My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro - Page 944 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9431 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 10:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
My 5204 bios is all default right now (F5 default).

That means no manual overclocking.
I tried enabling PBO instead of default Auto along with 200 mhz and the max I get single core is still 4075.
jsparakov is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9432 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 11:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 172
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hello! I dont know if it is some issue or it something normal with my motherboard. BIOS MOD 3808 Ryzen1800x 3.8ghz manual voltage 1.31750v mided with a multimeter 1.42v, soc voltage 1.03v-multimeter 1.140v, ram 3200 manual oc 1.31v-multimeter test 1.394v, in hwinfo and ryzen I have the same voltage like bios, what i ask it is... All the ppl have the same votages when they're testing with the multimeter or I need to change to bios original and contact Asus support. It will be safe for my components thats voltages or it is some issue?
Shenhua is offline  
post #9433 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 02:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZeNch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Argentina
Posts: 579
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shenhua View Post
Hello! I dont know if it is some issue or it something normal with my motherboard. BIOS MOD 3808 Ryzen1800x 3.8ghz manual voltage 1.31750v mided with a multimeter 1.42v, soc voltage 1.03v-multimeter 1.140v, ram 3200 manual oc 1.31v-multimeter test 1.394v, in hwinfo and ryzen I have the same voltage like bios, what i ask it is... All the ppl have the same votages when they're testing with the multimeter or I need to change to bios original and contact Asus support. It will be safe for my components thats voltages or it is some issue?
What LLC setting do you use? what sensor do you read in hwinfo? What place of mother do you test with multimeter?
ZeNch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9434 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 03:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 172
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I use LLC 2 +current 120% I read Cpu core(SVI2 TFN) SOC VOLTAGE(SVI2 TFN) CORE VID and from motherboard I read VDDCR CPU,i think coz that it is the LLC from my bios(all this in HWINFO64) and for test all with the multimeter I use that... Soo I think coz something it is wrong with my motherboard or with my bios...i dont know!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MEDIDAS VOLTAGES_1566857077965.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	573.3 KB
ID:	291730  

Shenhua is offline  
post #9435 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-28-2019, 04:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
makatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 240
Rep: 0
I am really, really curious and interested in your experiences in upgrading the cpu using the Asus Prime X370-Pro board. Comments, advices and experiences will be highly appreciated.

Is it worth upgrading to a 3000 series Ryzen cpu still using the Asus Prime X370-Pro board? Will I really notice the performance gain or only minor difference?

My current setup:
Asus Prime 370-pro, 1600X OC'ed to 3.95GHz, Corsair Hydro H115i Platinum, Corsair Samsung b-die 2x8GB (CMK16GX4M2B3733C17R).

Running in 1440p, GPU 1080 ti, monitor AOC AGON AG271QG (27").

It's a family computer, sporadic gaming like PUBG, Fortnite, Destiny 2 och LOL. MS Office suite, web surfing, spotify, youtube. Possibly (hopefully) some more picture editing, programming and music production in the future...

Last edited by makatech; 08-28-2019 at 04:45 AM.
makatech is offline  
post #9436 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-28-2019, 07:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZeNch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Argentina
Posts: 579
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shenhua View Post
I use LLC 2 +current 120% I read Cpu core(SVI2 TFN) SOC VOLTAGE(SVI2 TFN) CORE VID and from motherboard I read VDDCR CPU,i think coz that it is the LLC from my bios(all this in HWINFO64) and for test all with the multimeter I use that... Soo I think coz something it is wrong with my motherboard or with my bios...i dont know!
Sorry for not answer before but i cant tested with multimeter the board voltages... iMO the voltages in your multimeter are the board sensor readings, equally:

Update drivers
Update HWinfo
I recommend LLC3 or 4 (each LLC is equal a 2 steps of vcore i think)

The SVI values is the more accurate but mother sensors give you more voltage (i dont know why... Losses current after sensor reading?)


Do you read standby or full load voltages?

I dont know if your problem are sensors, softwares, bios or reader method (with multimeter).


The correct tool to read it is oscilloscope.
ZeNch is offline  
post #9437 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-28-2019, 07:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mat9v's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 414
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by makatech View Post
I am really, really curious and interested in your experiences in upgrading the cpu using the Asus Prime X370-Pro board. Comments, advices and experiences will be highly appreciated.

Is it worth upgrading to a 3000 series Ryzen cpu still using the Asus Prime X370-Pro board? Will I really notice the performance gain or only minor difference?

My current setup:
Asus Prime 370-pro, 1600X OC'ed to 3.95GHz, Corsair Hydro H115i Platinum, Corsair Samsung b-die 2x8GB (CMK16GX4M2B3733C17R).

Running in 1440p, GPU 1080 ti, monitor AOC AGON AG271QG (27").

It's a family computer, sporadic gaming like PUBG, Fortnite, Destiny 2 och LOL. MS Office suite, web surfing, spotify, youtube. Possibly (hopefully) some more picture editing, programming and music production in the future...
Upgrading? I don't think you have to do that, ZEN2 (Ryzen 3xxx) works very well in our board - there is even a good comparison if you want to read it:
https://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/...3700x_review/1

mat9v is offline  
post #9438 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-28-2019, 08:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
makatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 240
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by mat9v View Post
Upgrading? I don't think you have to do that, ZEN2 (Ryzen 3xxx) works very well in our board - there is even a good comparison if you want to read it:
https://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/...3700x_review/1
When writing upgrading I am thinking about replacing my Ryzen 1600X to a new one from the 3 series but I'm not sure if it is worth it? I'm really interested in your experiences.

It's impressive that it's possible running a new Ryzen cpu on our old Asus Prime X370-Pro board, perhaps memory speed will be a bit limited comparing to X470 and X570 boards but other than that no issues? Good airflow is advisable I assume (keeping VRM temps under control) if buying something faster than 3700?

Thank you for the article/review, I will read.
makatech is offline  
post #9439 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 11:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 100
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Hi all

So i bought a 3900x and use it with x370 prime PRO the experience is like 1st ryzen gen like we are beta testers ....Bios hmm typical amd and asus .Nothing in bios works except RAM i managed to get my rams from 3200Mhz to 3600 MHz with 1.45 dram voltage.

The big problem for me is temperatures in bios, AI suite , HW monitor in full load i get readings 62 celsius max and in ryzen master shows 70-75-80 and beacuse of this i cant create a fan curve .(im on custom loop)

Any with a Ryzen 3 has some tips ?
Btw im on 5204 bios .

for infos on default in cb20 cpu boost to 4 ghz in games or 3d mark from 4.2 to 4.5 max core speed was 4.516 Mhz .
VRM temps are ok
Vorado is offline  
post #9440 of 9544 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 03:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mat9v's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 414
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
So in preparation for 3900X I flashed 5008 bios and while waiting the next few days I got to play with 2700X on this bios.
Lo and behold, I noticed that 2700X started boosting higher with PBO then on modded 4602. Then I got to testing and the scores actually went down compared to 4602 bios, specifically Cinebench R20, while before I cold get easily 4100p on PBO now I was getting only 3850p on average.
Off to another round of testing I went - set 42 multiplier in bios 1.375V on manual LLC3 and started Windows.... WTH???!!! the CPU is not keeping frequency on any power profile, not on balanced, not on Performance or on my own created performance profile, not even on Bitsum Maximum Performance - and the scores are still atrocious, not even stable 3900p - like if this bios completely disregarded forced 42 multiplier !!!
And so it did.
As the "last resort" I set FID to 160 and DID to 8 and restarted - now it works as advertised, keeps 4.2Ghz (with slight spread due to spread spectrum being enabled) and now it shows correct results of almost 4300p.
I wonder how it relates to this bios being ready for ZEN2 and what is more, does it work correctly with it.

I will be trying 3900X in this board and also on Strix X370-F for comparison sake - and the one that boosts higher (or just maybe has a better score) and one that allows my memory to work comfortably at 3733 (it is dual side, 2x16GB) will get to keep the CPU onboard


Last edited by mat9v; 08-29-2019 at 03:29 PM.
mat9v is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off