Asrock X370 Taichi Overclocking Thread - Page 213 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asrock X370 Taichi Overclocking Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2121 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 01:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
chew*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,636
Rep: 258 (Unique: 111)
Quote:
Originally Posted by datonyb View Post

well its better than flatly denying the issue with 128gb/ 8 sticks on the x399 that they seem to have
when asked specifically there reply ignored it totally and presented a sales pitch how wonderful the x399 boards are

still hey - ho

im lucky i suppose, ive not had any issues with my setup right from early launch (one of the first U.K. owners of the taichi)

my only complaint would be the dire and messy state of the 5/6 caps on the sound section of my board they look like thier all falling over like the tower of piza, not what i expected on a board that cost £230 ($230 ish)

Alot of the problem is multiple language barriers.

English vs taiwanese?

Then the secondary language barrier.

I speak overclocker they speak engineer.

Last time I showed a video it got sorted because once he saw the how was able to duplicate it. Pre launch I had to get a simlar multi bug fixed on x399.

Now ill show what he was able to duplicate plus what he can not duplicate as I was told they used my chip in the "asus" and it had same issue.

Ive got a c6h that has the fix. They can reverse engineer bios to see the difference i guess once i show it working on xx version bios.

The problem with the internet today is the lack of accountability.

On pc forums User A says no its safe costs users B,C an D $600 to find out he was wrong. User A gets off scot free.

On the race car forums it is no different except $ amount. User A says turn the boost up to 26lbs. User B,C and D lifted a head gasket,cracked a piston ring, melted a piston...or worse just sent a rod through block due to detonation. $3k in damages. User A gets off scot free.

Avoid the A's they will put a hole in your wallet.
chew* is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2122 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 02:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sierra248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 128
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Chew what exactly will them fixing the bug allow us to do beyond what we can now? I don’t think I’ve run into this bug? What conditions would this bug cause.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chew* View Post

The straight up ocing issue and need for pstates is being battled on. Unfortunately i have met some resistance with support. They seem to think I broke vcore on sample with ln2 ocing that i sent them that left a tray fresh from amd went on air to verify bug got shipped.

The irony is I requested chip back explicitly because I have not tested on ln2 yet and need to see how well it does.

I will sort it out. Im tired of this multi bug so I will make a public video instead of a private one. Showing bug fix on c6h versus the bug on asrock with 5 chips...

That usually gets the ball rolling.
sierra248 is offline  
post #2123 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 03:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 283
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by datonyb View Post

amir007

have you tried just using the pstate method

its worked flawlessly for me since bios 1.5 onwards

i run a 1700 at 3.9ghz and 1.325 volts cpu LLC level2

my cinebench is version 15 but it scores 1750+ (which is quite a respectable score) and will do that consistantly

heres is a guide on setting the pstate overclock
(second half of video)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52Tw-wcT7o4

settings for 3.9 ghz and 1.325 volts are
9c
8
24
second box
9c
8
24
third box
auto

Test 1 - first half of the video: I did exactly what the dude in the video did. I cleared the CMOS before I began.

OC Tweaker
CPU Frequency and Voltage Change = Manual
CPU Frequency 3800MHz
AM4 Advance Boot Training = Disabled

Voltage Mode = OC Mode
CPU Vcore Voltage: Fixed Mode
Fixed Voltage: 1.37
CPU Load-Line Calibration = Level 2
VDDCR_SOC Load-Line Calibration = Level 2

DRAM Voltage = Auto
VPPM = 2.500V
2.50V_PROM Voltage = 2.500V
VTT_DDR = 0.680V
+1.8 Votage = 1.800V
VDDP = 0.920V
1.05V_PROM Voltage = 1.050V

Advanced:
Cool 'n' Quiet = Enabled
AMD fTPM switch = Disabled
SVM Mode = Disabled
C6 Mode = Disabled <----he said to disable this as Cool n quiet does the same thing for AMD cpu. Really though? bcuz right now after I booted my Core Voltage is at [email protected] constant. No drops.

AMD CBS>Zen common options:
Global C-state Control = Disabled <---- Dude said to disable this too.

I booted to my windows without a hitch. Feels fast but my FHUKEN score in Cinebench still scores 776. Really?



*** am i doing wrong? His test in Cinebench scored 1624. I noticed AGAIN in CPU-Z my Core Speed is dropping again down to 549Mhz. Why the fhuck is it dropping to 549Mhz if I'm conducting a god damn CPU test? lol Really? ***? I mean, he is using a really old UEFI Version L1.55? *** is that?

Next test is going to be with the Pstate stuff in the 2nd half of the video and what you recommended. Like i said, if the 2nd test fails to give me what this CPu should give me I'm tossing this **** out the window.

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @4.00GHz (v1.37-Pstates) * NZXT Kraken X42 * ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO - BIOS 6903 * Zotac GeForce GTX 1080 0 AMP! Edition * G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 16GB (2x8GB) * Samsung 850 PRO 256GB-Win10 | 2xSamsung 860 EVO 1TB * 2xSamsung 850 EVO 500GB * EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G2 80+ GOLD* Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI HERO
GPU
ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP Edition
RAM
G.Skill FlareX F4-3200C14-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 PRO Win 10 SSD
Hard Drive
2xSamsung 950 Evo Gaming/Data SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 80+ GOLD
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X42 Water Cooling
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case - Black
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2730Z
Mouse
MSI Gaming
Audio
Sound Blaster Recon 3D
▲ hide details ▲
Amir007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2124 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 04:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 283
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sierra248 View Post

Amir007, I’ve had the half speed thing happen when I’m to far overclocked and voltage to high. Also when that happened if I opened up task manager, under the performance tab it would show a different frequency then I’d set in bios. It’s actually quite a good way to try different overclocks. If it doesn’t read the same then it’s not a good overclock. On my system I’m at 3.8 and 1.325 Volts, I can boot but it will crash or do the half speed thing even if I set to 3.825, no matter what voltage, that is not stable for me but 3.8 is 100% stable.

Can you show me a screen shot where you are doing 3.8ghz and cinebench score. Now I'm starting to feel like i got duped in buying a lemon platform.

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @4.00GHz (v1.37-Pstates) * NZXT Kraken X42 * ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO - BIOS 6903 * Zotac GeForce GTX 1080 0 AMP! Edition * G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 16GB (2x8GB) * Samsung 850 PRO 256GB-Win10 | 2xSamsung 860 EVO 1TB * 2xSamsung 850 EVO 500GB * EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G2 80+ GOLD* Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI HERO
GPU
ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP Edition
RAM
G.Skill FlareX F4-3200C14-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 PRO Win 10 SSD
Hard Drive
2xSamsung 950 Evo Gaming/Data SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 80+ GOLD
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X42 Water Cooling
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case - Black
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2730Z
Mouse
MSI Gaming
Audio
Sound Blaster Recon 3D
▲ hide details ▲
Amir007 is offline  
post #2125 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 04:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pschorr1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 264
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
just a quick thought make sure you are set to high performance mode in windows when running your benchmarks.

x370 Taichi, R7 2700X, 16GB G Skill F4-3600C16D-16GVK, Rx Vega 64 Liquid, Toshiba RD400 NVME @256GB (pos drivers will not let you restart pc if you do bios will not see the drive. Toshiba official support "turn it off and turn it back on or if not boot drive unistall via device mgr and reinstall" Whats even more bogus is none of the reviews mentioned this. They say "its a really fast drive with good warranty" BS ) 500GB 970 Evo new boot drive works as expected
pschorr1123 is offline  
post #2126 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 04:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pschorr1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 264
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)



I don't know whats up with your very low scores and very low core speeds. But this shot is from a while back at 3800.

x370 Taichi, R7 2700X, 16GB G Skill F4-3600C16D-16GVK, Rx Vega 64 Liquid, Toshiba RD400 NVME @256GB (pos drivers will not let you restart pc if you do bios will not see the drive. Toshiba official support "turn it off and turn it back on or if not boot drive unistall via device mgr and reinstall" Whats even more bogus is none of the reviews mentioned this. They say "its a really fast drive with good warranty" BS ) 500GB 970 Evo new boot drive works as expected
pschorr1123 is offline  
post #2127 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 04:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 283
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pschorr1123 View Post

just a quick thought make sure you are set to high performance mode in windows when running your benchmarks.

I tried it on Ryzen power mode and Performance. I'm getting the same results. Right now im in bios messing with the Pstates.
The dude in the video warned this can be stressful and you might go bald lol that's what i said this morning...I actually woke up with a single long gray here on my right side. I ain't kidding.

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @4.00GHz (v1.37-Pstates) * NZXT Kraken X42 * ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO - BIOS 6903 * Zotac GeForce GTX 1080 0 AMP! Edition * G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 16GB (2x8GB) * Samsung 850 PRO 256GB-Win10 | 2xSamsung 860 EVO 1TB * 2xSamsung 850 EVO 500GB * EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G2 80+ GOLD* Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI HERO
GPU
ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP Edition
RAM
G.Skill FlareX F4-3200C14-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 PRO Win 10 SSD
Hard Drive
2xSamsung 950 Evo Gaming/Data SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 80+ GOLD
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X42 Water Cooling
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case - Black
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2730Z
Mouse
MSI Gaming
Audio
Sound Blaster Recon 3D
▲ hide details ▲
Amir007 is offline  
post #2128 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 04:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 283
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pschorr1123 View Post

just a quick thought make sure you are set to high performance mode in windows when running your benchmarks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pschorr1123 View Post




I don't know whats up with your very low scores and very low core speeds. But this shot is from a while back at 3800.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pschorr1123 View Post




I don't know whats up with your very low scores and very low core speeds. But this shot is from a while back at 3800.

On my screen shots you can see it is at 3.8Ghz and stable but when I runt he test it starts rendering very fast but then... slows down when it hits 549Mhz. I'm so fuhking furious right now. I should be booting up soon to Pstate setup

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @4.00GHz (v1.37-Pstates) * NZXT Kraken X42 * ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO - BIOS 6903 * Zotac GeForce GTX 1080 0 AMP! Edition * G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 16GB (2x8GB) * Samsung 850 PRO 256GB-Win10 | 2xSamsung 860 EVO 1TB * 2xSamsung 850 EVO 500GB * EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G2 80+ GOLD* Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI HERO
GPU
ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP Edition
RAM
G.Skill FlareX F4-3200C14-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 PRO Win 10 SSD
Hard Drive
2xSamsung 950 Evo Gaming/Data SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 80+ GOLD
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X42 Water Cooling
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T ATX Full-Tower Computer Case - Black
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2730Z
Mouse
MSI Gaming
Audio
Sound Blaster Recon 3D
▲ hide details ▲
Amir007 is offline  
post #2129 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 04:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pschorr1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 264
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Perhaps try other benchmarks to see if those are low too. Maybe Chew can offer you some advice. You are on bios 3.20 right? Maybe consider re flashing cuz something definitely isn't right.

x370 Taichi, R7 2700X, 16GB G Skill F4-3600C16D-16GVK, Rx Vega 64 Liquid, Toshiba RD400 NVME @256GB (pos drivers will not let you restart pc if you do bios will not see the drive. Toshiba official support "turn it off and turn it back on or if not boot drive unistall via device mgr and reinstall" Whats even more bogus is none of the reviews mentioned this. They say "its a really fast drive with good warranty" BS ) 500GB 970 Evo new boot drive works as expected
pschorr1123 is offline  
post #2130 of 6077 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 04:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xethi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 42
Rep: 0
amir you should also disable cool&quiet. not sure if you tried allready. wierd how many problems your having
xethi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off