Asrock X370 Taichi Overclocking Thread - Page 638 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asrock X370 Taichi Overclocking Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6371 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 07:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 219
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Clarification Please

Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
^ yes, not possible
We'll see when this will happen
I guess not before 4th gen announcement - but till then we'll have a good compiled X370 Bios
I wouldn't worry so far about it - let's see what AGESA 1.0.0.4 will bring

* a flash chip replacement isn't that hard too, we have a lot of space to work on if there is in the future really a need to upgrade to X470, but i doubt it
@Veii - So, if I understand @The Stilt correctly, when a x470 bios starts using the upper registers, even though the file size has not increased, we have a problem ever switching over to using an x370 bios again due to the image change? I mistakenly thought the issue was file size only.

Always Searching for Perfection,

Bluesman
Bluesman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6372 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 09:33 PM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 245
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
"Upper Part of the chip" , yes but why should they leave such a huge area untouched - when it's very convinient for them to make one bios for X470 and copy it down to X370 like they did for 3-4 versions so far
Actually way longer - if you look at the naming sheme of their boards , all are from the same main bios strippt down

You don't want to know how much useless registers are kept even in the current X470 bios ^^#
They keep and hide the mess, why should they make their lives hard , reorder module location - when it's soo much easier to keep it small, equal all in one place, unless it's rly needed
(which wasn't so far, and their interface is minimalistic, no changes unlike different companies)

Yes if they move stuff up in register, of course size will increase and we need a bigger chip
but then they would make work for themself not being able release likely 20 3xx series bioses at the same time, just stripped down from the main one
If you would need to reorder everything to fit into 128mb chips

I'll test when new stuff releases, but who knows in how many days/weeks
Till then we may not need to stay on X470 to have a buggyfree bios at all-

Mojave#1 Ryzen Threadripper 1950x [email protected] ([email protected] with 105BLCK) + Liqtech 360 | ASRock X399 Taichi (3.23Beta) | G.Skill [email protected]3800CL14 | RX 580 Red Devil [email protected]/2200(micron) | Seasonic Focus Platinum | Samsung 960 EVO x2 & 860 Evo
Win#2 Ryzen 1700x @3.8 + Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt (converted to X470) | Patriot Viper Steel (PVS416G400C9K)@3466C14 (64.2ns) | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14(72.5ns) / OLD | Gigabyte 970 G1 1595/1900(Hynix) | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #6373 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 09:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,514
Rep: 846 (Unique: 324)
Quote: Originally Posted by Bluesman View Post
@Veii - So, if I understand @The Stilt correctly, when a x470 bios starts using the upper registers, even though the file size has not increased, we have a problem ever switching over to using an x370 bios again due to the image change? I mistakenly thought the issue was file size only.
The flash size on X470 is 256Mb but only the lower half of it (0-1000000h) is utilized and adressed.
When they can no longer fit the code to the lower part only, they start utilizing and adressing the upper part too.
At that point the bios image will change from 16MB to 32MB and obviously you can no longer fit it on the 16MB flash found on X370 Taichi.
The Stilt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6374 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 11:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dekaohtoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 114
Rep: 0
I think @Bluesman is just asking if we could "just" use the X370 official (at any given time) BIOS to reflash "over" the modded X470 if the latter becomes incompatible with the the X370 ROM chip size. The X370 BIOS should always be 16MB, right?
Dekaohtoura is offline  
post #6375 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 01:28 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 245
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Dekaohtoura View Post
I think @Bluesman is just asking if we could "just" use the X370 official (at any given time) BIOS to reflash "over" the modded X470 if the latter becomes incompatible with the the X370 ROM chip size. The X370 BIOS should always be 16MB, right?
The chip doesn't transform into a new chip
Flashrom always does a cleanwipe , neverless what you trow at it
It does warn you if it detects that the file overshoots your storage size or is smaller then the maximum chip size
But because it's a fully clean erase & write, it doesn't matter what you flash, it will overwrite everything

I just do hope that you all followed post #4 and backed up your X370 rom + serial number (a full flashrom -p internal -r bios.bin readout&backup)
Just in case, when we can go back to X370 to be as original as it was before and not a new board with different serial number~

Mojave#1 Ryzen Threadripper 1950x [email protected] ([email protected] with 105BLCK) + Liqtech 360 | ASRock X399 Taichi (3.23Beta) | G.Skill [email protected]3800CL14 | RX 580 Red Devil [email protected]/2200(micron) | Seasonic Focus Platinum | Samsung 960 EVO x2 & 860 Evo
Win#2 Ryzen 1700x @3.8 + Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt (converted to X470) | Patriot Viper Steel (PVS416G400C9K)@3466C14 (64.2ns) | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14(72.5ns) / OLD | Gigabyte 970 G1 1595/1900(Hynix) | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #6376 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 01:40 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 245
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
Oh i forgot to mention, i think i nearly fixed the RGB issue
As we are on X470 (some of you) we have to be sure that the RGB controller firmware is on 1.10
The ASRock PolychromeRGB 1.0.60 package (X470 Taichi) does work - but it preinstalls with the 2.10 RGB Controller firmware inside

In case it does update your controller firmware , you have to revert to 1.10 which is inside the 1.0.41 X370 package
I'll drop it here as a .zip package with a flashable .bat script / incase someone has issues with the RGB controller not working
You just need to grab the PolyChromeRGB package from the main X470 site to have control over the Chipset, Ram, GPU or RGB-Header Lights

I'm trying to get 2.10 to work, it does flash fine, but it's an ID missmatch which confuses the software
Soo so far we can't use all the new presets, but at least the Lights are controllable again~
Be sure when you open the Polychrome software to check the firmware, if you are on anything over 1.10
* if so , please let me know so we can extract it (as you wouldn't need to upgrade)
Attached Files
File Type: zip RGB Firmware X370 Taichi 1.10.zip (748.4 KB, 12 views)

Mojave#1 Ryzen Threadripper 1950x [email protected] ([email protected] with 105BLCK) + Liqtech 360 | ASRock X399 Taichi (3.23Beta) | G.Skill [email protected]3800CL14 | RX 580 Red Devil [email protected]/2200(micron) | Seasonic Focus Platinum | Samsung 960 EVO x2 & 860 Evo
Win#2 Ryzen 1700x @3.8 + Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt (converted to X470) | Patriot Viper Steel (PVS416G400C9K)@3466C14 (64.2ns) | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14(72.5ns) / OLD | Gigabyte 970 G1 1595/1900(Hynix) | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #6377 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 10:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 219
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
@Veii , @The Stilt , and @Dekaohtoura - Thank you for your help in understanding the nuances of the x370 > x470 transformation. I appreciate your help and explanations.

I now have a very clear, safe path for my bios upgrades.

Love this forum and its members! :-)

Always Searching for Perfection,

Bluesman
Bluesman is offline  
post #6378 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-24-2019, 12:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Spectre73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 135
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Oh i forgot to mention, i think i nearly fixed the RGB issue
As we are on X470 (some of you) we have to be sure that the RGB controller firmware is on 1.10
The ASRock PolychromeRGB 1.0.60 package (X470 Taichi) does work - but it preinstalls with the 2.10 RGB Controller firmware inside

In case it does update your controller firmware , you have to revert to 1.10 which is inside the 1.0.41 X370 package
I'll drop it here as a .zip package with a flashable .bat script / incase someone has issues with the RGB controller not working
You just need to grab the PolyChromeRGB package from the main X470 site to have control over the Chipset, Ram, GPU or RGB-Header Lights

I'm trying to get 2.10 to work, it does flash fine, but it's an ID missmatch which confuses the software
Soo so far we can't use all the new presets, but at least the Lights are controllable again~
Be sure when you open the Polychrome software to check the firmware, if you are on anything over 1.10
* if so , please let me know so we can extract it (as you wouldn't need to upgrade)
Is the RGB firmware not part of the UEFI? I accidentally tried to install ASrock polychrome on the wrong MB and am not sure, if I broke someting, since the PC rebooted immediately (and afaik, polychromeRGB tries to update the rgb controller firmware).

Do you have a source for a seperate RGB controller flasher/software for other brands (gigabyte), or is it even compatible?

White Lion
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Aorus x570 Master
GPU
AMD Vega 64
RAM
32 GB G.Skill 3200C14
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-750XP Titanium
Cooling
Custom water
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolve
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
BenQ EX3501R
Keyboard
Ducky Shine Zero (brown)
Audio
Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black Edition USB soundcard/ DAC
▲ hide details ▲
Spectre73 is offline  
post #6379 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-24-2019, 01:52 PM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 245
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Spectre73 View Post
Is the RGB firmware not part of the UEFI? I accidentally tried to install ASrock polychrome on the wrong MB and am not sure, if I broke someting, since the PC rebooted immediately (and afaik, polychromeRGB tries to update the rgb controller firmware).

Do you have a source for a seperate RGB controller flasher/software for other brands (gigabyte), or is it even compatible?
It tries to update it ?
Could you link me or tell me which version you grabbed ?
It shouldn't at all, i haven't tried what other brands used, it would be kinda stupid that brands use the same RGB controller
Would be funny , because we could cross-port stuff / but it would be dumb
The zip i linked above has the X370 Taichi only firmware in case people updated their controller firmware somehow (shouldn't but who knows)
It's known that other ASRock boards have similar or even the same firmware , but it's not part of the UEFI firmware, because you can programm that chip individually

It rly shouldn't update it unless it recognises a known device ID
while there is a huge list , give me one sec i'll edit this post and reupload the device ID and list as "spoiler"

Mojave#1 Ryzen Threadripper 1950x [email protected] ([email protected] with 105BLCK) + Liqtech 360 | ASRock X399 Taichi (3.23Beta) | G.Skill [email protected]3800CL14 | RX 580 Red Devil [email protected]/2200(micron) | Seasonic Focus Platinum | Samsung 960 EVO x2 & 860 Evo
Win#2 Ryzen 1700x @3.8 + Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt (converted to X470) | Patriot Viper Steel (PVS416G400C9K)@3466C14 (64.2ns) | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14(72.5ns) / OLD | Gigabyte 970 G1 1595/1900(Hynix) | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #6380 of 6456 (permalink) Old 09-25-2019, 12:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Spectre73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 135
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
It tries to update it ?
Could you link me or tell me which version you grabbed ?
It shouldn't at all, i haven't tried what other brands used, it would be kinda stupid that brands use the same RGB controller
Would be funny , because we could cross-port stuff / but it would be dumb
The zip i linked above has the X370 Taichi only firmware in case people updated their controller firmware somehow (shouldn't but who knows)
It's known that other ASRock boards have similar or even the same firmware , but it's not part of the UEFI firmware, because you can programm that chip individually

It rly shouldn't update it unless it recognises a known device ID
while there is a huge list , give me one sec i'll edit this post and reupload the device ID and list as "spoiler"
I am not sure. You posted back there, that the Polychrome Software has a firmware component that updates the Taichi RGB firmware. And that for the x370 Taichi to work with the x470 bios, one need to downgrade the firmware.
By accident, I started the installation on my GB MB (silly, I know, worked at wrong PC unintentionally at home).
Under normal circumstances, there should just be an error message and that should be it.

In my case, the start of the software resultet in an immediate hard reset and cold boot. After that, the system went into "training mode" because it restartet itself several times. That is unusual for a simple "software crash".
That led me to believe, that the ASRock software somehow tried to update some component on my MB. I have no idea if it succeeded or only was "rejected" because of the incompatibility.
Would be nice, if I could somehow check the status of my RGB components, but at least, onboard RGB on my Aorus master still works fine. So nothing bad seems to have happened.
I just went a little into panick mode, these are things that usually do not happen to me. I am tinkering with MBs for more than 25 years.

It could just be an incompatibility with no lasting consequences (system works fine, again).

Anyhow, I do not want to derail the Taichi thread (even though I own one).

White Lion
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Aorus x570 Master
GPU
AMD Vega 64
RAM
32 GB G.Skill 3200C14
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-750XP Titanium
Cooling
Custom water
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolve
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
BenQ EX3501R
Keyboard
Ducky Shine Zero (brown)
Audio
Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black Edition USB soundcard/ DAC
▲ hide details ▲
Spectre73 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off