Asrock X370 Taichi Overclocking Thread - Page 478 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asrock X370 Taichi Overclocking Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4771 of 4861 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 03:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iNeri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: México
Posts: 462
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by hotak View Post
I have my 2600X with PBO and 3266 CL14 b-die RAM, i got it completely stable under load with -0.1v offset on the CPU and 1.0125 VSoC, LLC 5 on CPU and 4 on SoC, but i have two problems:

-To also be stable in idle, i need to reduce the CPU offset to -0.08v
-Even with a 100% stable OC, a lot of times (like 30%+) Windows gets stuck during load, either by completely freezing or going on loading forever.
It gets stuck just before initializing the audio card (an ASUS Xonar D2X), if i hear the "click" of the card initialization, then i know windows will load.
I'm not sure this problem has to do with overclock, i don't remember about it happening some months ago, but i'm not quite sure about what triggered it (maybe BIOS update), already did a fresh windows install but it didn't solve the issue.
I have an USB 3.0 card in 1st PCI-E x1 slot, the VGA on 1st PCI-E x16 slot and the audio card in the other PCI-E x1 slot, in the BIOS i selected "CPU" on the PCI-E lines options because otherwise i'd only get x8 lanes on the VGA.

Anyone have any suggestion about disabling some power-saving options to be able to get the -0.1v offset stable?
And does someone have similar problems with windows getting stuck on boot?
Hi.

Yes. Same here if i dont pull enough vcore windows stuck on loading screen or dont ever finish the load.

Its only lack of vcore. Yeah, in windows you are stable because XFR2 kicks in and will lower your frecuency according your load. It seem that on loading screen the CPU goes up to the maximum frecuency on your XFR2, so if you have a lazy core you got a kernel panic.

Ryzen [email protected] 1.33mV+ Kraken X61 push/pull|Asrock X370 Taichi|EVGA SC2 1080ti [email protected] & [email protected] Mhz 0.98 mV + Kraken X61|GSkill FlareX 8GBx2 3466MHz CL 14-15-14-28-42-277-1t&1.40 mV|EVGA SuperNova 850W|Thermaltake View 31 RGB|NVME CorsairMP500 240 GB+Seagate 3TB 7200rpm 200 MBps|HP Omen 27" [email protected]
iNeri is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4772 of 4861 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 01:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by iNeri View Post
Hi.

Yes. Same here if i dont pull enough vcore windows stuck on loading screen or dont ever finish the load.

Its only lack of vcore. Yeah, in windows you are stable because XFR2 kicks in and will lower your frecuency according your load. It seem that on loading screen the CPU goes up to the maximum frecuency on your XFR2, so if you have a lazy core you got a kernel panic.
So you say it's an instability at high frequency, not in idle, i tought the opposite because i cannot get it to crash on OCCT, any memtest or during gaming, but with offset at -0.1 it used to crash in idle sometimes.
Will try to simply increase LLC without touchuing voltage and then increase voltage with LLC 5 and see wich one solves the problem without sacrificing max frequency too much.

Do you think it's also worth to test changes with RAM and SoC or is most likely a vcore issue? RAM is stable with 2h memtest, but 3266 CL14 out of a quoted 3600 CL19 might not be the most safe setting.
hotak is offline  
post #4773 of 4861 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 03:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dekaohtoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 81
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by DJHuck View Post
Here are all the settings for my Ryzen build. Actual BIOS screenshots included. Loving the forum and kudos to fcchin for sharing his settings for our Corsair Vengeance LPX that I NEVER thought would OC. Made a few other adjustments in red on Ryzen Timings picture. The yellow settings from Ryzen Timings program are the defaults in the 5.10 BIOS, but show as different settings in the actual BIOS. Cheers all!
1.51 DDR voltage?

I don't think this high can be considered neither safe nor worth it...
Dekaohtoura is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4774 of 4861 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 04:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
hey guys,



new to overclockers, so let me know if I'm doing anything wrong. One thing that I want to ask is about the stability of samsung B-die past 3400 - 3600. I've been trying to activate the XMP profile of 3600 at CL 17 but it would not post. Currently I'm getting stable speeds at 3333 at CL 14 which is pretty nice. I've been able to push it to 3400 at CL 14 with 1.45v. Any ideas whether it's just a problem with the x370 chipset or whether it's something to do with the bios?



thanks
theonlykami is offline  
post #4775 of 4861 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 06:47 AM
Overclocking is my game.
 
DR4G00N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 1,911
Rep: 127 (Unique: 95)
Quote: Originally Posted by theonlykami View Post
hey guys,



new to overclockers, so let me know if I'm doing anything wrong. One thing that I want to ask is about the stability of samsung B-die past 3400 - 3600. I've been trying to activate the XMP profile of 3600 at CL 17 but it would not post. Currently I'm getting stable speeds at 3333 at CL 14 which is pretty nice. I've been able to push it to 3400 at CL 14 with 1.45v. Any ideas whether it's just a problem with the x370 chipset or whether it's something to do with the bios?



thanks
It's due to how the platform is set up, the IMC is linked to the DRAM speed. So if your running 1700MHz (DDR4-3400) memory the IMC will also run at 1700MHz. When trying to run higher speeds you need to increase the SOC voltage to keep the IMC happy, 1.10V to 1.15V will probably work for 1800MHz (DDR4-3600).
I recommend not using XMP on those higher speed kit's and to set them manually instead.

This should probably work alright for b-die.
3600 @ CL14-14-14-14-34 tRC 40 1T w/ 1.5V VDIMM & Gear down mode: Enabled
If this works then you can of course reduce the VDIMM to a more comfortable level if you wish, though 1.5V is not going to hurt anything.

The Banshee
(23 items)
Under the DICE
(19 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
GTX 780 Ti SLI @ 1100/1250 1.063V
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z B-Die @ 3466 C14
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force LS 120GB
Power Supply
EVGA 1300 G2
Cooling
Phobya UC-2 LT
Cooling
XSPC Razor GTX 780 Ti Waterblock w/ Backplate
Cooling
Bitspower Z-Multi 150 Red Reservoir
Cooling
Darkside LP 360mm Radiator
Cooling
Alphacool ST30 240mm Radiator
Cooling
Darkside D5 Vario @ 12V Setting 5
Cooling
Darkside (TFC) 3/8 ID X 5/8 OD Red UV tubing
Cooling
TFC Black straight barb fittings
Case
Fractal Design Arc XL
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Monitor
LG 25UM57-P
Keyboard
Thermaltake Challenger
Mouse
Evga Torq X3
Mouse
Steel series QCK+
Audio
Turtle Beach X12
Other
Logitech G27
CPU
1151: 8700K, 7350K, 6320 (743 XTU)
CPU
1150: i7 4770K
CPU
AMx Sockets: 8300 & Athlon's, Phenoms, ect.
CPU
939 & 754: Many Athlon's, Opteron's & Sempron's
CPU
775/771: Many C2's, Pentiums, Celerons & Xeons
CPU
1366: i7 920 D0 and many 4c & 6c Xeon's
CPU
A bunch more Slot 1, S370 & S462/A CPU's.
Motherboard
Z170M OCF & Z87 OCF + many more.
GPU
Waaaay too many to list...
RAM
A table full of SDR, DDR1, DDR2 & DDR3
Power Supply
Evga SuperNova 850 B2
Cooling
CM Hyper 212+ (Troubleshooting)
Cooling
Kingpin Venom LN2 Pot
Cooling
Bartx DICE/LN2 CPU Pot
Cooling
Sub-zero A/C waterchiller (-26C)
Case
Homemade wooden test bench
Operating System
All of them. ;)
Monitor
Samsung S20B300
Mouse
Microsoft comfort mouse 3000
▲ hide details ▲


DR4G00N is offline  
post #4776 of 4861 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 10:15 AM
Overclocking is my game.
 
DR4G00N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 1,911
Rep: 127 (Unique: 95)
I'm really liking bios ver. 5.10, fixed a few oc'ing quirks on my 1700 like having to use a vcore offset with over 1.30V or it'll lock it to 1550MHz. Now I can just set a fixed voltage of 1.375V and it runs just fine @ 4.0GHz.

It also helped with how the CPU handles sub-zero temps. With ver. 3.20 the CPU would force stock settings even though there was an OC set. Now it handles it no problem, aside from the IMC of course.

This is with some -15C coolant.

The Banshee
(23 items)
Under the DICE
(19 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
GTX 780 Ti SLI @ 1100/1250 1.063V
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z B-Die @ 3466 C14
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force LS 120GB
Power Supply
EVGA 1300 G2
Cooling
Phobya UC-2 LT
Cooling
XSPC Razor GTX 780 Ti Waterblock w/ Backplate
Cooling
Bitspower Z-Multi 150 Red Reservoir
Cooling
Darkside LP 360mm Radiator
Cooling
Alphacool ST30 240mm Radiator
Cooling
Darkside D5 Vario @ 12V Setting 5
Cooling
Darkside (TFC) 3/8 ID X 5/8 OD Red UV tubing
Cooling
TFC Black straight barb fittings
Case
Fractal Design Arc XL
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Monitor
LG 25UM57-P
Keyboard
Thermaltake Challenger
Mouse
Evga Torq X3
Mouse
Steel series QCK+
Audio
Turtle Beach X12
Other
Logitech G27
CPU
1151: 8700K, 7350K, 6320 (743 XTU)
CPU
1150: i7 4770K
CPU
AMx Sockets: 8300 & Athlon's, Phenoms, ect.
CPU
939 & 754: Many Athlon's, Opteron's & Sempron's
CPU
775/771: Many C2's, Pentiums, Celerons & Xeons
CPU
1366: i7 920 D0 and many 4c & 6c Xeon's
CPU
A bunch more Slot 1, S370 & S462/A CPU's.
Motherboard
Z170M OCF & Z87 OCF + many more.
GPU
Waaaay too many to list...
RAM
A table full of SDR, DDR1, DDR2 & DDR3
Power Supply
Evga SuperNova 850 B2
Cooling
CM Hyper 212+ (Troubleshooting)
Cooling
Kingpin Venom LN2 Pot
Cooling
Bartx DICE/LN2 CPU Pot
Cooling
Sub-zero A/C waterchiller (-26C)
Case
Homemade wooden test bench
Operating System
All of them. ;)
Monitor
Samsung S20B300
Mouse
Microsoft comfort mouse 3000
▲ hide details ▲


DR4G00N is offline  
post #4777 of 4861 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 06:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by DR4G00N View Post
It's due to how the platform is set up, the IMC is linked to the DRAM speed. So if your running 1700MHz (DDR4-3400) memory the IMC will also run at 1700MHz. When trying to run higher speeds you need to increase the SOC voltage to keep the IMC happy, 1.10V to 1.15V will probably work for 1800MHz (DDR4-3600).
I recommend not using XMP on those higher speed kit's and to set them manually instead.

This should probably work alright for b-die.
3600 @ CL14-14-14-14-34 tRC 40 1T w/ 1.5V VDIMM & Gear down mode: Enabled
If this works then you can of course reduce the VDIMM to a more comfortable level if you wish, though 1.5V is not going to hurt anything.



Alright, thanks for the help. I will try it out over the weekend when I have time and see if I get lucky and post the results. Thanks!
theonlykami is offline  
post #4778 of 4861 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 05:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by hotak View Post
So you say it's an instability at high frequency, not in idle, i tought the opposite because i cannot get it to crash on OCCT, any memtest or during gaming, but with offset at -0.1 it used to crash in idle sometimes.
Will try to simply increase LLC without touchuing voltage and then increase voltage with LLC 5 and see wich one solves the problem without sacrificing max frequency too much.

Do you think it's also worth to test changes with RAM and SoC or is most likely a vcore issue? RAM is stable with 2h memtest, but 3266 CL14 out of a quoted 3600 CL19 might not be the most safe setting.
After some more experimenting, it seems that i have to stay with an offset >-0.08v to be stable, still get some fake boots from time to time, but no more getting stuck during windows loading or crashes.
Cinebench gets me a nice 1459, a little less than what i managed with -0.1v offset, but i think it's ok, will try experimenting with vSoC to see if i can lower it a bit too to reduce temperatures and consumption, since in idle hwinfo misures about 7-10w of SoC consumption, making up almost 90% of the total CPU consumption.
hotak is offline  
post #4779 of 4861 (permalink) Old 03-09-2019, 03:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Hey guys,

I'm back after taking some suggestions and I think I have a really really bad problem. My PC boots fine for now, and I have upgraded the bios to 5.10. Everything seems to be fine on stock, but once i try to tweak anything it just bootloops 3 times and goes back into the default settings. Currently I'm on 3400 mhz on my Ryzen 2600.


Before I left for my month long vacation I could overclock that guy to about 4.1 ghz at 1.4v. Now when I try bumping it up to 3.5 ghz the system goes into a bootloop and resets to default.


I had the same issue before I updated my BIOS from 4.80, thinking that it would solve my problem.


Touching the RAM settings also produce the same results (Constant crashing) I can't even load the default XMP settings.



I really don't know whats going on, but I highly suspect it might be a mobo issue. Anyone with any prior experience / fix ?
theonlykami is offline  
post #4780 of 4861 (permalink) Old 03-09-2019, 05:25 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,055
Rep: 576 (Unique: 455)
Quote: Originally Posted by theonlykami View Post
Hey guys,

I'm back after taking some suggestions and I think I have a really really bad problem. My PC boots fine for now, and I have upgraded the bios to 5.10. Everything seems to be fine on stock, but once i try to tweak anything it just bootloops 3 times and goes back into the default settings. Currently I'm on 3400 mhz on my Ryzen 2600.


Before I left for my month long vacation I could overclock that guy to about 4.1 ghz at 1.4v. Now when I try bumping it up to 3.5 ghz the system goes into a bootloop and resets to default.


I had the same issue before I updated my BIOS from 4.80, thinking that it would solve my problem.


Touching the RAM settings also produce the same results (Constant crashing) I can't even load the default XMP settings.

I really don't know whats going on, but I highly suspect it might be a mobo issue. Anyone with any prior experience / fix ?

Reset bios to default settings,change RAM voltage to 1.35v. If it works normally then it's your overclock. Sometimes we get so many changes with these Ryzens..... you just have to start over.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)
cinemaniarota , polkfan
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off