ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support - Page 13 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 12:29 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
Silent Scone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11,362
Rep: 402 (Unique: 225)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

OHhh NOooO! redface.gif , perhaps I should cancel order and go the XSPC block?

I've always spread TIM with strip of plastic card on all CPUs for what must seem like an eternity. Always given me a good result. I just seem to prefer that method as know from the 'get go' the contact between CPU/TIM/HS will be 'optimal'.

I'd wait on the EK one
Silent Scone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,052
Rep: 764 (Unique: 349)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

UEFI beta build 9906

More DRAM tuning for compatibility/oc
Added CLDO VDDP Voltage under Tweaker's Paradise
ALSO synchronized hwm CPU temp with monitor

Added to OP smile.gif . Please book me in for some therapy! tongue.gif . ASUS version numbers of UEFI releases put's my mental 'fengshui' out of skew! tongue.gif .

It was going all so well, we had 0502, then 9964, next 9980 and now 9906?! eh-smiley.giftongue.gif .
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post

I'd wait on the EK one

Oke doke smile.gif .
gupsterg is online now  
post #123 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 01:26 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Sicness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 121
Rep: 8 (Unique: 4)
The kind support chap of EKWB threw in a free shirt for the delay and believes they'll be able to ship my block on Monday. In the meanwhile, does anyone have any suggestions for achieving stability at 3200MHz with my 4x16GB modules? 3066 is a no brainer, even with 15-16-16 and 1.05V SoC but I'd run into errors fairly quickly even with 3200 18-18-18 at 1.20V SoC. Tried upping VDIMM to 1.4 as well, the CAD Bus settings from the C6H thread don't seem to work for me as well, neither do the RTT* settings.

TR 1950X @EKWB + ASUS Zenith Extreme + 2x G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX + 2x RX Vega 64 @EKWB + EIZO FS2735 + ASUS PG278Q
Sicness is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 01:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cheddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 94
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
OK so! HPET WAS to blame for all of my problems...

to fix it:

Open CMD as an administrator

run:
bcdedit /enum

if you see 'useplatformclock' set to true then run thats your problem

I ran:
bcdedit /set useplatformclock false

bcdedit /deletevalue useplatformclock

you might get away with just running
bcdedit /deletevalue useplatformclock
cheddle is offline  
post #125 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 02:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ljugtomten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 81
Rep: 6 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddle View Post

OK so! HPET WAS to blame for all of my problems...

to fix it:

Open CMD as an administrator

run:
bcdedit /enum

if you see 'useplatformclock' set to true then run thats your problem

I ran:
bcdedit /set useplatformclock false

bcdedit /deletevalue useplatformclock

you might get away with just running
bcdedit /deletevalue useplatformclock

Thanks! heart.gifheart.gif
This seems to have solved it for me aswell, pending more tests.
Verified HPET was active in Windows 10, and then disabled it with commands above.
Reboot, switch from Gaming Mode to Creators Mode (where lag previously was even worse)
Final reboot and a quick game of CS:GO on my private server. Running smooth, music in the background is not laggy.
I'll try Diablo 3 and Battlefield 1 later tonight, where issues were also noticed.

Tried Doom before any changes above, and it was running smooth (100FPS), might be because of OpenGL and not DirectX.
Ljugtomten is offline  
post #126 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 02:58 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
Silent Scone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11,362
Rep: 402 (Unique: 225)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljugtomten View Post

Thanks! heart.gifheart.gif
This seems to have solved it for me aswell, pending more tests.
Verified HPET was active in Windows 10, and then disabled it with commands above.
Reboot, switch from Gaming Mode to Creators Mode (where lag previously was even worse)
Final reboot and a quick game of CS:GO on my private server. Running smooth, music in the background is not laggy.
I'll try Diablo 3 and Battlefield 1 later tonight, where issues were also noticed.

Tried Doom before any changes above, and it was running smooth (100FPS), might be because of OpenGL and not DirectX.

Cool, glad that worked for you. Something to do with the latest version of the DX kernel and HPET, I think.
Silent Scone is offline  
post #127 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 06:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nycgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,917
Rep: 96 (Unique: 69)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddle View Post



Figured I would upload a pic of my system. EK block is great looking! But it dosnt really clamp down too well and the paste dosnt spread very far. Also noticed it came with am3/4 manual not tr4 but it's not rocket surgery ;-)

Also the included tube of artic grisly was inadequate to provide good thermal paste spread - I had to supplement the application with some spare NT-H1 :-(

Check the bottom screws securing the cold plate. Sometimes they aren't screwed in properly or all the way flush.
nycgtr is offline  
post #128 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 07:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cheddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 94
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
yep - after watching jayztwocents build video I checked them all. the screws were all definitly recessed into the cold plate
cheddle is offline  
post #129 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 07:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nycgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,917
Rep: 96 (Unique: 69)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddle View Post

yep - after watching jayztwocents build video I checked them all. the screws were all definitly recessed into the cold plate

I'll be installing mine later tonight. I am waiting to hear back from Ek to confirm I can just swap the tops from another supremacy.
nycgtr is offline  
post #130 of 3240 (permalink) Old 08-25-2017, 07:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Iceman2733's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: KY
Posts: 1,163
Rep: 53 (Unique: 39)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddle View Post

yep - after watching jayztwocents build video I checked them all. the screws were all definitly recessed into the cold plate

I couldn't believe it seeing Jayz video and seeing the block that loose and it would have actually leaked.

So disabling HPET fixed your SLI issues? Gaming Issues?

Intel i9 [email protected]
Evga Z390 Dark
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600mhz
Asus Strix OC 2080Ti
Evga 1300 G2
Asus PG279QZ
Iceman2733 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off