My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro - Page 914 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9131 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 05:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SaccoSVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,445
Rep: 39 (Unique: 31)
Any remarks on installing a 970 EVO 500GB? (I found one used at a good price and want to use it as a system drive only)

I'm using most of my SATA ports (if that even matters)

I have my GPU in the first slot, nothing on the second, a Firewire card in the third small slot, a network Wifi card in the four big slot (where you'd put another card in an SLI setup)

Is there anything I should care, or something preventing me from installing that NVME card on this MOBO?

My GPU is watercooled and my case is ultra fresh inside all the time, so I foresee no temp problems.

My 1800x OC
Win10 Pro / PRIME X370 PRO / 1800x @ 4.05Ghz - BIOS 4012
TPUII / 40.5x / 1.425v Vcore / SOC 1v
CPU LLC3 and SOC LLC3 / CPU and SOC Phase control = Extreme / CPU Current Cap. 130% BIAS=CB11.5 (CB15 score 1780)

Last edited by SaccoSVD; 03-05-2019 at 06:13 AM.
SaccoSVD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9132 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 07:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
strumf666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 43
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
You can use m.2 cooler for the looks or cooling benefits, but, unless you have some serious workloads or like to benchmark you shouldn't have problems. This is what I use (repainted since they don't offer it in white):
https://www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-m-2-nvme-heatsink-black

R7 1700x @3,95
Geil EVO x 16gb ddr4 3200
Asus Prime x370 pro
Vega 64
500GB Samsung 970 pro
Corsair RM1000i
EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)

Last edited by strumf666; 03-05-2019 at 07:26 AM.
strumf666 is offline  
post #9133 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 08:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SaccoSVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,445
Rep: 39 (Unique: 31)
Yeah it would be only for the system, so short bursts of max output I guess.

I'll see about a cooler if I need it, but my case has a ridiculous airflow (H500M) and the GPU tosses all heat outside.

My 1800x OC
Win10 Pro / PRIME X370 PRO / 1800x @ 4.05Ghz - BIOS 4012
TPUII / 40.5x / 1.425v Vcore / SOC 1v
CPU LLC3 and SOC LLC3 / CPU and SOC Phase control = Extreme / CPU Current Cap. 130% BIAS=CB11.5 (CB15 score 1780)
SaccoSVD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9134 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 01:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SaccoSVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,445
Rep: 39 (Unique: 31)
I just found out NVMEs need cooling only on the controller as the memory likes to work rather warm. Some actually talk about degradation if you keep it too cool.

I've got an ICY BOX heatsink and I'm thinking about sinking only the controller and leave the rest without thermal pad.

My 1800x OC
Win10 Pro / PRIME X370 PRO / 1800x @ 4.05Ghz - BIOS 4012
TPUII / 40.5x / 1.425v Vcore / SOC 1v
CPU LLC3 and SOC LLC3 / CPU and SOC Phase control = Extreme / CPU Current Cap. 130% BIAS=CB11.5 (CB15 score 1780)
SaccoSVD is offline  
post #9135 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 05:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
strumf666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 43
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Unless you plan on sub ambient cooling I doubt you can have problems. A lot of theoretical problem regarding data degradation is just that, only theoretical for most users.
Controller on 970 is quite warm and I am pretty sure its heating the memory chips as well, provided you put a heatsink on the drive.

R7 1700x @3,95
Geil EVO x 16gb ddr4 3200
Asus Prime x370 pro
Vega 64
500GB Samsung 970 pro
Corsair RM1000i
EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)
strumf666 is offline  
post #9136 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 06:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SaccoSVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,445
Rep: 39 (Unique: 31)
Alright, thanks good to know.

My 1800x OC
Win10 Pro / PRIME X370 PRO / 1800x @ 4.05Ghz - BIOS 4012
TPUII / 40.5x / 1.425v Vcore / SOC 1v
CPU LLC3 and SOC LLC3 / CPU and SOC Phase control = Extreme / CPU Current Cap. 130% BIAS=CB11.5 (CB15 score 1780)
SaccoSVD is offline  
post #9137 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 11:33 PM
..HWLuxx..
 
Reous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 415
Rep: 37 (Unique: 19)
Bios 4406
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...-ASUS-4406.zip

Changelog should be the same as X470-Pro:
Update AGESA 0070 for the upcoming processors and improve some CPU compatibility.
ASUS strongly recommends that you update AMD chipset driver 18.50.16 or later before updating BIOS.
Reous is offline  
post #9138 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 01:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Garwinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Reous View Post
Bios 4406
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...-ASUS-4406.zip

Changelog should be the same as X470-Pro:
Update AGESA 0070 for the upcoming processors and improve some CPU compatibility.
ASUS strongly recommends that you update AMD chipset driver 18.50.16 or later before updating BIOS.
Nice! I just saw the new chipset drivers on the site when I checked for any BIOS updates, and here we are, a new BIOS version! Why isnt it showing up though on the official support page on the asus site?

Also, I have a modded BIOS, (might actually be yours). Can I just reset everything to default and update this new BIOS from the modded BIOS? Or should I change my modded BIOS back first to non-modded and then update to this new one?

(PS that AGESA numbering though.. Of course this is a new one, but their numbering method is very non-indicative in terms of being newer or older when you are not aware that the AGESA numbering 'resets' every time it updates for new cpu's.)
Garwinski is offline  
post #9139 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 02:28 AM
..HWLuxx..
 
Reous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 415
Rep: 37 (Unique: 19)
Give the people time to put the bios into their website. Normally takes 1-2 days.

Yeah just load default settings and flash the new bios with EZ Flash 3.
Reous is offline  
post #9140 of 9208 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 06:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
strumf666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 43
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by 1usmus View Post
I strongly advise against installing a new AGESA combo AM4 0.0.7.0 and 0.0.7.2
There is a significant deterioration in Inter-Core Latency from 73.3 to 77.7 (5%), Inter-Core Bandwidth from 59.5 to 56.72 (4.9%) and U0-U12 Data Latency from 105 to 112.7ns (7%)
And one good news, support of Matisse appeared in some bios, its CPUID 00870F00, stepping MTS-A0
Perhaps better not to flash?

R7 1700x @3,95
Geil EVO x 16gb ddr4 3200
Asus Prime x370 pro
Vega 64
500GB Samsung 970 pro
Corsair RM1000i
EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)
strumf666 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off