Asrock X370 Taichi Overclocking Thread - Page 49 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Asrock X370 Taichi Overclocking Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-23-2017, 06:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lowdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 289
Rep: 14 (Unique: 13)
Asrock X370 Gaming Pro same as Taichi with bios 2.30, P-state overclock @ 3.9GHz with all LLC default/auto and vcore/frequency throttling down in idle....2 x 16GB Hynix DR @ 2933MHz 18-17-17-17-35.....wife is using the Taichi atm


1/X399 MSI MEG - 2950X + Vega 64 Custom WC - G.Skill 4 x 16GB DR b-die @ 2933MHz - 3 x 1TB Intel NVme M.2 + 1TB & 500MB SSD - Silverstone 1500W - yay
2/Z390 MAXIMUS XI GENE - 9900K/Corsair H115i Pro + 1080Ti - G.Skill TridentZ F4-3600C17D-32GTRZ - 2 x 1TB ADATA SX8200 Pro M.2 NVMe - Seasonic 1300W Platinum - yo
lowdog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-23-2017, 06:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iRUSH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,052
Rep: 214 (Unique: 154)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowdog View Post

Asrock X370 Gaming Pro same as Taichi with bios 2.30, P-state overclock @ 3.9GHz with all LLC default/auto and vcore/frequency throttling down in idle....2 x 16GB Hynix DR @ 2933MHz 18-17-17-17-35.....wife is using the Taichi atm


How's her Taichi running then?

I have used nearly every CPU from Sandy Bridge on and Phenom II on. I have also used most GPU's from 2011 on, from low, mid and high. I've built 100's of rigs over the years. Most for fun and some for side work. If you have any questions and want an unbiased opinion, please feel free to PM me.
iRUSH is offline  
post #483 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-23-2017, 07:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kromium's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bloot View Post

With p-states you only want to touch the 1st state leave the rest on auto, and change only the cpu fid/did. If you want to change voltage you have to do it with an offset value in the oc tweaker section.

I did the Tech City's way nothing,
did your way still nothing... stuck at max freq
Enabled/disable C state, cool and quiet... nothing..
Kromium is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #484 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-23-2017, 07:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bloot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 421
Rep: 22 (Unique: 19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kromium View Post

I did the Tech City's way nothing,
did your way still nothing... stuck at max freq
Enabled/disable C state, cool and quiet... nothing..

Do what I said then go to windows power plans and select balanced, configure, set minimum processor state to 5%

MSI MEG X570 Unify • AMD Ryzen 3900X + Corsair H110i GT • 4x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3866 • KFA² RTX 2080 OC • Samsung NVMe SSD 960 EVO 500GB • 2x Crucial MX300 750GB • SanDisk SSD Plus 480GB • Seasonic Prime Ultra 1000W Platinum • Phanteks Enthoo Pro M • Corsair K70 Lux RGB MX Red • Logitech G203 Prodigy • Xbox One Controller • Acer XF270HUA
https://valid.x86.fr/u0id9l
bloot is offline  
post #485 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-23-2017, 08:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lowdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 289
Rep: 14 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowdog View Post

To overclock with P-States.

Using my 1700 on Taichi with bios 2.0

Off the top of my head.....

1/ In Bios under OC Tweaker set CPU Frequency and Voltage Change to manual but DON"T change anything!...just look and write down what your default vcore reads. Once done set this option CPU Frequency and Voltage Change back to auto.

For my 1700 it is 1.18750V

For my 1800X it is 1.3500V

2/ Scroll down to Voltage Configuration section and for CPU Core Voltage set OFFSET MODE (you will need to know your max frequency of your overclock and what volts are required to achieve that prior to doing all this) set your OFFSET value; example my 1700 needs 1.34375V for 3925MHz with LLC Level 1

So I need to set in OFFSET MODE an OFFSET value of 15625......this means that .15625mv is set on top of my default vcore of 1.18750v to give me 1.34375 volts.....got it smile.gif AND set your desired level of LLC which for me is Level - 1

You will need to work out your own values for your own cpu's but it's not that difficult...just remember that each 10000mv in offset = 0.1v to vcore.

3/ Go to Advanced tab - AMD CBS - ZEN Common Options - Custom Core Pstates. Here you only want to change Custon Pstate 0, change it to custom and change the Pstate0 FID only!!!!....so for 3925 I set 9d.

That is it....F10 and exit!

Now you will have both core and voltage downclocking in windows at idle and your oc will be your max core clocks when loaded. smile.gif


Summarize

1/ set OFFSET Value and LLC level
2/ ONLY! Change FID value only in Pstate 0

3/ Hit F10 your done.


REMEMBER do it all at your own risk.....biggrin.gif


Here from previous post in this thread.....how to P-State overclock. With my 1800X I just set offset mode and leave and leave it AUTO, LLC auto as well which = level 5 and that's it for 3.9GHz with vdroop down to 1.312v load which is fine by me for 24/7

Read a post by Stilt where he recommended to not use LLC with Ryzen and leave it auto so there is vdroop if possible, something to do with how quick Ryzen changes frequencies/volts or something? redface.gif

1/X399 MSI MEG - 2950X + Vega 64 Custom WC - G.Skill 4 x 16GB DR b-die @ 2933MHz - 3 x 1TB Intel NVme M.2 + 1TB & 500MB SSD - Silverstone 1500W - yay
2/Z390 MAXIMUS XI GENE - 9900K/Corsair H115i Pro + 1080Ti - G.Skill TridentZ F4-3600C17D-32GTRZ - 2 x 1TB ADATA SX8200 Pro M.2 NVMe - Seasonic 1300W Platinum - yo
lowdog is offline  
post #486 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-23-2017, 08:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lowdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 289
Rep: 14 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iRUSH View Post

How's her Taichi running then?


Good, same as Pro Gaming.

Also Flare X 3200MHz ram works fine with XMP on both boards, but only 2 x 8GB sticks.....4 x 8GB is a no go still rolleyes.gifmad.gif

1/X399 MSI MEG - 2950X + Vega 64 Custom WC - G.Skill 4 x 16GB DR b-die @ 2933MHz - 3 x 1TB Intel NVme M.2 + 1TB & 500MB SSD - Silverstone 1500W - yay
2/Z390 MAXIMUS XI GENE - 9900K/Corsair H115i Pro + 1080Ti - G.Skill TridentZ F4-3600C17D-32GTRZ - 2 x 1TB ADATA SX8200 Pro M.2 NVMe - Seasonic 1300W Platinum - yo
lowdog is offline  
post #487 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-24-2017, 12:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Clockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 823
Rep: 29 (Unique: 27)
Clockster is offline  
post #488 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-24-2017, 12:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lowdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 289
Rep: 14 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clockster View Post

Do you guys reckon this would be good?
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232485


Woops my bad, Trident Z I had were cas16 so not sure about these...probably ok at a guess.


If you want 2 x 8GB 3200MHz better off getting G-Skill Flare X for Ryzen....got the best chance of hitting those frequencies with that kit.

1/X399 MSI MEG - 2950X + Vega 64 Custom WC - G.Skill 4 x 16GB DR b-die @ 2933MHz - 3 x 1TB Intel NVme M.2 + 1TB & 500MB SSD - Silverstone 1500W - yay
2/Z390 MAXIMUS XI GENE - 9900K/Corsair H115i Pro + 1080Ti - G.Skill TridentZ F4-3600C17D-32GTRZ - 2 x 1TB ADATA SX8200 Pro M.2 NVMe - Seasonic 1300W Platinum - yo
lowdog is offline  
post #489 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-24-2017, 12:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
oile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 115
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Hello guys,
I've a 1600, a taichi and lpx Hynix 3000 c15 @2933 cl16.
Now, after all the study and the readings on the platform, and on taichi in particular I would have thought that LLC1 (wich gives a straight reading on SVI2) or LLC2 would have been better to obtain the best overclock and stability.

Now,
For myself the experience has been quite the opposite!
LLC5 stabilizes what LLC1, 2 and 3 can't achieve in anyway.
I use occt Avx 64bit linpack for 1.5hrs quick test, occt cpu small and medium, and prime 29.1 for medium cache stress.
I am not even sure anymore wich readings I have to believe since I am stable at a 1.337v on SVI2, but supposedly 1.36 on vcore reading @3950mhz all C states and power stuff disabled (1.387 setting in bios)
I'll continue discending in voltage and testing but for now, I can advise you all stable with LLC2 and llc1 to try lowering voltage and testing with LLC5.
Temps are better and Oc seems too! On noctua NH d14.

I ll keep you updated.

Ps. With ram, no luck with 3200 with any setting but the bclk wich I volunterly didnt touch for now
oile is offline  
post #490 of 7191 (permalink) Old 05-24-2017, 12:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Clockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 823
Rep: 29 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowdog View Post

Nah, not from my experience, stuff was craaaaap and wouldn't run at speed on AM4 platform redface.gif

If you want 2 x 8GB 3200MHz better off getting G-Skill Flare X for Ryzen....got the best chance of hitting those frequencies with that kit.

Problem is I ended up getting these last week.

CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 ver:5.30

They are on the ASRock QVL, but they don't want to run faster than 2133 mad.gif
I was told those G.skills will do the trick but eh now I'm not sure anymore.
Clockster is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off