My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 09:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
hang10z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 26
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoppyGamer View Post

Highly recommended to flash within the BIOS. Already saw someone complain that it bricked their PRIME X370 PRO when using the ASUS EZ update tool.

I second this, its really critical..
hang10z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 10:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Malogeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 63
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Applied BIOS 0511 without issue in BIOS EZFlash and restored to previous settings for DDR, all seems to be fine.
  • My OCZ RD400 NVMe was failing to detect on 100% of reboots, required cold boot before. On BIOS 0511 it is so far detecting on 100% of restart. Great!
  • My F4-3200C16D-16GTZB has no change. Posting at 16-18-18-35 1.35v @ 2933 fine still. Failed to post at 3200. Happy for now.
  • Seems to post and respond faster, more reliably. Merely perception though.
Malogeek is offline  
post #23 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 11:17 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
garretsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 91
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Sorry to highjack this thread but I need some help determining whether or not to return my Prime-x370-pro

So I started having this issue after overclocking my CPU. The system would randomly turn off during idle. Never during prime95 or gaming. *click* and the whole system is off. At first I thought it was the PSU, so I swapped it out. No dice this PSU was having the exact same problem. I started getting ready for a refund on newegg for the MB and CPU. Then I decided to try one last thing. Turn LLC off. It worked!Kind of
Bios 0504
LLC level 3: upon booting windows instant shutdown
LLC level 2: shutdown usually within 5 minutes on idle desktop
LLC Auto: No shutdown
bios 0502 LLC 3: random shutdown after 8 hours idling
Bios 0502 LLC Auto: to be seen
None of these shutdowns happen while gaming/prime95 for hours and temps are not a problem.

Can anyone test this? PLS smile.gif
r7 1700 Bios 0504
3.7 ghz, 1.3v, LLC level 3. Just sit on the windows desktop for an hour and see if the system turns off.

garretsw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 11:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Malogeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 63
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by garretsw View Post

Can anyone test this? PLS smile.gif
r7 1700 Bios 0504
3.7 ghz, 1.3v, LLC level 3. Just sit on the windows desktop for an hour and see if the system turns off.

I could test this but do you want to try BIOS 0511 first?
Malogeek is offline  
post #25 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 11:30 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
garretsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 91
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I will flash bios 0511 in a couple hours. I reverted to bios 0502 and am currently testing with LLC set to auto. It has been fine for 11 hours now and I want to get to the 12 hour mark.

I would be extremely grateful if you were willing to test with those settings. smile.gif

I am trying to determine if this is a hardware issue or just a bug in the bios. That is not proving to be easy.

I already opened a refund on Newegg and need to decide whether to cancel it or not. BTW do you know if you can cancel a RMA on Newegg and then open it back up on the 30 day mark. I want to do some more troubleshooting before sending the core of my system back frown.gif

garretsw is offline  
post #26 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 11:32 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
garretsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 91
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malogeek View Post

I could test this but do you want to try BIOS 0511 first?

I will flash bios 0511 in a couple hours. I reverted to bios 0502 and am currently testing with LLC set to auto. It has been fine for 11 hours now and I want to get to the 12 hour mark.

I would be extremely grateful if you were willing to test with those settings. smile.gif

I am trying to determine if this is a hardware issue or just a bug in the bios. That is not proving to be easy.

I already opened a refund on Newegg and need to decide whether to cancel it or not. BTW do you know if you can cancel a RMA on Newegg and then open it back up on the 30 day mark. I want to do some more troubleshooting before sending the core of my system back frown.gif

EDIT: Sorry for the double post. I can't figure out how to delete my previous post. I'm new to this sites format

garretsw is offline  
post #27 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 12:53 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
FinnishOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Flashed to 0511 last night:
  • There is still an issue with the temp offset for 1700X (and supposedly for 1800X as well).
  • My RAM won't go any higher than 2666mhz still, some people reported getting their RAM speed up with this BIOS but it appears not to be the case for me at least. Tried loosening timings and increasing SOC-voltage which reportedly helped some people here on reddit (link) but no luck for me.
  • There is now an option in the BIOS to disable SMT!
  • It seems this BIOS is not yet with the new famed AGESA Microcode.

So overall I didn't really gain anything from it, but some other people report better luck with their RAM. The temperature offset bug is a pretty big annoyance to me, but it won't affect you if you are on 1700.

FinnishOC is offline  
post #28 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 06:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
eyetrippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 77
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Don't think I would have known about this update if I hadn't come here.

I have been checking the page several times a day, every day - but using the windows 20 dropdown!

Things I am hoping for when I flash later:
Being able to run my 32Gb Corsair LPX 2800 higher than 2666
Being able to overclock, while maintaining ability for system to downclock at idle.

Thus far, I have had no issues with drives not being detected, even with all connections full - 1) 500gb 840 evo, 2) 1tb crucial m550, 1-7) various 2tb hdd, 8) BR drive
eyetrippy is offline  
post #29 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 12:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Madpacket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 98
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10e View Post

I'm pretty sure the temperature bug is a Ryzen 1700x/1800x issue, where they display +20 celsius (I can't remember, but I've read that a few times).

I have the same board with a 1700 and temperatures seem to be realistic. I'm only using the built-in Wraith Spire cooler and so far I've reached 3.8 stable on all cores for over an hour on Prime 95 at just over 1.3 volts.

My RAM, a Trident Z 32GB kit (ddr-3000) is clocking up to 2666mhz using DOCP 2666mhz at proper CAS 15. This is the model number of the kit I have:

F4-3000C15D-32GTZ

I haven't done any power tests to see how much it's pulling from the wall. I'm slowly messing with voltage to see what my lowest stable vCore is.

But so far so good. Updated to BIOS 0504 without issue, cleared CMOS, set optimized defaults with F5 in advanced BIOS, and good to go as of now!

I am temporarily using an old Seagate SSHD ST1000LM24 drive without issue. Not the fastest, but so far so good. All OC done in BIOS, not Ryzen Master.

Thanks for the info. I'm in a similar boat as you. I have a new 1700 with the Prime Pro waiting for me to play with this weekend. I also have a 2 sets of F4-3000C15D-32GTZ (64GB total) that I hope to get working on this board. Even though these are rated at 3000Mhz, 2666Mhz would be excellent given current RAM limitations. These sames sticks will do 3000Mhz on my X99 board no problem in quad channel. I don't understand why people aren't pushing for more RAM with 8 core / 8 thread Ryzen chips. 16GB is good for gaming but not great for content creation and kind of sucks for virtual machines. With all these cores I want to max out as much RAM as I can.

3.8Ghz is pretty good at 1.3 volts for the stock cooler. Have you tried updating to the latest BIOS yet?
Madpacket is offline  
post #30 of 9613 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 05:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TaCRoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: NZ
Posts: 69
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Some tips for overclocking on this board well these settings worked best for me, had no issues with SATA or really anything but high memory & CPU clocks. The temperature bug was a pain in the ass but seems to be fixed now I'm running a whole 10-20 degrees cooler at idle now.

VRM Spread spectrum: OFF
C States: OFF
Core Performance boost: OFF
VDDCR CPU Power Phase Control: Extreme
VDDCR SOC Power Phase Control: Extreme
Fixed VDDCR CPU Switching Frequency: 600khz
Fixed VDDCR SOC Switching Frequency: 600khz
VDDCR CPU Load Line Calibration: Level 2-5 (5 works best)
VDDCR CPU Load Line Calibration: Level 2-5 (5 works best)
VDDCR CPU Current Capability: 130-140% (140% works best)
VDDCR SOC Current Capability: 130-140% (140% works best)
VDDCR CPU Power Duty Control: Extreme

VDDCR CPU Voltage: 1.45
VDDCR CPU Voltage: 1.2
(You may not need to go this hard on the voltage & as you get stable you can start to lower it to find more suitable settings)

Should get you to at least 3.9Ghz, I'm on 0511 BIOS I'm sure there will be some stability & memory compatibility improvements coming sometime in the near future too that will make it a better overclocker but that's about as far as I'll get with this cooler anyway smile.gif

Gaming PC
(15 items)
CPU
i7 8700K
Motherboard
Arock Z370 Fatal1ty Gaming K6
GPU
GTX 1080TI
RAM
TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo
Hard Drive
Seagate
Hard Drive
Seagate
Power Supply
Silverstone Strider Gold Evolution
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC AGON AG251FZ
Keyboard
Masterkey Pro L Nvidia Edition
Mouse
Mastermouse MM710
Mousepad
Steelseries QCK+
▲ hide details ▲
TaCRoT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off