My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro - Page 975 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9741 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 01:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
malakudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 103
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I tested my Prime X370 Pro with four DIMMs of 8GB Crucial Ballistix 3200CL16 Micron-E die, for a total of 32GB. CPU is a Ryzen 2700X. Running only two DIMMs I could only safely run up to 3066. 3200 would seem stable but it would never complete 10 cycles of TM5. With four DIMMs though, I could run 3333 completing 10 cycles of TM5 and 3400 gave 1 error after 9 cycles, so need to experiment a bit more for 100% stable 3400. Is Prime X370 Pro T-Topology? That would explain this behaviour I experienced.

Running BIOS 5406 beta
malakudi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9742 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-22-2020, 09:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
malakudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 103
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I made it stable at 3466 MHz CL14 (14-18-14-14-32-56). With two DIMMs it wasn't stable even at 3133 CL 16. Amazing.
https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...328382&thumb=1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	primex370_3466cl14ddr4.jpg.png
Views:	69
Size:	695.5 KB
ID:	328382  

malakudi is offline  
post #9743 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 01:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 87
Rep: 0
Getting more and more tempted just to buy an X570 mobo just to get on the latest Agesa and have bios support.

I wouldn't buy Asus again tho because this is shocking that they have what looks like dropped support for the board whilst all other manufactures have updated their entire lineup from X570 all the way down to B350 boards.

I keep thinking just wait a bit longer and the bios will come.....
opethdisciple is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9744 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 01:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,037
Rep: 48 (Unique: 35)
Quote: Originally Posted by opethdisciple View Post
Getting more and more tempted just to buy an X570 mobo just to get on the latest Agesa and have bios support.

I wouldn't buy Asus again tho because this is shocking that they have what looks like dropped support for the board whilst all other manufactures have updated their entire lineup from X570 all the way down to B350 boards.

I keep thinking just wait a bit longer and the bios will come.....
Don't be so fast to wish for AGESA 1004, it doesn't bring anything better performance wise. Judging by x470 board, 5604 beta is just 5220 with 1004 inserted.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5406 1004b
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #9745 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 04:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
malakudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 103
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
This board is somehow flawed. If it is T-Topology, it would make no difference using B2/A2 or B1/A1 on two DIMM setup. But it does. With two DIMMs XMP 3200 doesn't work stable with Crucial Ballistix Micron E-Die. But with four DIMMs, it does work. And not only 3200 XMP, I managed to make it stable up to 3533 fast timings - I settled down at 3466 fast because 3533 fast needed 1.46V.
In 3200 XMP with 4 DIMMs, motherboard configures ProcODT 60, RttNom 34, RttWr 120 and RttPark 240. 24-20-24-24 for the MemCadBus values.
Those settings are similar to what Ryzen DRAM Calculator suggests when running 4 DIMMs Dual Rank though. Such settings don't go higher that 3266, but if I use ProcODT 48, RttNom 34, RttWr Off and RttPark 48, 24-24-24-24 for the MemCadBus values, I can run up to 3533 with 4 DIMMs stable. A simple change of ProcODT to 53 makes it unstable immediately.
With only 2 DIMMs, setting above values for termination makes it almost stable at 3200, but not 100%.
With Zen 2 CPU you can easily get stable up to 3533 with 2 DIMMs. I think the reason is the termination. Zen 2 runs with a much lower termination for ProcODT. This board seems to work best with Zen/Zen+ with ProcODT of 48, although this is not good enough for just two DIMMs.
So, to conclude, I think there is a problem with this board, the termination of the DIMM slots and the algorithm used for RAM training. It doesn't make sense to be able to run stable at 3533 with 4 DIMMs and failing to do so with 2 DIMMs, even at much lower speeds. On a T-Topology, assuming the IMC can handle the 4 DIMMs, 2 or 4 DIMMs should run at same speed. Also running B1-A1 or B2-A2 should make no difference. On a Daisy-Chain, B2-A2 should be faster than 4 DIMM setup. So this board behaves completely different to what is expected for either T-Topology or Daisy-Chain.
malakudi is offline  
post #9746 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 12:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
I am using Crucial Ballistix Micron E-die 3600 CL16 1,4V with Zen 2. A2/B2.
Comby is offline  
post #9747 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 12:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
malakudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 103
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Comby View Post
I am using Crucial Ballistix Micron E-die 3600 CL16 1,4V with Zen 2. A2/B2.
I know, with Zen 2 Processor On-Die Termination (ProcODT) is lower and it seems this board has problem with higher frequencies when higher impedance is needed. With Zen+ and four DIMMs works stable 3533 at 48 Ohm ProcODT but as soon as you set it at 53 Ohm, it gives errors immediately. ProcODT for Zen2 is under 40 Ohm.
malakudi is offline  
post #9748 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 10:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wolfeshaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 416
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Just wondering as I'm going back to this board after not having it run for a long while. Is it worth updating to the Beta Bios vs the 5220 bios? I might be looking into some mild OC of the memory but that is about it.

It'll have a R5 1600 and 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro memory.

Containment Failure (Click to show)
“Everything burns if the flame is hot enough. The world is nothing but a crucible.”
Wolfeshaman is offline  
post #9749 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 09:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lycanwrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mauritius, Port Louis
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
I am currently on 5604 beta and would like to downgrade BIOS to 4207.

Which tool can I use to do so please?

Using Ryzen 1700X with Corsair Vengence 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...6GX4M2B3200C16
lycanwrath is offline  
post #9750 of 9763 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 03:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 549
Rep: 25 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by lycanwrath View Post
I am currently on 5604 beta and would like to downgrade BIOS to 4207.

Which tool can I use to do so please?

Using Ryzen 1700X with Corsair Vengence 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...6GX4M2B3200C16
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-AMD-roll-back

jacqlittle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off