here. This is my first AMD build, and I am experiencing some issues.

My specs are as follows:
  • Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3 with F5 BIOs
  • RYZEN 1700 stock cooler + stock clock
  • Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LED 3200 Mhz
  • AMD Firepro W7100 8gb GPU - Latest Firepro drivers.
  • 650W EVGA PSU

When I play my MMO, I crash randomly in places that have high graphics. The PC never crashes when I'm not playing games. Before crash the CPU temperature is 40-45C, and GPU is at 70C.
When a crash happens, my screen turns black and I hear a loud buzzing sound until I force the PC to power down.
I am scratching my head what the issue is. Could it be the workstation GPU not able to handle games even with latest drivers? It should be able to as this MMO is 8+ years old.
I have reset BIOs, no overclock, and even had no issue with my MemTest86 results.
Anyone can assist me or give me some idea what could be the issue?

Hello. It happened to me twice when playing GTA V.
My specs:
  • Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3 with F6d bios
  • RYZEN 1700x, stock clock, Noctua NH-D15
  • 2*8GB HyperX Predator 3200 (working at 2400, try any higher settings and all hell breaks loose)
  • Sapphire RX480 8GB, Nitro OC
  • 650W SuperFlower Leadex Gold PSU

I built this box on March 17/18th and only had time to test it in 2 games, DotA2 and GTA V. No problems in DotA, but GTA gives me the same crash/freeze as your MMO.
If I lower a bit the graphics settings it seems to work for a longer time, but still crashes in the end.
I don't think this is normal at all, please keep me updated if you figure out what is causing it. I'll do the same.
Cheers.
quicknick is offline  
post #23 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-29-2017, 02:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 492
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
SteelBox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-29-2017, 04:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
quicknick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
F6d was released the day I got the motherboard (March 17th), however they pulled it out a few days later. I don't know what is so dangerous about it, but in my case, what is bad with F6d gets much worse with F5. Not the lockups, but memory compatibility, getting stuck in endless reboots at power on... With RAM that is on the QVL listed as working at 3200...
quicknick is offline  
post #25 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-29-2017, 05:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 492
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
So you have freezes with F5 bios. Than is best to wait for new bios release. On newegg user reviews nobody has freezing problem.

F6d bios increases temperatures.

SteelBox is offline  
post #26 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-29-2017, 08:10 AM
GPU Enthusiast
 
rv8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,476
Rep: 196 (Unique: 144)
If anyone with the K7/K5/G5 would be kind enough to test, can you enter into the bios and hover over the right side monitoring info panel and check if mouse movement is making your bclk jump up and down?

I took a video of the behavior. It happens with my mouse in the DAC-up USB and regular USB on the latest beta bios (also happened in the F3 official bios).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYnJDbnLJwo&feature=youtu.be

I'm pretty sure me taking this video is what corrupted my SSD a week back. Trying to figure out if it's unique to a board line, or just my board specifically. Thanks.

Steins Gate
(16 items)
CPU
3700X
Motherboard
ASUS CH8 WiFi
GPU
EVGA 2080S FTW3
RAM
2x8GB DDR4 3200 c14 @ 3800 C16 1T
Hard Drive
960 Evo
Hard Drive
850 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA 750w G2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360
Case
Fractal Design S2
Monitor
Acer ed323qur
Keyboard
CM MK730
Mouse
G703
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Polk tsi 100
Audio
HD518
Audio
Denon PMA-60
▲ hide details ▲
rv8000 is offline  
post #27 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-29-2017, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zvonexp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rijeka
Posts: 155
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
i will try tomorrow

zvonexp is offline  
post #28 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-29-2017, 03:32 PM
GPU Enthusiast
 
rv8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,476
Rep: 196 (Unique: 144)
Has anyone messed around with offset overclocking yet? I figured this would be somewhat similar in comparison to z170/z270 so that vcore and the multi would drop at idle, but setting vcore to normal then using an offset doesn't seem to drop the multi or volts currently. I also set vSOC to normal with a +0 offset at the same time, no dice. All power saving features are still enabled in the bios, Gaming 5, F5d beta bios.

Steins Gate
(16 items)
CPU
3700X
Motherboard
ASUS CH8 WiFi
GPU
EVGA 2080S FTW3
RAM
2x8GB DDR4 3200 c14 @ 3800 C16 1T
Hard Drive
960 Evo
Hard Drive
850 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA 750w G2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360
Case
Fractal Design S2
Monitor
Acer ed323qur
Keyboard
CM MK730
Mouse
G703
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Polk tsi 100
Audio
HD518
Audio
Denon PMA-60
▲ hide details ▲
rv8000 is offline  
post #29 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-29-2017, 03:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
muffins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CA, US
Posts: 205
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
so i ended up exchanging my gaming 5 and 1800x for news ones, bought a new evga g3 750 to replace my current, and bought a completely different, new ram kit. gskill 2x8 16gb 3200mhz xas 14 flare x. i also bought a new case because hey, why not. a corsair air 740. haven't tried the ram at 3200mhz yet, but it seems like gskill is utilizing newer samsung chips that come stock with a higher jedec standard. i noticed its jedec standard is 2400 instead of the usual 2133mhz.

i wonder when gigabyte will be releasing a new bios update. f5d has been out for awhile now in all things considered with how fast they were shooting out updates. i wonder if they got delayed from amd releasing a new microcode update for the fma3 fix and more ram compatibility.

edit:
here is my aida64 cache & memory benchmark:

xmp profile worked out of the box and manual setting as well. though i did run into a hicup when i went to DISABLE xmp profile. i had disabled xmp profile to set everything back to default / auto / jedec standard and when i saved and exited the motherboard went into a reboot loop. i had to turn off the power supply to get it to stop. initially i was going to reset cmos but decided to see if it would boot after draining the power, and it did! but after that i still went ahead and cleared cmos for good measure. so i'm not sure if disabling xmp profile caused it or not, but i'm still going to give a warning about it.

oh and i'm also on f5d.

this is my exact gskill flare x kit: kit - F4-3200C14D-16GFX - https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c14d-16gfx

edit:
here is a pic of aida64 at its default jedec standard:


huge improvement going to 3200. not just bandwidth but latency too.
muffins is offline  
post #30 of 329 (permalink) Old 03-29-2017, 08:21 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,177
Rep: 904 (Unique: 590)
New QVL for Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3.


QVL for just released Gaming K5

http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Memory/mb_memory_ga-ax370-gaming-k5.pdf

edit: also bit-tech reviewed the B350 Gaming 3
https://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2017/03/29/gigabyte-ab350-gaming-3-review/
http://www.modders-inc.com/gigabyte-ab350-gaming-3-motherboard-review-fun-flexibility/
https://uk.hardware.info/product/386364/gigabyte-ab350-gaming-3/testresults (https://nl.hardware.info/reviews/7246/8/amd-ryzen-platform-review-de-eerste-am4-moederborden-voor-zen-gigabyte-ab350-gaming-3)

Gaming 5 reviews
bittech https://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2017/03/22/gigabyte-aorus-ax370-gaming-5-review/1
vortez https://www.vortez.net/articles_pages/gigabyte_aorus_ga_ax370_gaming_5_review,1.html
tweaktown http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/8105/gigabyte-ax370-gaming-5-amd-x370-motherboard-review/index.html
guru3d http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/gigabyte-aorus-ax370-gaming-5-review,1.html
play3r http://play3r.net/reviews/motherboards/aorus-ax370-gaming-5-am4-ryzen-preview/
kitguru http://www.kitguru.net/components/motherboard/luke-hill/gigabyte-aorus-ax370-gaming-5-motherboard-review/
https://uk.hardware.info/product/386365/gigabyte-ax370-aorus-gaming-5/testresults (https://nl.hardware.info/reviews/7246/9/amd-ryzen-platform-review-de-eerste-am4-moederborden-voor-zen-gigabyte-aorus-ax370-gaming-5)

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off