My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro - Page 952 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9511 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 11:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
makatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 240
Rep: 0
Thank you guys, I am finally able to run my Samsung B-die RAM faster on this board together with the 3700X.
Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3733C17R

Not sure why I finally got it working better today.

3 possible reasons:

1. The new 5216 bios?
2. I did everything all over again starting from DOCP Standard and slowly working myself up to speed (the last time I didn't use DOCP at all, I did everything manually)
3. Better memory settings. I follow the advices from DRAM calculator. I believe one key for me may have been raising ProdODT to 40. I currently run DRAM voltage at 1.40 and SoC at 1.1. I think the calculator want me to raise DRAM voltage more but I am not sure I wanna do that. Gear down and power down disable. VDDG 950mv, VDDP 900mv

and not to forget... have heard my Corsair Samsung b-die from 2016 have worse binning than some others, for example G.Skill. This may also affect voltage needed for stability.

I have been running 3400, 3600 and 3666 today.

3666 almost stable but I got some kind of freeze in Windows after working a long time. Don't remember now if it froze when running [email protected] or [email protected] my guess is I had low DRAM voltage.

I am currently running [email protected] and I believe it is stable, not 100% sure but I think so. Passing geekbench 5, userbenchmark, cinebench 20, time spy, firestrike and now my daughter has been playing LoL 2-3 hours.

Not 100% sure my system is stable yet but one thing is for sure, I will be able to run my system at faster speeds than 3200MT/s.

User benchmark (I guess the memory section is interesting)
Userbenchmark
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/20057796

Cinebench 20 is approximately 4997 (multi) and 499 (single)

Geekbench 5
https://browser.geekbench.com/v5/cpu/81624

Thank you for all advices, feels good finally being able to reach higher speeds. The difference is huge between Ryzen 3 series comparing to Ryzen 1 series on this board, uncomparable.

Last edited by makatech; 09-11-2019 at 02:43 PM.
makatech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9512 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 12:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
makatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 240
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Acidstorm View Post
Anyone using a 3700X with this motherboard? If so, any issues, or problems with RAM, etc? Since the new chip has newer memory controller that works a bit differently, that's my main concern if I upgrade my 2400 RAM and get some 3600, are we still going to have issues getting those speeds on first gen motherboards?
An update from me running 3700X using Samsung b-die: Things are looking better and you will see some benchmarks in my post above as well. I believe 3700X is a really good match for this board because the VRM should handle it without too much struggle. PBO, raising tdp limit will push it more but the board should handle a 3700X anyway.

Last edited by makatech; 09-11-2019 at 02:38 PM.
makatech is offline  
post #9513 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 09:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
F0RCE963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 53
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by makatech View Post
Hmmm, I believe your CLDO_VDDG is too high but maybe somebody else could analyze as well, I run this value at 0.950V myself.
Hmm, I will try to lower it even though that value was done by the motherboard itself, as I left it on stock/default in the BIOS
F0RCE963 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9514 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 09:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Hi there . now, I have the solution to 99.8 mhz bus. One is to manually clock the cpu. Example 42.25 are you going to run in . And it is right at 100 mhz In aida64.
So add 0.25 of the particular type, 40.25 , 44.25 . 45.25 46.25, and, further, So it was the cpu, the 1700 was the old problem. Not being able to clock up the memory. but it still is the MHZ of the bus of crazy problem with the motherboard. You all know that the bus speed is very important

Last edited by Mr 007; 09-12-2019 at 09:51 AM.
Mr 007 is offline  
post #9515 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 10:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BK-Morpheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Germany - NRW
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
It's not a "crazy problem" it's just spread spectrum which apparently can't be turned off on our BIOS and results in a BLCK reading of 99.80 instead of 100.00
BK-Morpheus is offline  
post #9516 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 10:55 AM
..HWLuxx..
 
Reous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 467
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
With the next official bios i will provide a mod profile with disabled bclk spread spectrum. This will bring back 100MHz bus clock.
Reous is offline  
post #9517 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 11:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Comparison of 99.80 bus to a 100 mhz bus. and you can read it in aida64. And i see now its 100 mhz are the manual overclock. However, a great difference of 0.25
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Namnlös 1.png
Views:	33
Size:	223.6 KB
ID:	295076  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Namnlös.png
Views:	31
Size:	223.7 KB
ID:	295078  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Namnlös 2.png
Views:	28
Size:	223.6 KB
ID:	295080  

Mr 007 is offline  
post #9518 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 07:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BK-Morpheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Germany - NRW
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Test-Version of Bios 5220 with Agesa 1003 ABBA (incl. new SMU) has been given to Reous, so he might link it here soon.
My 3700x is now reaching 4.4GHz although not for long durations. CB singe core thread is switching between two cores and frequency is running between 4.325GHz - 4.4Ghz (4.4 only a few times for a few seconds).


Seems to work pretty good.
BK-Morpheus is offline  
post #9519 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
The Windows are very well if the overclock for now.Now, I know I have been doing some testing . Shut down services that are not essential. But it was a big change, to turn to a type of service that is not essential. So, it is clear that they also want to control us, the users. And, for me, it is now to a stop . On the basis of a private experience to test the system over the maximum of what they can do. However, it's the end of it.
The future Well I don't think I will be buying any more. On the basis of all of the controls of all of it. Would rather go back to the old system, with windows 7.
Look on aida64
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Namnlös.png
Views:	21
Size:	1.52 MB
ID:	295346  


Last edited by Mr 007; 09-13-2019 at 10:35 AM.
Mr 007 is offline  
post #9520 of 9543 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 11:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,894
Rep: 45 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mr 007 View Post
The Windows are very well if the overclock for now.Now, I know I have been doing some testing . Shut down services that are not essential. But it was a big change, to turn to a type of service that is not essential. So, it is clear that they also want to control us, the users. And, for me, it is now to a stop . On the basis of a private experience to test the system over the maximum of what they can do. However, it's the end of it.
The future Well I don't think I will be buying any more. On the basis of all of the controls of all of it. Would rather go back to the old system, with windows 7.
Look on aida64
Something is wrong there, memory should be much faster, is FLCK set to 1800 ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Aida mem 1.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	79.7 KB
ID:	295358  


Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5216
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off